Top Ten Tuesday #67

image

Hi everyone! I’m back with a new Top Ten Tuesday post this week, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s prompt is Top Ten Things Books Have Made Me Want To Do Or Learn About After Reading Them, which seems like a fun, albeit quite difficult prompt as I don’t exactly keep track of things that books have made me want to do, but I’ll give it a try! So here we go, the top ten things books have made me want to do/learn about:

  1. Go To Greece-Greek Myths/Percy Jackson (Rick Riordan)

My parents bought me a book of Greek Myths when I was younger and I was totally obsessed with them! After reading them, I desperately wanted to go to Greece and this desire was only heightened when many years later, I read the Percy Jackson books. Hopefully, if everything works out according to plan, this long held dream of mine should come true next year, as I’m planning to go to Greece with my friends for my 21st birthday!

2. Learn Sign Language-Unbound (Neal Shusterman), Helping Hands (Lauren Brooke), but also the TV show Switched At Birth

Okay, so basically learning sign language is something I’ve wanted to do for a long time. I first got interested in it after reading Helping Hands, one of the Chestnut Hill books by Lauren Brooke in which Dylan learns sign language to communicate with a deaf girl who comes to Chestnut Hill for riding lessons. Then I kind of forgot about it for a few years and then this year I read Unbound, in which one of the stories has a deaf kid and the main character uses sign language to communicate with him and I was like “Oh that’s cool, I want to learn that”. Then finally, after watching Switched At Birth (where multiple characters are deaf), I actually started to learn it! Took a few years, but I got there eventually, and it all started with a book!

3. Learn Natural Horsemanship-Heartland (Lauren Brooke)

I was obsessed with the Heartland books when I was younger and I’ve always wanted to learn how to do what Amy did with horses, I mean I don’t want to have a career treating problem horses or anything but I’d love to learn some of the natural horsemanship methods described in the books and seen on the TV show. Maybe one day!

4. Go to the Circus-Circus Shoes (Noel Streatfeild)

Okay, so technically, when I was younger this probably would have been join the circus but as I’ve got older, I’ve adjusted my expectations! My parents may have taken me to a circus when I was kid, but if they did then I don’t remember, so reading this book definitely made me want to go to the circus! I still haven’t been yet, but I’m only 19, so there is still time!

5. Learn how to sword fight-Various

This one is probably a bit crazy and never going to happen, but sword fighting sounds like so much fun in books! I would love to learn how to do it!

6. Ride a horse-Various horse books

One that I’ve actually done! Granted, my obsession with horses probably started with my dad (who is equally obsessed with horses) but I’m sure that a lot of my horse obsession came from reading books like Heartland, The Saddle Club, My Secret Unicorn etc when I was a kid. I started riding twelve years ago back in 2004 and to this day, it’s still my favourite hobby!

7. Learn more about the Belgian Resistance in WWII-Cross My Heart (Carmen Reid)

I knew barely anything about the Belgian Resistance before reading this book and I feel like I learnt a lot about it through the book, but I still want to find out more! I definitely need to get around to doing some internet research or finding a book about it from my local library soon!

8. Go up the Empire State Building-Percy Jackson (Rick Riordan)

I have actually done this! I wanted to go and pretend like I was on Mount Olympus, sadly, my parents were with me so I couldn’t jokingly ask to go to the 600th floor. To be fair I doubt the people who run the ticket offices at the Empire State Building have read Percy Jackson! Still the book made me want to do it and a few years ago I did go up the Empire State Building, though admittedly, not to the top as it cost too much money, we only went to the 86th floor! Still one day, I will go all the way to the top!

9. Go to a dude ranch-The Saddle Club (Bonnie Bryant)

There was a book in the Saddle Club where Stevie, Carole and Lisa go to a dude ranch and I was like, “that’s so cool, I want to do that” and many years later (about 5 years ago now), I finally did! It was so much fun!

10. Go to Ireland-Skulduggery Pleasant (Derek Landy)

Yes, reading Skulduggery Pleasant has given me a serious want to go to Ireland! I have a friend who lives in Northern Ireland, so hopefully one day, I can actually do this one!

