Top Ten Tuesday #432

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a good week since I last did one of these. I have a few exciting updates from last week, first off, as I mentioned in my last post, I went to review a show at the Camden Fringe on Friday (Violated) and that review is now up on the Indiependent if you want to give it a read, you can find the link on my Twitter (@iloveheartlandX). In even more exciting news from last week: I’M GOING TO THE ERAS TOUR NEXT YEAR. Yes, if you don’t follow me on Twitter and missed my very excited reaction, I managed to get a ticket to the final night in Wembley in August through the Ticketmaster resale, so I will be getting to see Taylor Swift’s concert next year. Thank you so much to whoever put up the resale ticket I got, I am so grateful to be able to go and see Taylor live again and even more grateful that there was a ticket available actually within my budget because I love Taylor Swift but I’m not paying almost £800 to go to a concert EVER. Anyway point is, I got the ticket and I’m very excited, roll on next August!

As for this week, I’m going back to my happy place, tonight I’m seeing Operation Mincemeat again at the Fortune Theatre (an unprecedented third viewing, the only other show I’ve seen that many times is Wicked which should give you a good indicator of how much I love this show) which I’m very excited for, I’ve had the cast album on permanent revolve in my head ever since it came out and it will be fun to see the show again for the first time since that’s been out as it wasn’t the last time I went to see it back in April. They also have merch now, so you can bet I’ll be coming home this time with some goodies!

Anyway, back to the subject of books, it’s Tuesday, so naturally I have another Top Ten Tuesday for you all today, courtesy of That Artsy Reader Girl. This week we’re talking Books I’ve Read Because of Top Ten Tuesday (topic suggested by Ellie @ Curiosity Killed The Bookworm, thanks Ellie!) and I have to admit, this was a little bit of a tricky one for me. Not because I haven’t read/added lots of books to my TBR because of TTT, I have but because I largely never remember exactly where I heard about a book from. Normally I’ll hear about a book from various different sources, TTT, friends, Goodreads and I can never remember exactly where I heard about it first. Still, I managed to come up with a list of books that I *think* I heard about through TTT, and even if it turns out I actually didn’t, I definitely read them because I saw lots of bloggers talking about them, so similar thing!

  1. The Last Bookshop In London-Madeline Martin

I actually do remember who I heard about this from, it was Carol @ Reading Ladies, though I can’t remember what the specific TTT topic was-presumably something about historical fiction! Anyway, I was primarily reading historical fiction in 2021, I was looking for more and this suggestion of a WWII historical fiction book which revolved around a woman working in a bookshop seemed just perfect for me. And it was, it ended up being one of my favourite books of that year, and Madeline Martin has become an auto-read author for me. I’m so excited to read her newest release, The Keeper of Hidden Books soon. So thank you Carol for introducing me to a new favourite author, and a great book!

2. The Bear and The Nightingale-Katherine Ardern

This one I definitely can’t pin down to one specific blog because it was one of those that kept reoccurring on loads of people’s TTTs for months and months and I decided that I had to read it to see what all the fuss was about. Sadly this one didn’t work so well for me, I found it slow, confusing and kind of dull and it just didn’t really seem to have a plot. One of those where the majority of book bloggers had a very different opinion on it than me, I’m afraid.

3. A Darker Shade of Magic-VE Schwab

I know, I know, I’m now one of the ones most known for recommending this book on TTT, but it’s the circle of book blogging because I did initially pick it up based on the incredibly excited word of mouth through TTT back in early 2015. I started doing TTT not all that long after this book had come out, and it was EVERYWHERE, so I added it to my TBR and kept being like “I have to read this.” Cut to summer of 2016, I finally read it and completely fall in love with it, and then subsequently proceed to devour every single Schwab book that I could find and her new releases are always instant pre-orders for me. So this one is a very fun full-circle kind of moment because I found it through TTT, loved it, and have since proceeded to recommend it to many, many others.

4. Six of Crows-Leigh Bardugo

Another one where I saw it on a lot of TTT posts when I first started doing it in 2015, but this one took me even longer to finally get around to, as I didn’t read it till the summer of 2017. Much like A Darker Shade of Magic, I became absolutely feral for this story and these characters and now recommend it in my own TTT posts as much as humanly possible.

