Top Ten Tuesday #403

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve had a good week since I last did one of these, mine has been relatively quiet, but I’ve been settling into the swing of things at work and I think I’m starting to get the hang of everything, so that’s been good. I’m also starting Spanish evening classes tomorrow, after my intensive course in 2021, I really want to try and improve my speaking even more so I’m hoping these evening classes will help with that.

Today’s TTT is as always courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl and it’s another of our annual January topics, Bookish Goals For 2023. I had slightly mixed results for my 2022 goals, so I’m hoping that my 2023 goals will go better than they did! Anyway, here we go, the Bookish Goals I Hope To Achieve In 2023:

  1. Complete My Goodreads Challenge

This is always an annual one as I do the Goodreads Challenge every year. I was a little disappointed that I had to lower my goal to 20 last year, so I’m starting again with my usual goal of 24 this year, and as always I’m hoping that I can do a little better than that. In 2020, I managed my best ever reading challenge of 45 books and I would love it if I could get somewhere back up near there, but that might be unrealistic given how my reading has been going for the past few years, so I’ll just aim for the 24 and if I can put it up, that would be a bonus.

2. Complete some of my unfinished series (i.e. those that are completed and I only have one or two books left to read of)

I have an embarrassingly large series-to-finish shelf on Goodreads and quite a few duologies/trilogies where I only have one or two books left to read in order to finish them. This year, I would like to be able to knock at least some of those series off my list, particularly the duologies where I only have the second book to read. I’m not going to put a number on this as I don’t want it to be a too pressurised goal, but if I could at least finish one or two series this year, I would be happy with that.

3. Restart the Book Vs Movie Feature On My Blog

This particular feature has kind of fallen by the wayside in the past couple of years, and it really shouldn’t have because they’re not posts that actually take me very long to do at all! I’d like to try and get back to doing these monthly this year, and I already have one lined up to do this month.

4. Keep a more regular review posting schedule

I had this one last year as well, but I’m really determined to actually do it this time, spending the last few months of the year desperately trying to catch up on my outstanding reviews is not something I particularly enjoy. Once I’ve caught up with my outstanding reviews from last year, I’d like to try and keep a schedule of having my reviews for books done within two weeks of finishing reading them, and if not that then at least have reviewed them by the time I finish my next book. I fully intend not to be cramming to catch up on three or four outstanding reviews from this year by this time next year!

5. Keep up with discussion posts at least every other month

My discussion posts have kind of fallen by the wayside over recent years, so I thought I would try out a new schedule this year and see if that works better for me. These are quite long posts that take me a while to write, so I thought I would try out a bimonthly schedule this year (ie posting them every other month rather than every month) and see if that works out better for me than the monthly schedule that I’ve been trying and failing to keep to for the past two years.

6. Read more new to me authors

I felt like I didn’t read as many new to me authors last year as I would have liked (though counting back, half of the books I read were actually by new to me authors, so maybe this was just me feeling like I read less because I read less books overall) so I would like to try and really make an effort to seek out more new to me authors this year. I love finding new authors and getting to add them to my list of author staples, so I hope that by seeking out more new authors this year, I will find many more new potential favourites!

7. Try and read more of my physical books

Whilst I have loved getting into audiobooks more over the past four years and have no plans to cut back on my listening, I would like to get back into reading physical books a bit more. I felt like in 2020, I had a great balance between reading physical books and listening to audios and in 2021 and 2022, my physical books just fell by the wayside. I have a lot of books on my shelf that I’m really excited to read, so this year, I’d really like to try and carve out more time for reading my physical books and hopefully knock some of the books that have been sitting on my shelf for years off my TBR.

8. Read more diversely

This is another perennial one of mine as I’m always looking to try and diversify my reading. I was a little disappointed last year that my reading didn’t end up as diverse as I would have liked it to, so this year I want to really try and hunt out books by POC authors, LGBTQ+ authors and disabled authors and make my reading list a little more diverse than it has been in previous years.

9. Actually get rid of the rest of the books that I decided to unhaul last year

So last year when I moved, I put together quite a big box of books to get rid of. And I did manage to unhaul some, however the box with the rest is still sitting in my room waiting to be moved. This year, I need to actually make an effort to go to a charity shop and get rid of the rest so I don’t have a random box of books that I’m not planning to read again sitting and taking up space in my bedroom!

