Top Ten Tuesday #206

TTT-Big2

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a good week since I last did one of these, I am finally DONE! All my project work has been handed in now, so all that’s left to do is wait for my grades and I am making the most of my newfound freedom by doing a LOT of reading, I’ve read over 200 pages of King of Fools in just the last four days alone!

Anyway, as it’s Tuesday, I have a new Top Ten Tuesday for you all courtesy of Jana at That Artsy Reader Girl. This week we were meant to be talking about Outrageous Things We’ve Done For The Love of Books, but honestly? I haven’t done that many. I can think of a few, but not enough to fill up a list of ten, so I’m going my own direction with the topic this week and talking about my Top Ten Favourite Sister Relationships In Books, as I love books that feature a great sister relationship and there definitely aren’t enough of them. So here we go, my favourite fictional sisters:

  1. Scarlett and Tella-Caraval Trilogy (well it will be in May)-Stephanie Garber

Sure Caraval does have some swoony romances, but Scarlett and Tella’s relationship is at the heart of the series, Scarlett only entered the first Caraval in order to save her sister after all. Scarlett and Tella are both very different people, but they would do anything for each other, the mark of a great sibling bond.

2. Camille and Sophie-Enchantee-Gita Trelease

I loved Camille and Sophie’s relationship in Enchantee, it’s the driving force behind the entire book, as Camille goes to Versailles in the first place in order to make money so that she can move her sister away from their awful apartment in Paris and their abusive brother can no longer find them. It’s wonderful to see how much Camille cares for Sophie and the lengths she will go to protect her.

3. Anna and Kate-My Sister’s Keeper-Jodi Picoult

Anna and Kate have quite an interesting relationship, given the premise of the book is that Anna was born to be an organ donor sibling to her sick older sister, who is suffering from leukaemia. Their sibling dynamic is quite different, since Anna’s purpose in life is to be a donor for Kate, there’s a lot of resentment there, even though she really loves her sister and it’s quite an interesting dynamic to read about.

4. Pauline, Petrova and Posy-Ballet Shoes-Noel Streatfeild

My original favourite sister relationship! Pauline, Petrova and Posy aren’t biological sisters, they were all adopted by the mysterious man known only to them as Gum (Great Uncle Matthew) who left when they were babies, but they bond together and take the shared last name of Fossil (as Gum is a paleontologist and brought them back in place of fossils) and vow to each other to make their name mean something. I honestly think this book is probably where my love of found families comes from!

5. Katniss and Prim-The Hunger Games Trilogy-Suzanne Collins

I couldn’t really do this list without including Katniss and Prim, I mean how many sisters would volunteer to fight in a deadly game where only one person ever comes out alive for you? I’m guessing not many!

6. Feyre, Nesta and Elain-ACOTAR Trilogy-Sarah J Maas

Sister relationships aren’t always sunshine and rainbows, and Maas’ sisters from the ACOTAR trilogy definitely prove this! Feyre obviously loves her sisters but there is a fair bit of resentment there too, as she is the one who has had to go out and hunt for the family whilst her sisters sit at home & obviously she changes quite a lot after the time she spends with Tamlin and Rhysand so it will be interesting to see how that dynamic has changed in the third book (yes I still haven’t read ACOWAR, yes I will get to it at some point).

7. Willow and Amelia-Handle With Care-Jodi Picoult

Another Jodi Picoult book with an interesting sister relationship, this one is interesting for two reasons, firstly that there is quite a big age gap between Amelia and Willow (Amelia is Charlotte’s daughter from a previous relationship) and like My Sister’s Keeper, it’s another book where the sibling has an ongoing health condition, in this case Osteogenesis Imperfecta so much as Amelia loves her sister, there’s also a lot of resentment there as Willow is paid far more attention than Amelia, given that she is the sick one.

8. Sephy and Minerva-Noughts and Crosses series-Malorie Blackman

Sephy and Minerva’s relationship is quite interesting because they’re never really that close? Sephy spends most of her time with Callum and her older sister never really seems to want much to do with her, but they become closer as they grow older, because this series takes place over a very long stretch of time (beginning when Sephy is a child, and by the fourth book, Sephy is an adult with a teenage daughter) so you get to see her relationship with her sister go through a lot of changes, which is something you don’t usually get to see in a YA series, since they don’t usually cover that large a period of time.

9. Lou and Amy-Heartland series-Lauren Brooke

Lou and Amy have quite a large age gap, I think it’s about 10 years between them & they are very different people, Lou is more practical and business minded, Amy just wants to continue her mother’s work in helping horses and it causes a lot of clashes between them throughout the series, but they are also incredibly close and rely on each other a lot for advice-they changed a lot in the TV series, to it’s benefit, I think, but the core relationship between Amy and Lou is very similar to the one seen in the book.