5. When Women Were Dragons-Kelly Barnhill

I can’t remember exactly whose TTT post I first saw this book on, I think it was a summer TBR post potentially, or maybe an anticipated releases post, I’m not sure. But anyway, anything with dragons is absolute catnip to me so of course I immediately added it to my TBR. Sadly much like The Bear and The Nightingale, this one didn’t really work for me, and this one was so much more disappointing because on paper it should have been everything I loved: feminist rage, dragons, historical setting, the list goes on. Sadly it ended up being rather dull, and a bit of a mess and there weren’t nearly enough dragons for my liking. I’m still kind of salty over this book to be honest, I had such high hopes.

6. Her Hidden Genius-Marie Benedict

Again, I wish I could remember whose TTT post I saw this one on, but I can’t, I think it may have been Best Books of 2021, from someone who had read it as an ARC before it came out? Or potentially a Winter TBR post in December? Anyway, either way, I saw it on a TTT post in late 2021, I think and added it to my TBR. I liked this one but it wasn’t quite as good as I was hoping it was going to be, I found it a little dry and lacking in emotion, it felt almost more like a biography than a novel and I didn’t find that the most engaging way to tell the story of a woman as fascinating as Rosalind Franklin is. It’s still a decent enough book, but just not as good as I was wanting it to be.

7. A Song of Wraiths and Ruin-Roseanne A. Brown

Again, I cannot remember exactly whose blog I saw it on, but it was one of the many Black author reading lists that were being published in June of 2020 and I’m pretty sure it was a TTT list, though I don’t think it was the official topic for that week. Anyway, I saw it and I was intrigued because a lot of the recommendations on those lists were YA contemporaries which I don’t really read much, so I was very excited to see a Black-authored YA fantasy. I really enjoyed it, I loved Karina and Malik and it was a very exciting book, even if the magic system and world-building could be a little confusing in places. Sadly, I didn’t love the sequel book in this duology quite as much, but the first one was definitely a great TTT recommendation!

8. Cinder-Marissa Meyer

Again, no specific blog for this one because this is another of those that I was just seeing everywhere when I first started doing TTT and tbh, is still a pretty popular choice for lists even now. I wanted to see what all the fuss was about. Sadly, this is another one that didn’t quite work for me, and I do think that was partly down to the hype somewhat inflating my expectations. I just found it kind of predictable and dull and I wasn’t a huge fan of Cinder as a character. I did go on to read the second book, Scarlet, and found it better but I still didn’t love it enough to finish the series.

9. Born A Crime-Trevor Noah

Finally, one where I can actually remember where I got the recommendation from. This one was from M @ Rain City Reads, they had mentioned this one on quite a few of their TTT posts and I was intrigued as I had just visited South Africa the year before I read it. Anyway, I ended up reading it at the end of 2021 and it became my favourite read of the year, and is still one of my favourite memoirs. It’s equal parts funny and also explores a lot of serious issues in South Africa’s history and Trevor Noah is just the most fantastic storyteller, so listening to him read his own memoir of the various exploits he got up to in his childhood was awesome.

10. By A Charm And A Curse-Jaime Questell

Again, I can’t remember exactly where I found this one, I got it as an e-ARC and read it before its release date in February 2018, but I cannot remember whose blog I found it on. According to Goodreads, I added it in the summer of 2017, so it could have potentially been a summer TBR post, or maybe a anticipated releases post as sometimes people do go up to the early dates of the next year with those if its an e-ARC they already have. But anyway, the point is, I found this through a TTT list, and it was a really great and surprising find. It’s set in a magical circus which is held together by this curse that prevents anyone from the circus from getting old or dying but in order for this to happen, one of the members essentially has to become a human puppet and the only way of transferring this curse is to kiss someone. The main character in this book ends up unwittingly becoming the new “Girl In The Box” after kissing the boy who was previously cursed and she then has to work out a way to escape the curse without dooming everyone in the circus. It’s such a fun and different kind of circus story, and I really enjoyed it. I’m kind of sad that Jaime Questell doesn’t seem to have written anything else since this because I would definitely read more by her!

So there we have it, some of the books I’ve read because of TTT. I tried to include a mix of ones I’ve enjoyed and ones I didn’t, just to show that not every recommendation I get is a total success, but hopefully you’ve maybe found something you can enjoy among this lot, even if it’s one that I didn’t. Have you read any of these? What’s the best book you’ve ever read because you saw it on a TTT list? Let me know in the comments!

Next week we’re talking Characters From Different Books Who Should Team Up, which sounds like a fun, if potentially tricky one, but we’ll see if I can come up with enough to make a list, and if not, then I’ll be back next week with a surprise topic for you all!

55 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #432

  1. lydiaschoch 08/08/2023 / 4:54 pm

    Born a Crime was such a good read.

    Have fun at the Taylor Swift concert!

    Here is my Top Ten Tuesday post.

