Top Ten Tuesday #153

TTT-Big2

Hi all! I hope you all had a really great Easter, I don’t really celebrate the religious aspects of the holiday (being an atheist), but it was nice to have my family all together, as we haven’t all been together since Christmas, and my parents are staying up in Stirling for a few weeks so that will be nice.

Anyway, since it’s Tuesday, I have another Top Ten Tuesday from Jana over at That Artsy Reader Girl, this week we’re talking about Favourite Characters In Books We Didn’t Like, but since if I don’t like a book, characters tend to be a big part of that, I’m going to switch the topic around and talk about Characters I Hated In Books I Liked (which yes, I realise seems like a bit of an oxymoron, since I just said that characters are a big part of my reasoning for liking a book, but usually if I like a book, I love the main characters, but there can still be side characters that I don’t like as much). So here we go, Characters I Hated In Books I Liked:

  1. Severus Snape-Harry Potter Series-JK Rowling

Yes, okay, I know this one might be quite an unpopular one, but I hate Snape. I don’t feel like JK Rowling’s justifications for his actions actually justify anything he did. You were bullied and the woman you loved didn’t love you back, big whoop. That doesn’t justify bullying CHILDREN (like Snape was Neville’s biggest fear-how is that okay?). He never would have changed sides were it not for Harry being the chosen one-had it been Neville, he wouldn’t have given a damn. He tortured people, he was at one point a follower of Voldemort, he bullied students and he never really showed remorse for his action.

2. Danny-The Exact Opposite of Okay-Laura Steven

UGH. Danny is exactly like your Ross Geller or your Ted Mosby, thinking he deserves the girl because he’s a supposed “NICE GUY” except he’s not actually nice at all and thinks that he can buy Izzy’s affections if only he gives her enough gifts. Self-proclaimed nice guys are the actual worst.

3. President Snow-The Hunger Games-Suzanne Collins

Okay, you’re not meant to like Snow, he is the villain of the series, but I do like The Hunger Games trilogy, so he does fit with the topic! President Snow is just the actual worst, he sends children to their death and doesn’t care and is basically just an egomaniacal tyrant.

4. Dolores Umbridge-Harry Potter Series-JK Rowling

Yes, again, I know we’re not supposed to like her, but she does fit with the topic! I hate Umbridge possibly more than I hate Voldemort, she is just quite frankly a vile woman, and part of the reason that I struggled so much with the fifth Harry Potter book, other than the fact it was so frickin’ huge, was that I wanted to throw the book across the room every time Umbridge appeared in a scene.

5. Nikolai Karimov-The Crown’s Game duology-Evelyn Skye

I wasn’t all that keen on Nikolai in the first book, and then the second one I really hated him, he did a total 180 in character and you just couldn’t root for him at all, he was essentially the villain in the second book, although I didn’t like the second book as much as the first, I’m still counting Nikolai for this as I didn’t really like him all that much in the book of the duology that I actually did like and then it just got worse in the second book.

6. Mason Starkey-Unwind Dystology-Neal Shusterman

Again, you’re probably not really supposed to like Starkey, but I really despised him. At first I felt really sorry for him, but as Unwholly went on, I could totally understand why his parents wanted to unwind him and was kind of actively rooting for him to die? I know, I know, it’s bad, but read the book and you will totally understand! I felt more sorry for Roland than I did for Starkey, because although Roland acts as the villain in Unwind, his actions are more understandable and I don’t think he acted out of outright malice, I didn’t feel like he deserved what he got. Starkey absolutely did.

7. Tamlin-ACOTAR Series-Sarah J Maas

Honestly he’s just such an ass. I hated him in the first book and pointed out in my review that his behaviour towards Feyre was abusive, which is why I couldn’t really understand all of the fangirls being all “you did a complete 180 on his character” in this book, because umm no? The signs of him being abusive were all there in book one, he was just a lot more open about it in book two. Honestly, this is a problem I have with all of SJM’s male fae characters, they’re all really possessive and it bothers me, even the supposedly good ones, show aggressive and possessive tendencies but Tamlin is definitely one of the worst culprits.

