Top Ten Tuesday #50

 

image

Hey everyone! The eagle eyed among you will have noticed that yes, it’s Wednesday, not Tuesday, however I was out all day yesterday and didn’t get a chance to write this post, so it’s coming to all of you a day late! This post is also kind of a landmark post for me as it marks 50 weeks since I started doing Top Ten Tuesday! That’s almost an entire year, but it doesn’t feel like it! Anyway, back to the topic at hand, this week’s topic was meant to be ten of my most recent five star reads, but we’re only in March, I’ve only had one five star read so far, so it would be a very short and boring list for you all! So instead, I went to the TTT archives and chose an alternative topic to do, Top Ten Books I Just Had To Buy But Are Still Sitting On My Bookshelf. This should be an easy one for me, since I buy so many books but a lot off them get left there for ages and ages before I read them! So here we go, books that I had to buy but are still sitting on my bookshelf:

  1. Demon Road-Derek Landy

I was desperate to get this book, another Derek Landy, one of my favourite authors, how could I not be? I even have a special signed edition of it. I bought it all the way back in September of last year, and to my shame…..you guessed it, still sitting on my bookshelf! It’s a whopper of a book though, so I’m planning on reading it over summer, so I can give it the time and attention it deserves.

2. Magnus Chase and The Sword of Summer-Rick Riordan

Another book by one of my favourite authors, I got this a while ago, I think maybe October or November of last year? Honestly I’m not entirely sure but it’s been on my shelf a while, and it’s also signed (given that Rick Riordan never tours outside America, I consider myself pretty lucky to have found a signed book in a book shop here!), but as it’s another large book, I just haven’t got around to it yet. Another one for summer, appropriate given the title of the book!

3. Challenger Deep-Neal Shusterman

I was so excited to get this, as it’s been on my TBR for ages and I love the Unwind series so much that I definitely want to read some of Neal Shusterman’s other works. I’ve heard such great things about this book, I just have so many books and not enough time to read them! I will get to it eventually!

4. The Knife of Letting Go-Patrick Ness

I’ve heard so much about how great Patrick Ness’ books are so I just had to get one, but I’ve had this sitting on my shelf for over a year and still haven’t read it yet! I will though, it’s on my #RockMyTBR Challenge list for this year, so I will definitely be reading it, probably next month.

5. Look Who’s Back-Timur Vermes

I thought a satire of Hitler in modern day German sounded hilarious so naturally I had to buy this book, but a year later and I still haven’t read it! Another one on my #RockMyTBR list, so another one that I will definitely read this year!

6. Snow Like Ashes-Sara Raasch

I really wanted to read this as I love high fantasy and this sounded really cool, but months after I bought it, I still haven’t read it! Another #RockMyTBR book, another one I should be getting to this year.

7. The Accident Season-Moira Fowley-Doyle

I bought this on a whim at YALC because it sounded so good, and I’ve heard really good reviews, I just haven’t got around to it yet, but it’s a short book, so I should definitely get to it this year, especially since it’s another #RockMyTBR book.

8. Only Ever Yours-Louise O’Neill

I’ve heard such good things about this author’s writing and about this book in particular, so I just had to get it. Got it in January and yup, it’s still on my shelf now, unread. I will definitely get to it, because it sounds exactly like my kind of book.

9. The Glory-Lauren St John

I love horse books and it’s been way too long since I’ve read one, I’ve had this for ages and I do really want to read it, but it’s another case of too many books, not enough time!

10. The Secret Fire-CJ Daugherty and Carina Rozenfeld

I wanted this book for ages, and I got it back in January but I’ve been reading other books and just haven’t got around to it yet, hopefully I will get to it soon because it sounds like such a great book!

I could go over ten, but I’ll stick to ten for this week, because I could literally list my entire bookshelf here! What books do you have on your bookshelf that you just had to have but still haven’t read? What were your top ten recent five star reads for this week? Let me know! Next week’s topic is meant to be ten bookish people you should follow on social media, but I’m not entirely sure that I can think of ten people for that topic, so I’m going to do another topic from the archives next week, Top Ten Books That I Think Should Be Required Reading For Teens as I reckon that will be an interesting one to do. That will be next week, but in the meantime, I have lots of plans for posts this week, I’ll have a new review up for you guys, a discussion post and an update on how my #RockMyTBR challenge is going, so stay tuned for all of that!

 

25 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #50

  1. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews March 31, 2016 / 5:35 am

    I loved Magnus Chase! It’s a bit of a long one, but it’s definitely got the same kind of fast pacing that the Percy books had. I hope you enjoy it when you get to it!!

