Top Ten Tuesday #330

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a good week since I last did one of these, I was in London again this weekend to see Back To The Future, the new musical that’s just opened. It was good, though I have to admit, not quite as great as Hairspray was, although it’s probably not really fair to compare the two, as I’ve loved Hairspray for years!

Anyway, it’s Tuesday, so it’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s topic was meant to be Books I Wish I Could Read Again For The First Time but I already did that topic a few years back, and I don’t think the list has changed much since then, so I decided to go in a different direction. Instead of that, today I’ll be talking about Most Hyped Books Still On My TBR. Honestly hyped books do tend to sit on my TBR for a bit longer, because I get scared that they won’t live up to the hype! So here we go, the most hyped books that are still sitting on my TBR:

  1. The Bear and The Nightingale-Katherine Arden

This is one of those books that I feel like I see everywhere, it’s a perennial feature on other blogs and everyone raves about how good it is. I definitely want to try it sometime, but I am slightly scared that I won’t love it as much as everyone else does. I’ll also probably get the audiobook and I’m not sure I’ll have enough credits for it this year.

2. Rule of Wolves-Leigh Bardugo

Honestly I was super excited for this one after watching Shadow and Bone but I’ve been in a reading slump all year, particularly with physical books and I didn’t want that to affect this book as it’s the last Grishaverse book we’re going to get for a while. I’m hoping to maybe get around to it early next year, as I really do want to see how she wraps up Nikolai’s duology.

3. Good Girl, Bad Blood-Holly Jackson

I meant to read this last year after reading A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder, but I never got around to it. I may read it before the end of this year, but I’m very much going with my mood this year and just seeing what I want to read rather sticking to any sort of reading plan, so we’ll see!

4. House of Earth and Blood-Sarah J Maas

I’ve been putting this one off for ages simply because it’s so long. Even with the audiobook, which is how I plan to read it, it’s over 30 hours long and I’ve not been in the mood for that kind of reading commitment this year. I’m sure at some point, I will be in the mood for a chunky audio, but not right now.

5. Mister Impossible-Maggie Stiefvater

This one only came out in May, so comparatively speaking hasn’t been on my shelves as long as the others but I’m still a little nervous because I didn’t love Call Down The Hawk as much as I was hoping to. Middle books in trilogies are always dangerous too, they can be amazing or terrible and there’s usually not much in-between. Here’s hoping Mister Impossible falls on the good side!

6. The Tattooist of Auschwitz-Heather Morris

I’m kind of torn on this one to be honest, because it’s been super hyped, won a lot of awards etc and a friend whose reading taste I share liked it. However, there has also been a lot criticism about the accuracy of its portrayal of historical events, and whilst I do understand creative licence from what I’ve read, some of the basic details about Auschwitz in the book are wrong. So this is where my problem comes in, I want to read it because it sounds like an interesting story, but from the perspective of someone who studied history, I don’t want to read something that gets even the basic details wrong, and is an inaccurate portrayal of the experience of a real life person. It’s a tricky one for me, I don’t usually have this problem with historical fiction because even where they’ve been inspired by real people/events, the characters themselves are usually fictional.

7. A Promised Land-Barack Obama

This is 100% solely down to length. I’m sure Barack Obama’s presidential memoir will be very interesting, but it’s also almost 800 pages and I’ve just not been feeling long books this year, so this one may be going on the back burner for a while!

8. The Girls I’ve Been-Tess Sharpe

I only bought this in May, so compared to some of the others, it hasn’t been on my TBR for that long. I’ve not really got a particular reason for not reading this book yet, I’ve just not been in the mood. I’m also always a little wary with YA thrillers, because they have a tendency to not “thrill” me much!

9. Thunderhead-Neal Shusterman

I’ve been meaning to read this one for YEARS, I think I bought it in 2018/2019, but as it’s a longer book, it’s one of those that just keeps getting shuffled down my TBR pile. Whilst I liked Scythe, I didn’t LOVE it, so I’ve basically just not really felt the urge to get to this one. I would like to read it one day, but it’s not a priority at the moment.

10. The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle-Stuart Turton

I’ve heard so much good stuff about this one, my friend really enjoyed it and it sounds super up my street, but again, it’s a longer book and I’ve been putting it off. I’m also slightly nervous just because the hype has been so great around this one, so hopefully it lives up to it.

So there we go, those are just some of the most hyped books on my TBR that I’ve still not read yet. Have you read any of these? Which should I start with? Do you put off hyped books for a long time too? Let me know in the comments!

