Top Ten Tuesday #361

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a good week since I last did one of these, I had a really great time at VE Schwab’s Gallant event on Friday, it was so nice to be back in a room with other readers again and has me even more excited for YALC’s return in July. I also had a lovely meal out with my parents on Sunday as it was Mother’s Day here in the UK.

Anyway, it’s Tuesday, so that means another Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl. Today’s topic was meant to be 21st Century Books That We Think Will Become Classics but I wasn’t really feeling that one, “classics” has kind of negative connotation for me because of how much I HATED studying a lot of those books for GCSE English, so I wouldn’t necessarily want to link any of the books I love with that term! Anyway, instead, I’m going to go back to a perennial standby, and talk about 10 Recent Additions To My TBR, quite a few of which I’ve added after seeing on other Top Ten Tuesday lists!:

  1. When We Were Dragons-Kelly Barnhill-Added March 2022

I added this one after seeing it on a Top Ten Tuesday list a couple of weeks back and thinking it sounded really good: it’s about an alternative 1950s America where thousands of women, sick of the rampant misogyny of the time period, transformed into dragons. SOUNDS SO COOL, NO? Anyway it comes out in May, and I’m super excited to read it.

2. Firekeeper’s Daughter-Angeline Boulley-Added March 2022

I will fully admit that this one is 1000% a cover add, every time I see the gorgeous cover of this book, I want to read it. It does sound really good though, I’ve never read anything by a Native American author before and I always love a murder mystery, so I’m excited to see how this one turns out.

3. Bad Girls Never Say Die-Jennifer Mathieu-Added March 2022

This is a reimagining of The Outsiders, which I will freely admit, I’ve never actually read! I really enjoyed Moxie though, and I’ve been wanting to read something else by Mathieu for a while, and this sounds right up my street.

4. A Restless Truth (The Last Binding #2)-Freya Marske-Added March 2022

The second instalment in The Last Binding trilogy is set to follow Robin’s sister Maud, and whilst I will admit, I was hoping for a direct continuation and don’t quite understand how following Maud is going to continue the story started in A Marvellous Light, I am excited for the spotlight to be on the women in the story after the very male heavy A Marvellous Light.

5. Mad Honey-Jodi Picoult & Jennifer Finney Boylan-Added March 2022

Whilst I skipped Jodi Picoult’s most recent solo release Wish You Were Here (not ready to read about the pandemic), I’m definitely excited for her upcoming November release, co-written with Jennifer Finney Boylan. This sounds like it might be a return to some of the “courtroom drama” that I so loved in Jodi Picoult’s earlier books, and after The Book Of Two Ways was a bit of a damp squib for me and I skipped out on Wish You Were Here due to the subject matter, I’m hoping this will be somewhat of a return to form for Jodi Picoult.

6. The Ballad of Never After-Stephanie Garber-Added March 2022

Admittedly, yes, I have not yet read Once Upon A Broken Heart. However, I have great confidence that I will love it, having seen so many positive reviews and having really enjoyed Garber’s Caraval trilogy. Plus, I wanted to get the secret cover, so I had to pre-order it. I still have until September to read Once Upon A Broken Heart before this comes out, so hopefully I will!

7. Reader, I Murdered Him-Betsy Cornwell-Added March 2022

This is another one that I saw on a Top Ten Tuesday earlier in the month and it just sounded so right up my street that I had to add it to my TBR. Two Victorian women becoming vigilantes to protect their friends from abusive men? YES PLEASE.

8. Looking For Jane-Heather Marshall-Added February 2022

This one sounds so up my street, it’s about an underground abortion network in the 1970s and 80s in Canada and apparently based on a real network called the Jane Collective which actually did provide safe abortions for women in Canada in the 60s, 70s and 80s whilst the procedure was still illegal. It sounds really interesting and I have to admit, not a part of history that I’m massively familiar with, I’ve not read any historical fiction based in Canada before, so I’m really excited to read this one.

9. The Library of The Dead-T.L. Huchu-Added January 2022

This is one I’ve been seeing a lot when I’ve been browsing in Waterstones, and it sounds really good. I love anything set in Edinburgh as it’s one of my favourite cities, and this definitely sounds suitably creepy as the main character Ropa, is a ghostalker, who is able to communicate with Edinburgh’s dead. Plus, anything with Library in the title is an automatic win for me.