11. Go To Italy-The Roman Mysteries (Caroline Lawrence)

I loved The Roman Mysteries when I was a kid and they made me desperately want to go to Italy and see some of the ancient places talked about in the books. When I was 13, I went to Naples and got to see Pompeii and Vesuvius and Herculaneum and it was amazing! I hope to go back to Italy one day and get to see places like Rome, Florence and Venice.

12. Swim with dolphins-The Dolphin Diaries (Lucy Daniels)

These are books that I read as a kid about a girl whose parents are marine biologists and they go on an expedition studying dolphins and reading those books really made me want to swim with dolphins. And when I say swim with dolphins, I don’t mean swim with dolphins like at an aquarium or something, I mean like in the wild. Wishful thinking but still. It could happen.

13. Go to the Grand National-Blind Beauty (KM Peyton)

The girl in this book competes in the Grand National and as I am smart enough to know that I will never actually compete in the Grand National, reading this book made me want to go and see the Grand National live rather than just watching it on the telly. I still haven’t done this (unless my parents took me when I was younger and I don’t remember but I don’t think so), but hopefully one day I will.

14. Visit Auschwitz-The Storyteller (Jodi Picoult)

Okay, this seems like a weird thing that reading books has made me want to do, but hear me out. Reading The Storyteller and Minka’s story of being in Auschwitz, it felt like so much more than a story, because it was. Minka represented a lot of very real people who were imprisoned and even died at Auschwitz and being a history nerd, it feels like one of those places that I just have to go.

15. Wear one of these fancy ball dresses and go to one of those fancy balls-Various fantasy books

Okay this is my one really girly thing on this list but what girl doesn’t want to go to one of those fancy balls that seem to be in a lot of fantasy books in one of those gorgeous gowns! I know I do!

16. Learn more about the Amish-Plain Truth (Jodi Picoult)

I actually knew nothing at all about the Amish before reading this book (other than that they existed obviously) and whilst I feel I learned so much about the Amish through this book, I’d love to learn more. I’d also love to visit Amish country, I reckon that would be really cool.

17. Visit Virginia-The Raven Cycle (Maggie Stiefvater)

Whilst yes, I know that the town of Henrietta is fictional, the Raven Cycle books have given me a strong desire to visit Virginia and pretend that I’m one of the Raven gang searching for dead Welsh Kings!

18. Go To Hogwarts-Harry Potter (JK Rowling)

I’m sure this will be on a lot of people’s lists, and I know that it’s never going to happen but reading Harry Potter definitely made me want to go to Hogwarts!

19. Go on a road trip with my friends (Various)

There are lots of YA books that feature protagonists going on trips with their friends, I’m thinking YA fantasy with the protagonist usually going on some kind of quest with their friends since I’m not big on contemporaries, but either way, reading these has made me want to go on a road trip with my friends. I could probably do without the monsters or villains though…..although it might be less fun without them!

20. Date fictional characters (Various)

Yup most of the books I’ve read have made me want to date fictional characters! If only I could find a real Percy Jackson…….#LifeMade

I know I went incredibly over, so I’m going to stop now even though there’s probably a thousand more things that books have probably made me want to do or learn about! What things were on your list this week? Do we share any? Are there any things you have done specifically because you’ve read about them in a book? Let me know in the comments! Next week’s topic is Top Ten Books You’d Buy This Second If Someone Handed You A Fully Loaded Gift Card. In the meantime though, I will have a review of my latest read Look Who’s Back and hopefully a Wishlist Wednesday post, so stay tuned for those.

 

 

 

100 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #67

  1. Preethi 26/07/2016 / 8:18 pm

    I will never not want to go to Hogwarts – it’s been a lifelong dream ever since I first picked up the first book. And I actually did live in Virginia when I was little, but it was way before The Raven Cycle was written, so unfortunately I couldn’t become part of a gang and look for a dead king to grant me a wish :/

    • iloveheartlandx 26/07/2016 / 8:31 pm

      Yes I think it is a dream all us HP fans share! Really? That’s so cool. Shame about the no wishing granting thing though!

