Top Ten Tuesday #425

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve had a good week since I last did one of these. As I mentioned in my last post, I went to see Mrs Doubtfire with my mum on Thursday and we had a really great time, the show was super fun & the theatre had the BEST ice-cream that I’ve ever had, so much so that my mum actually looked up where we could get it when we got back home because we both enjoyed it so much. I’m quite glad that our original gift experience didn’t work out now because Mum and I both really enjoyed the show and it’s one that we might not have thought of going to see if it hadn’t been available on this gift voucher scheme.

I also went to West End Live on Saturday, which if you’re not familiar is a free theatre event in London, loads of shows from the West End come and do performances in Trafalgar Square over the course of the weekend. I only stayed for part of the day as all the shows I wanted to see were on before 2.30 and honestly by the time Six performed (who were the last cast I’d wanted to see), my feet were getting quite tired and I was ready to head home, I don’t think I could have made it another two hours. I absolutely loved it though, I got to see the casts of 19 different shows perform, added even more theatre to the list of shows I want to see and we even got to see the flypast for the King’s official birthday going overhead during the day. I even booked to go and see Moulin Rouge again this week because Jamie Muscato’s performance of Roxanne was so amazing, I decided had to go and see it again. It was definitely a very fun, if slightly tiring day as I had to get up quite early to join the queue to get in, which I do have to admit was quite ridiculous, I arrived at 8.45, about an hour and half before they were going to start letting people in and the queue was already at Leicester Square! It’s great to see so many people excited about theatre though and was super fun to sing along at the tops of our voices to some theatre classics.

Anyway, enough of my rambling, it’s Tuesday and so it’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl. This week is our annual Summer TBR topic. I have to admit, I did not do that well on my Spring TBR, I only read 2 books off it! In my defense, I did read more books than that, but my mood was taking me anywhere but the books on my seasonal TBR list and as a newly reformed (in the past couple of years) mood reader, these days I follow my mood wherever it takes me. Anyway, I still enjoy making these lists and it’s good to have them as options to refer to when I’m struggling with what I want to read next, so that’s how I plan to think of this list again: instead of a strict TBR, these are summer reading options:

  1. The Librarian of Burned Books-Brianna Labuskes

This is my current read and I’m enjoying it so far, I’m not sure on one of the narrators (the one who narrates for Hannah, Karissa Vacker, I think) but I’m liking the other two. I definitely like Hannah and Viv more than I like Althea at this point, but I get the feeling that we’re not meant to like Althea much! Viv is definitely my favourite of the three so far but I’m intrigued to see how their stories become intertwined throughout the rest of the book.

2. I Must Betray You-Ruta Sepetys

My other current read, this is the physical book that I’ve been kind of dipping in and out of over the past couple of months, but this book is quite good for that as the chapters are very short so I can read a little at a time when I have the time to sit down and read a physical book. I’m intrigued thus far but I will say the downside of the short chapters is that I don’t feel like I’ve really got to know the characters that well yet. Sepetys certainly has painted a great picture of how brutal Communist Romania was though. I think I’m still very much in the build-up stages of this book so I’m sure it will get more exciting as I get further through.

3. The Keeper of Hidden Books-Madeline Martin

I’ve been loving Madeline Martin’s books over the past couple of years and her latest one releases in August. This one is about the Nazi occupation of Warsaw and a young woman fighting to save her best friend from the ghetto and salvage books banned by the Nazis. I have really high hopes for this one after enjoying The Last Bookshop In London and The Librarian Spy so I can’t wait till August so I can read this.

4. The Phoenix Crown-Kate Quinn and Janie Chang

Kate Quinn has fast become one of my favourite authors, so of course her upcoming historical fiction, co written with Janie Chang was immediately added to my TBR. I’ve only read her WWII fiction before so this will be new territory for me with her as this book is set in the early 20th century (1906 & 1912 to be exact) so I’m intrigued to see how she handles the new setting. The book sounds fascinating as well, about two women whose paths cross searching for the Phoenix Crown, a relic from the ancient Summer Palace in Beijing. The Goodreads page for some reason says 2024 now but I’ve not seen any announcements from either author that the release date has been pushed back, so hopefully it’s still coming this September!

5. The Golden Spoon-Jessa Maxwell

This is one I discovered on a lot of people’s anticipated releases lists for the first half of the year and it sounded like so much fun: it’s basically Bake Off but make it a murder mystery which was something I had no idea I needed in my life till I read the synopsis! It finally comes out here in the UK in September so it’s definitely one that I’ll have on my TBR for later in the year (there’s a very good chance it may also make my Autumn TBR list because there’s no way I’ll read all ten of the books on this list before September).

6. The Bronzed Beasts-Roshani Chokshi

I’ve been meaning to read this one for more than two years now, so once I’m done with I Must Betray You, this is definitely where I’m heading next because I have to find out what happens to Severin and the rest of his crew (DOES LAILA ACTUALLY DIE? I’M GOING TO BE SO PISSED IF SHE DOES). I’ve just not really been reading physical books over the past couple of years so that’s why I’ve not got to it yet, but I’m hoping I will before the end of this year (if not over the summer) as I really want to see how this series ends.