10. The Department of Rare Books and Special Collections-Eva Jurczyk-Added January 2022

This was another one I added after seeing it on someone’s Top Ten Tuesday list, and I’ll admit, largely for the title as it sounded very intriguing. It follows librarian Liesel as she investigates the disappearances of her colleagues and the library’s most prized manuscript, this is basically combining two things I love: books and mysteries, so I can’t wait to read it. I’ve not been able to find it anywhere yet, I was hoping it might be on Audible but it doesn’t seem to be, so I’ll have to keep checking back, or else get the Kindle edition.

So there we go, those are some of the books I’ve added to my TBR recently. Have you read any of these (of the ones that are out, I know I’ve got quite a few upcoming releases on here)? Are any also on your TBR? What books have you added to your TBR recently? Let me know in the comments!

I’ll be back next week with another Top Ten Tuesday, it’s one of our annual Freebies, so I’m going to be talking about Adult Historical Fiction Books On My TBR, as one of my 2022 goals was to read more Adult Historical Fiction.

56 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #361

  1. Ellie Warren 29/03/2022 / 4:07 pm

    I skipped this week’s topic because I’m not sure the books I love the most would necessarily become classics! I’m really looking forward to When We Were Dragons.

    • iloveheartlandx 30/03/2022 / 11:59 am

      Yeah same here to be honest, I read mostly genre fiction and you don’t really find many of those in the literary classics canon. I hope we both enjoy that one!

  2. Louise 29/03/2022 / 4:40 pm

    I’m really excited to get to my copy of When We Were Dragons too.

  3. lindseyhabets 29/03/2022 / 5:28 pm

    I was having trouble with this week’s topic and the idea of ‘classics’ too. Love your replacement topic though, and hope you’ll enjoy all of these!

  4. jennielyse 29/03/2022 / 6:40 pm

    This week’s prompt was so hard! I really like your pivot. I haven’t heard of any of these book, but these sound really interesting and I’m going to put some on my TBR. I hope you enjoy them when you read them. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  5. Leslie 29/03/2022 / 7:39 pm

    Firekeeper’s Daughter was really good! I want to read When We Were Dragons too!

  6. Greg 29/03/2022 / 7:48 pm

    Top Ten Tuesday has honestly done more to add books to my TBR than anything else lately! It’s wild how many books I would have no clue about if not for blogging! anyways- I like the sound of that second one.

    A reimagining of The Outsiders has me super intrigued. And Betsy Cornwell! I read her first few books but have lost track…

    • iloveheartlandx 30/03/2022 / 11:54 am

      Ha ha honestly same! Yes, blogging has definitely quadrupled my TBR in the last eight years, so many books that I only found out about because of blogging. I hope you enjoy those if you decide to read them.

  7. Emily Jane 29/03/2022 / 9:30 pm

    A great looking list. I’ve just added The Department of Rare Books and Special Collections to my very long to read list!

    Emily @ Budget Tales Book Blog

      • Emily Jane 30/03/2022 / 3:15 pm

        🤞 hopefully I’ll get it for Christmas 😂

  8. Deb Nance at Readerbuzz 29/03/2022 / 9:59 pm

    You definitely need to read Firekeeper’s Daughter.

    I’m sorry the word classic has such negative connotations for you!

    • iloveheartlandx 30/03/2022 / 11:31 am

      I’m sure I will at some point! Yes, I fully blame my English teachers for that one, teenage me was bored senseless by the way they taught those books.

  9. 1girl2manybooks 29/03/2022 / 10:54 pm

    I’m not familiar with any of these but I hope that you love them!

  10. Lisa @ Bookshelf Fantasies 29/03/2022 / 11:49 pm

    I’d like to read Firekeeper’s Daughter too! I actually picked up a copy during a holiday sale last year, but haven’t started it yet. I hear it’s great!

  11. Susan 29/03/2022 / 11:50 pm

    Ha ha. “Classics” has a bit of a negative connotation for me as well. Hopefully, they won’t get such a bad rap in the future!

