Top Ten Tuesday #359

Hi all! It’s been another quiet week here, work has been fairly slow recently, we’re just waiting for things to start picking back up again with the over 75s coming for their Spring booster and the wider rollout for all 5-11 year olds starting in the next few weeks.

Anyway, it’s Tuesday, which means another Top Ten Tuesday courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s topic is our annual Spring TBR topic. I’ve not been doing as well on my seasonal TBRs over the past year, but I did manage to finish 5 out of the 10 books on my Winter list, which I’m considering a win given how much of a reading slump I was in last year. I’m going to try and not put a lot of pressure on my Spring TBR and just read as much as I feel like, my reading seems to have been going much better this year, so I’m hoping that my Spring TBR will be more successful than my Winter one was. Here’s what I’m hoping to read this Spring:

  1. The Love Hypothesis-Laura Steven

This was meant to be my February #RockMyTBR book, but I’ve still not been reading physical books that often so I’m still fairly early on it. I am enjoying it, although I will admit at the moment, Caro does kind of feel like another Izzy O’Neill, just more nerdy and awkward. Still I’ve only read the first two chapters, so I’m willing to give it a chance.

2. The Silence of The Girls-Pat Barker

This was meant to be my March #RockMyTBR book but I doubt I’m going to get around to it this month. Honestly, after talking to my friend who read it earlier in the year, I’m not sure how much I’m going to like it, but since I bought it, I’m willing to give it a go.

3. Ace of Spades-Faridah Abike-Iyimide

This one is meant to be my April #RockMyTBR book, but I guess we will see how I’m going with physical books as to whether I read it then or not. I’m super excited about this one though, I’ve heard such good things about it and I do love a good mystery.

4. The River of Silver: Tales From The Daevabad Trilogy-S.A. Chakraborty

This is my current audiobook, I’m not very far through yet, but I’m looking forward to reading more. This is a collection of short stories from the Daevabad world and I’m so happy to be back in this world and with these characters as I absolutely devoured the series in 2020.

5. The Diamond Eye-Kate Quinn

This is one of my most anticipated releases of this year, I can’t wait for it to come out (only two weeks to go!). I fell in love with Kate Quinn’s books last year after reading The Rose Code and The Alice Network, and this book sounds so good, it’s about Ukrainian sniper Mila Pavlichenko, who is the most successful female sniper in recorded history. Female assassins are right up my street, so I can just imagine how much I’m going to love this book.

6. Portrait of A Thief-Grace D. Li

Another of my most anticipated releases of this year, this book has everything I could ever want: heists, history, repatriation of stolen artefacts, it all sounds so fun and I can’t wait to read. ALSO FINALLY A BOOK WITH UNIVERSITY STUDENTS THAT ISN’T PRIMARILY A ROMANCE! YES! I love this for me.

7. Liberte-Gita Trelease

I’m finally getting around to reading this one, I meant to last year, but I just really wasn’t feeling e-books at the time. I’m getting through this fairly slowly, but that’s okay. I will admit to having forgotten most of what happened in Enchantee though because it’s been so long since I read it!

8. An Affair of Poisons-Addie Thorley

This is meant to be my May #RockMyTBR book but again, we shall see when I actually read it, because it depends on how quickly I manage to get through my physical TBR this year. I’m super excited for this one, as I don’t read a lot of books set in the 17th century, and I love historical fantasy (and books set in France) so hopefully this will be right up my street.

9. Gallant-VE Schwab

This will probably be my next book after finishing The Love Hypothesis as I’m so excited for it. I always love VE Schwab’s books, so naturally her latest one is one of my most anticipated reads of 2022, and I’ve heard such amazing things about it, so I can’t wait to just dive in.

10. The Fair Botanists-Sara Sheridan

I started this one last year but again, I wasn’t really feeling e-books at the time, so I didn’t get very far through. I’m going to switch to the audiobook and see if I get on better with that. I really want to enjoy this one because it sounds so different to any other historical fiction I’ve read, two women in 19th Century Edinburgh and their involvement with a rare flower that only blooms once in its life.

So there we go, those are my planned Spring TBR reads. I don’t know if I’ll manage to get to them all, I’m fairly confident that I will finish the three I’m planning to read via audio as I’ve been doing well with audio reads this year, but less so with the physical books. How about you? What’s on your Spring TBR this year? Have you read any of these books? What did you think of them? Let me know in the comments!

I’ll be back for another Top Ten Tuesday next week, we’ll be talking about Books With An Adjective In The Title.

63 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #359

  1. Ellie Warren 15/03/2022 / 12:14 pm

    I’m going to have to wait until the print edition of The River of Silver. I listened to a sample of the audio and it was so jarring compared to how I imagined the characters spoke.

    • iloveheartlandx 19/03/2022 / 11:21 am

      Fair enough! I listened to Kingdom of Copper and The Empire of Gold, so I’m quite used to the narrator by now.

