Top Ten Tuesday #276

TTT-Big2

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a good week since I last did one of these, I just got back from Stirling over the weekend and it was really nice to get a change of scenery for a couple of weeks!

Anyway, it’s Tuesday, so it’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl. This week I’m going completely off topic as the Books I Loved But Never Reviewed is a topic I did a few years ago, so instead I’m going to talk about Film/TV Adaptations I’ve Watched Where I Haven’t Read The Book (yes, I do this, no I don’t feel bad about it, there are certain things I like in films that I don’t enjoy reading about). So here we go:

  1. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society-2018 (Book by Annie Barrows and Mary Ann Shaffer)

I really enjoyed this film, anything relating to books is like catnip to me so of course a film about an underground book society in 1940s Nazi occupied Guernsey fits both my book requirements and my history nerd requirements. I haven’t felt the urge to pick up the book though because it’s an epistolary novel and those don’t really work for me.

2. To All The Boys I Loved Before-2018 (Book by Jenny Han)

To All The Boys I Loved Before is a cute enough film, if a little overly cheesy but I wouldn’t read the book because I don’t like romance as the main focus of the books I read, where I tend to enjoy it more in films.

3. Love, Simon-2018 (Book by Becky Albertalli)

Again, the same issue with this one as To All The Boys, I’m not really a big fan of books where the main plot is romance, which is one of the many, many reasons I want to see more LGBTQ+ fantasies, as I obviously want to support those stories but contemporary romances don’t really work for me as a reader. I did enjoy the film though, I thought it was really cute.

4. The Devil Wears Prada-2006 (Book by Lauren Weisberger)

Honestly at this point, the film is such a firm favourite of mine that I don’t think I could read the book at this point because I’d just spend most of the time making comparisons! It’s also the kind of book that I probably wouldn’t be particularly drawn to anyway, and most of the reviews I’ve seen haven’t been great, so I think I’ll stick to rewatching the film over and over (and over) again.

5. Bridget Jones’ Diary-2001 (Book by Helen Fielding)

I have on occasion flipped through an old copy of this book that we have, but I’ve never read the whole thing. Again, this comes down to a difference of interests in books and films, I’m not really a romance reader but I love a good rom-com.

6. Good Omens-2019 (Book by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett)

I’d actually really like to read this book, it just wasn’t on my radar until the series came out! I really enjoyed the Amazon Prime limited series, I thought it was really well done and Michael Sheen and David Tennant were just brilliant. Hopefully I enjoy the book just as much when I get around to reading it.

7. Normal People-2020 (Book by Sally Rooney)

Like many people, I watched Normal People during lockdown and I enjoyed it but have no real desire to read the book. Again, the primary focus of the story is romance and to be honest, I would feel incredibly awkward reading all those sex scenes!

8. Confessions of A Shopaholic-2009 (Book by Sophie Kinsella)

I’ll be honest, I mostly watched this film because I think Hugh Dancy is cute! But it’s a sweet, if a little silly film that’s a lot of fun. I have no real desire to read the book though, because again, not a romance reader.

9. Ella Enchanted-2004 (Book by Gail Carson Levine)

I know, sacrilege as I’ve heard from many a fan of the book that the film doesn’t follow it at all, but it’s a really fun, campy, fairytale film and I really enjoyed it. I might read the book one day, but so far it’s still sitting on my TBR.

10. Game of Thrones-2011-2019 (Books by George RR Martin)

Like many people, I came across Game of Thrones first through the TV show and whilst I did enjoy the TV show (whilst acknowledging the issues with sexism and racism in particular) I don’t think I’ll be reading the books, they’re too long and I’m not really sure George RR Martin is someone that I want to support.

So there we go, those are some of the films/TV shows that I have watched without reading the books. Have you seen any of these? Did you read the books? Let me know in the comments!

I’ll be back next week with another Top Ten Tuesday, the topic is Books That Should Be Adapted Into Netflix Movies/Shows, but I feel like a lot of the books I want to see adapted have already had adaptations announced, so instead I’m going to twist it slightly and do Netflix Book Adaptations That I’m Looking Forward To.

62 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #276

  1. lydiaschoch 11/08/2020 / 1:52 pm

    What did you like most about The Devil Wears Prada? I’ve never read or seen it.

    My TTT .

    • iloveheartlandx 12/08/2020 / 7:31 pm

      It’s got a great cast, it’s funny and I love that it’s women and their careers which take centre stage.

  2. Deb Nance at Readerbuzz 11/08/2020 / 3:38 pm

    Good Omens is a book I loved when I first read it. (And I mean loved as in LOVED). I still haven’t seen the series. I need to do that.

    And I’m crazy about Devil Loved Prada.

    • iloveheartlandx 12/08/2020 / 7:29 pm

      It’s a lot of fun, I hope you enjoy it when you do see it. I know, such a good film!

  3. evelynb98 11/08/2020 / 4:20 pm

    Great list! I’m the same with Good Omens and the Potato Peel + Literary Society, I really enjoyed their adaptations but I’m still as of yet to pick up the books!

