Top Ten Tuesday #278

TTT-Big2

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a good week since I last did one of these, I met up with my friends last weekend and we had a really great time, it’s definitely been so much nicer since we’ve been able to see other people!

Anyway, since it’s Tuesday, it’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl. This week we’re talking Questions I’d Ask My Favourite Authors, it’s hard to know what hasn’t been asked in the age of social media, but hopefully I’ll come up with some interesting things!

  1. To VE Schwab: What can we expect from Threads of Power?

I know she’s probably not able to tell us much more than she already has about this one, but I can’t help it, I’m so excited about the spinoff series to Shades of Magic and I want to know more!

2. To Rick Riordan: Will you ever come to the UK for an event? Please?

It’s never going to happen because he doesn’t tour outside the US, but it would be really great if one day  he did!

3. To Maggie Stiefvater: How do you come up with such brilliantly strange ideas?

Maggie Stiefvater’s books are always so wonderfully odd and I would love to know where those ideas come from, because my brain could never come up with something like the plot of The Raven Cycle.

4. To Sarah J Maas: Is the Throne of Glass adaptation still happening?

We haven’t had any news about the TV show of Throne of Glass (Queen of Shadows) in a while, which has me wondering if it is actually going to go ahead or not.

5. To Derek Landy: What comes next after Skulduggery’s over?

There’s only a couple more books left in the Skulduggery series, so I’m curious as to what Derek Landy has planned for when there’s no more Skulduggery. I wasn’t a massive fan of Demon Road (at least after the first book), so I’m hoping that I’ll like whatever he has planned next more than that.

6. To Leigh Bardugo: Do you know how the Grishaverse will end?

Obviously I wouldn’t want to know exact details, because I don’t want to be spoiled, but I would be interested to know if Leigh Bardugo has an endgame in mind for the Grishaverse, and if that has changed over the years.

7. To Samantha Shannon: Can you give us a hint as to where we might be going in TBS 5?

We’ve been visiting different areas of the Scion Republic in each Bone Season book, we’ve done Oxford, London, Manchester, Edinburgh and the TBS 4 is taking us to Paris so I’m curious as to where we’ll be going in the fifth book.

8. To Alwyn Hamilton: Who is your favourite character in The Notorious Virtues?

The Notorious Virtues might have been pushed back to an as yet unknown date, but I’m definitely curious about the characters in this book and how the world will compare to Rebel as it’s a different part of the same universe.

9. To Neal Shusterman: What attracted you to writing dystopia?

Both of Neal Shusterman’s most famous series are dystopian/utopian futures and I just wonder what interested him in exploring those. It’s always intrigued me how dystopian writers come up with all these ideas of how our future could be awful!

10. To Amanda Foody: You’ve written across different age categories (though the MG is yet to be published), how does your approach change when writing for a younger as opposed to an older audience?

I’ve only ever written YA books, and I love seeing my favourite authors writing across genres, especially the YA ones who write adult as I’ve been starting to lean more towards adult books in recent years, but I’m always curious as to if it changes the way authors approach their writing depending on the audience (especially as a journalist where audience is definitely a massive factor as to how you approach a story).

So there we go, those are the questions that I would ask my favourite authors! What would you ask your favourite authors? Do we share any? Let me know in the comments!

I will be back with another Top Ten Tuesday next week, this time we’ll be talking Books That Make Me Hungry, which should be another fun one.

 

 

46 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #278

  1. lydiaschoch 25/08/2020 / 1:00 pm

    I hope Rick Riordan will go to the UK someday for you. 🙂

    My post .

  2. proxyfish 25/08/2020 / 2:37 pm

    Very good questions! I too would love to know more about the Shades of Magic spinoff!! 😄

  3. vee_bookish 25/08/2020 / 4:13 pm

    Love these questions! I did a little Googling and with the lack of updates it’s looking like Throne Of Glass may not be going ahead, but we have The Selection and Grishaverse adaptations to look forward to, if those get adapted as planned.

    • iloveheartlandx 26/08/2020 / 4:40 pm

      Thanks! Yeah, I kind of figured as much but hopefully sometime in the future maybe someone else will decide to try and adapt it. I never actually read The Selection, but I’m really looking forward to the Grishaverse.

  4. Louise 25/08/2020 / 4:39 pm

    I love that you asked each author about specific projects!

    • iloveheartlandx 26/08/2020 / 4:39 pm

      It’s definitely easier to narrow down questions when you have a specific project in mind!

  5. evelynreads1 25/08/2020 / 5:08 pm

    I’m very curious to Threads of Power!

    (www.evelynreads.com)

  6. FangirlFlax 25/08/2020 / 5:28 pm

    Great list! Here’s hoping the Grishaverse never ends 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 26/08/2020 / 4:35 pm

      Thank you! I’m okay with it one day ending, I just want to be sure it will end well!

      • FangirlFlax 26/08/2020 / 5:42 pm

        I feel like everything she touches turns to gold, so I’m sure it will!

