Top Ten Tuesday #53

 

image

Hey everyone! I have another Top Ten Tuesday for you all this week, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s prompt was Top Ten Books That Will Make You Laugh, but unfortunately I can’t think of all that many books that fit that topic, I guess I read more dark, sad books than I do light, funny ones! So instead, I decided to do my Top Ten Childhood Favourite Books, since I thought it would be fun to revisit the books I loved as a kid. So here they are:

  1. The Harry Potter Series-JK Rowling-This is a forever favourite, not just a childhood one, but that’s the same for all of these books really, just because I read them when I was younger, doesn’t mean that they’re any less important to me now. This is the series that shaped me as a reader, it was the first series I really fell in love with, so my list of childhood favourites would not be the same without it.
  2. Matilda-Roald Dahl-Is there any book lover who doesn’t have this as a childhood favourite? It’s such a lovely, heartwarming story and it will always be one of my absolute favourite books.
  3. The Faraway Tree Stories-Enid Blyton-Another classic from my childhood, it was one of my first forays into fantasy and I remember absolutely loving all the whimsical characters that Enid Blyton invented and all the different worlds at the top of the Faraway Tree, I always wished I could go to the top of the Faraway Tree with Silky, Moonface and Saucepan Man.This is kind of whimsical and funny, so actually fits the first topic.
  4. Shadow The Sheepdog-Enid Blyton-This book was my dad’s when he was younger and when I was a kid he read it to me and I loved it, it was such a great story and it was one of the first books that I actually read on my own, so it means a lot to me. It actually fell apart, I read it that much (although age may have a little to do with it as well!).
  5. James Herriot’s books-My dad used to read these to me as well, they would actually fit the humour theme for the original topic as well, because they’re really funny. My dad used to do the Yorkshire accents for all the farmers and I loved it so much. Seriously, if you ever get the chance to read these books, you should, because they’re hilarious (plus based on true stories from the author’s actual life as a country vet).
  6. The Sophie books-Dick King Smith-I used to listen to these on tape actually, back when tapes were still a thing. Sophie loved animals about as much as I did (and still do), so naturally I loved these books!
  7. Black Beauty-Anna Sewell-Naturally, as a horse lover, I loved this book so much (and still do). I actually got in trouble at school for reading this under my desk!
  8. Charlotte’s Web-EB White-This was one of the first books that broke my heart! It’s a lovely story, but I can’t guarantee that you won’t cry at the end. Scratch that, you definitely will cry at the end. It’s impossible not to cry at the end.
  9. The Roman Mysteries-Caroline Lawrence-I never actually finished this entire series, but I remember that when I was a kid, I devoured every single one of these books that I could find at my local library and I loved it. Detective adventures in the Roman times? Yes please!
  10. A Series of Unfortunate Events-Lemony Snicket-These books, with their creepy, sinister tone and dark sense of humour, set the stage for a lot of the books that I like today. Yet another series that I devoured from my local library.
  11. Ballet Shoes-Noel Streatfield-This was one of my favourite books when I was a kid, I loved the relationship between the three sisters and all of the performance aspects of the book.
  12. Blind Beauty-KM Peyton-I first read this when I was 11/12 ish, I think (somewhere around that age anyway) and have reread it many times since because it’s a beautiful story.
  13. The Heartland Books-Lauren Brooke-I was a horse crazy pre-teen (I’m still horse crazy, just not a pre-teen anymore) and I absolutely loved these books, I still have the entire series. I’m not sure if I’d love them as much now, but I did love them at that age.
  14. The Saddle Club Series-Bonnie Bryant-Yet another one of the series I read when I was a pre-teen and I devoured all of the books in this series that I found at my local library. I never read all of them because it was an absolutely massive series, but I did love these books, there was a great female friendship between the three girls and lots of horses, what more could you want?
  15. Chestnut Hill Series-Lauren Brooke-Another series by Lauren Brooke, and like The Saddle Club, my favourite thing about this book was the friendship between the four main girls (as well as the horses of course!).
  16. The Sleepover Club Books-Multiple Authors-I remember borrowing these from the library when I was a kid and absolutely loving them, I never read the entire series of these either (another huge one) but I loved the friendship between the five girls and all the scrapes they got themselves into during their sleepovers.
  17. My Secret Unicorn Series-Linda Chapman-This series combined my two favourite things, magic and horses, both of which I still love, I read books that have the same things in them now, they’re just a little more grown-up. I no longer have my copies of these books anymore (sadly I got rid of them to make more room on my bookshelves), but I absolutely loved them when I was a kid, I loved all the magic and adventure and it’s a love I still have now. I mean a girl who has a horse that turns into a unicorn? My eight (at least I think that’s how old I was when I read these, I don’t entirely remember) year old self lapped that stuff up!
  18. The Stardust Series-Linda Chapman-I loved this author when I was a kid as you can probably tell by the fact that I have two of her series on this list. They were filled with magic and adventure and lots of great female friendship and I devoured the entire series when I was a kid. Again, not a series that I have anymore because I had to make room on my bookshelves for new stuff, but when I was a kid I loved them.
  19. Jacqueline Wilson’s Books-I couldn’t really pick a favourite, I loved her books when I was a kid and there’s not a specific one that stands out to me that I loved, I enjoyed all of the ones I read. They were all kind of depressing, but then most of my favourite books are!
  20. The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe-CS Lewis-I loved this book when I was younger, I mean who didn’t love the magical world of Narnia? I didn’t pick up all the religious undertones in this book when I was a kid, so I’m not sure whether I’d like it as much now, but I do remember loving Narnia.