    (https://moonlitbooks.home.blog/)

  4. nbiblioholic 11/08/2020 / 4:21 pm

    I’ve seen almost all of these (loved Good Omens). And I agree that some of these movies/shows are best to be watched, not read.

    • iloveheartlandx 12/08/2020 / 7:28 pm

      Yeah, it’s one of the reasons why I’m never “must read the book before I watch the film” because for some people if you read the book and it’s not for you, then you might never watch the film even if you might have enjoyed the story better that way.

  5. Louise 11/08/2020 / 4:47 pm

    I thought Good Omens was a brilliant adaption but personally like the book even more. Hope you enjoy it 😀

  6. Ashley Sapp 11/08/2020 / 5:16 pm

    I read Confessions of A Shopaholic but have never seen the movie. I loved Bridget Jones’ Diary and had to go read the book after I saw the movie. 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 12/08/2020 / 7:23 pm

      Like I said, I’ve flicked through it on occasion but I don’t see myself sitting down to read it anytime soon.

  7. vee_bookish 11/08/2020 / 5:27 pm

    I have a few! The Color Purple, The Green Mile, Blood And Chocolate (high recommend for Hugh Dancy fans), The Witcher! I’ve found YA Book adaptations are often lacking compared to the book.

    • iloveheartlandx 12/08/2020 / 7:22 pm

      I tried watching The Witcher but couldn’t get into it. I do have to agree, often YA adaptations miss a lot of the depth that is in the books.

  8. brookelorren 11/08/2020 / 5:34 pm

    Hmmm… I’ve read the Game of Thrones books but have no interest in watching the show. I think I’ve seen Ella Enchanted? but I haven’t read the book. I’ve watched Hamilton on Disney+ a couple of times and listen to the soundtrack often, but I’ve never read the book it was based on.

    • iloveheartlandx 12/08/2020 / 7:21 pm

      Fair enough! Oh I didn’t even think of Hamilton, but you’re right, that works for this too. I don’t have any real interest in reading the biography either, I’m interested in the history (I did history at University) but 800 odd page biographies don’t make it onto my reading list often!

  9. Rabeeah 11/08/2020 / 6:31 pm

    I’m the same with romcoms – I think they just translate so much better to films! That said, I have started reading a few romance books recently, so this could change! Normal People I actually have read but not seen. It was alright but I don’t think I will watch the series either, though I know everyone seemed obsessed for a while!

    This is a great list idea. I too definitely enjoy different things from film/novels.

    • iloveheartlandx 12/08/2020 / 7:17 pm

      I agree! It’s a lot harder to show chemistry in books than it is on screen I feel. I’ll be honest, I probably wouldn’t have watched Normal People if it hadn’t come out in lockdown, I mainly watched it because I was bored! Thank you, I think it’s natural that we look for different things in films and books, they’re very different mediums.

      • Rabeeah 13/08/2020 / 8:41 am

        Haha I think there are lots of odd things we all ended up doing in lockdown… That’s true! Which is why it makes sense not to read the book of every film you see 😅

  10. Mareli Thalwitzer 11/08/2020 / 6:43 pm

    I’ve read, watched and loved both versions of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Good Omens.

    Nice spin on the topic! Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    • iloveheartlandx 12/08/2020 / 7:15 pm

      I’m probably more likely to try those books out of all of the ones from this list because they’re more my taste when it comes to books 🙂

  11. Witch's Reading Blog 11/08/2020 / 7:11 pm

    I haven’t read Confessions of shopaholic either and I don’t think I can read it 🙈🙈 but the movie though is amazing.

    Love how you made this ttt yours

    • iloveheartlandx 12/08/2020 / 7:14 pm

      Yes, the movie is a lot of fun! Thanks, I didn’t want to rehash the same list I did a few years ago for the original topic, so I thought I’d have some fun with it 🙂

  12. proxyfish 11/08/2020 / 9:17 pm

    Oh what a great topic! I haven’t read Good Omens but I’ve just bought it! I’m very much looking forward to reading it 😀 I really enjoyed the TV series too!

    • iloveheartlandx 12/08/2020 / 7:12 pm

      Thanks! I hope we both enjoy the book, I think I’m going to listen to the audiobook for it because I feel like it will be really fun to listen to.

  13. Greg 11/08/2020 / 9:21 pm

    Ooh I like this topic. Same here with To All The Boys and Bridget Jones- I think both shows are fun but I probably won’t read the books since I don’t read a lot of straight up romance? I thought the movies were great though!

    I’m a huge Game of Thrones fan (the books, not she show) but I’ve become somewhat disenchanted over the years, so I get you there.

    • iloveheartlandx 12/08/2020 / 7:11 pm

      Thank you! Yes, they’re both super fun as films but the romance would likely annoy me in books. It’s much easier to feel invested in a romance film than a book, because you can see if the actors on screen have chemistry.
      Yeah, when I first watched the show I definitely felt more interested in reading the books but I’ve lost interest over the years.

  14. shanaqui 11/08/2020 / 9:31 pm

    Interesting! I’m the opposite way round… even when the book is really good, I can rarely sit still for the movie. I think that’s more ’cause I’m a fidget, though!

