Top Ten Tuesday #203

TTT-Big2

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had good weeks since I last did one of these, last week began rather uneventfully for me, but then I passed my driving theory test and met Victoria Schwab again all in the space of two days, so it ended pretty well. I’ve also finished my project, and started writing my reflective essay, so they end for this semester is nearly in sight, thank goodness!

Anyway, since it’s Tuesday, I’m back with another Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of Jana over at That Artsy Reader Girl. This week we’re doing another of our annual TBR topics, our Spring TBR. I did reasonably well on my Spring TBR, I’ve read seven of the books on there fully & finished half of a third. I’m still not done with Kingdom of Ash, at this point I honestly don’t think I’ll ever be done with Kingdom of Ash and the other book on my TBR had it’s release date pushed back to December, so that one really isn’t on me. Still I’m really pleased I did so well on my Winter TBR because I’ve been ridiculously busy doing my project so spending any time at all reading has been difficult.

Anyway enough about my Winter TBR, this is what I’m planning on reading this Spring:

  1. Becoming-Michelle Obama

This is my current read and I’m actually really enjoying it-I don’t mean to sound surprised there, I love Michelle Obama, it’s more a case of I don’t usually read non-fiction so I’m not used to sitting and enjoying a memoir! It’s been a nice change of pace for me though, I love fiction but occasionally you need a break.

2. Catwoman: Soulstealer-Sarah J Maas

This is my April #RockMyTBR challenge book. I have to admit I’m a little apprehensive of this one since superheros aren’t really my thing, but since it’s Sarah J Maas, I am willing to give it a shot. At least this is one Sarah J Maas book that isn’t a huge mammoth so it should take me a normal person length of time to finish! (*side eyes Kingdom of Ash*)

3. A Girl Called Shameless-Laura Steven

I just got this one as a giveaway prize and I’m super excited to dive in, I really want to see where Izzy O’Neill’s adventures go next. I’m probably going to be reading this after my project’s been submitted and I think after three months of project work, a good, funny, short read is probably just what I need.

4. Descendant of The Crane-Joan He

I’m about halfway through this one, I’ve actually been reading it since the beginning of the month and it was on my Winter TBR. I’m in two minds about this one, I love the Chinese inspired world and the characters, but I was kind of expecting it to have more magic and it’s a lot of dense political manoeuvrings which aren’t really my thing.

5. Uprooted-Naomi Novik

This will be my May #RockMyTBR book. I’m again a little apprehensive because I didn’t finish Spinning Silver, but I’m hoping that I will enjoy this one more, especially since I’ve heard nothing but good things about it.

6. Finale-Stephanie Garber

AGHH I’M SO EXCITED FOR THIS BOOK! My friend and I went in on the Fairyloot box together, but she’s keeping the book as I had already preordered the signed Waterstones edition. Anyway, I can’t wait to see how Tella and Scarlett’s journey ends and whether they manage to defeat Legend once and for all.

7. We Are Blood and Thunder-Kesia Lupo

I’ll admit I don’t actually know all that much about We Are Blood and Thunder but I’ve been hearing good things from other bloggers, so I’m willing to give it a chance-all I really know is that it’s set in a world where magic is feared and that usually works out pretty well as a storyline for me, so hopefully I will enjoy it!

8. King of Fools-Amanda Foody

I just got accepted for this on Netgalley and I’m so excited! I enjoyed Ace of Shades when it came out last year, but I have a feeling that King of Fools is going to be even better, Ace of Shades was definitely the set up book, I think we’re really going to get into the action here and I can’t wait.

9. Romanov-Nadine Brandes

I’m also ridiculously excited to read this book, I loved Fawkes when I read it last year and a Romanov retelling with magic? Sounds just perfect.

10. The Gentleman’s Guide To Vice and Virtue-Mackenzi Lee

This will be my June #RockMyTBR book and I have to say I’m looking forward to finally seeing what all the hype around this one is about. I’ve read a couple of historical fiction books this year, but nothing that I’ve really, really loved yet, so I’m hoping this one will fit the bill.

So there we have it, the books I’m attempting to knock off my TBR this Spring. I’m pretty confident I should be able to manage them all, once I’ve handed my project and essay in, I have a month and a half of uninterrupted reading time before my parents come and get me from Uni so I’ll probably spend a large portion of that reading. What book are on your TBR this Spring? Have you read any of mine? Are you excited for any of mine (since half of them haven’t actually come out yet!)? Let me know in the comments!