Next week’s topic is meant to be Fictional Crushes, but as a 24 year old who reads mostly YA, it feels a little weird to making a list of 16/17 year old fictional crushes. So instead, I’m going to do Favourite Audiobook Narrators, as I think I’ve listened to enough audio now that I can make a list of these!

42 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #330

    • iloveheartlandx 31/08/2021 / 6:44 pm

      I’m sure it will! Just need several weeks alone with no interruptions ha ha

  1. Greg 24/08/2021 / 12:32 pm

    I’ve heard a lot about Bardugo, and the Holly Jackson as well. I thought that one sounded good.

    Hardcastle is another one I wanted to read and somehow forgot about- ack!

    • iloveheartlandx 31/08/2021 / 6:44 pm

      I’ve read a lot of Bardugo, really enjoy her books, and the first Good Girl’s Guide book was also really good. Ah I know that feeling, so many books, so little time.

  2. dinipandareads 24/08/2021 / 12:51 pm

    Great choice of topic! All of these are very hyped and I still have quite a few of them on my TBR although I have read one or two of these. I’m really looking forward to reading House of Earth and Blood, The Tattooist of Auschwitz and A Promised Land! I hope you enjoy whenever you get round to reading them ๐Ÿ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 31/08/2021 / 6:43 pm

      Thank you! I hope you enjoy the books we share too ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Susan 24/08/2021 / 1:58 pm

    I feel the same way about hyped books. I usually don’t read them right away and sometimes I never get around to them at all. I have read GOOD GIRL, BAD BLOOD, though. It’s a good one, although I liked the first book better. Can’t wait for the third book!

    I’ll look forward to your list next week as I’m always looking for great audiobook narrators.

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    • iloveheartlandx 31/08/2021 / 6:39 pm

      Yes there are definitely some that fall off my radar after the initial hype has passed. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it. Ah thank you, hopefully you’ll find something you like ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. lindseyhabets 24/08/2021 / 2:21 pm

    I feel the same about The Bear and The Nightingale! I really want to read it though, so hopefully some day soon. I hope you’ll enjoy Rule of Wolves and House of Earth and Blood when you feel ready to read them, as I did really enjoy both of them ๐Ÿ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 31/08/2021 / 6:38 pm

      I think I’m going to save it for the colder weather, it definitely seems like a cold Autumn/Winter night read. I’m glad hear you enjoyed both of them, I hope I do too ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Carol 24/08/2021 / 6:22 pm

    I have serious FOMO so I canโ€™t make books last! I hope you love all these! By the way, the narrator for Project Hail Mary is brilliant โ€ฆ.highly recommend!

    • iloveheartlandx 31/08/2021 / 6:25 pm

      I definitely get that, it’s hard when everyone else is reading and loving something that you haven’t got to yet, as you don’t want to see loads of spoilers. Ooh thanks for the recommendation ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Mareli Thalwitzer 24/08/2021 / 6:26 pm

    The Bear and the Nightingale is on my TBR too and so is The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo.

    Tattooist of Auschwitz is worth the hype yes! And so is Cilka’s Journey.

    Thanks for visiting us earlier.

    • iloveheartlandx 31/08/2021 / 6:24 pm

      It’s actually the other one on my list, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, but super easy mistake to make, those titles are easily confused. I’m glad yo hear you enjoyed them ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Kristi 24/08/2021 / 7:38 pm

    It may not be good etiquette to speak negatively of a book on a TTT post, but I do have to say that your concerns about The Tattooist of Auschwitz make me think you may be better off not reading it. I didn’t know how inaccurate it was going to be when I read it, and it left a bad taste in my mouth when I saw that the author basically claimed that the reasons for that mostly stem from the subject’s memory being faulty. If you can think of it as mostly fiction, with maybe the main relationship being the focal point, it might not be too bad, but as someone who’s read more non-fiction about the Holocaust than any other subject matter (not that I’m remotely an expert, but it’s long been a point of fascination for me), it just felt wrong. On the other hand, I do recommend The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, and I’m not one who usually enjoys the same thing as most other people.
    My TTT

    • iloveheartlandx 31/08/2021 / 6:23 pm

      I’m perfectly fine with people sharing negative opinions about books on my TTT posts, I like hearing all kinds of opinions about books, especially ones I’m thinking about reading as it helps me make up my mind if I want to or not. That’s a shame to hear, but not really a surprise given everything else I’ve read. That’s such an awful reason to give for historical inaccuracy, especially when you’re writing about someone else’s trauma. That was definitely what I was worried about, that it’s a book that exploits someone’s real life trauma. On a lighter note, I’m glad that you enjoyed Seven Deaths ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. frayedbooks 24/08/2021 / 8:09 pm

    House of Earth and Blood has been on my TBR since I heard about it too, but the size of it and the length of the audio has putting it off…. one day I”ll get to it too but for now it just feels so BIG and daunting!

