Top Ten Tuesday #275

TTT-Big2

Hi everyone! I hope you all had a good week since I last did one of these, I just got back from visiting a friend who’s dog has just had puppies and THEY WERE SO CUTE, so my week is already made!

Anyway, it’s Tuesday, so that means another Top Ten Tuesday courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl. This week we’re talking Books With Colours In Their Titles, so these will be a mix of books that I’ve read and books from my TBR with colourful titles!

  1. The Red Ribbon-Lucy Adlington

40046433. sy475

This story about seamstresses at Auschwitz-Birkenau follows fictional characters, but it has a basis in real life: there really were women at Auschwitz who were required to make clothes for the wives of Nazi officers, and most of the women doing this work were Jewish. Lucy Adlington, the author of the book is actually a costume historian (she studies historical clothing), so I’m pretty interested to see how she tackled this book!

2. The Priory of The Orange Tree-Samantha Shannon

40275288. sy475

Any excuse to share this book’s beautiful cover! I’m sure that most of you are probably familiar with this beast of a book by now, but if you’re not, then it’s basically a feminist retelling of the legend of George and The Dragon, set in a fantasy world.

3. Blue Lily, Lily, Blue-Maggie Stiefvater

22978079

The third book of the series, and probably actually my least favourite just because it felt like kind of a filler book but it does fit with this prompt, as it is both the name of the main character in this book and a colour.

4. The Silvered Serpents-Roshani Chokshi

45044785

The cover for this one is so beautiful and I know I’ve said it before, but so Christmassy! I might actual save this one for just before Christmas so I can enjoy it on a cold winter’s night as I feel that’s what this cover deserves. Anyway, I promise, I’m not just all for this book because of the cover, I really enjoyed The Gilded Wolves and am excited to see what the characters get up to next.

5. Feminists Don’t Wear Pink and Other Lies-Scarlett Curtis

40174593. sx318

I still haven’t got around to reading this collection of feminist essays yet, but I definitely want to soon!

6. Scarlet-AC Gaughen

11983940

If we’re being strictly technical, Scarlet is a shade not a colour in itself, but it’s my list so I’m going with it! I’m really looking forward to reading this one, I love Robin Hood and I’ve not actually read any retellings of it (though that will change once I read Sherwood next month). Scarlet is also the surname of the man character, Will Scarlet, who in this book is a girl.

7. A Blade So Black-L.L. McKinney

36952594

I’ve had mixed luck with Alice in Wonderland retellings in the past, but both were actually origin stories for the Queen of Hearts so it will be interesting to read one where Alice is the main character and we love to see fantasy stories with Black girl leads!

8. Blanca & Roja-Anna-Marie McLemore

36952596

Honestly, I’m not usually a massive magical realism person, but the cover for this one is so beautiful and I love the idea of a Snow White, Rose Red/Swan Lake retelling as it’s not something that you see very often.

9. Between Shades of Gray-Ruta Sepetys

7824322

This is my favourite of Ruta Sepetys’ books (granted I have only actually read this one and Salt To The Sea), it’s such a beautiful, heartbreaking, yet ultimately hopeful book and the atrocities of Stalin’s rule of the Soviet Union, especially the Baltic deportations to Siberia do not get talked about in the mainstream anywhere near as much as they should.

10. Beyond The Black Door-A.M. Strickland

42642042. sy475

This book sounds so cool, it’s all about a girl who can walk into other people’s souls whilst they sleep! The protagonist is also asexual which is not something I’ve really read about much before (and it’s #ownvoices as well).

So there we go, books with colourful titles! Have you read any of these? Did you enjoy them? Let me know in the comments!

I’ll be back next week for another Top Ten Tuesday, the topic is meant to be Books I Love But Never Reviewed, but I did that one a few years ago and it was a relatively extensive list, so I’m going to a different topic, I’m going to talk about Movies I’ve Enjoyed Where I Didn’t Read The Book (it has happened on occasion and no I’m not sorry about it, see my discussion post on this issue).

 

 

 

43 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #275

  1. lydiaschoch 04/08/2020 / 4:07 pm

    Feminists Don’t Wear Pink sounds really good!

    My TTT .

    • iloveheartlandx 05/08/2020 / 7:57 pm

      There were several on other people’s lists that I have either read or are on my TBR that I forgot about too. It does, doesn’t it!

  2. amugofbooks 04/08/2020 / 5:29 pm

    The Priory of The Orange Tree is on my TBR and Feminists Don’t Wear Pink sounds so good! Will definitely have to add that to my TBR!

  3. evelynreads1 04/08/2020 / 5:41 pm

    Great list! I cannot wait to read The silvered serpents!

    My post!

  4. proxyfish 04/08/2020 / 5:56 pm

    Beyond the Black Door sounds really interesting! I really like the cover too. I’ve always loved the sound of The Priory of the Orange Tree but still haven’t read it!!

    • iloveheartlandx 05/08/2020 / 7:55 pm

      Yeah, I didn’t work out that it was a keyhole on the cover until I pulled it up for this post, for ages I thought it was a hot air balloon which makes no sense at all. I hope you enjoy Priory if you do read it 🙂

      • proxyfish 05/08/2020 / 7:59 pm

        Hehe thank you! And that just shows a good imagination! 😀

  5. Chiara 04/08/2020 / 6:16 pm

    Great list. I don’t know much about silvered serpent but for me that covers gives very Russian vibes

    • iloveheartlandx 05/08/2020 / 7:54 pm

      Thanks! Ha ha it is actually set in Russia, so that works 🙂

  6. Leah's Books 04/08/2020 / 6:39 pm

    Aaaah you have so many books that came directly from my TBR list!

  7. Holly 04/08/2020 / 6:56 pm

    Between Shades of Gray and Blue Lily, Lily Blue are such great picks! Great list!

  8. Jess @ Jessticulates 04/08/2020 / 8:51 pm

    Great list! The Priory of the Orange Tree, Beyond the Black Door, A Blade So Black and Blanca & Roja are all on my TBR.

    • iloveheartlandx 05/08/2020 / 7:50 pm

      Yes it’s a great title! Me too, I loved The Gilded Wolves 🙂

  9. Leslie 05/08/2020 / 12:50 am

    I’m excited for Silvered Serpents too!!! Great list!

  10. AB_likes_books 05/08/2020 / 8:06 am

    Blanca Roja looks so good, and such a pretty cover!

    • iloveheartlandx 05/08/2020 / 7:38 pm

      I mean I haven’t either! Not even sure it’s actually available in the UK……I mean probably from Amazon, but I’m trying to buy less from them. Yes, Priory is beautiful 🙂

  11. Rhosymedre (@Rhosymedre) 05/08/2020 / 8:56 pm

    Between Shades of Grey is really good. You’re right about the history not being talked about enough; I had never heard anything about that aspect of WWII before I read it.
    RS

    • iloveheartlandx 12/08/2020 / 7:39 pm

      The timing actually worked out really well for me because I was covering that period in my A-Level History whilst I was reading it so it was a good supplement for my studies!

  12. Love your list this week! The Red Ribbon somehow completely escaped my radar, so thank you for bringing it to my attention. Definitely adding it to my TBR pile.

    • iloveheartlandx 12/08/2020 / 7:34 pm

      Thank you! Glad to have helped you find something new to read 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.