Top Ten Tuesday #291

TTT-Big2

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a good week since I last did one of these, mine has been relatively quiet since Stirling is into a local lockdown now, but I did have a nice weekend, I did a back to back Mamma Mia 1 & 2 watch with pizza and ice-cream on Friday night and Strictly on Saturday, so the joy was strong in my house!

Anyway, as it’s Tuesday, I’m back with another Top Ten Tuesday for you all, courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl (sorry it’s slightly later than usual, I’ve been doing job applications this afternoon). This week is the annual Thanksgiving freebie I’ll be honest, I struggled coming up with a topic for this year’s freebie, as I’ve done a lot of the bookish ones already and it’s 2020, things to be thankful for are few and far between. So instead, I’m talking TV this week, I watch a lot of US TV and Thanksgiving episodes seem to be a staple (it’s how I learned what Thanksgiving was to be honest since we don’t have it in the UK!) so I’m going to share my Top Ten Favourite Thanksgiving TV Episodes this week. Caution before I go into this, there will be spoilers!: 

  1. The One With The Football-Friends

Friends has an awful lot of Thanksgiving episodes to choose from, so this is not the only Friends appearance on this list, but it’s my favourite one. American football may be completely lost on me, but a girls vs boys football game where Monica and Ross get insanely overcompetitive over an ugly troll doll trophy? It’s classic Friends.

2. The One With All The Thanksgivings-Friends

My other Friends instalment on this list, this Season 5 Thanksgiving episode has a lot of memorable moments. Like many of Friends gags, the Fat Monica jokes have aged terribly, but seeing the flashbacks to everyone’s worst Thanksgivings is incredibly hilarious and Chandler accidentally telling Monica he loves her whilst she’s dancing with a turkey on her head to apologise for cutting his pinky toe off (that was her worst Thanksgiving ever) is one of my favourite ever TV I-love-you moments.

3. Slapsgiving-How I Met Your Mother

Ah remember the time before How I Met Your Mother was soured forever by THAT finale? Me too. Anyway, back when How I Met Your Mother was actually an okay show, we had Slapsgiving, the start of one of the show’s most iconic running gags, the Slap Bet. There are two “Slapsgiving” themed episodes (we don’t count the one in Season 9 with the terrible yellow face), and this is the better of the two, with the endless slap puns, cringey inside jokes and of course the very satisfying, third slap of the Slap Bet.

4. A Deep Fried Korean Thanksgiving-Gilmore Girls

I actually watched this just last week as I’m currently doing my annual rewatch of Gilmore Girls. This Season 3 Thanksgiving episode (it’s actually one of only two, Gilmore Girls didn’t really lean into the holiday episodes in the same way that a lot of other shows do) has so many memorable moments: Lorelai and Rory trying to cram four Thanksgiving dinners into one day, Lane and Dave’s first kiss and Sookie dealing with Jackson deep frying her turkey by getting incredibly drunk.

5. Blair Waldorf Must Pie!-Gossip Girl

Gossip Girl did several Thanksgiving episodes over its run (it’s Blair’s favourite holiday) but this one from the first season will always be my favourite as we get flashbacks to Thanksgivings from years past and get a lot more insight into the characters and their relationships with each other, especially Blair.

6. Four Thanksgivings and A Funeral-Ugly Betty

The only Thanksgiving episode in Ugly Betty’s four season run, but it’s definitely a fun one with Marc and Amanda dressing up in outfits from the closet whilst drinking and singing along to Dreamgirls being a highlight! Wilhelmina’s reaction to having to stuff a turkey is definitely a close second.

7. Mr Santiago-Brooklyn Nine Nine

This season 4 episode of Brooklyn Nine Nine sees Jake meeting Amy’s father and as expected things don’t turn out quite as planned! Meet the parents episodes of sitcoms are always fun to watch and the fact that Victor is also a retired cop makes for a fun dynamic between him and Jake.

8. Parents-New Girl

I can’t say that New Girl ever comes to mind as a show with the most memorable Thanksgiving episodes, but this Season 2 one was a lot of fun, with Jess trying to “Parent Trap” her divorced parents.