  9. FangirlFlax 24/08/2021 / 9:14 pm

    Hype can be such a blessing and a curse for a book! It creates expectations that are really hard to live up to, but when they do, it’s lovely to see it getting such positive press. Great post!

    • iloveheartlandx 31/08/2021 / 6:18 pm

      Definitely! I both love hyping books up because I want to share the love, but also fear the hype ha ha.

      • FangirlFlax 31/08/2021 / 10:22 pm

        I never think about it from that angle, haha–I can’t help but hype things I enjoy!

  10. masterspj 24/08/2021 / 11:23 pm

    Great list! I have been burned by hyped books in the past. Some get tons of attention and love, yet I struggle to connect with the book. Other books barely get any attention, and they’re perfect.

    When you get the chance, I hope you stop over at my blog and take a read: https://readbakecreate.com/10-books-i-would-love-to-see-as-a-movie/

    • iloveheartlandx 31/08/2021 / 6:17 pm

      Thanks! Yes, I’ve had the same thing, but then I’ve also had hyped books that I’ve really loved, so I guess it just depends on the book.

  11. whisperingchapters 24/08/2021 / 11:34 pm

    I can’t wait to read The Bear and the Nightingale! I’ve been so intrigued by that one.

    Genesis @ Whispering Chapters

  12. 1girl2manybooks 24/08/2021 / 11:53 pm

    I also still have to read Rule of Wolves (I did only read King of Scars last month). I’ve read A Promised Land and really enjoyed it and also A House of Earth And Blood (which was just okay for me). I also am curious about The Bear & the Nightingale

    • iloveheartlandx 31/08/2021 / 6:13 pm

      I hope we both enjoy it when we read it. I’m glad to hear you liked A Promised Land. That’s a shame about A House of Earth and Blood. Sarah J Maas’ books do all kind of have the same characters, and very similar plot points. Yes, I’ve heard so much good stuff, I want to see what all the fuss is about.

  13. Marianne Maurer 25/08/2021 / 3:32 pm

    Great TBR pile. I can understand that “A Promised Land” is a little daunting but unless you’re a hard-line Republican, you will thoroughly enjoy it. I think even Republicans would love it if they tried to read it without prejudice. Brilliant book. Enjoy.

    Thanks for visiting my TTT earlier.

    • iloveheartlandx 31/08/2021 / 6:04 pm

      Thanks! Oh I’m sure I will enjoy it, I’m British so our political parties are different, but I follow American politics enough to know that I fundamentally disagree with all of the Republicans views. It’s definitely more the length than the content that intimidates me with that one ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Marianne Maurer 01/09/2021 / 8:10 am

        You and 99% of the other Europeans. I’m German and I don’t know anyone personally who agrees with the Republicans, except for a few Americans.

  14. Louise 25/08/2021 / 8:48 pm

    I totally get you! Sometimes the hype works in reverse and I worry I won’t like it or I’ll ‘waste’ it be reading it too soon, so it waits forever.

  15. cahughes_bookreviews 26/08/2021 / 4:30 am

    Great list! And Iโ€™m excited for your favorite audiobook narrators post next week, thatโ€™s such a great idea!

    • iloveheartlandx 31/08/2021 / 5:58 pm

      Thank you! Oh I’m so glad, I’ve been wanting to do it for a while, but had to wait till I had enough narrators for a full list ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. dianthaa 26/08/2021 / 12:45 pm

    I also end up putting off hyped books, or books I’m most hyped for, out of fear that I might not like them. Almost always end up loving them though.

    • iloveheartlandx 31/08/2021 / 5:57 pm

      I’m glad I’m not alone. That is good to hear! I’ve had mixed results, most I do end up loving, but there have been a few that have ended up being fairly mediocre.

  17. thebookishlibra 30/08/2021 / 1:44 am

    I tend to leave hyped book sitting on my shelf for a while too. I did finally read Rule of Wolves and the Sarah J. Maas book this summer though. I enjoyed them both.

    • iloveheartlandx 31/08/2021 / 5:55 pm

      I’m glad I’m not the only one! That’s good to hear ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.