7. City of Nightmares-Rebecca Schaeffer

This is a carryover from my Spring TBR, I’m still super excited to read this one, I was just feeling more in the mood for a historical than a fantasy when I finished my last book, so I went for The Librarian of Burned Books instead, I have a feeling this might be my next read though, I’ve not listened to anything narrated by Saskia Maarleveld yet this year, and that MUST be rectified. Also it just sounds like a ton of weird, gross and wonderful fun!

8. The Bandit Queens-Parini Shroff

This actually wasn’t super high on my radar but I listened to a sample of the audiobook and loved the narrator so much that it moved higher up my TBR (that’s actually going to be a theme here as all three of the last few books on this list, I added because the narrator of the audiobook sounded so great). Anyway, this book is about a woman in India whose husband died and everyone thinks she killed him (even though she didn’t) who then gets unexpectedly roped into helping…..dispatch the no-good husbands of the other women in her village. It sounds like an absolute riot of a book and I can’t wait to read it.

9. Psyche and Eros-Luna McNamara

This is another one that wasn’t super high priority on my TBR, I mainly added it because of the pretty cover and thought, “Ah, I’ll get to that some day”. But again, I listened to a sample and the narrator Rachel Petladwala (those of you who like me are British and were a kid/teenager in the 00s/early 10s might remember her from the CBBC series M.I. High) was so great that I just had to bump it up my TBR. I’m sure the other narrator Joshua Riley is also great, but his voice wasn’t on the sample I listened to!

10. Her Majesty’s Royal Coven-Juno Dawson

This one was one that wasn’t really on my radar at all, and I’m not sure why because I do like witches, there are just so many books coming out every year that it’s hard to keep track. But anyway, it wasn’t on my TBR and then I found out that Nicola Coughlan narrates the audiobook and I LOVE her so much so I figured that this book was worth giving a try for that at least (plus I have heard people say that it’s good).

So there we go, those are the books on my Summer TBR. Like I said, I’m going to be fairly chill with this, I might read these books, they are options (and certainly books I’m very interested in at the minute) but if I find other books that take my fancy more, I will read those. I have to say I’ve found it very freeing not having my reading planned in advance the past few years! I’m sure I will definitely get to all of these at some point anyway, it just might not be in the next three months. How about you? What’s on your Summer TBR this year? Have you read any of these (of the ones already out)? What did you think of them? Let me know in the comments!

I’ll be back next week with another Top Ten Tuesday, it’s another annual one, Most Anticipated Releases For The Second Half of The Year (July-December). I have to admit, it was a fairly top heavy release year for me, so my second half of the year list may be quite a bit shorter than my first half, I’m looking forward to hopefully finding some new discoveries in other people’s lists next week because I feel like I’m kind of behind on what’s actually coming out in the rest of the year, so hopefully I’ll be able to find a lot more upcoming releases to add to my TBR next week!

49 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #425

  1. Rachel @Waves of Fiction 20/06/2023 / 11:17 pm

    Hope you love all on your list! Happy reading and thanks for visiting my TTT!

  2. lydiaschoch 20/06/2023 / 11:31 pm

    I hope you enjoy all of these books.

    Here is my Top Ten Tuesday post.

  3. Carol 21/06/2023 / 12:05 am

    I loved I Must Betray you! Also, love Madeleine Martin….Last Bookshop in London is on my lifetime favs list! Happy summer reading!

    • iloveheartlandx 27/06/2023 / 6:40 pm

      Glad you enjoyed it. Yeah she’s such a great writer. Thank you 🙂

  4. Susan 21/06/2023 / 3:30 am

    I MUST BETRAY YOU is a great read! Very atmospheric and thought-provoking. Sepetys is a great writer. I love her books. I hope you enjoy all these.

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    • iloveheartlandx 27/06/2023 / 6:40 pm

      Yeah I’ve been enjoying it so far, I love her books and how she highlights underexplored historical events in her books, it’s so important to shine a light on history that the world has ignored or forgotten. Thank you!

  5. Anne Bennett 21/06/2023 / 4:10 am

    Adding The Phoenix Crown to my TBR. I am newish to Quinn but loved the book I did read by her.

    • iloveheartlandx 27/06/2023 / 6:38 pm

      I can highly recommend all the books of hers I’ve read (which is basically all her WWII stuff, barring The Huntress which I’ve not got round to yet).

  6. Cindy Davis 21/06/2023 / 12:05 pm

    I hope you enjoy all of these when you get a chance to read them. Have a great week!

  7. Book of Secrets 21/06/2023 / 1:20 pm

    I have The Golden Spoon on my TBR stack too. I agree that it sounds fun!

  8. Lory 21/06/2023 / 1:39 pm

    I am interested in Psyche and Eros. I’m always up for another take on mythology, though the modernization does not always work for me. Have a great reading summer!

    • iloveheartlandx 27/06/2023 / 6:37 pm

      It depends how its done, some can make modernisation of Greek myths really work, others not so much. You too 🙂

  9. Louise 21/06/2023 / 3:18 pm

    I’m definitely going to check out The Golden Spoon now! I’ve read q couple of obviously-Bake-Off books this year and reapply liked them.

