Top Ten Tuesday #134

1fe45-toptentuesday

Hi all! I hope you all have had a good week since I last did one of these, I’ve had a brief reprieve from essay hell but I have another one due next week, so I’ll be diving back in again very soon! I went to see Murder on The Orient Express with my friends yesterday and it was so good, I definitely recommend going to see it if you get the chance. My NaNoWriMo project is still progressing solidly and whilst I’m behind on my word count and am not sure I will reach 50k by next Thursday, I’m still happy with what I’ve managed to write over the past 3 weeks.

Anyway, as it’s Tuesday, I’m back with another Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s topic is Thanksgiving themed, as it is Thanksgiving in the US on Thursday and although we don’t celebrate over here in the UK (honestly having two turkey holidays so close together baffles this Brit’s mind), it still seems like a nice idea to share the things that I’m thankful for. In the past, I’ve shared authors that I was thankful for and just general bookish things that I was thankful for. This week, I’m going to be sharing the Top Ten Books That I’m Thankful For. It will be hard to narrow down, but I’ll give it a go:

  1. Harry Potter Series-JK Rowling

How could I make a list like this without including Harry Potter? I just couldn’t. These books were my entry into fantasy, the books the made me want to be a writer, I connected with so many of my friends over a shared love of Harry Potter, I will never not be grateful that I read these wonderful books.

2. Shades of Magic Trilogy-VE Schwab

AHH THESE BOOKS! Such a creative, engaging fantasy world with so many brilliant characters, I am so glad that I listened to all the blogging hype and decided to read this series as through it, I have discovered one of my favourite authors, one of my favourite worlds & several favourite characters.

3. Skulduggery Pleasant Series-Derek Landy

One of the two main fantasy series that marked my teen years, I’m so thankful that I got to experience Derek Landy’s wit and humour, not to mention his wonderful skeleton detective who is without a doubt one of my favourite characters of all time.

4. PJO, HOO, TOA & Magnus Chase Series-Rick Riordan

Okay so that’s basically all the Rick Riordan books I’ve read, but I don’t care. Rick Riordan’s books are so much fun, so inventive and I’ve learned more about Greek, Roman and Norse Mythology through them that I ever knew was possible. I’ve also been introduced to some of my all time favourite characters, the most obvious of course being Percy Jackson.

5. Unwind Dystology-Neal Shusterman

The Unwind Dystology is one of the creepiest, most inventive dystopians I’ve ever read and whilst yes, certain scenes in the last book may have given me nightmares, I’m so glad I read this series, it showed me that there were new and different ideas in dystopian fiction after all and it didn’t just have to be a rehash of the same old tired plots.

6. The Raven Cycle-Maggie Stiefvater

I nearly put the first book down when I was reading it because it took me so long to get through it, but I’m so glad I didn’t because this is now one of my absolute favourite series, it just took me a while to get used to the strangeness of Stiefvater’s world. I’m very thankful for the wonderful friendship of the Gangsey, one of my favourite friendship groups in YA.

7. Throne of Glass Series-Sarah J Maas

I literally picked the first two books up on a whim because of a 3 for 2 offer in Waterstones three years ago. I’m so glad I did because in that time, the world and characters have become amongst my favourites in the fantasy genre. I got to meet Sarah last year and it was so amazing, I’m so grateful that I got the chance to do that!

8. The Book Thief-Markus Zusak

Should you be thankful for having your soul ripped into a million pieces? I don’t know, but this book is one of the most beautiful, heartbreaking things I have ever read and I’m so thankful that I got the chance to read it.

9. My Sister’s Keeper-Jodi Picoult

Again, not necessarily sure I should be thankful for this one as it destroyed me, but this book was the gateway into one of my favourite author’s work, not only that, it’s a beautiful story that has sister relationships at the very heart of it, which is something that will always be important to me.

10. Code Name Verity-Elizabeth Wein

Yes this book crushed my soul and all that jazz, but I’ve never read a book that centred female friendship as much as this one and for that I am so grateful, we need more books with girls supporting girls at the centre.

I could honestly go on and on about all the books I’m thankful to have read, but I’m going to be good and stop at the usual ten this week, especially since I went so overboard last week! What books are you most thankful for? Have you read any of these books? What did you think of them? Let me know in the comments!