Next week’s topic is an audio freebie, and since one of my resolutions is to try more audiobooks (I am going to have to actually get started on that one once my project is done!), I’m going to make a list of the Audiobooks I Want To Try.

Meanwhile,Β  the Spring equinox is coming up tomorrow, so I’m going to have my Quarterly Rewind up for you guys on Thursday, so keep an eye out for that!

77 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #203

  1. Jess @ Jessticulates 19/03/2019 / 12:08 pm

    Great list! The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue is really fun, I hope you enjoy it. Congrats on passing your theory test and happy reading!

    • iloveheartlandx 19/03/2019 / 2:46 pm

      Thanks! I hope so too, I’ve heard so many good things πŸ™‚

  2. J R Lynn 19/03/2019 / 12:31 pm

    Great TTT! A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue is a book I’ve been seeing everywhere and has been recommended to me but I’m wary. I hope you enjoy it and I’ll be looking forward to your review πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 19/03/2019 / 2:45 pm

      Thank you! Yes, my borrowed my copy last year and loved it, I just haven’t got around to it yet. I’ll be reading it around the beginning of June, so a review should be up by mid-June.

  3. Once Upon A Bookshelf 19/03/2019 / 1:36 pm

    LOL *side eyes Kingdom of Ash* yEAH i will be getting there soon. I currently have Heir of Fire on my TBR list and I am loving it so far. I am making it a priority to finish this series this year! OMG I cannot wait for Finale either. I am super excited!! But I am gonna the miss the characters tho! Hmmm and I have seen We Are Blood and Thunder on other blogger sites too. I am interested with the premise of this one! Hopefully it would be great read! Enjoy reading! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 19/03/2019 / 2:43 pm

      IT’S JUST SO LONG! I AM OVER 300 pages in and NOTHING HAS HAPPENED. Heir of Fire is brilliant though-Heir of Fire was the stage where her books were actually manageable for me and not monsters that could use at least 200 pages trimming. Yes so excited for Finale, but of course I’m going to miss Scarlett and Tella. Hopefully, I don’t really know much about it yet. Thank you πŸ™‚

      • Once Upon A Bookshelf 19/03/2019 / 5:11 pm

        HAHAHA WOW RLY? yah when I first heard the length of the book i was STUNNED. Hopefully it gets better and is a satisfying conclusion! But so far Heir of Fire is pretty good. I love meeting the new characters and the world building is brilliant! So many great releases this Spring!! MY TBR PILE IS INSANE HAHA and ur very welcome πŸ™‚

      • iloveheartlandx 19/03/2019 / 10:42 pm

        Yes really! Me too, I couldn’t not see what needed to happen that meant the book would be so long, and honestly, I still don’t. Yes, Heir of Fire is my favourite of the series, so I’m sure you’ll enjoy it. AGH I KNOW, I have backlist books to catch up on but there’s just so much new shiny stuff that I want to read as well, it’s not fair. Thanks πŸ™‚

  4. anovelglimpse 19/03/2019 / 2:51 pm

    I really want to read Becoming, too! I am on the waiting list at my library, so it will probably be summer rather than spring. I hope you enjoy it!

    • iloveheartlandx 19/03/2019 / 2:52 pm

      Thanks! I’m reading it at the moment and enjoying it so far πŸ™‚

  5. lydiaschoch 19/03/2019 / 2:55 pm

    I just started reading Becoming. Such a good book.

    My Top Ten Tuesday post.

  6. KliScruggs 19/03/2019 / 4:29 pm

    Oh I’m also hoping to read Romanov! I’m so excited all these more unique and obscure retellings are gaining traction, there’s so much to explore!

    • iloveheartlandx 19/03/2019 / 10:49 pm

      Yes, I am too! For so long it seems like only the same few stories could get retold, so I’m excited to see authors branching out and looking at some historical retellings as well.

      • KliScruggs 21/03/2019 / 8:05 pm

        Yes! I started The Dead Queens Club yesterday and I already love it! It’s a retelling of Henry the VIII and his 6 wives may they rest in peace

      • iloveheartlandx 23/03/2019 / 9:18 pm

        I have that one, I’m so excited to read it!

      • KliScruggs 24/03/2019 / 1:47 am

        I can’t wait to read your review!