    • Louise 21/06/2023 / 3:18 pm

      *really liked them – silly typos lol

      • iloveheartlandx 27/06/2023 / 6:36 pm

        Ha ha don’t worry, I got what you meant!

  10. Joanne 21/06/2023 / 7:54 pm

    My daughter has just finished listening to The Bandit Queens and has been raving about it. That free theatre performance sounds brilliant! I’m going to be in London in a couple of weeks and might have time on Saturday before the train to check it out if it’s on every week?

    • iloveheartlandx 21/06/2023 / 11:33 pm

      Ah that’s so good to hear! Sadly it’s only an annual thing, it’s one weekend in June each year that they do it and that was this past weekend 🙂

  11. Shelby | Duff Runs Tough 22/06/2023 / 12:44 pm

    Okay my Brother and SIL live in London and now I will have to make them take me to a West End Live the next time I visit.

  12. heather 22/06/2023 / 3:34 pm

    West End Live sounds great! I’m actually seeing a touring production of Moulin Rouge tonight and seeing Six in August in Cleveland Ohio USA

    • iloveheartlandx 27/06/2023 / 6:07 pm

      It was fab! I hope you enjoyed Moulin Rouge and that you enjoy Six in August-I’ve still yet to see that one, I’m hoping to go in August or September maybe 🙂

  13. Jaime 22/06/2023 / 4:50 pm

    I totally understand what you mean by making a TBR list and then reading other things instead. I do that as well. But I also like to have a list just in case 🙂

    Good luck with your reading this summer! Hopefully you’ll enjoy a lot of what you read, whether it’s on this list or not!

    • iloveheartlandx 27/06/2023 / 6:06 pm

      Yeah I feel the same, it’s good to have a list to refer back to, but if something has really caught your eye, then it’s worth going off list for. Thank you!

  14. Nicole Santana 22/06/2023 / 5:56 pm

    The Librarian of Burned Books…what a title. Your list sounds good. I hope you enjoy them all!

  15. themoonphoenix 22/06/2023 / 11:34 pm

    I Must Betray You is so good, Sepetys is one of my favorite authors, and this story is so easy to read because the super short chapters

    • iloveheartlandx 27/06/2023 / 6:04 pm

      Yeah it’s been very good for dipping in and out of in breaks at work!

  16. masterspj 23/06/2023 / 2:35 pm

    It sounds like you had a great weekend full of musical theater! As for your TBR, The Golden Spoon sounds like one I need to find as I love Bake Off and cozy mysteries. Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier this week.

    Pam @ Read! Bake! Create!

    • iloveheartlandx 27/06/2023 / 6:04 pm

      I did! I hope we both enjoy that one. No problem 🙂

  17. Meezan 23/06/2023 / 3:29 pm

    The live theatre version of Mrs. Doubtfire would be fun! I recently re-watched the movie. I had forgotten just how good it is! 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 27/06/2023 / 6:01 pm

      It was really fun! I need to actually see the film now ha ha.

  18. Dedra @ A Book Wanderer 23/06/2023 / 6:57 pm

    I’m a hard-core planner who wishes she could be more of a mood reader, but I like how you define your list as something to refer back to if you get stumped on what to read next. That’s a great way to look at it! Happy reading!

    • iloveheartlandx 27/06/2023 / 6:00 pm

      It feels like the right balance between letting my mood take me where it may but also giving myself some ideas to draw on so I don’t get completely stumped! I used to be more of a planner but I found the structure kind of restrictive and I think I’ve definitely got a better balance now.

  19. Annemieke 24/06/2023 / 6:37 pm

    Honestly I heard no buzz for Her Majesty’s Royal Coven. It wasn’t until the I was offered an arc for the second book that i heard about it and read it.

    • iloveheartlandx 27/06/2023 / 5:31 pm

      I heard quite a bit about it over the summer last year, but I just wasn’t all that interested until I found out that Nicola Coughlan narrated the audiobook.

  20. Rissi 26/06/2023 / 4:20 pm

    I shudder to think what my last few seasonal TBRs look like. I’m 99% sure I have read next to NO books there. 😉 Still these are fun to create. Sounds like you’re having a fun summer and seeing some great shows!! Hope you also enjoy some good books; and thanks a bunch for visiting my website last week.

    • iloveheartlandx 27/06/2023 / 5:30 pm

      I definitely have more fun creating them than the number of books from them that I actually finish but I’ve learned to care less about that ha ha. I have been having a really fun summer so far, and yes been seeing a lot of great shows. I am also enjoying my books though too 🙂 No problem!

  21. Lory 27/06/2023 / 7:23 am

    The Bandit Queens sounded good to me too. West End Live sounds fantastic, if I ever get to go back to London I’ll have to time my visit accordingly! Have a great summer with these books or whatever catches your fancy.

    • iloveheartlandx 27/06/2023 / 5:28 pm

      Yeah hopefully it will be as fun a read as it sounds. Oh you definitely should, it’s so much fun, it’s on every June 🙂 Thank you!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.