  2. anovelglimpse 08/08/2023 / 5:21 pm

    Forget books! You’re going to THE ERAS TOUR!!!! I just went to one of the Seattle shows last month and it was FABULOUS. I’m still coming down from the high of it all. I wish I could see her again. I’m so happy for you!

    • iloveheartlandx 15/08/2023 / 1:55 pm

      Thank you! I’m so excited, all the clips I’ve seen on YouTube of the surprise songs have looked so great, I can’t wait to experience it for myself 🙂

  3. lindseyhabets 08/08/2023 / 6:02 pm

    Yay, congrats on getting a ticket to see Taylor Swift, that is great news!!
    I also picked up the Shades of Magic series because of TTT and I’m so happy I did. I just finished my re-read of the entire series and I still love it so much!

    • iloveheartlandx 15/08/2023 / 1:54 pm

      Thank you, I’m so excited! It’s such a great series isn’t it? I’ve been watching VE Schwab’s readalong videos on YouTube as a way of recapping the series for myself (because I don’t have time to reread) and it’s reminded me how much I loved the series and has me so hyped for Threads of Power. Only just over a month to go now!

  4. Susan 08/08/2023 / 11:59 pm

    I agree – I can remember all of these being talked about all over the book blogosphere. It’s hard to resist when EVERYONE seems to be recommending a certain book, isn’t it??

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    • iloveheartlandx 15/08/2023 / 1:53 pm

      It definitely is-sometimes it works and sometimes it really doesn’t!

  5. themoonphoenix 09/08/2023 / 3:41 am

    I love the idea of The Bear and The Nightingale, but since English is not my native language, I easily lost attention, I read it a long time ago, I would like to try to reread one day

    • iloveheartlandx 15/08/2023 / 1:52 pm

      I can definitely get that, I found it quite dense and confusing and English is my native language! I hope you have better luck next time.

  6. Joanne 09/08/2023 / 7:13 am

    So delighted you got your Taylor Swift ticket!

  7. Davida Chazan 09/08/2023 / 11:21 am

    Maybe you saw my review of Her Hidden Genius? I loved it.

  8. Louise 09/08/2023 / 9:02 pm

    When Women Were Dragons didn’t work for me either but congratulations on the Taylor tickets!!

    • iloveheartlandx 15/08/2023 / 1:50 pm

      Yeah I was so bummed about that one because it sounded so good. Thank you!

  9. Cindy Davis 09/08/2023 / 10:57 pm

    Yay for being able to get your Taylor Swift ticket!!! I know you were so upset last week. It is hard to remember exactly who recommends the books, but odds are good we found it through our fellow book bloggers. Have a great week!

    • iloveheartlandx 15/08/2023 / 1:49 pm

      Thank you! I mean that is usually where I get my recommendations these days, so I’m confident that these all came from bloggers, I just can’t necessarily be certain it was because of TTT.

  10. Lisa @ Bookshelf Fantasies 09/08/2023 / 11:16 pm

    I think Cinder is one that I learned about through TTT posts as well — although I ended up loving it!

    • iloveheartlandx 15/08/2023 / 1:48 pm

      Lots of people do, it just didn’t hit the spot for me personally-I’m not really a big sci-fi reader anyway, so it was probably already a little on the back foot.

  11. Shaharee 10/08/2023 / 8:20 am

    Read somewhere in the news that at the University of Ghent (Belgium) there is an English literature course by Professor Ellie McCausland dedicated to Taylor Swift’s song texts. The cycle begins with Swift’s words, which are analyzed in detail and then interpreted in a literary context. Its lyrics contain many references to English literature. Dickens, Dickinson, Robert Frost, Shakespeare…but trying to look beyond that,” In her classes, she not only wants to show the literary techniques and genres the 33-year-old singer-songwriter uses year, but also wants to encourage its students to be creative and think critically about the music they listen to and the media they consume.

    • iloveheartlandx 15/08/2023 / 1:47 pm

      I saw that, I think it’s so cool! I would definitely enjoy that more than I did my actual English Literature classes at school ha ha.

  12. agreatreviewer 10/08/2023 / 10:34 am

    OOh nice! I think I also added By a Charm and Curse to my TBR because of this meme or blogging in general…that one might be in my TBR trunk buried hence the reason I didn’t see it right away! Lol!

    Thanks for visiting my TTT!