  15. anovelglimpse 11/08/2020 / 9:45 pm

    Same for #8. The movie was so fun, though! I did read the first 5 of these. I still haven’t seen the movies, though.

    My TTT.

    • iloveheartlandx 12/08/2020 / 7:08 pm

      It’s definitely a super fun film, but I never would have read the book. The films are all really good, 100% recommend Devil Wears Prada, Meryl Streep, Anne Hathaway, Emily Blunt and Stanley Tucci were all brilliant in it.

  16. Leslie 11/08/2020 / 10:59 pm

    I’m so bad at reading books after watching the TV/Movie adaptation!! So many good ones on here though!

    • iloveheartlandx 12/08/2020 / 7:04 pm

      I’ve read some books after watching their movie, I only read Perks of Being A Wallflower because I saw the film (and actually liked it more than the book, whoops), though not all. Thanks 🙂

      • Leslie 14/08/2020 / 2:47 am

        I really should do it more because I usually like the books more than the movies anyways! I just think… I’ve got so many books to read and I’ve got the gist.. haha. So bad! 😛

      • iloveheartlandx 14/08/2020 / 2:32 pm

        Ha ha you don’t need to explain, I definitely get it! Too many books, too little time 🙂

      • Leslie 15/08/2020 / 5:48 pm

        Story of our lives! 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 12/08/2020 / 7:02 pm

      I’m sure it probably is, I’m just not one for love stories!

  17. 1girl2manybooks 12/08/2020 / 12:43 am

    I absolutely love Guernsey! I read the book first just before I saw the movie and I adore them both. I also really liked Bridget Jones’ Diary, Shopaholic and Love, Simon. Great list of both books and movies/tv shows!

    • iloveheartlandx 12/08/2020 / 7:02 pm

      I won’t rule out trying it in the future, but I might listen to it rather than reading the physical book. Something about letters, I kind of just find myself skimming them! Thank you 🙂

  18. Holliehocks 12/08/2020 / 6:12 am

    I really like this topic! I’ve watched several films/adaptations before reading books, and it’s always nice to find others who do the same! I watched To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before because I don’t tend to like romance-heavy books, and I also didn’t want to go out of my way to find the book when the movie came out. I did actually read Ella Enchanted as a kid, though if it was before or after I watched the movie, I’m not sure. I thought both were good in their own right, but I think that’s because I tend to enjoy fairy tales, and being able to see it on screen was just a completely different feel, whether the story-line was the same or not.

    • iloveheartlandx 12/08/2020 / 6:58 pm

      Thanks! I’m glad I’m not the only one, there’s so much “Always read the book before the film” in the book community that it feels a little odd to admit that I don’t always do things that way, and that sometimes I will watch a film with no intention of ever reading the book. The complaints I’ve heard from people about Ella Enchanted is mostly that it’s a very loose adaptation of the book which I guess is fair enough!

  19. Verushka, an editor (@SydneyEditor1) 12/08/2020 / 11:15 am

    This is such a great idea for a tTT — I’m so stealing it for the next time I don’t know what to do! And Good Omens is the only one I’ve read on your list. BUT haven’t watched all the way through (sadly)

    • iloveheartlandx 12/08/2020 / 6:54 pm

      Go for it! I watched it with my mum and we finished it all in two days. I hope you enjoy the rest of it 🙂

  20. Davida Chazan 12/08/2020 / 11:25 am

    This kind of goes with my discussion post about reading vs watching. There are some books I won’t read, but will watch on TV or as a movie.

    • iloveheartlandx 12/08/2020 / 6:54 pm

      I actually was inspired to do it because I did a very similar discussion post myself a while back!

  21. Laurie C 12/08/2020 / 10:50 pm

    If I really like a book, I almost never bother with the movie/TV version. I’m with you on Game of Thrones, though; I finally admitted to myself that I was never going to read the books, and ended up addicted to the TV show.

    • iloveheartlandx 14/08/2020 / 2:37 pm

      That’s fair, I can definitely understand not wanting to be disappointed. Sometimes, the TV show/film is just a more manageable way to consume a story that long, and there’s nothing wrong with that.

  22. AB_likes_books 14/08/2020 / 7:44 am

    Good Omens is the only one of these I’ve read. I would definitely recommend it! Haven’t watched the show yet.

    • iloveheartlandx 14/08/2020 / 1:48 pm

      I’m glad you enjoyed it! Oh it’s great, David Tennant and Michael Sheen are both AMAZING in it.

  23. thebookishlibra 18/08/2020 / 1:10 am

    I’ve been hesitant to watch Normal People because I didn’t like the book, so I’m glad to hear it’s actually pretty good.

    • iloveheartlandx 20/08/2020 / 12:01 pm

      I mean I thought it was pretty good but then I had no knowledge of the book, so I’m not really sure how it compares!

  24. Leif Price 24/08/2020 / 6:01 am

    The Devil Wears Prada is one of the best book I’ve ever read! Best recommended for everyone!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.