  2. Amy 26/07/2016 / 8:34 pm

    I visited the Empire State Building too, but this was long before the Percy Jackson books were out. It would be fun to visit again after reading the books. Great list, there are a lot of places on your list that I’d love to visit as well.

    • iloveheartlandx 26/07/2016 / 8:36 pm

      Yeah it’s hard to resist asking to go to the 600th floor after reading the book! Thanks!

  3. Suzanne 26/07/2016 / 9:00 pm

    Great list! Ride a horse and go to Italy are on mine as well πŸ™‚

  4. rattlethestarssite 26/07/2016 / 9:37 pm

    I love sword fighting in books! Lots of the great high fantasy ones always have it. Mix in some magic and wow! I’m so obsessed that I took a few fun fencing classes.

    • iloveheartlandx 26/07/2016 / 9:44 pm

      Me too! Yeah sword fighting plus magic is pretty awesome! Really? Maybe I should do that some time.

  5. Austine 26/07/2016 / 9:49 pm

    It seems like a LOT of people want to learn to ride a horse for this week’s TTT. As someone who grew up with horses (rural life…yay…) I can say that riding them is not nearly as glamorous as books portray it haha. Lots of saddle pains, stubborn horses, and a necessity for a treat bag (as a rider I’m sure you are quite familiar lol). Surprised it’s on so many lists though.

    Love the others, especially going to Greece! I’m obsessed with the myths too! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 26/07/2016 / 10:05 pm

      Yeah I am quite familiar! I think most people who want to learn to ride think it’s going to be glamorous when in reality, you have hay in your hair constantly and smell of manure! Yeah me too, I didn’t realise so many book bloggers also wanted to ride! Thanks! Hopefully I can make my trip happen πŸ™‚

  6. Michelle @ Pink Polka Dot Books 26/07/2016 / 10:44 pm

    I would totally go to a dude ranch if it was like that show Hey Dude on Nickelodeon!! LOL. Also you should totally visit Virginia. There’s so much historical and cool stuff to do. AND YES to dating fictional characters. I would do that in a heartbeat!

    • iloveheartlandx 26/07/2016 / 10:55 pm

      I’ve never seen that show, but I can tell you that going to a dude ranch was pretty awesome. Hopefully I will one day! I love history so that sounds right up my street πŸ™‚ I think we all would!

  7. Conny Kaufmann 26/07/2016 / 11:03 pm

    Hello fellow journalist πŸ™‚
    For natural horsemanship, I’ve always been a fan of Linda Tellington Jones. Used a lot of what her books taught me on our horses back home.

    There are a lot of things on your list I would also like to learn. And yes, if it were at all possible, I’d go to Hogwarts in a heartbeat. Even if i have to take my O.W.L.s and N.EW.T.s in Evening classes.

    • iloveheartlandx 26/07/2016 / 11:10 pm

      Hi πŸ™‚ Oh cool, I’ll have to check her books out, thanks for the tip! Yes I would definitely go to Hogwarts even if it meant having to do those exams!

  8. TT @ introtoblurb 26/07/2016 / 11:09 pm

    Such good choices!! AHH!

    I was lucky enough to swim with dolphins a few years ago, and it’s just the MOST MAGICAL EXPERIENCE EVERRRRRR. I definitely want to do tons of your other choices too: going to Greece, a road-trip, and riding a horse: all on the bucket list! On a more sombre note, I’d really love to go to Auschwitz to see it with my own eyes – it seems like such an emotional, and personal experience and, although incredibly sobering, I feel as if I need to go.

    • iloveheartlandx 26/07/2016 / 11:12 pm

      Thanks! Oh I’m so jealous! It sounds so wonderful, I just need to find a way to do it someday πŸ™‚ Cool! Yay that we have things in common. Yes, same here, I know it will be very sad but it feels like something that I need to do.