10. Claudia and Jenny-Heading Home-Katie Flynn

You get to see Claudia and Jenny growing up throughout this book, and unlike the example I mentioned above, with Sephy and Minerva, Claudia and Jenny grow apart as they get older (which can happen with sisters) and their divergent personalities come through.

So there we go my Favourite Sister Relationships In Books, I have to admit, I was struggling to come up with them by the time I got to number 6, which shows there definitely needs to be more books with sisters at the heart of them! Have you read any of these books? What are your favourite fictional sister relationships? Let me know in the comments!

Next week’s topic is Rainy Day Reads, which I’m not entirely sure what to make of, since I don’t really base my reading around the weather, but we’ll see what I manage to come up with! Meanwhile, I’m nearly done with my April #RockMyTBR book, Catwoman: Soulstealer, so I will likely have a review of it up for you guys by the end of the week, so keep an eye out for that one.

47 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #206

  1. Great post! I know you love seeing sister’s in books πŸ˜‚ I love Scarlett and Tellas relationship in Caravel, although I’m sad it didn’t get more page time in Legendary. I’m so excited to read Enchantee 😍 I remember Anna and Kate’s relationship was very complex, as was the whole family dynamic in My Sisters Keeper. I loved Ballet Shoes as a kid! Who was your favourite sister? I always loved Petrova. Katniss and Prim is still so sad 😭 just why 😭 I don’t remember Handle with Care very well but I vaguely remember the Older sister being neglected and the younger one being too young to really have a perspective in the novel? I don’t know. Anyway, lots of cool relationships!

    My list:
    https://bookslifeotheroddities.wordpress.com/2019/04/09/10-crazy-things-all-bookworms-have-done

    • iloveheartlandx 09/04/2019 / 3:35 pm

      Thanks! Yeah what can I say, I’m predictable! Yes, they were great, I’m hoping it will get more time in Finale since they’ll be together again and both characters apparently have a POV. Yes, I suppose that’s what happens when you have a kid for the purpose of using them to save their sister! I think mine was Posy, youngest sibling, could probably relate to her most. Yeah she didn’t have a perspective, it was just Amelia. Thanks πŸ™‚

  2. Jess @ Jessticulates 09/04/2019 / 1:19 pm

    Love your topic choice this week! Sephy and Minerva are a great choice, I love Noughts & Crosses so much, and Katniss and Prim’s relationship was my favourite relationship in that series.

    • iloveheartlandx 09/04/2019 / 3:30 pm

      Thanks! Yes, Noughts and Crosses is a great series, I’m so excited for the new book coming out in August. Yes, Katniss and Prim were great, it still makes me so sad what happened to Prim because it was totally unnecessary.

  3. Trish @ Between My Lines 09/04/2019 / 1:26 pm

    Great topic Jo. I adore Pauline, Petrova and Posy, so they would definitely be in my list too. As would Katniss and her sister. Oh and Amy, Beth, Jo and Meg from Little Women.

    • iloveheartlandx 09/04/2019 / 3:25 pm

      Thanks! Yes, that was one of my favourite books as a kid, and Katniss and Prim are just awesome, I wish the films had shown more of their relationship. I actually didn’t manage to finish Little Women, I started it but got bored about halfway through!

  4. lydiaschoch 09/04/2019 / 4:07 pm

    Congratulations on finishing all of your project work. That’s wonderful.

    I thought Handle With Care was a very interesting story.

    My post.

  5. Bibi @ Bibi's Book Blog 09/04/2019 / 4:13 pm

    I like that you changed the theme to something that suits you. And congrats on finishing your projects πŸ˜€

  6. Brooke Lorren (@Brookelorren) 09/04/2019 / 5:36 pm

    Scarlett and Tella are darling. I didn’t even think of Katniss and Prim last time I thought of sister books.

    I’m not sure what to do with rainy day reads yet either… any book is good to read on a rainy day!

    • iloveheartlandx 10/04/2019 / 10:36 pm

      They are! Ah they were probably one of the first pairs to come to my head. Yeah, it’s kind of a vague topic, but I suppose that means lots of room to explore.

    • iloveheartlandx 10/04/2019 / 10:35 pm

      Thanks! Ah the rest of the series is really good, but the first book still works well as a self contained story if you prefer to leave it that way.

  7. ChrissiReads 09/04/2019 / 6:06 pm

    Sister relationships are the best! Love your choices.

