Top Ten Tuesday #299

TTT-Big2

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve had a good week since I last did one of these, mine was relatively quiet, I was working on edits for the next two chapters of my novel over the weekend, but I’ve finished those now. Still got a fair way to go, I’m only about a quarter of the way through, but I’m getting there!

Anyway, it’s Tuesday, which means another Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl. This week is our annual list of shame, the 2020 releases that we were excited for, but didn’t get to and whoa boy, this list is going to be a long one! I actually did read a fair number of 2020 releases last year, but as always there were still some I didn’t get around to. So here there are the 2020 releases I missed reading last year (and would like to try and catch up with this year:

  1. Where Dreams Descend-Janella Angeles

I was so excited for this one, it sounded so good, it had musical theatre comparison titles, which are basically catnip for Jo, but did I get around to it? No. I wanted to, but my reading really slowed down toward the end of last year and I didn’t get to as many books as I’d have liked. Still, this one is one of my #RockMyTBR challenge books for 2021, so I’ll definitely be getting to it this year.

2. The Silvered Serpents-Roshani Chokshi

Again, one I really wanted to get to last year, but because I was reading Seasons of War through pretty much all of November and December, I didn’t get around to any of the other books I wanted. I’m super excited to get to this one next month though, I’ve been hearing such good things and I loved the first book so much, so I’m really excited to be back with the characters from this series!

3. The Lives of Saints-Leigh Bardugo

This one is fairly slim as it’s a short story collection, so it should be pretty easy to squeeze in this year, I really enjoyed The Language of Thorns, so I’m looking forward to seeing what Leigh Bardugo did with this one.

4. Dangerous Remedy-Kat Dunn

I was actually approved for this on Netgalley but it expired before I could download it, so I never got around to reading it. It still sounds super good though, lots of LGBTQ+ sorcerers causing chaos in the French Revolution? Yes please! I may get the audiobook for this later in the year.

5. All The Stars and Teeth-Adalyn Grace

Another one where it expired before I could download it, it had no archive date set on it and then Netgalley suddenly changed it before I was able to download it! Dark magic, mermaids and pirates? It sounds super fun and I hope that I’ll be able to get around to it this year, again probably through the audiobook.

6. The Foundling-Stacey Halls

In all fairness, I got this one from my friend Hannah as a Christmas present, so I wouldn’t really have had time to read it in 2020. Still, I definitely want to try it this year as it sounds really interesting and I know Hannah really loved it, so it must be good!

7. Good Girl, Bad Blood-Holly Jackson

Ah sequel to A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder which was one of my favourite reads of last year, so this one is definitely on the high priority list for this year. I would have been fairly happy with AGGGTM as a standalone, but I’m not going to say no to more of Pip and Ravi and I look forward to seeing what they get up to next.

8. Devil, Darling, Spy-Matt Killeen

I read the first book in this series, Orphan Monster Spy around two years ago, and I got Devil Darling Spy last year but I never got around to reading it, so it’s definitely one I’d like to get to in the not too distant future.

9. Difficult Women: A History of Feminism In 11 Fights-Helen Lewis

I won this in a giveaway last year, but haven’t got around to it yet. It combines two things I love: History and Feminism and I am trying to read more non-fiction this year, so hopefully I get around to it at some point.

10. House of Earth and Blood-Sarah J Maas

I meant to get around to this one last year, I really did, but after reading both of the Daevabad trilogy sequels, I was kind of burned out on super long audiobooks! I will definitely try and get around to the audiobook of this one this year though.

11. A Promised Land-Barack Obama

I got this as a Christmas present, so again, it’s probably not really fair that it’s on this list. It is a hefty beast though, so I may dip in and out of it through the year as it’s easy enough to do that with a memoir.

12. Scavenge The Stars-Tara Sim

This Count of Monte Cristo retelling sounds so good, I just don’t know where to get it from! If I’m able to find it from a non-Amazon source then I might get to it this year. UK PUBLISHERS PLEASE PICK UP TARA SIM’S BOOKS. SIGNED, SAD UK FAN.

13. The Love Hypothesis-Laura Steven

This one sounds like a lot of fun, I just wasn’t really in the mood for contemporary last year! I would definitely like to try and get around to Laura’s newest release this year though, as I loved The Exact Opposite of Okay.

14. The Tower of Nero-Rick Riordan

Technically I still have to read The Tyrant’s Tomb before I can get to this…..I know, I know, I’m super behind, but I’m still really excited to see how Rick Riordan has tied up the Camp Half-Blood universe stories.

So that’s it, that’s my 2020 list of shame! Have you read any of these? Did you enjoy them? Are you planning to read any of them this year? Let me know in the comments!