  9. trishaj 26/07/2016 / 11:50 pm

    Great list! There are so many things on your list I should’ve put on mine. Especially 1, 10, 11, and 18. πŸ˜‰

  10. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense 27/07/2016 / 12:43 am

    Yes, I’d definitely love to date fictional characters. Where do I sign up? Also, I need to attend Hogwarts now!

  11. Rachel (Bookish Rachel) 27/07/2016 / 12:44 am

    You have really interesting ones here! I especially love the sword fighting one. That would be fun.

  12. Lori (@Loriimagination) 27/07/2016 / 12:52 am

    Wonderful list! I would also love to learn sign language and travel to all the places you listed.

  13. Reg @ She Latitude 27/07/2016 / 1:29 am

    Ooh, yes to #1! Greece is on the top of my travel bucket list, but it’s so far away from where I am, I just can’t hop on a plane and actually go there, haha. There needs to be extensive planning. Hope you enjoy your time there next year!

    And #2 will be so useful – it’s pretty cool that you actually started to learn it and it started with a book. πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx 27/07/2016 / 12:00 pm

      I live in the UK, so it’s not ridiculously far, just a couple of hours. Thanks! I hope you manage to get there some day. Yeah, thanks! It’s really fun πŸ™‚

  14. adventureswithabooknerd 27/07/2016 / 1:33 am

    I’ve also wanted to learn sign language for a long time, but it’s a hard thing to do by yourself. Cook list! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 27/07/2016 / 11:57 am

      Thanks! Oh cool, I wish my school had offered something like that!

  15. Tracy (@Cornerfolds) 27/07/2016 / 2:28 am

    Great list!! So many books have made me want to travel too, but I haven’t gotten to do much of it yet!

    Here are my Top Ten!

    • iloveheartlandx 27/07/2016 / 11:56 am

      Thanks! Youtube videos are a good way to start πŸ™‚ No problem!

  16. Amanda 27/07/2016 / 3:14 am

    I don’t know why I didn’t think about ballroom dancing, since it would be so much fun to go to a ball! (and, actually be a graceful dancer…;))
    Yes, road trips!

    • iloveheartlandx 27/07/2016 / 11:56 am

      Yes it would be so much fun, as long as my dancing skills could be magically improved! They are awesome right?

  17. Agnes 27/07/2016 / 3:27 am

    Great list! Swimming with dolphins sounds amazing. I also enjoyed Plain Truth πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 27/07/2016 / 11:55 am

      Thanks! It does right? One day! You have good taste πŸ™‚

  18. rudejasper 27/07/2016 / 3:56 am

    I am definitely bummed that having balls is no longer really a thing, Dang it!

  19. Lefty Reads (@LeftyReads) 27/07/2016 / 4:17 am

    DATE FICTIONAL CHARACTERS XD Yes, yes. I think many of us bookworms are in complete agreement on that. They say all the best ones are always either gay or taken, but I say the best ones are always fictional! I also really want to learn sign language (largely because of Switched at Birth). It’s such a beautiful language, honestly.

    – Lefty @ The Left-Handed Book Lover

    • iloveheartlandx 27/07/2016 / 11:54 am

      Yes, I think we are! I agree, the best ones are always fictional! Yes, it looks so pretty and it’s so cool to be able to talk with your hands. I’m learning through youtube videos and it’s actually pretty fun!

  20. dogsandshit 27/07/2016 / 4:38 am

    I’d love to be able to date fictional characters as well hahaha! πŸ™‚

  21. beckmank 27/07/2016 / 4:58 am

    Oh swim with the dolphins is a great one! That would be so much fun. Here I struggled to get to ten, and you had 20! (#20 is soooo true for me, BTW. πŸ™‚ ) Great list this week!

    • iloveheartlandx 27/07/2016 / 11:53 am

      Yes it would be! I thought I was going to struggle but it turns out books have made me want to do lots of things! Thank you πŸ™‚

  22. wingedcreature 27/07/2016 / 5:19 am

    I’ve wanted to learn sign language too, and it makes me wish I thought to put learning another language on my list, not just because it’s a good skill to have, but there’s the possibility of reading books in that language, assuming I got to a good enough point that I could do that. And wearing a gown and going to a ball is a great one! When I happen to read something set in that era, it always makes me wish that were still a thing.