9. Two Turkeys-Brooklyn Nine Nine

This Thanksgiving episode of Brooklyn Nine Nine sees Jake and Amy’s parents meeting for the first time & of course because it’s a sitcom and their parents have nothing in common, everything goes horribly wrong, which of course means lots of hilarity for us.

10. Chapter Twenty Eight-Jane The Virgin

This season two episode of Jane The Virgin is kind of Thanksgiving-lite, it’s not a major focus of the episode, rather merely where the episode ends, but I included it anyway as it’s a super fun one. It’s all about milestones and follows the characters through a four month period in one episode so it’s really cool to see how everything changes for the characters. Petra spending Thanksgiving with Jane’s family and seeing the start of a tentative friendship between her and Jane is definitely a highlight.

So there we go, those are just some of my favourite Thanksgiving TV Episodes. What are some of your favourites? Let me know in the comments! 

I’ll be back with another Top Ten Tuesday next week, the topic is meant to be Books I Wish I Could Read Again, but I already did that topic about two years ago and I’d rather do something new, so instead I’m going to talk about my Top Ten Favourite Christmas Movies, as I want to start trying to get into the festive spirit (I realise we’ve had a few non-book themed ones in a row, but I actually quite like getting to share some of the other things I enjoy with you guys sometimes as well!). 

44 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #291

  1. lindseyhabets 24/11/2020 / 7:26 pm

    I love your take on the topic! Those Friends episodes are definitely classics and that Gilmore Girls episode is one of my faves!

  2. lydiaschoch 24/11/2020 / 8:47 pm

    Good luck with your job applications. I’m rooting for you.

    My post.

  3. Jen at Introverted Reader 24/11/2020 / 10:29 pm

    I love the Friends football episode. It seems to always be the one that’s on if I’m flipping through cable channels, no matter the time of year.

    Good luck with your applications!

  4. agreatreviewer 24/11/2020 / 10:40 pm

    Oh nice topic! I wouldn’t be able to remember all the Thanksgiving episodes from favorite shows over the years!

    Thanks for visiting my TTT!

    • iloveheartlandx 30/11/2020 / 11:27 am

      Thanks! Oh I googled, these did not just come off the top of my head haha.

  5. Louise 24/11/2020 / 10:41 pm

    I love B99! Its Thanksgiving episodes are brilliant ☺

    • iloveheartlandx 30/11/2020 / 11:27 am

      Me too! Yes they are, though the Halloween episodes will always be the best 🙂

  6. FangirlFlax 24/11/2020 / 10:51 pm

    Love this idea! And I was pleasantly surprised to see I’ve actually watched and loved all of those specials – you obviously have great taste in TV 😉

  7. Carol 24/11/2020 / 11:24 pm

    This is a fun Thanksgiving spin! I love Gitmore Girls! 🙌😍 I’m curious…you mentioned Stirling….are you in Scotland? We’re from Southern California and my dad spent 3 years in Edinburgh acquiring his PhD and my sister graduated from University of Stirling!

    • iloveheartlandx 25/11/2020 / 12:27 am

      Thank you! I couldn’t think of a book topic this year, and I figured a TV one would be fun to do. Yes I am in Scotland! Your sister graduated from Stirling? That was my Uni too! I graduated last year!

      • Carol 25/11/2020 / 1:01 am

        Congrats! My sister graduated a long long time ago! Small world! 😍🙌

  8. HerBookishDesires 24/11/2020 / 11:40 pm

    I love your take on the topic!! A very entertaining read. 🙂 Hope you have a great week!

  9. Susan 25/11/2020 / 2:23 am

    Fun topic! Thanksgiving is a great holiday, but like any where families gather, it’s definitely ripe for drama 🙂

    Happy TTT!

  10. Deb Nance at Readerbuzz 25/11/2020 / 3:09 am

    I was late to the table for How I Met Your Mother, but I’ll never forget Slapsgiving. (I loved the ending, too. I know. I’m odd.) I’m just getting into Gilmore Girls, so I’ll look forward to that one.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    • iloveheartlandx 30/11/2020 / 11:17 am

      It’s definitely an iconic episode (also really?). I hope you enjoy it, it’s definitely up there with one of the best Gilmore Girls episodes.