8. Jason Grace-Heroes of Olympus Series-Rick Riordan

UGH I LOATHE JASON. I could use Piper for this too, but I’m going to focus on Jason because I do enjoy Piper’s charmspeak powers and she kind of came into herself a lot more in the last HOO book, which redeemed her a little for me. Jason just irritates me, he’s basically a cheap copy of Percy with none of the personality that makes me love Percy so much. I always felt bored reading Jason’s chapters and wanted to move onto one of the more fun members of the seven!

9. Akiva-Daughter of Smoke and Bone-Laini Taylor

I was really enjoying Daughter of Smoke and Bone, right up until Akiva was introduced, and essentially, I hated Akiva so much that it ruined the rest of the book for me, which was really unfortunate! He was just such a damp squib, had no personality to speak of and his affections for Karou felt so contrived, even after their backstory was explained. I’m hoping that maybe he gets more fleshed out in the rest of the trilogy, so he doesn’t irritate me so much!

10. Thomas-The Maze Runner Trilogy-James Dashner

Now whilst I have to admit, The Maze Runner series has been tarnished for me by the revelations that have come out about James Dashner sexually harassing women, when I read it, before I knew any of this, I did like the series, but I always found Thomas really bland and boring, and had it not been for the engaging side characters, I don’t think I would have liked the books anywhere near as much (prior to the whole, “oh by the way, the author is an asshole who has assaulted multiple women).

Over to you! Do you have any characters in books you enjoyed that you just hated? Do we share any? Let me know in the comments!

Next week’s topic Books I Loved But Will Never Reread, which I might have to again alter, because usually if I love a book, I will feel like I want to read it over and over again, but I’ll think about it during the week! In the meantime, I should have my review of The Hazel Wood and my update for March’s #RockMyTBR Challenge very soon, although I have a deadline for Friday, so it likely won’t be before then!

 

59 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #153

  1. readinginthewings 03/04/2018 / 5:58 pm

    I hated Tamlin too! From day one!! I think that’s why I didn’t love ACOTAR, because I didn’t believe that she would love him. Once we got to book 2 though, I was in love with Rhys so….

    • iloveheartlandx 03/04/2018 / 9:20 pm

      Ugh yes me too! I like Rhys more but I still have some problems with him, he can still be quite possessive, which I don’t love.

  2. lindseyhabets 03/04/2018 / 6:51 pm

    Tamlin is the worst! And you’re so right about Jason, I’ve never really liked him because he just feels so, so bland.

    • iloveheartlandx 03/04/2018 / 8:48 pm

      Ugh he is! Exactly, he has no discernible character traits, he’s just kind of your quintessential, cookie cutter good guy.

  3. glaslynnie1 03/04/2018 / 7:51 pm

    I always feel so sorry for Snape because he had such a sad life – but you’re right he’s a horrible person. The way he treats Hermione and Neville is shameful (think he even makes fun of Hermione’s buck teeth at one point, he’s supposed to be a teacher!) and I’ve not read ‘the exact opposite of okay’ but I’m so with you on self-proclaimed ‘nice guys’ . I can’t stand Ted Moseby or Ross!

    • iloveheartlandx 03/04/2018 / 8:52 pm

      Yeah he did have a sad life, but so did Harry and he doesn’t act like a total jerk to everyone! Exactly, it is and he has absolutely no reason to. Oh you definitely should, it has such a good takedown of the “nice guy”. Neither can I!

  4. bathandbooks 03/04/2018 / 8:56 pm

    I really liked this spin on the topic. I haven’t done TTT this week because I don’t really remember any characters from books I don’t like. And I hate Umbridge too!

    • iloveheartlandx 03/04/2018 / 9:28 pm

      Thanks! Yeah me either, which is why I changed it. I think Umbridge hate is universal!