I’m going to stop here, I could probably go on, there are so many books from my childhood that I love, that if I listed all of them it would probably take me all day to write this list! What are your childhood favourites? Do we share any? What was on your list this week? Could you do the topic or did you have to choose an alternate one like me? Let me know! Next week’s topic is about Bookworm delights, things that excite you as a book lover, so for my list, I’m going to do Top Ten Reasons Why I Love Being A Bookworm (and yes there will probably be more than ten) as it’s a nice variation on the topic we’ve been given. That’s next week, but in the meantime, I should have my first April discussion post up for you guys very soon and a review of my latest read Code Name Verity, so stay tuned for those!

53 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #53

  1. Rissi 19/04/2016 / 5:27 pm

    I never read “Ballet Shoes,” but the movie was darling! Also, love “Narnia.” One of these days I need to finish them. 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 19/04/2016 / 5:41 pm

      The book is better, but yes, the movie is cute. You definitely should 🙂

  2. lindseyhabets 19/04/2016 / 7:01 pm

    Nice topic! I haven’t read most of these (I’m from Belgium so as a kid I read Dutch books and Dutch children’s “classics” are of course different), but I do LOVE Harry Potter and Matilda 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 19/04/2016 / 7:04 pm

      Thanks! Ah fair enough. Yeah they’re both great, aren’t they?

  3. Charnell @ Reviews from a Bookworm 19/04/2016 / 7:46 pm

    I love this weeks topic, I am such a fan of books that can make me laugh. You’ve got some great picks this weeks, and I am definitely going to add a few of these to my own TBR. Thanks for the recommendations! 🙂 You can check out my picks here.

    • iloveheartlandx 19/04/2016 / 7:49 pm

      I wish I read more of them to be honest, it just seems that most of the books I read are sad! Thanks! No problem.

  4. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews 20/04/2016 / 8:13 am

    Ahhh, this list has made me so nostalgic! I read so many of these as a child. I especially loved The Faraway Tree. I got so caught up in that as a kid. I reread it sooo many times. I loved The Saddle Cub too, I had such a horse phase when I was 9-11, haha. I also really need to get around to reading ASoUE.

    • iloveheartlandx 20/04/2016 / 10:50 am

      Yeah writing it made me feel quite nostalgic too! Yeah Faraway Tree was one of my favourites too, I can’t count the number of times I reread it when I was a kid. I’m still in my horse phase, never left it, never want to either! You definitely should!

      • Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews 20/04/2016 / 12:50 pm

        Enid Blyton was such a great author!! Aw, that’s so awesome!! They are such a beautiful animal 😊

  5. Ashley 20/04/2016 / 12:52 pm

    Great list! The Harry Potter series definitely gives you a lot of laughs. I don’t think I have ready any of the others that you mentioned.

    • iloveheartlandx 20/04/2016 / 12:54 pm

      Thanks! Yeah it does. I read all of these when I was a lot younger and most of them are quite old, so it’s not surprising.

  6. alicerosesimmons 20/04/2016 / 2:26 pm

    Great list and topic! I used to love Jacqueline Wilson’s books, and even though I have yet to read the series, I still remember watching the Harry Potter films as a child 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 20/04/2016 / 2:27 pm

      Thanks! Yeah me too. Oh you should definitely read the books, the films are great but the books are so much better!

  7. Amanda 20/04/2016 / 2:26 pm

    Great list! I cannot wait to read Matilda with my little one – and many of these others.

  8. rantsandravesofabibliophile 20/04/2016 / 3:04 pm

    I had a hard time picking 10 books for the “laugh” topic, too. You picked a good replacement topic 🙂

  9. bookmuffin 20/04/2016 / 3:33 pm

    Matilda and The Faraway Tree are good ones! Great list 🙂

  10. YES to Harry Potter. YES to Matilda. YES to Black Beauty. YES to Charlotte’s Web. YES to A Series of Unfortunate Events. YES to Ballet Shoes. YES to Heartland. YES to The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. Goodness, you’ve just stirred up nostalgia for me, especially with Heartland! Man, I loved the crap out of that series.