    • iloveheartlandx 15/08/2023 / 1:46 pm

      Thank you! It’s a very fun book, I hope you enjoy it if you do read it. No problem 🙂

  13. Emily Jane 10/08/2023 / 3:07 pm

    How exciting to see Taylor Swift. I’ve never been to a concert. Maybe one day when the kids are older…£800 is extortionate. I didn’t want to pay the price of over £100 for Harry Potter so we haven’t seen it yet 🤣

    I’ve not seen many of the books you have mentioned around. It is interesting what we all see 😊

    Have a great week!

    • iloveheartlandx 15/08/2023 / 1:45 pm

      Yeah I’m so excited! I’ve been quite lucky in that respect that my parents really like going to concerts so they’ve taken me and my sister to quite a few over the years, this is the first time I’ve actually paid for concert tickets myself-they’ve been a lot over the years that I’ve wanted to go to but I just couldn’t afford and to be honest, I would never spend as much as I have on this one on anyone but Taylor. £800 was completely ridiculous though, I didn’t pay anywhere near that much, it’s such a ripoff for what you get. I definitely understand that, I won’t usually pay anything more than £40 for theatre tickets, the one time I did it was for Moulin Rouge and that was because it was a charity night, so the money was going to Teenage Cancer Trust, and you got drinks and programme included in your ticket so I wasn’t spending anymore overall than I probably would have anyway!
      I mean a lot of these are from various different years of blogging, so some were around a lot at the time they were released but aren’t really anymore and some are still quite popular. There are so many different blogs out there that depending on who you follow, you could end up with a completely different list. Thank you!

      • Emily Jane 16/08/2023 / 5:33 pm

        My parents do like the theatre but due to the cost we rarely went – it made it more exciting when we did go. The most we paid for the theatre was £80. I wasn’t impressed 😶 and of course you need the programme. I have a nice little pile 🤣

        I never knew how popular reading, reviewing and blogging was until I started 2 years ago. It has been fun (and still is!!) seeing what other people are reading

      • iloveheartlandx 22/08/2023 / 2:34 pm

        I definitely get that, theatre can be so pricey! £80 for all of you? Can’t imagine being able to get that now! Yeah I always get the programmes, it started off with a small box but it has quickly…..expanded.
        Yes, I still love seeing what everyone is reading, it’s so wonderful to have this community of people who are so excited about books.

      • Emily Jane 23/08/2023 / 5:36 am

        £80 each. It was extortionate.

        It is! It gets me even more excited to read books!

      • iloveheartlandx 23/08/2023 / 10:04 am

        Oh yeah that sounds more plausible-that is extortionate though! I am very much a no more than £40 kind of person, so when I go to the theatre on my own, it tends to be on the cheap-I think the most we (and by we I mean my parents!) have paid for theatre is maybe for Back To the Future which I think was about £70-£80 each-I do agree, it’s extortionate and it’s been getting worse recently!
        Same here 🙂

      • Emily Jane 24/08/2023 / 2:42 pm

        Yeah. It was definitely a one off thing 😂

        I haven’t seen prices recently but prior to having my first son in 2018 we were looking at Harry Potter and The Cursed Child. It was certainly over £100 for the two of us which we couldn’t warrant spending. We are more £20-30 each people 😂

      • iloveheartlandx 29/08/2023 / 9:19 am

        They’re not great, a lot of the shows are charging upwards of three figures for the best seats now, you can still get cheap seats but the options for £20-£30 are definitely less than they used to be. I always really recommend the theatre sales like the Official London Theatre Sale in the New Year or West End Theatre Week which is happening now (and they do twice a year, once in March I think and then again in August/September) and I’ve managed to get a lot of great bargains through that!

      • Emily Jane 29/08/2023 / 4:34 pm

        Interesting. Ergh everything is going up in price these days. The theatre has always been a special treat for us. I would love to randomly buy a ticket from those kiosks 😂

      • iloveheartlandx 10/10/2023 / 4:53 pm

        I’ve never done that but I would like to too someday! I’m not usually that spontaneous, my theatre is generally quite pre-planned.

      • Emily Jane 10/10/2023 / 7:25 pm

        It seems exciting to just turn up and see what happens 😂 one day…

  14. Dedra @ A Book Wanderer 10/08/2023 / 5:22 pm

    Yay for Taylor tickets! I’ve never even tried to get them since it seems so challenging (and expensive). 😆 Maybe someday… Six of Crows is a series I read thanks to fellow bloggers, too. Cinder was thanks to Instagram. Happy reading!