  2. Jess @ Jessticulates 15/03/2022 / 1:41 pm

    Great list! Portrait of a Thief made my list this week too, and I still need to read The Silence of the Girls.

  3. dinipandareads 15/03/2022 / 2:21 pm

    As someone who’s terrible with reading TBRs, I think 5/10 is pretty awesome (especially considering you were feeling slumpy)! 😍 Great job! I absolutely adored The Love Hypothesis and I hope you enjoy it as well. I’m also looking forward to reading Ace of Spades and Gallant! Happy reading!

    • iloveheartlandx 19/03/2022 / 11:21 am

      Yeah it was definitely one of my better TBR showings of last year! Oh I’m glad to hear that. Happy reading to you too!

  4. Louise 15/03/2022 / 3:44 pm

    The Love Hypothesis and The Fair Botanists are both ones I hope to get to very soon as well.

  5. jennielyse 15/03/2022 / 4:02 pm

    I had no idea that there was a second The Love Hypothesis by another author. I’m going to have to look into this one and see if it’s one I’ll enjoy. I hope you love all of these books when you read them. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    • iloveheartlandx 19/03/2022 / 11:13 am

      Yeah it came out very early pandemic in 2020 so I don’t think that helped matters for it! Thank you, I hope you enjoy all the books on your Spring TBR too πŸ™‚

  6. bevbaird 15/03/2022 / 4:11 pm

    Enjoy all these great books. Happy reading!

  7. evelynreads1 15/03/2022 / 5:56 pm

    I hope you will enjoy all of these! I really want to read A River of Silver as well! And Ace of Spades is really good!

    My post!

  8. Leslie 15/03/2022 / 5:57 pm

    I hope you enjoy all your reads!

  9. lindseyhabets 15/03/2022 / 6:54 pm

    Hope you’ll enjoy all of these! Gallant and Portrait of a Thief are on my TBR as well πŸ™‚

  10. Greg 15/03/2022 / 7:59 pm

    The book about the Ukrainian sniper sounds great (and wow, so timely although in a sad way of course) and so does the one set in Edinburgh. Neat premise!

    • iloveheartlandx 19/03/2022 / 10:05 am

      Yeah I’m sure the author didn’t imagine that releasing a book about a Ukrainian sniper would be so relevant to world events when she wrote the book!

  11. foreverlostinlit 15/03/2022 / 9:54 pm

    I’m so curious about Portrait of a Thief! I hope you get a chacne to read all of these and enjoy them!

  12. Rissi 15/03/2022 / 10:05 pm

    Feels like lots of people love Kate Quinn’s novels but I’ve never really read up on what they’re like or all about. Maybe someday I should remedy this! Happy week and Top Ten Tuesday. πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 19/03/2022 / 10:03 am

      Ah they’re really great, I read The Rose Code and The Alice Network last year and really loved them, highly recommend both πŸ™‚

  13. FangirlFlax 15/03/2022 / 10:06 pm

    I’ve seen Gallant on a lot of lists today! I hope you enjoy these.

  14. 1girl2manybooks 15/03/2022 / 11:35 pm

    The Silence of the Girls is SO GOOD! Hope you enjoy it as much as I did

  15. Cheri 16/03/2022 / 1:10 am

    Diamond Eye sounds amazing! I’m not familiar with that author. I’ll have to check it out.

    • iloveheartlandx 19/03/2022 / 10:01 am

      I’ve read two of her other books and loved them, so highly recommend!

  16. Rachael 16/03/2022 / 2:20 am

    I also want to read Liberte and Gallant eventually. I own Liberte though so I don’t have to prioritize it just yet. Gallant I just got from the library.

  17. Marg 16/03/2022 / 8:38 am

    I am super excited about Diamond Eye. I have to say that Sara Sheridan book sounds really interesting. I am going to check it out!

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT earlier!

    • iloveheartlandx 19/03/2022 / 9:58 am

      Me too! Hope you enjoy it if you do decide to read it πŸ™‚

  18. Emily Jane 16/03/2022 / 10:58 am

    A good looking list. I really enjoyed The Ace of Spades. I wasn’t sure whether I would, but I was glad to be very wrong 🀣

  19. Carla 16/03/2022 / 12:02 pm

    Great looking list. I hope you enjoy all of these.

  20. Nish 16/03/2022 / 12:11 pm

    An Affair of Poisons sounds super interesting. I would probably add that to my list.

  21. kamifurr 16/03/2022 / 1:44 pm

    I’ve heard a lot of good things about Gallant. I hope you enjoy all of the books on your list.

  22. Danielle Grandinetti 16/03/2022 / 5:31 pm

    I hope you’re able to make it through your Spring TBR list and enjoy each one!

  23. Mary Daniels Brown 16/03/2022 / 7:49 pm

    I’ve also had my eye on The Silence of the Girls (though haven’t read it yet) and the upcoming The Diamond Eye. Happy reading!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.