Next week’s topic is Top Ten Books On My Winter TBR, but since I don’t tend to sort out my Winter TBR until January, I’m going to swap with the New To Me Authors That I Read In 2017 topic from the beginning of January. I don’t think I’ll be posting during the rest of the week, as I’ll be working on my essay, but I will be back here again next Tuesday!

 

54 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #134

  1. Jasmine 21/11/2017 / 4:12 pm

    Great list! I love Shades of Magic, Harry Potter, and the Raven Cycle too. I have yet to read other books on your list 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 21/11/2017 / 4:44 pm

      Thank you! Me too. Oh well they’re all fantastic 🙂

  2. Book Twins Reviews 21/11/2017 / 4:47 pm

    I think Harry Potter will be on most of the lists of books to be thankful for.;-) he is on mine too.

    • iloveheartlandx 22/11/2017 / 10:15 pm

      I think so too, he means so much to so many people 🙂

  3. Cait @ Paper Fury 21/11/2017 / 10:28 pm

    Ahh your list is AMAZING. And afjdksalfd The Raven Cycle will always be one of the series I’m most thankful for. ❤ Actually I'm most thankful for The Scorpio Races though because it started me on Stiefvater books and then I found TRC. And my world began. *happy sigh* I’m also really thankful for The Hunger Games! I know it’s cliche, but it totally got me started reading YA. So I get to blame it for the fact I’m book blogging and everything.😂

    • iloveheartlandx 22/11/2017 / 10:14 pm

      Ah thank you! I actually did the same thing, I read The Scorpio Races first and then The Raven Cycle, but I loved The Raven Cycle so much more, so I included that one rather than The Scorpio Races! I actually can’t believe I forgot The Hunger Games-I was trying so hard to stick to just 10 this week and I wouldn’t replace any of my choices, but The Hunger Games definitely means a lot to me too.

  4. the (book) supplier 22/11/2017 / 12:14 am

    Such a great list. I remember reading My Sister’s Keeper in the chair in my (now) ex’s bedroom and just bawling my eyes out. I’m thankful for any book that can give me such a visceral reaction. Happy reading!

    eli @ the (book) supplier
    My TTT

    • iloveheartlandx 22/11/2017 / 10:10 pm

      Thank you! I tend not to cry at books, it’s more of an inward shattering of the soul, but I agree any book that can make you feel that deeply is deffo a goodun!

  5. Lara (@WordsWithLara) 23/11/2017 / 1:43 am

    Harry Potter!! Yes!!!! Definitely number one! Such a great list. I haven’t read all the books on the list but for the ones that I have read I totally agree that they need to be there!

    • iloveheartlandx 23/11/2017 / 8:46 pm

      Thank you! It really couldn’t be anything else, Harry Potter means so much to me. I would recommend everything on this list, so I hope you manage to read the ones you haven’t read soon.

  6. @lynnsbooks 24/11/2017 / 2:26 pm

    Lovely list – I still haven’t read the Shades of Magic book but I’m looking forward to picking them up – I went to see the author at an event and she is a lovely and engaging speaker which makes me even more anxious to pick up her work.
    Lynn 😀

    • iloveheartlandx 26/11/2017 / 2:14 pm

      Thank you! Oh they’re incredible, I hope you enjoy them. Yes, VE Schwab is lovely 🙂

  7. readbykylie 24/11/2017 / 6:21 pm

    Glad to hear you like Throne of Glass! I loved acotar so I picked up the first couple Throne of Glass books despite the mixed reviews I’ve heard. Excited to start the series!

  8. buffywnabe 24/11/2017 / 7:25 pm

    The Book Thief is so good! I do love Harry Potter and the Raven Cycle series, I wish I’d remembered those two. Thanks for visiting my top 10 at Lisa Loves Literature earlier.

    • iloveheartlandx 26/11/2017 / 11:52 am

      I think so too! Me too, they’re so great. There’s always some that slip through the cracks 🙂

  9. MyDayisBooked 24/11/2017 / 10:48 pm

    Harry Potter is one of my favourites! I also love Throne of Glass, I did a review on it on mydayisbooked.com. Can’t wait for the next book to come out in 2018!