    • iloveheartlandx 27/07/2016 / 11:53 am

      Yeah it would definitely be cool to be able to speak and/or read another language! Yes, it makes me wish it was still a thing when I read anything with a ball!

  23. lindseyhabets 27/07/2016 / 6:42 am

    Love your list! Going on a roadtrip and to Hogwarts are on my list too. But I love all your other ones as well! Especially sword fighting, dating fictional characters or going to Greece πŸ™‚

  24. Cindy @ Da Readaholic Book Blog 27/07/2016 / 6:49 am

    Who wouldn’t want to go to Hogwarts? I mean it’s HOGWARTS! There are a lot of interesting things on your list that I would definitely want to try. Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx 27/07/2016 / 11:49 am

      If there’s anyone who doesn’t want to go, they’re crazy! Thank you πŸ™‚

  25. Annemieke 27/07/2016 / 8:03 am

    Great list. Go to Hogwarts will always remain. πŸ™‚

  26. ChrissiReads 27/07/2016 / 12:23 pm

    Books aways make me want to travel and learn new things. Great list πŸ™‚

  27. caitstiel 27/07/2016 / 12:34 pm

    Dance at a fancy ball is something i completley forgot to put on my list-but every time i see a movie or read a book with a ball and the food and dancing i always dream of going. if only they were common place today!

  28. Lunch-Time Librarian 27/07/2016 / 1:36 pm

    You should for sure look into learning sign language. I’ve done 3 courses so far and it’s really fun. You learn a lot about deaf culture too if you take immersion classes

    • iloveheartlandx 27/07/2016 / 2:40 pm

      I am learning via youtube at the moment but I’m definitely going to look into other online resources and maybe even classes too.

      • Lunch-Time Librarian 27/07/2016 / 4:46 pm

        I used ASL University (the website) a lot myself for practicing phrases. Classes are nice because they’re immersion so you’re really forced to communicate

  29. Incessant Bookworm 27/07/2016 / 1:43 pm

    Date fictional characters!!! Yes please hahaha

  30. Jamie Wu 27/07/2016 / 2:58 pm

    Learning sign language is interesting! I went to a school where a part of the staff were dedicated special needs teacher who taught the deaf and mute. I never got the chance to learn it, but I always wanted to.

    • iloveheartlandx 27/07/2016 / 3:14 pm

      Yeah, it’s really cool! You should give it a try, there’s lots of great tutorials on YouTube.

      • Jamie Wu 27/07/2016 / 3:33 pm

        I know the ABCs and a few other phrases, definitely checking out YouTube to learn more πŸ˜€

  31. Helle @ Bookish Utopia 27/07/2016 / 5:26 pm

    Great list, and so many of them are SO true! Imagine actually being able to go to Hogwarts, I would die! Greece is such a beautiful country! I haven’t been in some years, but you are definitely in for a treat when you go there πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 28/07/2016 / 2:11 pm

      Thanks! Me too! That’s great to hear. I’m so excited! I still have a year before I’m going to (hopefully) go, but I can’t wait!

  32. Monica 27/07/2016 / 5:33 pm

    Love these! Every time I read a book, I immediately want to travel to its setting.

  33. kaseygiard 27/07/2016 / 6:37 pm

    Ditto on all the travel ones. I love books with rich foreign settings. I’ve driven through parts of Virginia. I love that part of the country. So pretty. Great list! Here’s mine: TTT

  34. @lynnsbooks 27/07/2016 / 8:47 pm

    Wow – great list!
    We just visited France and Belgium travelling round WWI and II historical sites and memorials. It really was very interesting so I can understand you fancying finding out more about the resistance. We also visited a labour camp there called Breendonk Fort – it wasn’t used as a concentration camp although towards the end of WWII it was being used more for that purpose. It’s really quite a harrowing experience because you know it’s real. It’s being kept ‘as is’ as a memorial to human rights and the suffering that people endured. It’s an experience I’ll never forget. I imagine (and also I know people that have visited Auschwitcz) that the experience will be even more intense.
    Sword fighting and knife throwing have also been very popular this week – probably useful for when everyone travels to the magical lands we keep reading about!
    Lynn πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx 28/07/2016 / 2:09 pm

      Thanks! Wow, that’s so cool, I’d love to do that! Yes, it probably would be quite an intense experience, but it’s something that I feel like I need to do. Yes, when we all get to travel to the fantasy lands in our favourite books, we will need those skills!