10. Use the library more

This one might clash slightly with “Read more of your physical books on your shelf” but oh well! I got a library card for my local library last year, but I haven’t really used it yet. This year I would really like to get into the habit of using the library more, even if it’s just using Libby on my phone for audiobooks, or just going down there once a week to have a browse!

So there we go, those are my Bookish Goals For 2023, I think I’ve got a nice mix of reading & blogging goals. What are your goals for 2023? Do we share any? Did you also have mixed luck on your 2022 goals? Let me know in the comments!

I’ll be back next week with another Top Ten Tuesday, the topic is New To Me Authors I Discovered In 2022, but as I mentioned in Goal #6, I didn’t read as many books by new to me authors as I would have liked last year, so I’m going to do a split list instead and share New To Me Authors I Discovered In 2022/New To Me Authors I Hope To Read In 2023.

60 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #403

  1. holley4734 17/01/2023 / 12:46 pm

    I am looking forward to reading the Book Vs Movie posts! šŸ™‚

  2. Carla 17/01/2023 / 1:04 pm

    Great goals Jo. I have some of these on my list as well. I always enjoy books vs movie posts. I just read and watched The Storied Life of AK Fikry and want to do one of them, but it isn’t something that I would do very often. I hope you do well with all of your 2023 goals.

    • iloveheartlandx 24/01/2023 / 6:10 pm

      Thank you! Yes, it does seem to have been a very popular goal, so hopefully it’s something everyone enjoys when I start doing them again. I mean it may turn out that I don’t end up doing them monthly because I don’t have enough books/films to do but it is something I would like to try and do more regularly.

  3. Kristin @ Kristin Kraves Books 17/01/2023 / 1:33 pm

    I feel like you on actually getting rid of the bokks you unhaul! Just because I unhauled them from my shelves doesn’t mean they have left my home šŸ˜‚

    • iloveheartlandx 24/01/2023 / 6:05 pm

      Ha ha I’m glad I’m not the only one. They’ve been sitting there for months, judging me!

    • iloveheartlandx 24/01/2023 / 6:05 pm

      It does seem to have been a very popular goal, so hopefully that translates when I do start it up again! Thank you šŸ™‚

  4. anovelglimpse 17/01/2023 / 4:06 pm

    I love these goals! Especially the one about reading new authors. Good luck.

    • iloveheartlandx 24/01/2023 / 6:04 pm

      Thank you! Yes, I love expanding my author pool a little every year by finding great new ones to add to my favourites šŸ™‚

  5. Seriesbooklover 17/01/2023 / 4:19 pm

    Good luck with all your goals and meeting your goodread challenge

  6. Cathy 17/01/2023 / 5:05 pm

    2. Complete some of my unfinished series ā€” I try to not look too closely at my series. I dare to not be a completionist for some of themā€¦ šŸ˜

    4. Keep a more regular review posting schedule ā€” oh, I could never do two weeksā€¦ I need to do my reviews before starting the next book, to clear my head.

    8. Read more diversely ā€” have you read anything by T.J Klune? Highly recommended. And P. Djeli Clark. If you like magic and fantasy, that isā€¦

    • iloveheartlandx 24/01/2023 / 6:02 pm

      I mean I don’t finish every series I start either; when I say finish series, it’s ones that I’m deep into and only have one or two books left to finish. Most of the time if I’m not going to continue with a series, I drop out after book one, if I’ve made it to book two or beyond, I’ll usually complete it, unless something I really hate.
      See I immediately move on to the next book so if I leave it more than two or three weeks then I’ll likely be done with the next book I’m reading and the reviews starting piling up…..
      No I haven’t but I’ve heard great things, so maybe he’s one for this year. I’ve not heard of P.Djeli Clark, but I do like magic and fantasy so maybe I’ll have to look into his books too. Thank you for the recommendations!

  7. Aymee 17/01/2023 / 5:28 pm

    I made a list of the series that I want to advance on and finish if there aren’t too many books left. Have fun with these!

    Here is our Top Ten Tuesday.

    • iloveheartlandx 24/01/2023 / 5:58 pm

      Good luck with that, hope you manage to make a dent in those series! Thank you šŸ™‚

  8. Rissi 17/01/2023 / 5:53 pm

    Pretty sure I likely have some series I need to complete as well. And we love a good book/movie feature, too. šŸ™‚ Like you, I also need to be more consistant with discussion posts. I enjoy the idea of them, but if my opinion is different that what I find on social media or just in general, I often get nervous then to publish. Guess improving on that should be another 2023 goal. šŸ˜‰ Thanks so much for visiting my website this week!