  8. Louise 09/04/2019 / 6:14 pm

    Supportive and complicated sister relationships are a big weakness of mine too! 😊

    • iloveheartlandx 10/04/2019 / 10:34 pm

      I just love them! Complex sibling relationships have always been something I was drawn to but I particularly love ones between sisters, it’s always been something I can relate to!

  9. lindseyhabets 09/04/2019 / 6:23 pm

    Sister relationships are great! Especially love Katniss and Prim.

    • iloveheartlandx 10/04/2019 / 10:33 pm

      They are! Yes, actually volunteering your own life to save your sister is pretty incredible!

  10. Melanie (TBR and Beyond) 09/04/2019 / 7:04 pm

    Such a good topic. I always love a good story with siblings. I totally agree about Tella and Scarlett and with the ACOTAR sisters. None of them are perfect relationships but that is what makes them feel more authentic.

    • iloveheartlandx 10/04/2019 / 10:33 pm

      Thank you! Yes they both have brilliantly messy relationships, very authentic to having siblings!

  11. Anastasia 09/04/2019 / 7:37 pm

    Haha oh I like rebels, you go girl! I haven’t thought much of this. I only have a younger brother so maybe that explains it.
    Hunger Games offers plenty of great characters and relationships

    • iloveheartlandx 10/04/2019 / 10:32 pm

      Ha ha thanks! Ah I have an older sister, so it’s something I tend to look for. Yes it does πŸ™‚

  12. agreatreviewer 09/04/2019 / 9:02 pm

    Ooh nice topic change! I don’t think I’ve had too many sister relationships in books! Caraval is one for sure…the rest…I’d have to do some serious searching for those! Lol.

    Thanks for visiting my TTT post!

    • iloveheartlandx 10/04/2019 / 10:31 pm

      Thanks! Yeah mixed sibling relationships do seem to be more common but there are some great sister/sister relationships out there. No problem πŸ™‚

  13. Greg 09/04/2019 / 9:34 pm

    I love great sibling relationships in YA books, and I definitely agree we could always use more good ones. The only one here I’ve actually read is Katniss/ Prim, but the other ones sound pretty awesome also.

    • iloveheartlandx 10/04/2019 / 10:30 pm

      Yes-I feel like sibling relationships is another thing that sometimes gets overlooked in favour of romance. Oh they are!

  14. kozbisa 09/04/2019 / 10:57 pm

    I love siblings and they dynamic between sisters can be really complicated. Tella and Scarlet were awesome, and you had me almost in tears just bringing up My Sister’s Keeper.

  15. abookandacup 10/04/2019 / 3:59 am

    These are great choices!! I really love Scarlet and Tella!!

  16. Verushka, an editor (@SydneyEditor1) 10/04/2019 / 10:53 am

    This list got me thinking and I couldn’t think of one sister relationship for a list like this for me! It’s interesting because it got me wondering if it’s easier to devote depth to sister relationships in YA than thrillers (which is my fave genre right now). Wonderful topic that really got me thinking!

    • iloveheartlandx 10/04/2019 / 10:28 pm

      Ah thank you! For some reason mixed gender sibling relationships tend to be a lot more common in YA than sets of brothers or sisters, though I do think it would be easier to do a list of brother relationships! I honestly don’t know, I don’t read too many thrillers, I’ve read some but not enough to know if a lack of sister relationships is common to the genre.

  17. Destiny @ Howling Libraries 10/04/2019 / 8:11 pm

    Aw, this is such a great spin on the theme! How sweet. ❀ Katniss and Prim are probably my favorite fictional sisters of all time. I'll never get over those two. β™₯

    • iloveheartlandx 10/04/2019 / 10:24 pm

      Thank you, it’s one I’ve been wanting to do for a while! Yes they had such a beautiful relationship, it makes me so sad how the whole thing ended, especially because it was entirely unnecessary.

  18. thebookishlibra 10/04/2019 / 10:46 pm

    Great list! Katniss and Prim would have made my list as well. Loved them.

  19. Aline @ Fully Booked 12/04/2019 / 6:59 pm

    Ahh Scarlett and Tella has such a great relationship! I love their love for each other ahah. ❀️ Great list!

  20. Katiria Rodriguez 16/04/2019 / 1:47 am

    Great post and an amazing list I absolutely love the sisters of Scarlett and Tella as well, thank you so much for stopping by my TTT post last week.

  21. Trisha : Tale of a Bookworm 17/04/2019 / 3:23 am

    seeing your love for caraval, you now are my favorite person in the world! I love tella ❀

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.