  5. agreatreviewer 03/04/2018 / 9:37 pm

    Seems everyone is twisting the topic! Or a decent amount of people, which I didn’t expect! Lol! Nice twist too! Umbridge was definitely one character I didn’t like from the moment she came on the page practically! So evil!!! Tamlin was one I didn’t hate until book two, but I guess that was almost expected after things happened and stuff! Lol!

    Thanks for visiting my TTT post!

    • iloveheartlandx 03/04/2018 / 11:26 pm

      I think a lot of us found it really hard, it’s difficult to find favourite characters in books you didn’t like! Thank you. Oh yeah same. I mean that’s true of most people I think, I just started on the hating early. No problem 🙂

  6. Kaila 03/04/2018 / 10:44 pm

    Total agreement on Umbridge and Snape! Haven’t read the other books on here, but a bunch are on my TBR!

    • iloveheartlandx 03/04/2018 / 11:23 pm

      Yay! Oh I hope you enjoy the ones that are on your TBR 🙂

  7. JJ Crafts 03/04/2018 / 10:51 pm

    I agree with all of the ones that I’ve read. And especially tamlin the whole first book in the ACOTAR series gave me the creeps.

  8. LMOORE 03/04/2018 / 11:04 pm

    Ahhh… I can’t agree about Snape but I totally do about most of your others! I never liked Tamlin! He was so controlling and abusive from the beginning!

    • iloveheartlandx 03/04/2018 / 11:22 pm

      Fair enough, I knew it would be a controversial choice. Yes, he was, I don’t understand how anyone thought he was nice!

      • LMOORE 04/04/2018 / 1:57 am

        Right?! I still see people say they are team Tamlin! The second and third book he was worse! Well.. I am currently reading the third book and have about 250 pages left. I don’t know, how he could do anything to redeem his behavior, in my eyes!

      • iloveheartlandx 04/04/2018 / 10:29 am

        I think people pick a team in the first book and then are very reluctant to change that, even if said character is completely awful! I haven’t read the third book yet, but I’m not expecting to like Tamlin!

      • LMOORE 04/04/2018 / 3:35 pm

        Yeah, that’s very sound reasoning. He’s terrible in this book so far. I’m sure it wont change my opinion of him, even if he saved the world. lol

      • iloveheartlandx 06/04/2018 / 4:00 pm

        I’ve been prone to do it with TV shows, I usually pick a ship early on and am very hard to sway from it! Ha ha no mine either!

  9. pagesandpugs 03/04/2018 / 11:05 pm

    I love your list! I didn’t think of Tamlin for mine but you’re TOTALLY right!

  10. Greg Hill 03/04/2018 / 11:16 pm

    I haven’t read Harry Potter (other than the first one) but I have a feeling I’d feel the same way about Snape. He seems awful. Snow of course WAS awful. And Thomas – yeah before the Dashner stuff I was just kinda lukewarm on him, but now- ugh.

    • iloveheartlandx 03/04/2018 / 11:21 pm

      He is and his redemption arc at the end wasn’t enough for me. Yes he was. Ugh yeah I know. I was so excited to see The Death Cure movie, had been waiting like two years for it, but I won’t be supporting anything Dashner now.

  11. Heather Cilley 04/04/2018 / 1:25 am

    I should have done this! I have so many characters I disliked in books I love (most of the ones you mentioned actually!). Awesome answers!

    • iloveheartlandx 04/04/2018 / 10:30 am

      Thanks! I just found this a lot easier than coming up with characters I liked in books I ddin’t!

  12. Shayna R 04/04/2018 / 2:03 am

    Great list! I loved your points about Snape – definitely has lots of horrible traits that we can’t forget about. Umbridge, and Snow are also awful.

    • iloveheartlandx 04/04/2018 / 10:27 am

      Thanks! Yes, I think people focus too much on his redemption arc and forget that he’s actually kind of an ass! Yes, they are.