    • iloveheartlandx 24/01/2023 / 5:57 pm

      Ha ha I always do! Yes, that one seems to be the goal that’s got everyone most excited, so hopefully I’m able to stick at it. I used to be quite consistent with them but they do take a long time to do and after so many years I’ve found myself running low on ideas. I get that, it can definitely be nerve wracking when you’re putting something out there that you think might get some pushback but generally I’ve found that my discussion posts have lead to some really nice and productive conversations. No problem šŸ™‚

  9. lindseyhabets 17/01/2023 / 7:00 pm

    Great goals! I did love your Book vs Movie feature, so glad to see it make a comeback šŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 24/01/2023 / 10:24 am

      Thanks! Ah I’m so glad to hear it, there’s been so much lovely excitement about that particular goal from you guys so it’s definitely made me even more excited to push on with that this year šŸ™‚

  10. Kasey @ The Story Sanctuary 17/01/2023 / 10:31 pm

    Great goals. I’ve got a bunch of unhaul books to get rid of, too. Yay for book vs movie posts. Those are awesome.

    • iloveheartlandx 24/01/2023 / 10:23 am

      Thank you! Yes, they’ve been sitting there for a while now and I’m starting to feel like they’re judging me. Glad you’re excited for them šŸ™‚

  11. 1girl2manybooks 17/01/2023 / 10:45 pm

    I am also terrible at finishing a series – I have loads of duologies and trilogies and series with more that I haven’t read the final book or the last 2 or something. I’m not sure if it’s because I don’t want it to end? I’m trying to be better about that too!

    • iloveheartlandx 24/01/2023 / 10:21 am

      Honestly, I think I have so many series to keep track of and sometimes the gaps between books can be more than one or two years, so I just forget that I’ve got the series to finish! I used to be so much better about finishing series, but I’ve got so many books to read now that inevitably some fall by the wayside.

  12. tracybham 17/01/2023 / 11:09 pm

    I look forward to seeing the Book vs. Movie posts on your blog.

  13. Cheri 18/01/2023 / 1:27 am

    Great goals. I love my library and was so happy when I actually started regularly using my library again a few years back. Now I also enjoy taking my granddaughter and so far she loves going.

    • iloveheartlandx 24/01/2023 / 10:19 am

      Thank you! Ah that’s so lovely, my dad used to take me and my sister every week when we were kids and it was always my favourite time of the week, I’d walk out with a stack of books bigger than me most of the time!

  14. Holliehocks 18/01/2023 / 2:15 am

    I have also turned to a larger reliance on audiobooks the last couple of years (thanks to library resources). While they’re helpful and enjoyable, they definitely don’t take the place of having a physical book!

    These all sound like great goals, so I wish you the best in your reading for the year and reaching your goals!

    • iloveheartlandx 24/01/2023 / 10:15 am

      I love audiobooks, they’ve been a great addition to my reading life, but it’s been a few years since I last read a physical book now and I have missed them! Thank you šŸ™‚

  15. Katie Harder-Schauer 18/01/2023 / 3:30 am

    I used to do a book vs movie feature on my blog too…and now I wanna bring it back as well. Maybe we could make it a buddy thing? Have a great week.

  16. the bookworm 18/01/2023 / 3:53 am

    Good luck with your reading goals! Your book vs movie feature sounds interesting. I also need to start going to the library again.

    • iloveheartlandx 24/01/2023 / 10:14 am

      Thank you! I’m so pleased about the excitement from people about me starting that again, it’s making me very excited to to do the posts. Yes, I loved going to the library when I was younger, and I have missed it!

  17. WendyW 18/01/2023 / 5:22 am

    Oh, the Book Vs Movie Feature sounds great! I also want to visit the library more too. Best of luck to you on these goals.

    • iloveheartlandx 24/01/2023 / 10:09 am

      I’d definitely seen an uptick in people reading my old Book Vs Movie posts over the past year, it seems like something you guys are really interested in, so I hope everyone enjoys the new posts! Thank you šŸ™‚

  18. Those are all great goals! Iā€™m planning to unhaul a bunch of books this year. I just need somewhere to store the ones Iā€™m selling and figure out about donating the rest.

