Top Ten Tuesday #314

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a good week since I last did one of these, I’m up in Stirling for the next three weeks on holiday with my family so it will be nice being somewhere other than at home for a while!

Anyway, it’s Tuesday, so that means another Top Ten Tuesday courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl. This week’s is a fairly straightforward one, Ten Most Recent Reads, though I have to admit, I’ve not read as many books this year as I would have liked to as I’ve been in an extended reading slump since January and haven’t actually finished an awful lot of books, so a few of these will be from the end of last year. But here we go, my Ten Most Recent Reads:

  1. The Unbound-VE Schwab-Current read

I’d hoped to have finished this by the time I did this post but unfortunately I seem to have stalled at around Chapter 24. I don’t know how much of it is my reading slump and how much is the book but I’m not enjoying it as much as I would normally enjoy a Schwab book.

2. Olive, Mabel & Me-Andrew Cotter-Finished 14th April

One of my favourite reads of this year, I loved listening to Andrew Cotter talk about his adventures with his Labradors, a fun, short listen was exactly what I needed after finishing a lengthy audiobook.

3. Lore-Alexandra Bracken-Finished 31st March

I was really looking forward to this one and unfortunately felt quite let down by it. It was complicated and confusing with flat characters and far too much violent misogyny. Such a shame because I usually love Greek mythology based books so much and it sounded so promising.

4. The Silvered Serpents-Roshani Chokshi-Finished 9th March

The Gilded Wolves was one of my favourite books of last year, so I was a little disappointed that I didn’t love The Silvered Serpents quite as much. It was very slow paced, and the plot was fairly thin on the ground, the fact that I already loved the characters was the saving grace of this book. I’m still looking forward to The Bronzed Beasts and I hope it is better for me than this one was.

5. The Midnight Library-Matt Haig-Finished 31st January

The concept for The Midnight Library was great. The execution? Somewhat lacking. It was quite slow for such a short book and I found the characterisation of Nora fairly flat, plus the world building around The Midnight Library was more minimal than I would have liked. The ending also really annoyed me because it felt super predictable.

6. Seasons of War-Derek Landy-Finished 9th January

I was SO DISAPPOINTED. I love Skulduggery Pleasant so much, and this was such a let down. It was so slow, it had too many weird tangential subplots & the writing was weaker than it has been in other books. I did appreciate the focus on Val’s mental health journey because that isn’t featured enough in fantasy books, but that was one of the few good aspects in an otherwise very messy book.

7. Kingdom of The Wicked-Keri Mansicalco-Finished 31st December

In a running theme of this list apparently, I was a little disappointed with this book. It was a super hyped release and it ended up being fairly underwhelming for me? It was very slow paced, the world building was weak and I found Emilia kind of bland as a main character. I loved the concept for the book but I didn’t think the execution lived up to it.

8. Good Omens-Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman-Finished 17th December

UGH I WAS SO SAD ABOUT THIS ONE. I loved the TV miniseries, I thought it was so fun and the book? Not so much. The plot was confusing and difficult to follow, it relied on a lot of racist, sexist and homophobic stereotypes for its humour and the pacing was super off. Definitely recommend the TV show more for this one.

9. The Book of Two Ways-Jodi Picoult-Finished 12th December

I love Jodi Picoult books but this one wasn’t her best. The premise was great, kind of like a Sliding Doors deal, but I felt overloaded with all the technical information and there were too many subplots to the story, so it felt like the plot lacked focus. I also found it difficult to like or connect to Dawn which made it hard to enjoy the book.

10. A Song of Wraiths and Ruin-Roseanne A. Brown-Finished 26th November

I feel like all I’ve done is complain about the books I’ve read in this list, so let’s end up on a happier note: I really enjoyed this one! There were a few pacing issues (unusually for me, fast pacing rather than slow!) and the magic system was slightly confusing but I really loved the characters and the plot was generally exciting and engaging, I’m looking forward to the sequel coming out later this year.

So there we go, those were my ten most recent reads. It’s been a pretty slow and underwhelming reading year so far for me, so I really hope that changes soon! How much have you read this year? Have you read any of these books? What did you think of them? Let me know in the comments!

I’ll be back next Tuesday with another Top Ten Tuesday, this time we’ll be talking about Books With Nature on The Cover, so another cover topic for you all (hey you got a brief break from it this week!).