I’ll be back next week with another Top Ten Tuesday, this time it’s perennial favourite, New To Me Authors I Read In 2020, and I discovered a lot of great new authors last year, so I’m really excited to share this one!

64 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #299

  1. dinipandareads 19/01/2021 / 1:03 pm

    Great list! I also had House of Earth and Blood on mine today and your list totally reminds me that I still need to read Where Dreams Descend and All the Stars and Teeth, too 😂 Whoops, list of shame, indeed! Haha, I hope you get around to reading these this year and enjoy them! Happy reading 😊

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2021 / 3:24 pm

      Thank you! Ha ha it definitely is, this year’s even longer than usual.

  2. lydiaschoch 19/01/2021 / 1:59 pm

    I’ve heard good things about The Foundling.

    My post.

  3. Susan 19/01/2021 / 2:13 pm

    I’m excited to read GOOD GIRL, BAD BLOOD this year as well. I did read WHERE DREAMS DESCEND, but I actually didn’t love it. It’s overly long and was just kinda meh for me. I hope you love it, though!

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2021 / 3:23 pm

      Ah that’s a shame! I hope I enjoy it more than you did. Good Girl, Bad Blood sounds so good, I can’t wait to read it.

  4. Where Dreams Descend and House of Earth and Blood are two books I really want to read! I’ve enjoyed all the SJM books I’ve read so far so I’m hoping I’ll like her new series as well.

  5. The Book Lover's Sanctuary 19/01/2021 / 2:42 pm

    I liked Good Girl, Bad Blood – there are apparently another 2 books planned! And Silvered Serpents was on my radar but I never actually got it!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2021 / 3:22 pm

      So I’ve heard, I’m interested to see how she manages to get two more books out of that series, whether it will still be connected to the murder in the first book or explore different murders. I hope you enjoy The Silvered Serpents when you get it!

  6. amugofbooks 19/01/2021 / 3:39 pm

    I definitely plan on reading Good Girl, Bad Blood this year! I definitely agree that a standalone for the first would’ve been fine, but I’m so happy to get to read more of Pip and Ravi’s story.

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2021 / 3:20 pm

      Me too! Oh yeah, I’m not sad that there’s more books, I’m excited to see more of Pip and Ravi, but equally would have been satisfied with a standalone. Basically there’s no way to loose here!

  7. clarice @ stardust pages 19/01/2021 / 3:42 pm

    so many great books on your list!! where dreams descend, house of earth and blood, and good girl, bad blood are also on my list haha. i hope you’ll enjoy reading these books 💖

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2021 / 3:17 pm

      Thank you! Ah that’s cool, hope you enjoy them too 🙂

  8. Rose @ Wanders Between Pages 19/01/2021 / 3:42 pm

    I am ashamed!!! I have not read those books too! So much great books released last year and I have not read a single one! 🙈

  9. Jess @ Jessticulates 19/01/2021 / 4:11 pm

    Great list! I just read The Lives of Saints and really enjoyed it–the illustrations are stunning–and Dangerous Remedy is one I’d like to try. I hope you enjoy all of these!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2021 / 3:16 pm

      Thank you! Ah that’s great to hear, I’m really excited for that one, I enjoyed The Language of Thorns so much and thought the illustrations in that were super gorgeous.

  10. evelynreads1 19/01/2021 / 5:44 pm

    I hope you can get to all of these soon! I really need to read The Silvered Serpents as well!

    My post!

  11. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense 19/01/2021 / 5:58 pm

    The Silvered Serpents is amazing. I read an ARC last year and have been thinking about it every since. Hope you enjoy all these. Happy reading!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2021 / 3:14 pm

      Ah that’s so great to hear, everyone seems to have really loved it, so I’m super excited to read it. Thank you!

  12. Carol 19/01/2021 / 5:59 pm

    Lots of great possibilities here! Happy reading!

  13. frayedbooks 19/01/2021 / 6:04 pm

    The Lives of Saints was one of my first books of 2021 and it was short and sweet – I really enjoyed it and hope you do too!

  14. Jen at Introverted Reader 19/01/2021 / 6:44 pm

    I’ve only read Where Dreams Descend and it wasn’t my favorite but I was definitely in the minority. Oh, and A Promised Land which was good but what a chunkster! I had to race through it to return it to the library on time. I wish I’d had time to dip in and out. That seems like the best approach. You’ve reminded me that I need to continue with the Trials of Apollo. And Magnus Chase. And the Kane Chronicles. I don’t know how I started so many of Riordan’s series at one time! I need to read anything by Sarah J. Maas. Everyone seems to love her books and I haven’t read anything by her!