    • iloveheartlandx 24/01/2023 / 10:08 am

      Thank you! I just need to get past the final hurdle of getting them out of the house, I managed the deciding what to get rid of part, but not the rest šŸ™‚

  19. Lory 18/01/2023 / 9:43 am

    I still have a bag of books sitting here that I meant to donate to the English library in Zurich. I hope I”ll get around to that this year! All the best for your goals, they sound great.

    • iloveheartlandx 24/01/2023 / 10:05 am

      I’m glad I’m not the only one, it definitely feels like the box is judging me! Thank you šŸ™‚

  20. Ellie Warren 18/01/2023 / 11:26 am

    Last year was the first year I didn’t purposefully set a diversity goal, in the hopes that my reading would naturally be more diverse after years of seeking out those books. Looking back I did read the same ratio as when I was trying, so I hope that continues.

    • iloveheartlandx 24/01/2023 / 10:05 am

      That’s great! I feel like I haven’t quite reached that point yet, so I still need to actively set the goal, but I hope I do reach that point someday!

  21. Susan 18/01/2023 / 3:13 pm

    I need to work on series this year, too. I’m in the middle of SOOOO many. LOL.

    Good luck with all your goals and Happy TTT (on a Wednesday)!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    • iloveheartlandx 24/01/2023 / 10:02 am

      Ha ha SAME. I have so many series where I just have one or two books to finish. Thank you šŸ™‚

  22. Jen | Book Den 19/01/2023 / 11:58 pm

    Good luck with your goals! It’s so interesting – I’m trying to go more digital this year. šŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 24/01/2023 / 10:02 am

      Thank you! I have been doing more audiobooks than anything else over the past few years which is why I want to get back to reading more of the physical books on my shelves as there’s a lot that I’ve bought that has just been sitting there for two years or so!

  23. Dedra @ A Book Wanderer 20/01/2023 / 5:36 pm

    Great goals here! And several we share. I have so many unfinished series, as well. It starts to be overwhelming. Good luck with your goals!

    • iloveheartlandx 24/01/2023 / 10:01 am

      Thank you! Yes, I do feel a moment of dread when I see the number next to my series-to-finish shelf on Goodreads šŸ™‚

  24. allthebookblognamesaretaken 21/01/2023 / 8:51 pm

    Great goals, and we have a lot in common. I need to get back into a regular reviewing schedule or something. I have hardly reviewed anything, which kind of defeats the purpose of my blog. Good luck!

    • iloveheartlandx 24/01/2023 / 10:00 am

      Thank you! I have managed to review pretty much everything I’ve read in the past couple of years, but it’s been on a bit of a delay, I want to try and change that this year.

  25. thebookishlibra 22/01/2023 / 11:46 pm

    Good luck with all of these. Finishing series I’ve started is a big goal for me as well. I have too many half finished ones on my shelves.

    • iloveheartlandx 24/01/2023 / 9:59 am

      Thank you! It’s a perennial goal for me, as soon as I finish some series, more seem to pop up!

  26. Cheryl C. Malandrinos 23/01/2023 / 12:26 am

    A book versus movie feature sounds wonderful. I look forward to that. Good luck with all your goals. Thanks for sharing and for visiting my blog last week.

    • iloveheartlandx 24/01/2023 / 9:59 am

      Thank you! You can find my previous posts under the “Book Vs Movie” tab as it is something I’ve been doing for a while, I just unfortunately let it fall by the wayside a little over the past couple of years, hence why I’m trying to restart it! No problem šŸ™‚

  27. Svetlana Lib 23/01/2023 / 2:27 am

    I wish you luck in your goals! They all sound pretty awesome.

  28. Literary Feline 24/01/2023 / 9:42 pm

    I am glad things are going well for you! I’ve been using the Duolingo app for Spanish–and definitely see its very many limitations. It’s fun though and maybe someday I will be able to take an actual course. I studied Spanish in school many years ago, and while I remember some things, I don’t remember most.

    I wish you the best with your goals. This all sound very doable. I am in a similar boat with #2 on your list. I have started so many series I want to continue reading. I figure this is an ongoing goal, which is why I haven’t set a number for it either. I want to read more diversely too, although I didn’t list that as one of my goals. It’s one of my unspoken ones. I really want to read more of my physical books too. Maybe balance it out more with my e-books. And especially ones I already own.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.