    • iloveheartlandx 26/11/2017 / 11:46 am

      Mine too! Oh same here, 2018 can’t come fast enough 🙂

  10. Louise 24/11/2017 / 11:36 pm

    So many great picks! Harry Potter, Unwind and all the Rick Riordan books would def be on my list too.

  11. Sassy Sarah Reads 25/11/2017 / 12:01 am

    A couple of these are on my to read list. I haven’t read any of the ones are your list except HP. I need to remedy that! Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier!

    • iloveheartlandx 26/11/2017 / 11:12 am

      Oh really? I hope you enjoy these if you read them. No problem 🙂

  12. vidyatiru 25/11/2017 / 12:54 am

    Harry Potter stayed off my list though it would have been there too #10 🙂 I think I need to try reading #10 on your list. Rick Riordian is an author I totally enjoy too

    • iloveheartlandx 26/11/2017 / 11:08 am

      Code Name Verity is so good, I hope you enjoy it if you do read it. Yes, I love Rick Riordan!

  13. thebookishlibra 25/11/2017 / 3:38 am

    Great list. I’m thankful for many of these titles as well. Also glad to hear Murder on The Orient Express was good. I still need to read the book and watch the movie.

    • iloveheartlandx 26/11/2017 / 10:51 am

      Thanks! Oh yeah it was amazing, I hope you enjoy it when you see it 🙂

  14. kozbisa 25/11/2017 / 10:50 am

    The Raven Cycle and ToG are two series I am a fan of. I have read a few Percy books, and really loved them too. I have to catch up on the SoM series. I loved the first book and have the second book, but time has gotten away from me this year. I hope to do more shelf-love next year.

    • iloveheartlandx 26/11/2017 / 10:50 am

      Cool, I’m glad to hear it 🙂 Oh the second book is so good, I hope you enjoy it!

  15. calyecochran 25/11/2017 / 1:54 pm

    Your love for TRC is so encouraging! I am reading TRB now, and I found that I’m having the same problem getting through it. Now I’m excited to keep reading!

  16. Dani @ Perspective of a Writer 25/11/2017 / 8:31 pm

    Such a great list Heartland! ♥️ Not many people mention the Unwind trilogy! I really enjoyed it too, thought I read it a while ago… I recently finished ADSofM and while I loved the world and Kell I wasn’t a fan of the plot… it was a little slow?! GAH when this happens I’m always wondering what I didn’t see! Why can’t I love it wholeheartedly too?!

    • iloveheartlandx 26/11/2017 / 2:29 am

      Thank you! Oh I loved it, it’s one of my favourites, it’s a shame not many in the blogging community seems to have read it. That’s okay, it is a little slow, I even said that in my review of it, but the magic and the world and the characters really made it for me. Different people fall in love with different books though, so I wouldn’t worry if you didn’t love it as much as everyone else.

  17. ChrissiReads 26/11/2017 / 1:35 pm

    Brilliant list 🙂 So many of my favourites on here!

  18. Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku 27/11/2017 / 6:26 pm

    This is a great list, Jo! I love it. I only recently read the first Skullduggery Pleasant book; I don’t know how I went this long without knowing about them! I’ll have to keep reading the series. Which of those books is your favorite?

    • iloveheartlandx 28/11/2017 / 2:36 pm

      Thank you! Ah yes, I think because it’s a slightly older series, it doesn’t get around the blogosphere quite as much as it should! My personal favourite is number 4, Dark Days, but they’re all great!

      • Jackie B @ Death by Tsundoku 01/12/2017 / 12:27 am

        Then it’s important I keep reading! Thanks for the heads up about #4– I’ll at least push that far. 😉

  19. Annemieke 28/11/2017 / 7:30 pm

    I still have a bind up of the first two Skullduggery Pleasant books on my shelf that I need to get too. I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about them.

  20. Helia Reads 12/12/2017 / 11:21 am

    I love so many of the books you listed. Harry Potter, Shades of Magic, PJO, HOO, The Raven Cycle and The Book Thief are all favourites!

    • iloveheartlandx 12/12/2017 / 11:23 am

      You have good taste, they’re favourites of mine too!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.