    I hope you enjoy these when you read them!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2021 / 3:10 pm

      Thank you! Oh that’s a shame, I hope I enjoy WDD more. Yes it is HUGE, so I’d rather take my time with it than try and read it all in one chunk. He has so many books, it’s definitely hard to keep. I hope you enjoy her books, if you read them.

  15. Dedra @ A Book Wanderer 19/01/2021 / 8:08 pm

    Unfortunately I haven’t read any of these either. I hope you can get to some of them this year. 🙂

  16. Anne Bennett 19/01/2021 / 8:12 pm

    Difficult Women sounds good and kick-ass. Start there! Good luck with your list.

  17. Georgia Husselbee 19/01/2021 / 8:35 pm

    I hope you get to House of Earth and Blood soon, it was my top book of 2020! The Lives of Saints also made it onto my list!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2021 / 3:06 pm

      It honestly depends when I’m next in the mood for a super long listen, I’m currently reading ACOWAR, so it might be a while before I get to House of Earth and Blood. Ooh yay, I hope we both enjoy it 🙂

  18. Leslie 19/01/2021 / 11:18 pm

    The Silvered Serpents was sooo good! I hope you get to it!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2021 / 3:04 pm

      I will, it’s my TBR Challenge book for next month, so I’ll be starting it then 🙂

      • Leslie 20/01/2021 / 8:33 pm

        Oh, good!! I hope you like it! 🙂

  19. nbiblioholic 20/01/2021 / 12:34 am

    I missed a few of these as well 😦 However, I did read The Silvered Serpents and it was brilliant. I hope you enjoy it!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2021 / 3:04 pm

      I’m glad to hear you loved it, everyone I’ve heard from seems to have really enjoyed it, so I’m super excited to get stuck in!

  20. Cheri 20/01/2021 / 1:30 am

    I’m reading Becoming and really want to get around to all of Barack Obama’s books, too. I loved reading about Michelle Obama’s early years.

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2021 / 3:02 pm

      Yes, it was so interesting to learn about Michelle Obama’s early life 🙂

  21. pagesandtea 20/01/2021 / 8:50 am

    Hope you enjoy all these if you get around to reading them. The Foundling is one I’d like to read as well.

    • iloveheartlandx 26/01/2021 / 11:39 am

      Thank you! I hope you enjoy The Foundling too when you read it.

    • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2021 / 2:59 pm

      I definitely did the most reading I have ever last year!

      • mphtheatregirl 20/01/2021 / 3:00 pm

        Mostly had to do with the pandemic- I was surprised by how much I read. Some of those books were long.

      • iloveheartlandx 20/01/2021 / 3:01 pm

        Yeah same, I had a lot more time to read last year, not having work.

  22. tabularasablog 20/01/2021 / 7:23 pm

    “Lots of LGBTQ+ sorcerers causing chaos in the French Revolution” sounds like just my kind of book.
    Great list!

  23. Holliehocks 22/01/2021 / 4:14 am

    I just saw All the Stars and Teeth at the library today, but didn’t end up getting it. If I had of remembered it had dark magic in it, I definitely would have! Also, I love seeing people talk about being behind on the Percy books… I ended up reading the first two Apollo books when they came out, and I hadn’t even finished the Heroes of Olympus series, so I never read the rest of the Apollo series either, haha. I hope you’re able to get around to all of these soon!

    • iloveheartlandx 26/01/2021 / 11:34 am

      Ah well maybe next time! There are so many books in that series, I can guarantee there are a lot of us who are behind, I hope you manage to catch up soon. Thank you 🙂

  24. lindseyhabets 23/01/2021 / 1:17 pm

    I read House of Earth and Blood last year and really loved it, so hope you’ll enjoy it too! It’s definitely long though and kind of slow to start, so I can imagine it would not have been a good idea to start after two long audiobooks 🙂 I still need to read The Gilded Wolves, but it’s on my TBR so hope to get to it soon. Good luck with all of these!

    • iloveheartlandx 26/01/2021 / 11:31 am

      Yeah that’s kind of what I figured, I’ve read a lot of SJM books by now, so I know how long they take to pick up! Glad to hear you enjoyed it though. Ah The Gilded Wolves is great, hope you enjoy that one. Thank you 🙂

  25. Cheryl Malandrinos 24/01/2021 / 2:44 am

    Nice list. The History of Feminism sounds intriguing. Hope you get a chance to read all these this year.

    Thanks for visiting my blog on Tuesday.

    • iloveheartlandx 26/01/2021 / 11:26 am

      Yeah it came out November last year I think! Definitely 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.