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    • iloveheartlandx 30/03/2022 / 11:26 am

      I think a lot of it for me is the way that they were taught to us in English, I don’t know how I would feel about the “classics” if I’d decided to read them on my own time. There’s a lot to be said about the way English is taught in schools and how instead of fostering a love of reading, for many it puts them off.

  12. kamifurr 30/03/2022 / 1:19 pm

    Classics used to give me a cringe when I was in HS as well, but I have learned to love and appreciate them. Looks like you have some great reads coming up soon. I hope you enjoy all of them.

  13. Marianne Maurer 30/03/2022 / 1:49 pm

    I haven’t read any of these or even heard of many of them but I should look for some of them. I mean, any book that someone thinks should become classics is at least worth looking into. I do love classics, I always say, so many people who have read these couldn’t be wrong. So, hopefully, we all have read some before they are considered classics, as well.

    Thanks for visiting my TTT this week. As usual, I couldn’t restrict myself but it still is a TTT (Top Twenty Tuesday).

    • iloveheartlandx 12/04/2022 / 6:55 pm

      These are actually books on my TBR, quite a few of them haven’t come out yet. I switched up the topic because I wasn’t feeling the original one.

      • Marianne Maurer 13/04/2022 / 10:03 am

        It must have been one of my bad days since I had forgotten that already after having read the list of books. Sorry. And we all have that with not feeling the original topic and it’s always interesting how people twist it.

      • iloveheartlandx 19/04/2022 / 6:16 pm

        That’s okay! Yes definitely 🙂

    • Marianne Maurer 20/04/2022 / 7:44 am

      Thanks, Jo. I suffer from chronic migraines for most of my life and I always find that book lovers are the most empathic of them all.

  14. anovelglimpse 30/03/2022 / 3:17 pm

    “Classics” isn’t a favorite term for me with books either, but the older I get the more classic the stuff I grew up with is. I guess I’m adjusting. 😉 I hope you love all of these books.

    • iloveheartlandx 12/04/2022 / 6:53 pm

      Thank you! Ha ha I suppose that’s true, a lot of the books I grew up with are considered classics, though they were already old when I was young!

  15. FangirlFlax 30/03/2022 / 10:39 pm

    I’m really looking forward to Bad Girls Never Say Die, too! I hope we both enjoy it.

  16. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense 30/03/2022 / 11:18 pm

    I need to read Firekeeper’s Daughter soon. I’ve seen nothing but good things. And yeah, that cover is stunning.

    • iloveheartlandx 12/04/2022 / 6:46 pm

      So have I! It is, I really need to find out who designed it because it’s just glorious.

  17. thebookishlibra 31/03/2022 / 12:59 am

    Firekeeper’s Daughter is the only one from your list that I’ve already read and I really enjoyed it.

  18. WendyW 31/03/2022 / 4:31 am

    I can’t wait for Mad Honey either! I did read her previous book, Wish You Were Here, and it was about the pandemic, but it’s so well written.

    • iloveheartlandx 12/04/2022 / 6:46 pm

      I’ve heard really good things about it, it’s just a personal thing, I don’t really feel like I’ve got enough distance from the pandemic to read it yet. Maybe in a few years.

  19. Mareli Thalwitzer 31/03/2022 / 1:43 pm

    I haven’t read any of the books on your list, but a few does grab my attention and I am going to check them out.

    So sorry I reply so late! We’ve been having internet problems for the last couple of days.

    Elza Reads

    • iloveheartlandx 12/04/2022 / 6:44 pm

      Glad to have helped you find some new books! No worries 🙂

  20. stargazer 01/04/2022 / 11:08 pm

    Sometimes, I think it’s too bad that kids are forced to read the classics in school. Most often, you get so much more enjoyment out of them, when reading them later in life and it may colour your impression of the classics for life.

    • iloveheartlandx 12/04/2022 / 6:33 pm

      Yeah I have to agree, thinking that teenagers are necessarily going to care about the finer points of classic literature is probably a losing battle (though of course I’m sure some do!).

  21. Annemieke 02/04/2022 / 7:21 pm

    I have Library of the Dead and its sequel and I hope to read it this upcoming week. Fingers crossed we will both love it.

  22. Carla 03/04/2022 / 12:16 am

    I skipped this week’s TTT as well. I have Mad Honey and The Fire Keeper’s Daughter on my TBR. I hope we both enjoy them.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.