  7. thebookdutchesses 19/03/2019 / 4:38 pm

    So many good books on here!! I adore Uprooted so much, hope you’ll love it. And I’m currently reading A Girl Called Shameless, it starts off with the humor I loved in the first book so I have high hopes.
    I’m excited for King of Fools, my request is still pending, hopefully I can read it before it comes out, but otherwise I’m sure I’ll get to it soon! I hope to pick up a Nadine Brandes book soon, her synopsis all sound great.

    • iloveheartlandx 19/03/2019 / 10:47 pm

      Thanks! I hope so too, it seems to be a widely beloved bool. Ooh yay, glad to hear that it’s off to a good start. Ah hopefully you’ll get approved soon, mine only got accepted yesterday, so I think they’re just taking a while with the approvals. You definitely should, Fawkes was amazing!

  8. Margaret 19/03/2019 / 4:44 pm

    I want to read Michelle Obama’s book too.

  9. Louise 19/03/2019 / 5:03 pm

    Descendant of The Crane is one of my top priorities for the next couple of months too.

  10. Great list! I am so excited for Finale and King of Fools 😍 I’m secretly hoping I might be able to meet the authors at YALC 🀞 although I’m hoping they defeat the fates in Finale, I sort of like Legend! tell me how you find Gentleman’s Guide and Descendent of the Crane, I’ve seen them all over Twitter but am a little on the fence! I’m thinking of getting Becoming on audiobook at the library, I’ve heard a lot of good things about it and would like to know a bit more about the Obamas

    • iloveheartlandx 19/03/2019 / 10:33 pm

      Thanks! Me too. Oh it would be great if they were, but since they’re US authors, I doubt it, as there aren’t usually many US authors at YALC. Oh I like Legend too, but he probably shouldn’t be Emperor, so when I say I want them to defeat him, I more mean I don’t want him on the throne! They definitely need to defeat the fates though. I will-I don’t think you’d like Descendant of The Crane, it’s incredibly slow and has a lot of political manoeuvrings and that kind of thing so I’m not sure you’d like it. I’ll get back to you on Gentleman’s Guide though. Ah you should, I’m really enjoying it and I’ve heard the audiobook is really good, apparently Michelle Obama narrates it herself!

  11. Brooke Lorren (@Brookelorren) 19/03/2019 / 5:42 pm

    Hopefully KoA won’t take you too much longer. I pre-ordered Finale (I’m a sucker for pre-order gifts, LOL), and I got approved for a King of Fools ARC so I’ll be reading that soon.

    • iloveheartlandx 19/03/2019 / 10:32 pm

      Hopefully-I’ve been reading it since November last year! I’ll have more free time once my project work’s been handed in, so I should hopefully be able to knock out more of it. As did I, although I don’t think there are preorder gifts for the UK, sadly! Yes I did as well, it’s probably going to be the next ARC I tackle since I’m so excited for it.

  12. ChrissiReads 19/03/2019 / 5:51 pm

    It looks like there’s loads of great books to get stuck into here! Enjoy. πŸ™‚

  13. lindseyhabets 19/03/2019 / 6:09 pm

    Great list! I really liked Uprooted and The Gentleman’s Guide, so hope you’ll enjoy them πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 19/03/2019 / 10:30 pm

      Thanks! Oh that’s good to hear, I hope I enjoy them too πŸ™‚

  14. danidewey 19/03/2019 / 6:12 pm

    Uprooted is one of my faves. I really hope it works for you. I also adored Gentleman’s Guide and Becoming. Very happy reading wishes your way!

    • iloveheartlandx 19/03/2019 / 10:29 pm

      Thanks! I hope it works for me too, I’m just apprehensive because the last book I tried by that author I couldn’t really get into. I’m loving Becoming, and I have a really good feeling about Gentleman’s Guide.

  15. Jasprit (@jaskaur11) 19/03/2019 / 6:16 pm

    You have some great books to look forward to this spring! I’m so glad to see that you’re enjoying Becoming too, I can’t wait to start my copy!

    • iloveheartlandx 19/03/2019 / 10:29 pm

      Thanks! Ah yes, it’s been really great so far, I hope you enjoy it too.

  16. Tilly 19/03/2019 / 7:26 pm

    I’m super excited for Descendants of the Crane, I’m really hoping that it hasn’t been over-hyped though! Good luck with KOA – I loved it, although one bit shocked the hell out of me and I think I will be bearing a bookish grudge for a long time! πŸ™ˆ

    • iloveheartlandx 19/03/2019 / 10:27 pm

      I’m personally feeling that it has been a little bit, it’s a lot slower than I was expecting. Thanks, it’s just taking me a while because it’s so huge and I’m not really invested in it yet. I really want to get to the bits everyone has mentioned loving, but I’m finding it a real struggle.