52 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #314

  1. Louise 04/05/2021 / 2:30 pm

    So sorry you didnt like Good Omens! I loved it, but I read it at least a decade ago, so there’s probably a lot of things I missed.

    • iloveheartlandx 11/05/2021 / 1:04 pm

      I was so disappointed because I loved the show. Yeah there are definitely certain things that just don’t stand up in the 2020s!

  2. Jen at Introverted Reader 04/05/2021 / 2:31 pm

    I’ve been in my own reading slump for a couple of weeks. It’s so frustrating!

    Enjoy your holiday!

  3. The Book Lover's Sanctuary 04/05/2021 / 2:50 pm

    Great list… i felt mich the same about The Midnight Library – a great concept that didn’t stand up to the demands of holding up a novel.

    • iloveheartlandx 11/05/2021 / 1:03 pm

      Thanks! Yes, it was such a cool idea but a little thin for a full novel.

  4. Susan 04/05/2021 / 2:54 pm

    I totally agree with you on THE MIDNIGHT LIBRARY! I had such high hopes for it, but it fell rather flat for me. Everyone else seems to love it – I’m glad I’m not the only one who thought it wasn’t up to snuff.

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    • iloveheartlandx 11/05/2021 / 1:01 pm

      Me too, it’s always nice to see you weren’t the only one in on the hype.

  5. bexthebibliophile 04/05/2021 / 3:21 pm

    I was so excited to read Lore but the more I hear about it the less I want to! I also agree with you about The Midnight Library I had heard so many amazing things but it just fell flat for me.

    • iloveheartlandx 11/05/2021 / 1:01 pm

      Ah that’s a shame. I’m glad I’m not the only one there, all I was hearing about it before reading it was praise, so it’s nice to hear from people who felt the same way as me now.

  6. Deb Nance at Readerbuzz 04/05/2021 / 3:23 pm

    I loved Midnight Library and Good Omens, so you and I could probably have lots of great discussions.

  7. Leah's Books 04/05/2021 / 3:46 pm

    I’ve really been looking forward to Lore, but it seems like there have been some mixed reviews about it. 🤞🏻Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx 11/05/2021 / 12:57 pm

      Thanks! Yes, Lore certainly seems to have divided opinion.

  8. lilisblissfulpages 04/05/2021 / 3:46 pm

    Aaaaw, I was looking forward to Kingdom of the Wicked but read so many underwhelming reviews so until now, I still havent read it. But the other books in your list are in my TBR and they seem amazing.

    • iloveheartlandx 11/05/2021 / 12:57 pm

      Sorry! I hope if you do decide to read it, you enjoy it. I hope you enjoy the other ones on your TBR as well 🙂

  9. lindseyhabets 04/05/2021 / 4:49 pm

    I’ve been really looking forward to Lore, but I’ve indeed heard some mixed reviews so that’s a pity.

    • iloveheartlandx 11/05/2021 / 12:55 pm

      I hope you fall on the more positive side of things if you do decide to read it.

  10. Jaime 04/05/2021 / 5:31 pm

    Oh, I’m so glad I’m not the only who felt this way about Lore. I DNFed it around page 100 because I just couldn’t get into the story or the characters.

    I also struggled with Good Omens. I read it before the show but I think I prefer the show, too. I don’t know if it the humor is outdated or just not my thing, but I had a hard time understanding it as well. 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 11/05/2021 / 12:54 pm

      That’s nice to hear, I always feel a bit of a black sheep when I dislike a super hyped book, so it’s good to hear I’m not alone there. It was such a shame because I really loved the show, but me and the book just didn’t get along.

  11. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense 04/05/2021 / 7:09 pm

    I was a little hesitant about Kingdom of the Wicked and it looks like checking it out from the library would be a better choice than buying it. I hope your reading slump passes soon.

    • iloveheartlandx 11/05/2021 / 12:51 pm

      Yeah I would concur on that! Thank you, I really hope so too!

  12. FangirlFlax 04/05/2021 / 9:26 pm

    That’s so surprising about Good Omens–it’s been on my TBR for a while so you might have saved me a read I wouldn’t enjoy!

    • iloveheartlandx 11/05/2021 / 12:50 pm

      Yeah I was really disappointing, I was expecting to love it!

      • FangirlFlax 11/05/2021 / 1:57 pm

        Such a disappointment when the excitement doesn’t follow through!

