Top Ten Tuesday #141

1fe45-toptentuesday

Hi all! I hope 2018 has been treating you kindly so far, I haven’t really been doing much aside from binge watching Friends on Netflix. We’re 9 days into 2018 and I’ve already watched 5 1/2 seasons, I may have a small problem! Ah well, Friends is the best and rewatching it for the millionth time is a great use of my time IMO.

This Tuesday is a slightly bittersweet one, as we say goodbye to the girls over at The Broke and The Bookish, as they close their doors for the time being. Top Ten Tuesday will be continuing, but with a new host in Jana, over at The Artsy Reader Girl. Whilst I am thrilled that this meme will continue, it is sad to be saying goodbye to most of the girls (aside from Jana) who have hosted this for so long. This meme really helped me in making blogger friends, so I will forever be grateful to all the girls at The Broke and The Bookish for creating it. So thanks girls, good luck with your own blogs and future endeavours!

So here we go, the last TTT hosted by The Broke and The Bookish is Top Ten 2017 Releases We Missed Out On, But Totally Plan To Read In 2017, otherwise known as the list of shame! Please don’t hit me for not having got to some of these already, I promise, I’m going to this year:

  1. Wonder Woman: Warbringer-Leigh Bardugo

Yes, yes, I know, I should have read this one already, but I wanted to watch the film of Wonder Woman first, so I had a better idea of what it was all about, as I’m not the biggest superhero afficionado. Then, I only watched the film in November and didn’t have time to get to it in 2017. It’s on my #RockMyTBR list for 2018 though, so I will definitely read it this year.

2. The Language of Thorns-Leigh Bardugo

2018 is basically the year of Bardugo, okay? I have like four of her books on my #RockMyTBR list, so I will be reading a lot of her this year! I really like fairytales, so I love the idea of this collection of tales from her Grishaverse.

3. Because You Love To Hate Me-Anthology, edited by Ameriie

I meant to read this in 2017, I really did, I mean an anthology of villain stories? Have you seen anything more Jo? But as usual, I got distracted by other books and just didn’t get around to this. I think it would be perfect for when I have exams in May though as I won’t have as much time to read.

4. Daughter of The Burning City-Amanda Foody

I was super excited about this one, I even got an e-ARC from Netgalley, but like all books I get excited for, I forgot about it and it got buried in dust under all the other books on my shelf. Still now that I’m on Amanda Foody’s street team for Ace of Shades, I’d really like to get to her debut this year!

5. Wintersong-S.Jae Jones

I heard a lot about this book when it first came out, but then it kind of dropped off my radar a bit and I sort of forgot about it? Still I got it from my #otspsecretsister last round and it sounds really interesting, I’ve never read any books based on the story of The Goblin King before, and I really love books where music is incorporated into the story somehow so I’m really looking forward to reading this one.

6. Moxie-Jennifer Mathieu

Another one from my 2018 #RockMyTBR list (Twitter peeps did good this year!) which I really wanted to get to in 2017 but just didn’t have the time, so I will definitely be reading it this year, I love feminist books and want to read more of them, this one sounds right up my alley!

7. Tower of Dawn-Sarah J Maas

I know, I know, please don’t judge me! I meant to read this in 2017, I really did, but I was so busy with Uni and the book came out in September and I just didn’t have time to read a 600 page tome then! I’m gonna save this one for the summer so I can read it just in time for book 7 to come out in September.

8. Our Dark Duet-Victoria Schwab

Another one where I feel like I should cower under the table in shame for not having read this in 2017, given how much I love Victoria Schwab and her books and I even read This Savage Song in 2017 so I should have had no trouble reading the sequel. Anyway, I’m hoping to finish Schwab’s monstrous duology in 2018.

9. All The Crooked Saints-Maggie Stiefvater

I love Maggie Stiefvater’s work, so of course I had meant to read this in 2017, but then there were all the controversies about the Latinx rep and I didn’t really want to read it whilst all of that was going on. Now it’s 2018, I still want to read it, but obviously taking into account what #ownvoices reviewers have said about it when I do.

10. The Last Namsara-Kristin Ciccarelli

DRAGONS PEOPLE! DRAGONS! I have wanted more YA fantasy books with dragons in them for years, so this book was basically a dream come true for me. I got this in November’s FairyLoot, so I ran out of time to read it in 2017, but I will definitely be wanting to read this in 2018.

11. Cold Summer-Gwen Cole

I got sent this by my #otspsecretsister over the summer, but I just never got around to reading it. Whilst I’m not always great with time travel, this one sounds really interesting and PTSD is something you don’t get to see very often in YA books, so I’ll be interested to see how that is handled.

12. Ash and Quill-Rachel Caine

The second book of The Great Library series left off on a huge cliffhanger, and I meant to get to the third one in 2017, but I never actually managed to. So in 2018, I want to see what Jess and his friends got up to in their latest adventures!

So there we go, the 2017 releases that I missed out on that I’m hoping to read this year! I hope I manage to read them all, though it’s not likely. Have you read any of these? Did you like them? What should I push to the top of my TBR? Let me know in the comments!

Thank you to The Broke and The Bookish for running Top Ten Tuesday for the last 8 years, I will miss you guys, but am looking forward to seeing what Jana does with the meme as it moves to The Artsy Reader Girl next week. Jana’s first topic of the new era of Top Ten Tuesday is Top Ten Bookish Resolutions/Goals, which was something I was planning on doing anyway, so I look forward to doing that next week!

I don’t know what I will have for you in the meantime, I’m hoping to get my Writing Corner up and running very soon, I’m also hoping to get another Jo Talks post up before the end of January as well as book reviews, so lots of exciting stuff coming in 2018!

 

116 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #141

  1. Alexandra P. 11/01/2018 / 6:46 am

    I have already read most of them! The language of Thorns was glorious!

  2. thebookishlibra 12/01/2018 / 1:10 am

    Almost all of these are still on my TBR too so don’t feel bad, lol.

  3. Sea Reads 12/01/2018 / 1:59 am

    I plan on reading Wintersong soon! I feel like I’ve heard very mixed things, but most recently I got a strong recommendation for it, so I’m tentatively excited. Daughter of the Burning City sounds amazing, but I always forget that it exists almost as soon as it comes onto my radar. Happy reading for 2018!

    • iloveheartlandx 12/01/2018 / 8:59 pm

      I hope we both enjoy it! Ha ha yeah, I have that trouble too, I get really excited for a book, but then it drops off my radar for a while. Thanks, you too!

  4. novelcravings 13/01/2018 / 10:04 pm

    I am reading The Language of Thorns right now! (SO Good) Moxie is also one I would like to read in 2018 or listen to since my library has in on eAudio. Great list and happy reading in 2018!

    • iloveheartlandx 14/01/2018 / 6:55 pm

      Glad to hear it! I hope we both enjoy Moxie. Thank you πŸ™‚

  5. Annemieke 14/01/2018 / 7:44 am

    The Language of Thorns is so great! And I really enjoyed The Last Namsara!

  6. Helia Reads 14/01/2018 / 6:59 pm

    So many books I need to read too have made your list this week! Wonder Woman: Warbringer, The Language of Thorns, Because You Love to Hate Me, All The Crooked Saints, and The Last Namsara are all books I need to get to. Ash and Quill is a fantastic continuation of The Great Library series, and Daughter of The Burning City and Our Dark Duet are good reads too. I hope you get to them all πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx 14/01/2018 / 8:34 pm

      Oh yay, glad I’m not the only one who hasn’t read those yet. I hope we both enjoy them! That’s great to hear, I certainly intend to πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.