Top Ten Tuesday #385

Hi all! Hope you’ve all had a good week since I last did one of these. It was my birthday yesterday, and I had a lovely day, my mum and I went to a spa in Richmond, which was really nice, we had a really nice lunch and then spent the rest of the day using the spa facilities before having our treatments, I enjoyed a very relaxing back pamper!

Anyway, it’s Tuesday, so that means another Top Ten Tuesday courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s topic was supposed to be Book Titles With Geographical Terms In Them but honestly, I’ve not really read many, so instead I thought I’d do a different title themed topic, and share Books With The Something of Something and Something title theme. I thought that being a big a fantasy reader, I would have read way more of these than it actually turns out I have, I had to include a few that are on my TBR because I didn’t have enough that I’d actually read (that weren’t part of the same series!). Anyway here we go:

  1. Children of Blood and Bone-Tomi Adeyemi

This title is definitely one of the most fantasy titles to ever fantasy, with the incredibly common title theme and using both “Blood” and “Bone” which are two of the most commonly used words in fantasy titles. I did really enjoy the book though, it was a really fun read, I loved the characters and the world. Sadly the sequel ended up being a bit of a disappointment, but I have high hopes for the final book in the trilogy (whenever that comes out!).

2. Girls Made of Snow and Glass-Melissa Bashardoust

For once a title including the word “Girl” or in this case “Girls” that isn’t a mystery title as they seem to really love their “Girl” titles! I really wish I’d like this one more than I did, because it was an interesting idea to explore the stepmother/stepdaughter relationship in a Snow White retelling, but the plot didn’t live up to the promise of the premise.

3. A Song of Wraiths and Ruin-Roseanne A. Brown

It’s a pretty title, though I have to admit, it’s been a while since I read the book, so I can’t quite remember what the relevance of the title was to the story! I really loved the characters from this book, particularly Malik, his struggles with anxiety were so well handled, and it’s one of few fantasy books I’ve read that actually deals with mental health (strange for a genre where so many characters go through such trauma) Sadly, much like with Children of Blood and Bone, the sequel didn’t quite live up to the first book for me.

4. The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes-Suzanne Collins

When I first saw the title, I did think it was a bit of an odd choice, considering that the Hunger Games trilogy titles were all so short. However, now having read the book, it’s definitely very fitting for the characters. Honestly, whilst I didn’t dislike this book as much as some people seem to have, I wasn’t clamouring for a Hunger Games prequel, and wouldn’t have been disappointed if Suzanne Collins hadn’t done one. Having said that, it wasn’t a bad book and there were parts I enjoyed about it, even if it’s probably my least favourite book from The Hunger Games world.

5. A Court of Thorns and Roses-Sarah J Maas

This was the first title to come to mind when I thought of the topic as Sarah J Maas has become so synonymous with this title scheme over recent years (though it probably goes back to A Song of Ice and Fire, and maybe even further back than that, I don’t know), although it seems like the next few books in the series won’t follow the exact same pattern if A Court of Silver Flames is anything to go by. I’m more of a Throne of Glass fan than an ACOTAR fan to be honest, I did really enjoy A Court of Mist and Fury, but I’ve still yet to finish the initial Feyre trilogy.

6. Daughter of Smoke and Bone-Laini Taylor

Another very classic fantasy title, as all the words in this title (Daughter, Smoke, Bone) are really popular ones in fantasy titles. I really enjoyed the first book of the trilogy, I loved the whimsical feel of it, and I really enjoyed the Prague setting. Sadly, Days of Blood and Starlight had me so annoyed that I still have yet to finish the trilogy!

7. A Curse So Dark and Lonely-Brigid Kemmerer

Another very fantasy feeling title, given the prevalence of dark curses in fantasy books! This one sadly didn’t work as well for me as I know it did for many others, but I did appreciate that Brigid Kemmerer did something different with a Beauty and the Beast retelling as so many of them can often feel so same-y. I also really enjoyed Harper as a main character and it was wonderful to see a disabled character taking centre stage in a fantasy novel, as we don’t see it often enough.

8. The Game of Love and Death-Martha Brockenbrough

I’ve not read this one yet, but I do love a book title that does exactly what it says on the tin. Apparently this book imagines “Love” and “Death” as real figures, who have been engaged in a millennia long war using humans as their pawns and that just sounds like such a fun idea. I’m looking forward to seeing if this book is as fun as it sounds like it will be.

9. Queen of Coin and Whispers-Helen Corcoran

This is another one that’s still on my TBR. From the title, I’m imagining a queen that presides over a very gossipy kind of court, though I’m not sure where the coin bit comes in! I’ve heard good things about this one, so hopefully it ends up being one I enjoy.

10. A Shiver of Snow and Sky-Lisa Lueddecke

Honestly, this is one of those fantasy titles that does seem like it’s come out of a fantasy title name generator! Other than the book having a snowy setting, I don’t get much more from the title. Still I was very drawn to the beautiful cover and I’m looking forward to reading the book and discovering more of what the book’s about.

So there we go, those are just some of the many, many books with the Something of Something and Something title scheme! Have you read any of these? What did you think of them? Let me know in the comments!

I will have another TTT for you all next week, it’s another annual one as we’ll be sharing our Autumn TBRs, so you’ll all get to hear about how terribly I did with my Summer TBR and I’ll get to share another overly optimistic list of books I’m going to read!

51 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #385

  1. jennielyse 13/09/2022 / 9:20 pm

    I really like the topic you decided to go with. I might have to steal it for a freebie week. I’m pretty sure I could come up with ten books. Great choices on your part too! 😀

    My TTT

    • iloveheartlandx 20/09/2022 / 10:10 am

      Thank you! Oh there’s easily more than ten books out there that fit this scheme 🙂

  2. allthebookblognamesaretaken 14/09/2022 / 12:44 am

    I love titles like this, even though it is not my genre. They’re so unique and interesting. Great list!