  11. evelynreads1 25/11/2020 / 6:55 am

    I really like your take on the topic!

    (www.evelynreads.com)

  12. Jess @ Jessticulates 25/11/2020 / 9:12 am

    Such a fun take on this week’s prompt! I love the Friends episode with the turkey head, and Brooklyn 99 is such a good show, too. I think I’m one of the only people in the world who’s literally never seen a single episode of Gilmore Girls, but everyone seems to love it!

    • iloveheartlandx 30/11/2020 / 11:14 am

      Thank you! Yes, they are both great. It’s not aged the best, there are some jokes in there that flew in the early 00s that definitely would not now, but I always find it comforting.

  13. tabularasablog 25/11/2020 / 1:28 pm

    Fantastic idea. Off to re-watch A Deep Fried Korean Thanksgiving!… and Slapsgiving.. and all things Brooklyn 99. This is a great list. It’s going to prompt a long binge-watch here! Thanks!

    • iloveheartlandx 30/11/2020 / 11:11 am

      Thank you! Ha ha that’s the best compliment to know that I’ve inspired a binge watch 🙂

  14. Catherine 25/11/2020 / 8:23 pm

    I really need to re-watch Ugly Betty! Gossip Girl has loads of great Thanksgiving episodes – I think I like the one in the first series best.

    • iloveheartlandx 30/11/2020 / 11:11 am

      It’s such a fun series! Yes it does. I do too, though the third series one is a close second.

  15. Brooke Lorren (@Brookelorren) 25/11/2020 / 10:27 pm

    Stay healthy! Hope you get one of the jobs you’re applying for. My dh has been unemployed since April and this week… there weren’t ANY places in our area hiring in his job field. And unemployment pays more than Walmart.

    I don’t watch a lot of TV, but I like your creative take on this week’s topic!

    • iloveheartlandx 30/11/2020 / 11:10 am

      Thank you! This year has been just awful for anyone searching for jobs so your husband has my sympathies, it’s rough out there!

  16. Greg 25/11/2020 / 10:53 pm

    These sound fun! I haven’t seen any of them I don’t think, but New Girl was a fun show. 🙂

  17. Leslie 26/11/2020 / 4:47 am

    So many great episodes here but I totally LOVE Slapsgiving! Those episodes are some of my favorites! Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx 30/11/2020 / 11:09 am

      Thank you! Yes, the Slap episodes are always so much fun 🙂

  18. allthebookblognamesaretaken 26/11/2020 / 8:09 pm

    I LOVE THIS IDEA! friends remains my all-time fave show and since my mom was unable to come for Thanksgiving thanks to all the jerks who wouldn’t wear masks, or stay distanced, or stay home, our plans were ruined. I am comforting myself by watching every Thanksgiving episode of Friends while my dughter has to be at her dad’s house.

    • iloveheartlandx 30/11/2020 / 11:08 am

      Thanks! Ah no that’s awful, I’m so sorry, it’s so hard not being able to see family on holidays. Friends is a great choice of comfort watch 🙂

  19. thebookishlibra 28/11/2020 / 1:21 am

    Such a fun list. I love those Friends episodes so much!

  20. Rissi 08/12/2020 / 2:07 am

    This is fun! Love Gilmore Girls, and you’ve reminded me, I have to get back into “Ugly Betty.” I started it a while back (for the first time), and am realizing I haven’t watched an episode for quite some time now. Thanks for visiting Finding Wonderland on this week!

    • iloveheartlandx 08/12/2020 / 1:00 pm

      Thank you! Me too, it’s one of my faves (well Seasons 1-5 anyway, Season 6 & 7 kind of suck). Ah I’m so jealous of you getting to watch it for the first time, it’s brilliant on rewatch but there’s definitely something so cool about getting to discover a show for the first time. When I was at Uni, one of my friends hadn’t seen it so we started watching it in our second year, left off somewhere around Season 3 and then when we finally picked it up again in our fourth year of Uni, we had to go all the way back to the start because it had basically been two years since she’d seen any. It was super fun though, a real bonding thing for us 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.