    • iloveheartlandx 26/08/2020 / 4:35 pm

      Thank you! Honestly, it’s something I’m curious about with all dystopian authors 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 26/08/2020 / 4:34 pm

      Thank you! Oh she’s lovely, I’ve met her a few times and she’s always been so nice. I have to admit I do have a tendency to be a bit of a blabbering fool when it comes to meeting authors I like, so I definitely get you there!

  7. anovelglimpse 25/08/2020 / 7:34 pm

    I think we all want to know what goes on in Stiefvater’s brain after reading her books. They’re brilliantly weird.

    My TTT

    • iloveheartlandx 26/08/2020 / 4:32 pm

      Some of the things she comes up with…..I genuinely have no idea how she does it!

  8. Leslie 25/08/2020 / 11:14 pm

    It’s been so long since we’ve heard about the Throne of Glass adaptation and I would love to know too!

    • iloveheartlandx 26/08/2020 / 4:29 pm

      Yes! I’m guessing it’s been shelved since if there’d been any casting news we would have heard about it.

      • Leslie 26/08/2020 / 10:21 pm

        Yeah… I agree.

      • iloveheartlandx 30/08/2020 / 7:48 pm

        It’s such a big series, hopefully it gets picked up by someone else at some point.

    • iloveheartlandx 26/08/2020 / 4:27 pm

      Thank you! It was definitely difficult trying to come up with stuff that you couldn’t just easily find on their Twitter accounts!

  9. thebookishlibra 26/08/2020 / 1:54 am

    I would love to know the answer to your V.E. Schwab question too! 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 26/08/2020 / 4:26 pm

      Wouldn’t we all? Hopefully we’ll hear more about it closer to release, whenever that is, I’m not sure she’s even started working on it yet, so it might be a while.

  10. Destiny @ Howling Libraries 26/08/2020 / 6:56 am

    These questions are amazing! I’m with you on the Threads of Power question – I just want some idea of what to expect (besides heartache, no doubt). I’m also curious where TBS5 will take us, and I’ve been wondering about the TOG adaptation, too! I looked recently and couldn’t find anything new about it at all. I hope it’s still happening because I think it could be a really great show!

    • iloveheartlandx 26/08/2020 / 4:20 pm

      Thanks! Oh me too, I also really wish we knew when to expect it but I know VE Schwab is super busy all the time so kind of feel like that’s an unfair question to ask (same goes for all authors). Yes me too, and we haven’t even got TBS 4 yet (so excited for that one, if I’d known how long the wait would be I probably wouldn’t have binged all three books back to back and waited to read The Song Rising till closer to the release, but alas, I read them all in 2017). Yeah, there definitely seems to be radio silence on that one, which I’m guessing means it’s been shelved? Tbh I know it was going to be on Hulu so if it has been shelved, I’d rather it got picked up by Netflix or Amazon so I could actually watch it! It would be a brilliant show 🙂

  11. Nikki @The Night is Dark and Full of Books 26/08/2020 / 8:05 am

    I love how a lot of these are specifically about the continuation of books, like you just can’t wait to see what’s next haha 🙂 i wish I could get more into series. Somehow I always loose interest along the way.

    • iloveheartlandx 26/08/2020 / 4:12 pm

      Ha ha I’m very curious and I love to know what’s up next for my favourite authors! I’m also very impatient waiting for their new releases that I need to know more. I’m the exact opposite, I love series!

  12. Verushka, an editor (@SydneyEditor1) 26/08/2020 / 12:02 pm

    Your question 6 for LB is really interesting — I am always saddened when I know a series is ending, BUT it actually makes for a better series int he end than one that just keep going I think, well past the point it needs to end.

    • iloveheartlandx 26/08/2020 / 4:09 pm

      I like knowing that authors have an ending point in mind for their series, especially ones as expansive as the Grishaverse because like you said, you don’t want authors to carry on with no end point in mind to the detriment of the series.

  13. Dedra @ A Book Wanderer 27/08/2020 / 4:12 pm

    Great questions! Even though I still need to read all the books in the Grishaverse, I would still like to know the answer to that question, as well. 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 30/08/2020 / 7:43 pm

      Thank you! Oh obviously I want to read all of them as well but I’d just like to know if there is a planned endgame 🙂

  14. dinipandareads 28/08/2020 / 1:59 pm

    Ooh, these are some really great questions! I’d be keen to know what Shusterman’s and Foody’s responses would be. Also, I had no idea ToG was going to be adapted!? Must know for sure! 😱

    • iloveheartlandx 30/08/2020 / 7:41 pm

      Thanks! Yeah, it was meant to be adapted for Hulu and I remember Sarah posting a pilot script on her Instagram, I think? But that was a while back so I’m guessing it’s probably not happening anymore!

  15. lindseyhabets 29/08/2020 / 12:35 pm

    Great questions! I’m definitely wondering about the Throne of Glass adaptation as well.

    • iloveheartlandx 30/08/2020 / 7:40 pm

      Thanks! Yeah, I mean I’m guessing since we haven’t heard any updates that it’s not happening but it would be nice to know for sure.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.