  3. WendyW 14/09/2022 / 2:41 am

    What a creative twist to this topic! And Happy Birthday!

  4. Emily Jane 14/09/2022 / 8:38 am

    A great looking list. I have only read ACOTAR. I haven’t read any other fantasy in such a long time.

    Have a great week!

    Emily @ Budget Tales Book Blog

  5. girlplusbooks 14/09/2022 / 9:52 am

    What a fun topic you chose! I have to say, it kind of bugs me that sooo many fantasy titles seem to default to these titles. I mean, each time a new one releases with this same style I have to laugh. It’s so overdone at this point but it’s like authors are now obligated to follow this style. LOL

    • iloveheartlandx 20/09/2022 / 10:07 am

      Thank you! Yeah it does get quite tiresome to see so many of them after a while, I’m glad to see more fantasy books trending away from these kinds of titles in more recent years.

  6. Louise 14/09/2022 / 11:47 am

    OMG The Something of Something and Something XD There’s so many of them, aren’t there? I do quite like the format though, especially if there’s a deeper meaning to the word choices once you get into the book.

    • iloveheartlandx 20/09/2022 / 10:06 am

      SO MANY. I like the format when it’s clear that it has some meaning to the book, but sometimes it does seem like the publishers have just thrown words into one of those fantasy title generators and seen what comes out!

  7. Carla 14/09/2022 / 3:30 pm

    This is a topic I never would have thought of, but there seem to be a lot of books that fit. I will check out some of these to see if they appeal to me.

    • iloveheartlandx 20/09/2022 / 9:57 am

      I read a lot of fantasy where this title structure is very popular!

  8. dinipandareads 14/09/2022 / 4:20 pm

    Great change of topic! This title format was sooo popular for quite some time. I remember these titles were everywhere 😂 I haven’t read the majority of these but I do have them on my TBR as well. Great picks!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/09/2022 / 9:56 am

      Thank you! Yeah it definitely did seem to be, though maybe slightly less so now.

  9. WordsAndPeace 14/09/2022 / 4:23 pm

    This is fascinating how some genres have often specific format for their titles!
    I have lots of something of something, but not “and something”. I rarely read fantasy, so I hardly have any title with that format.
    I found a nonfiction The Future of Buildings, Transportation and Power; and this one, which I didn’t like much: The Library of Lost and Found, and I had to go back to books read 3 years ago to find it!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/09/2022 / 9:52 am

      Yeah it is interesting to see how certain genres fall back on certain title conventions. “Something of Something” is also quite a popular fantasy title format, though that one is obviously more generally used than this one.

  10. Cindy Davis 14/09/2022 / 5:22 pm

    I think this list might have been harder for me to do, not sure. Have a great week!

  11. Zoe (zbestbooks.blogspot.com) 14/09/2022 / 6:58 pm

    The ballad Of Songbirds and Snakes is the only one from your list that I’ve read – well in part. I actually read this as part of a reading program at school and it dragged on forever because we read 5 pages a week for the entire year, which led to me not enjoying it, despite having loved The Hunger Games.

    Thank you so much for stopping by my blog earlier!
    Zoë
    (zbestbooks.blogspot.com)

  12. Susan 15/09/2022 / 1:06 am

    This is a fun topic! These kinds of titles are definitely trendy right now. I read very little fantasy, so I haven’t read any of these although I am KIND OF interested in reading the HG one. I don’t know, though, since I’ve seen very mixed reviews for it…

    Happy TTT (on a Wednesday)!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    • iloveheartlandx 20/09/2022 / 9:45 am

      Thank you! It’s not a terrible book, it’s just very different from the original HG trilogy, so go in being aware of that and you might find you enjoy it more than if you were expecting something very similar.

  13. Marianne Maurer 15/09/2022 / 1:05 pm

    What an interesting twist to the topic. I have checked my lists and could only find one book that fits your description: Our Lady of the Lost and Found.

    Thanks for visiting my TTT this week.

  14. RAIN CITY READS 15/09/2022 / 8:51 pm

    First and most important – happy birthday! I’m so glad you and your mom had a lovely day, and you had some pampering! So important.
    This is such a great idea, particularly given your genre preferences! I haven’t read any of these, but as soon as I read your prompt idea a few popped into my head – Children of Blood and Bone, A Court of Thorns and Roses, Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Not ones I’ve read, but I definitely have seen them around a LOT!!!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/09/2022 / 9:40 am

      Thank you! Yeah if you’re a fantasy reader, these kinds of titles pop up a lot 🙂

  15. Jaime 16/09/2022 / 2:33 pm

    I love seeing how many titles fit this formula. It’s so fun! Great idea for a different kind of prompt for this week 🙂

  16. Nicole @ BookWyrmKnits 16/09/2022 / 3:44 pm

    The Something of Something and Something does seem to be a really trendy title convention right now, doesn’t it? 😀 Thanks for stopping by my TTT earlier!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/09/2022 / 9:34 am

      It certainly seems to be one with staying power, that’s for sure! No problem 🙂

  17. Marg 18/09/2022 / 10:16 am

    Great chocie of topic for this week.

    • Marg 18/09/2022 / 10:18 am

      Choice even!

      • iloveheartlandx 20/09/2022 / 9:31 am

        I got what you meant! Thank you 🙂

  18. Annemieke 19/09/2022 / 2:47 pm

    It always feel like we have more of those kind of titles in fantasy than we actually do.

    • iloveheartlandx 20/09/2022 / 9:30 am

      Yeah there was a time when they seemed to be really popular, but they don’t seem to be as ubiquitous now as they once were.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.