    • iloveheartlandx 04/04/2018 / 10:26 am

      Haha well bland is a perfectly decent reason for disliking a character! Thanks 🙂

  13. Eve L (Evilous) 04/04/2018 / 4:12 am

    See I get Umbridge for sure and while I logically see what Snape did as bad and don’t think his reactions are justified like you I then also turn around and love him and I know in my head it’s illogical but still I do lol. Tamlin I agree for the 2nd & 3rd books but I liked him in book 1 I shipped him and most of the things that become super obvious in book 2 I could see them making some sense in book 1 and they were like level 1 then he jumped to level 10 and I was done with him lol. I didn’t know about Dashner though wow.

    • iloveheartlandx 04/04/2018 / 10:24 am

      Fair enough, Snape sure is a polarizing character! I mean Tamlin’s aggression are lesser in book one, they are still there, but I think because Feyre doesn’t see them, it’s more difficult for us to see them. Yup. It’s awful.

  14. Astilbe Reviews 04/04/2018 / 10:11 am

    I couldn’t agree with you more about Severus Snape.

    Here is our Top Ten Tuesday. Thanks for stopping by earlier.

  15. thebookishlibra 04/04/2018 / 10:51 am

    I liked Tamlin when I first start reading that series but the more I watched how he interacted with Feyre, the more he worried me and the less I liked him.

  16. Kathy @ Books & Munches 04/04/2018 / 12:49 pm

    Oooh, I love how you mention both Danny [The Exact Opposite of Okay] and Tamlin [ACOTAR] here!
    Completely agreeing with Danny. His train of thought and behavior and overall being is simply.. well.. the exact opposite of okay? As for Tamlin, I didn’t dislike him in the first book but I honestly think I should reread ACOTAR and see how many clues I pick up to his being abusive. I kind of noticed but didn’t really notice the first time around?

    Awesome list!

    • iloveheartlandx 06/04/2018 / 4:06 pm

      Thanks! Yes I don’t know how any guy can think it’s okay to act that way around a girl. She was very clear that she didn’t want anything more than friendship and he just didn’t listen. I think that was kind of clever on SJM’s part because she leaves enough clues to show that something’s not right with Tamlin but because we see him through Feyre’s eyes, his true nature is still kind of obscured.

      • Kathy @ Books & Munches 09/04/2018 / 7:01 am

        Exactly! Couldn’t agree more on that account.
        As for SJM. I definitely need to reread it, haha. 😛 Definitely clever on her part since she pretty much lays the basis for the rest of the books, which is a perfect skill for an author to have.

  17. everythingalyce 04/04/2018 / 5:25 pm

    UGH, Danny is the WORST! He reminded me a lot of a guy I was friends with during my teenage years, and I just wanted to jump back in time and hand teenage Alyce the book to warn her to stay away from him.

    • iloveheartlandx 06/04/2018 / 3:56 pm

      He really is! I think everyone has a “Danny” in one form or another-there’s so many of those faux “nice guys” out there!

  18. Louise 04/04/2018 / 5:38 pm

    I wasn’t a fan of Jason either, I missed Percy so much in The Lost Hero.

  19. thebookdutchesses 04/04/2018 / 6:41 pm

    Danny still frustrates meme and I read the book right after its release!

    • iloveheartlandx 06/04/2018 / 3:54 pm

      I know right? I had an advanced copy and two months after I read it, I still can’t get over how much I hated him!

  20. Beth (Reading Every Night) 05/04/2018 / 5:46 pm

    Great picks for this week. 🙂 Danny would have definitely made my list too, I hated his character!

  21. Zeee @ I Heart Romance & YA 06/04/2018 / 7:31 am

    Umbridge is perhaps one character that I absolutely hate. I’ve never hated a character more than her!

  22. Rissi 07/04/2018 / 3:11 am

    Ugh. President Snow. That’s one dude I cannot stand. *shudder*

    Someday I’d like to read the Crown’s Game series, and I hear so many good things Laini’s books. They remain just two of the authors on my list of as-yet-unread-books. 🙂

    Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland this week!

  23. Annemieke 09/04/2018 / 11:43 am

    Thomas is so bland, oh my gosh.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.