    Also, thank you so so SO MUCH for mentioning The Roman Mysteries by Caroline Lawrence! I’ve been searching for those books FOREVER but never could remember any of the titles or the author’s name. I read two of the books when I was a kid, since I was a huge fan (and still am) of Roman mythology (and Greek and pretty much every type of mythology there is). Thanks a million for putting this list together because otherwise I might still be searching for “a mystery series set in Ancient Rome”. 😀

    • iloveheartlandx 20/04/2016 / 6:34 pm

      Yeah, writing this list made me very nostalgic! I loved Heartland too (obviously) and all the other books on this list. Seems like we had very similar taste in childhood books! No problem, I’m glad to have helped you find them!

  11. Elen @ A World of Reviews 20/04/2016 / 5:49 pm

    I LOVED The Roman Mysteries series so much! It was my favourite thing when I was younger (and I still go back and reread a couple of the books occasionally) 🙂 And The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe is just the best!

    • iloveheartlandx 20/04/2016 / 6:30 pm

      Me too! I wish I’d finished the series when I was younger, I may have to see if I can find the rest of the books, though I’m not sure if I’d like them as much now. Yes, I really loved that one!

  12. Lois 20/04/2016 / 6:01 pm

    My mum loved James Herriot’s books and I’m pretty sure I have one of her copies somewhere in my room. I’ll be sure to pick it up the next time I’m in desperate need of a laugh haha.

  13. Greg 20/04/2016 / 7:47 pm

    I was a big fan of the Narnia books growing up, nice to see that one on the list. 🙂 Each book was so different in some ways, kept it kinda fresh. I liked some of the Roald Dahl books too, and never read Black Beauty but I liked The Black Stallion.

    • iloveheartlandx 20/04/2016 / 7:51 pm

      I actually only ever read that one, I never managed to finish the others! Yeah I loved Roald Dahl’s books (the ones I read anyway). I’ve never actually read The Black Stallion, maybe I should!

  14. Rain @ Ivyclad Ideas 20/04/2016 / 10:31 pm

    I always meant to read Ballet Shoes, but I never got around to it. There is still time!!!
    The Faraway Tree was amazing. I don’t even think that I realised it was by Enid Blyton when I got it out of the library (as a child, I associated Enid Blyton with boarding school books and more boarding school books), but I loved the idea of being able to climb a tree to another world. 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx 20/04/2016 / 10:38 pm

      There’s always time! I reckon it’s one of those timeless classics that you can read at any age. Yes it was! There is something very magical about being able to climb a tree to another world.

  15. betwixt-these-pages 20/04/2016 / 11:44 pm

    SO much yes! to both Matilda and A Series of Unfortunate Events! I adooooored those books when I was younger (and, I mean, obviously also Harry Potter but….I didn’t figure that needed to be said.)

    Great “twist” on the topic this week! A lot of these books I’ve never heard of, though–it’s funny, I read a lot when I was little, but I sort of stuck to the authors I already knew and refused to branch out. Oops.

    • iloveheartlandx 20/04/2016 / 11:51 pm

      Yeah I loved them too. Nah, love for Harry Potter is unspoken. Thank you! I’ve done kind of a similar thing, not with authors but with the type of books I like to read, a lot of the books I read now are just more grown up versions of the books I used to read when I was a kid!

  16. Analee @ Book Snacks 21/04/2016 / 2:51 am

    Harry Potter and Matilda are both childhood favourites for me too! Ahhhh the memories. ❤ Great list!

  17. Cynthia Parten 21/04/2016 / 5:24 am

    So glad to see Matilda on this list! I had that one too. I should have remembered Harry Potter. I just read that series for the first time and it definitely had some laugh out loud moments. Awesome list.

  18. Ayunda 21/04/2016 / 8:43 am

    I used to adore Jacqueline Wilson’s books!

  19. Beth (Reading Every Night) 21/04/2016 / 11:37 am

    I haven’t read many of these books but Harry Potter would definitely be one of mine. I think my whole childhood revolved around that series 😀 also the same for Lemony Snicket’s books, I need to re-read them soon because I know the Netflix series is being released!
    Great list for this weeks TTT!

  20. Lily 21/04/2016 / 3:28 pm

    I was just thinking about the Saddle Club series the other day. Such great books. I loved them as a pre-teen too!

  21. Annemieke 22/04/2016 / 12:32 pm

    A lot of books from childhood have great humor. 🙂

  22. Petra 23/04/2016 / 10:33 am

    Harry Potter and Matilda! ❤ Great list. Thanks for sharing, and for stopping by my TTT earlier.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.