  35. Lauren, Wake Up Your Luck 27/07/2016 / 10:35 pm

    I love this list, and well done on remembering twenty! Definite yes to Hogwarts, fancy ball dresses and sword fighting!

  36. Lois 28/07/2016 / 4:00 pm

    I would love to swim with dolphins and if things go according to plan I might just be able to tick that off the list by the end of the year. I’d love to visit Greece as well. The combination of the history and mythology makes it such a dream destination and Percy Jackson definitely heightened this urge to visit. πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx 28/07/2016 / 4:09 pm

      Wow, lucky! I hope everything does go according to plan and you get to do it πŸ™‚ Yes the history and mythology do make Greece an amazing destination and Percy Jackson just adds to that!

  37. Wendy Runyon 28/07/2016 / 7:13 pm

    This is such a fun topic. If I wasn’t married and madly in love with my husband, there are a few characters I wouldn’t mind dating. πŸ˜‰ Going to Hogwarts made me list too. Think of the fun! We’d get lost, most likely, but that would be okay. I would like to visit Auschwitz one day too. Such a terrible terrible time in our history, but one we must not forget.

    • iloveheartlandx 01/08/2016 / 3:46 pm

      Thanks! There are some very cute ones out there πŸ™‚ It would be so awesome! Yes, it is something we always need to remember.

  38. Veronika @ The Regal Critiques 28/07/2016 / 9:54 pm

    Awesome list! I’d love to go to the top of the Empire State Building! Also, visiting Greece has always been one of my wishes. πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx 01/08/2016 / 3:45 pm

      Thanks! So would I, we only made it to floor 86! One day I will make it to the top πŸ™‚ Same here! Hopefully I will get there next year.

  39. Eve L (Evilous) 29/07/2016 / 12:27 pm

    Oh so many good ones on here! My family has horses but I don’t ride, I did learn the basics though (in case of emergency) and it was fun for the most part just I’m clumsy and it feels rather high lol. Still many places I’d like to go on your list too! Also sign language would be fun to pick back up, I knew some basics and was teaching myself but life…may look for them again.

    • iloveheartlandx 01/08/2016 / 3:44 pm

      Thanks! Ah it’s not for everyone! Cool, seems like lots of bookish people want to travel. I have taught myself some of the basics so far, but I want to learn more!

  40. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews 30/07/2016 / 5:15 am

    Yes at all the travelling ones! Going to Greece would be so amazing. I also want to go to Virginia because of The Raven Cycle, haha. Also sword fighting would be so cool!! Given how clumsy and uncoordinated I am though it probably wouldn’t be the best idea πŸ˜‚

    • iloveheartlandx 01/08/2016 / 3:43 pm

      It would right? I just want to go everywhere! Yeah, I think a lot of people probably do! Now you mention it, I am probably too clumsy and uncoordinated to sword fight too!

  41. Alison's Wonderland Recipes 02/08/2016 / 3:24 am

    #10 all the way! I love Skulduggery Pleasant—and Ireland! My husband and I went to Kilkenny and Dublin for our honeymoon. Highly recommend! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx 02/08/2016 / 3:23 pm

      Oh lucky! My friend lives in Northern Ireland, so I’m hoping I will get to visit her at some point (and maybe hop over to Southern Ireland whilst I’m there!).

    • iloveheartlandx 23/08/2016 / 8:27 pm

      Yes it would be! I’ve never actually tried Greek food, but hopefully that will change next year!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.