  13. 1girl2manybooks 04/05/2021 / 10:54 pm

    I have A Song of Wraiths and Ruin on my TBR, so glad you enjoyed it! I still have to read The Silvered Serpents but I feel I need to reread The Gilded Wolves first, I’ve forgotten almost everything that happened.

    • iloveheartlandx 11/05/2021 / 12:49 pm

      I hope you enjoy it when you get to it. I feel you there, there was definitely quite a bit I forgot between Books One and Two.

  14. Leelynn @ Sometimes Leelynn Reads 05/05/2021 / 12:39 am

    While I’m bummed that you didn’t end up liking The Silvered Serpents as much as The Gilded Wolves, I am SO GLAD that you ended up enjoying A Song of Wraiths and Ruin! That was a great book and I need to do a reread to catch up before the sequel comes out.

    • iloveheartlandx 11/05/2021 / 12:43 pm

      I was bummed too! I was so excited for it after The Gilded Wolves and then it ended up being disappointing for me. I’m hoping The Bronzed Beasts will be better. Yes, it was a great read, I’m definitely looking forward to the sequel coming out.

  15. Holliehocks 05/05/2021 / 2:28 am

    I haven’t read any of these, although a couple are scattered on my non-immediate TBR. Lore is a one I’ve really been looking forward to, as I love Greek mythology, but I’ve been hearing so many mixed reviews about it… Olive, Mabel & Me sounds super cute! I’ll have to check out the audiobook!

    • iloveheartlandx 11/05/2021 / 12:40 pm

      Yeah Lore certainly seems to have split opinion! It was super cute, and a nice short read as well which is sometimes just what you need.

  16. Greg 05/05/2021 / 3:39 am

    I had to go back a ways too. The Midnight Library is interesting to me since I’ve seen rave reviews as well as some less- than- stellar reviews, so I’m really not sure. 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 11/05/2021 / 12:39 pm

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who did! Yes, The Midnight Library does seem to be quite divisive, I guess the only way to decide what you think is to read it for yourself.

  17. brookelorren 05/05/2021 / 4:13 am

    My reading is way down too. Too bad Lore wasn’t as good as you’d like. I’ve heard lots of people talking about it, although I’m not sure if I’m going to read it yet or not.

    • iloveheartlandx 11/05/2021 / 12:38 pm

      I’m glad I’m not the only one. It definitely seems to have been a bit of a mixed bag, I know a lot of people who have liked it but a lot of people who have been disappointed too.

  18. Marg 05/05/2021 / 10:09 am

    Interesting list! I really need to read the Silvered Serpents book!

  19. Marianne Maurer 05/05/2021 / 10:54 am

    I don’t think it matters how long ago you read those books, I have also listed my last ten favourite ones and they go back a while. It’s always interesting to see what others are reading.

    Thanks for visiting my TTT earlier.

    • iloveheartlandx 11/05/2021 / 12:33 pm

      Yeah quite a few people’s went back into last year as well, so that made me feel better! It is always interesting to see what people have been reading.

      • Marianne Maurer 11/05/2021 / 12:50 pm

        None of us should feel bad for not writing a review or participating in a certain challenge. Or not sticking exactly to the subject. After all, fo rmost of us this is a hobby that nobody pays us for, we just do it for our pleasure and those who are kind enough to read our blog. I always enjoy our entries. Thanks for that.

  20. Jess @ Jessticulates 05/05/2021 / 2:03 pm

    Great list! I’m sorry you’ve had a spate of disappointing reads, but I’m glad you enjoyed A Song of Wraiths and Ruin. I hope you have some happier reading ahead of you!

    • iloveheartlandx 11/05/2021 / 12:31 pm

      Thank you! Sometimes it’s just the way unfortunately, I had such a good run last year and then it sort of fizzled out toward the end.

  21. Poinsettia 06/05/2021 / 12:57 am

    I really need to read some of VE Schwab’s work. Here is our Top Ten Tuesday. Thank you!

  22. thebookishlibra 07/05/2021 / 12:42 am

    Sorry to hear you’re dealing with a reading slump. Those are just the worst. Glad to hear A Song of Wraiths and Ruin was good though. I have that one on my TBR.

    • iloveheartlandx 11/05/2021 / 12:28 pm

      They really are! Yes it was great, I hope you enjoy it.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.