    • iloveheartlandx 15/08/2023 / 1:37 pm

      Thank you! It was definitely one of the most complicated and stressful ticket buying processes I’ve ever had-and I don’t think it used to be like this, my mum got me tickets for the Red tour almost ten years ago and I think she just booked direct through the O2 website at the time, it was a surprise though so I don’t know if more went into getting the tickets than I thought, I just remember her surprising me with the order confirmation and screaming with joy!
      Yeah there’s definitely a lot of love for Six of Crows in the blogosphere. I’m not a huge presence on Bookstagram, so I don’t tend to get a huge number of recs from there.

  15. RS 10/08/2023 / 10:04 pm

    Ahhh, so psyched for your Eras ticket! I am way too intimidated to even think about going to a concert that size, so I’m living vicariously through people who do. It must be simultaneously fun and overwhelming to have something to anticipate for a full year.

    I haven’t read any of the books on your list today, but I do remember seeing lots of them around on TTT. It’s the best feeling when you get introduced to not just a new favorite book, but a whole favorite author. Thanks for another fun post.

    • iloveheartlandx 15/08/2023 / 1:32 pm

      Thank you! I am a little nervous about going to such a big event on my own, but I’ve been going to a lot of stuff on my own over the past year so I’m hoping it will be fine even if it’s much bigger than anything I’ve ever gone to on my own before. Ha ha it definitely is, but I feel a lot more relaxed now that I’ve got a ticket and know I’m going, it was more stressful just trying to get the ticket in the first place.
      Yes, the best thing about blogging is definitely finding new favourite books and authors, bloggers have introduced me to so many books I’ve absolutely loved 🙂

  16. Rissi 10/08/2023 / 10:12 pm

    Though I don’t think I still have them on my shelf, at one time I think Leigh’s and Marissa’s were probably added to my shelf because of social media hype. And yay for Taylor Swift! That’s so cool. I didn’t even attempt to get a ticket to any U.S. show. Largely because of the prices and insane “lines” to get one. Kind of tempted to *try* for 2024 but I wouldn’t even know how to begin to get a ticket. 😉 Thanks so much for visiting my website this week!

    • iloveheartlandx 15/08/2023 / 1:29 pm

      Yeah they’ve definitely both been really hugely hyped, Leigh definitely still is, I still see The Lunar Chronicles a lot but I wouldn’t say I see Marissa’s new stuff as much.
      Thank you, I’m so excited, even though it’s still a year away! I completely understand that, it’s a bit ridiculous. I think the registration for the new US dates has closed now, but I got mine through Ticketmaster resale so that might be an idea closer to the date, if they do that in the US? No problem!

  17. Dini @ dinipandareads 11/08/2023 / 5:26 pm

    I also don’t really keep track of which books I do add to my TBR from TTTs but a lot of the time, the books mentioned on many TTT lists also appear multiple times on my social media feeds so it’s likely a cycle 😂

    • iloveheartlandx 15/08/2023 / 1:21 pm

      Ha ha exactly, it’s so hard to keep track of where you got a recommendation from when it’s usually multiple places!

      • Nicole @ BookWyrmKnits 15/08/2023 / 3:08 pm

        It really was! I haven’t read it yet, but I don’t think my expectations for it have decreased much since then… I’ve been waiting for the hype to die down, but so many people were raving about it for so long that I’m worried I’ll expect too much from it when I do read it.

      • iloveheartlandx 22/08/2023 / 2:40 pm

        I definitely get that, it’s always hard going into a book when you’ve been hyping it up in your head for so long because everyone loves it.

  18. Kristi 12/08/2023 / 3:47 pm

    This topic is really making me try harder to keep track of when I add a book to my list because of TTT post. I already keep track if it’s a friend or family member who recommends it, so why not TTT’ers too? The Last Bookshop In London sounds like it could be right up my alley; I’ll have to look into it!

    • iloveheartlandx 15/08/2023 / 1:19 pm

      I definitely should too, I’m much better at keeping track when friends recommend books to me, but then I have a far smaller friendship circle than there are bloggers who do TTT, so it’s a lot easier! Ah it’s such a lovely book, I hope you enjoy it if you do read it.

  19. Ellie Warren 15/08/2023 / 9:41 am

    I think I overtaxed everyone’s memory last week. I’m sorry! 🤣 I think Born a Crime was definitely one I wouldn’t have read without TTT. Before I thought it was just a celeb memoir by someone I didn’t really know, but it was really good despite me having no idea who he was.

    • iloveheartlandx 15/08/2023 / 1:13 pm

      Ha ha don’t be, it was fun! Yeah I had kind of a vague idea who Trevor Noah was but I don’t think I would have had the same kind of interest in the book if I hadn’t been to South Africa the year before, it was definitely a case of very good timing!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.