    • iloveheartlandx March 31, 2016 / 4:19 pm

      That’s great to hear! Yeah, that’s why I want to save it for the summer, so I’ll have lots of time to read it! I hope so too, this is my first Rick Riordan book outside of Percy Jackson, so I’m kind of nervous!

      • Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews April 1, 2016 / 5:23 am

        It definitely has a lot of the same vibe to the Percy books, there’s even little references here and there to the books that are really fun. A lot of people even think Magnus and Percy are too similar, but I felt like they had their own personalities despite being similar. I hope you enjoy it!

      • iloveheartlandx April 1, 2016 / 10:52 am

        It sounds amazing, hopefully I will 🙂

  2. CJ Dawn March 31, 2016 / 12:33 pm

    I just finished The Accident Season (I’ve had an ARC sitting on my shelf for months) and really enjoyed it. I could hardly put it down.

    • iloveheartlandx March 31, 2016 / 4:16 pm

      Glad to hear it! I’m planning on reading it in October as it seems like a spooky sort of book, so good for that month!

  3. Laura@125Pages March 31, 2016 / 7:09 pm

    Snow Like Ashes is one I have heard amazing things about but have not gotten to either, I have at least a dozen books on my Kindle right now from 2015 yet to read. One day I will get to them, I swear. 🙂 Great list. My TTT

  4. Eve L (Evilous) March 31, 2016 / 11:46 pm

    I hope you get to read more 5 Star reads stat! I just recently read Snow Like Ashes and it made this weeks list 😉 but like you I have Magnus Chase on my list as well! Hopefully we both get to read it soon!

    • iloveheartlandx April 1, 2016 / 11:05 am

      Hopefully! There’s still a lot of 2016 left to go, so plenty of time for some more great reads! Glad you liked Snow Like Ashes. Yes hopefully!

  5. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense April 1, 2016 / 2:52 am

    Oh I love this topic, I ought to keep it in my back pocket just in case I need an alternate topic for the week. The Accident Season may only take a day or two to read, so you should definitely pick it up.

    • iloveheartlandx April 1, 2016 / 11:04 am

      Yeah it is a good one isn’t it? Yeah I’m planning on reading it in October as it’s a spooky kind of book, so might get me in the Halloween-mood!

  6. Briana April 1, 2016 / 6:15 am

    I feel like the only person who didn’t like The Accident Season. I thought it was being weird just to be weird in some places, and the ending didn’t make any sense. But I’m a bit of black sheep on this. I do hope you enjoy it once you get around to it.

    • iloveheartlandx April 1, 2016 / 10:51 am

      It’s nice to hear different opinions, I’m sure we’re all black sheep on one popular book or another at some point! Thanks, I hope I will too.

  7. Brigid Gorry-Hines April 1, 2016 / 4:38 pm

    The Knife of Never Letting Go is one of my favorite books in the world! Hope you enjoy that one. I also really liked Magnus Chase and Challenger Deep; Rick Riordan and Neal Shusterman are both wonderful authors.

    • iloveheartlandx April 1, 2016 / 6:19 pm

      That’s great to hear! I hope I do too. Yes I agree, Rick Riordan and Neal Shusterman are both wonderful authors and I can’t wait to read both of those books.

  8. Annemieke April 1, 2016 / 7:20 pm

    Oh I just read Demon Road in February. It’s a nice read. Magnus Chase was also pretty good.

  9. Amy April 1, 2016 / 7:52 pm

    I totally understand buying more books than you can read. There are quite a few books on your list that I want to get to as well, especially Demon Road. I would have read it already, but it’s a little more difficult to buy in the US. I hope you enjoy all the books on your list!

    • iloveheartlandx April 1, 2016 / 10:00 pm

      Yeah I’ve always done that! I would rather have more books than I can read than run out! Yeah it’s a lot easier to get here in the UK. I hope you enjoy it when you get to it. Thank you!

  10. Rayna April 2, 2016 / 5:48 am

    I haven’t read any of those books you listed, but I understand having a bagillion books on your shelf that you haven’t read yet. I have soooo many that I just “needed” at the time that they just kind of accumulated.

  11. Gennifer Eccles April 3, 2016 / 1:26 pm

    Great list! I bought and haven’t read The Sword of Summer either! 🙂 I really want to read The Accident Season, but I am just going to get it from my library. Hope you like it when you read it!

    • iloveheartlandx April 3, 2016 / 1:27 pm

      Thanks! Glad to know I’m not the only one. Hope you enjoy The Accident Season too.

Leave a Reply

