Sidekick Showcase Saturday #9

JC still hasn’t done a post for June yet, so I guess I’ll just have to choose a sidekick that I like for this month, and I’ve decided that I’ll focus today’s post on Katniss’s little sister Prim, since I haven’t used any characters from The Hunger Games for this before, and I like her, I thought this was a good choice. I loved how different Prim was to Katniss, in certain ways they are complete opposites, where Katniss is harsh, Prim is sweet, where Katniss loves to hunt, Prim has a talent for healing and she loves animals. I like how she starts off kind of unnoticed in the background at the beginning of the trilogy, but becomes more prominent of a character in the later books, and she becomes more mature and stronger willed. I love how supportive she was of Katniss, and their sisterly relationship was my favourite relationship of the book, forget Katniss and Peeta or Katniss and Gale, Katniss and Prim is the best relationship in this trilogy, and the conversations between them were amongst my favourite scenes in the book. I also loved how Prim brought out the softer side in Katniss, it was nice to see that sometimes, considering Katniss’s personality. Out of all the events of the third book, the ending for Prim is something I don’t think I’ll forgive Suzanne Collins for anytime soon. As Katniss herself says, Prim is the only person that you never doubt that she loves (and maybe Rue, I’m pretty sure that Katniss loved Rue), because with Peeta and Gale, even though you know she cares for them, you can never be sure that she truly loves either one, I don’t feel. That’s all I really have to say about Prim, it would be impossible not to love someone so sweet. Sorry, I know this is a short one, but I don’t really have that much else to say about Prim that I haven’t already said, I kind of wish she had been featured a bit more overall in the story, since she was the entire reason that Katniss volunteered for the games in the first place and I feel like she could have been developed more as a character. I will have another Sidekick Showcase post for you next Saturday, but tomorrow I will have another Swoonworthy Sunday post for you, so check that out. I also posted an Unpopular Opinions Book Tag post earlier today, so you could always check that out! image

2 thoughts on “Sidekick Showcase Saturday #9

  1. Julie S. 15/06/2015 / 11:40 am

    Aww, Prim is an awesome choice. You’re right that Prim is the only one we know without a doubt that Katniss loves, and that makes her so much more human than when she puts up her shields.

    • iloveheartlandx 15/06/2015 / 12:07 pm

      Thanks! Yeah, that’s what I love most about her, and I wish we’d got to see more of their relationship than Katniss trying to decide between Peeta and Gale, neither of whom you can be really sure that she loves, and I loved their moments, because it’s nice to see Katniss’s vulnerable side every once in a while.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.