    • iloveheartlandx 19/03/2019 / 10:20 pm

      Thanks! I hope so too, I’m just a bit wary because I couldn’t get into Spinning Silver at all.

  17. kozbisa 19/03/2019 / 10:38 pm

    I am listening to Legendary right now, prepping for Finale. Can’t wait!

  18. asreadbytina 19/03/2019 / 11:01 pm

    I have Romanov, Finale, King Of Fools on my list too! I haven’t read Ace Of Shades or Legendary yet but I just have a feeling I’ll enjoy them.

    I hope you enjoy all of these! I hope the end of the semester goes smoothly for you!

    Tina @ As Told By Tina

    • iloveheartlandx 20/03/2019 / 10:43 pm

      I hope you do-I’ve read both and thought both were really great. Aww thank you πŸ™‚

  19. thebookishlibra 20/03/2019 / 12:42 am

    The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue is such a fun read. I really loved that one. I thought Catwoman was pretty good too.

    • iloveheartlandx 20/03/2019 / 10:35 pm

      That’s good to hear, I hope I enjoy them both πŸ™‚

  20. Greg Hill 20/03/2019 / 3:50 am

    Catwoman looks and sounds amazing, I’ve bee wanting to get that one for a long time. And I like Michelle Obama, too. I need to read her book at some point, I’ve hearing great things!

  21. pagesandtea 20/03/2019 / 8:34 am

    Hope you enjoy all these!
    I really liked Uprooted, it had some great characters.
    Romanov looks so good, I hope the library get that one in πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 20/03/2019 / 10:31 pm

      Thanks! That’s good to hear. Yes it does right, I have my fingers crossed for you that your library gets it πŸ™‚

  22. thebookwormdreamer 20/03/2019 / 1:44 pm

    Congrats on passing your theory test! I hope you do finish Kingdom of Ash because it’s always nice to end a series. And yes to Finale on that TBR! I feel a bit ashamed because I still haven’t read Legendary yet!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/03/2019 / 10:26 pm

      Thank you! Oh I will definitely finish it, it’s just probably going to take me a while, I can’t leave a series with only one book to go, especially when I’ve already started it. Ah you’ve got plenty of time!

  23. Tanya Atkinson 20/03/2019 / 6:07 pm

    I’m looking forward to reading becoming – although I might try to get it on audio. I’d like to hear her tell her own story. The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice & Virtue was a lot of fun.

    • iloveheartlandx 20/03/2019 / 10:22 pm

      Yes I have heard people say it’s really great on audio! That’s good to hear, I hope I enjoy it as much as everyone else seems too.

  24. Annemieke 22/03/2019 / 3:34 pm

    I want to read Becoming at some point this year as well but like you I rarely read non-fiction.
    I thought Uprooted was better than Spinning Silver (though I liked that one too).

    • iloveheartlandx 23/03/2019 / 9:18 pm

      I’ve been really enjoying it, so hopefully you will too. Oh well that’s good to hear, hopefully Uprooted will be more for me.

  25. Sarah - SWB 23/03/2019 / 2:41 pm

    I have Becoming sitting on my shelf and I keep meaning to get around to it! I’m about to start A Girl Called Shameless and I’m really looking forward to We Are Blood and Thunder as well

  26. Kelly W 23/03/2019 / 3:14 pm

    Dense political maneuverings… are actually my think. I’m sorry that it’s not as magical as you were hoping for, but you’ve definitely to me anticipating Descendant of the Crane even more than I already was. Hope if picks up for you!

    • iloveheartlandx 23/03/2019 / 9:16 pm

      That’s great, I’m so glad that it is for you and I really hope you enjoy it!

  27. Great list! I want to read about half of these as well! I have We Are Blood And Thunder, Romanov as well as Descendant of the Crane on my wish list and Catwoman: Soulstealer as well as The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue on my shelves waiting to be read. ☺️ I have a feeling they’re all going to be amazing! Hope you enjoy them all! 😍

  28. Rissi 25/03/2019 / 8:07 pm

    Yay for a shared anticipated read in Romanov, and I also want to someday read the DC Icon series just because they sound like a lot of fun. Sometimes I just want something that’s light and easy to read, which these seem to fit. πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 26/03/2019 / 3:46 pm

      Yeah they certainly do seem like that, I hope you enjoy them πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.