Top Ten Tuesday #47

image

Hey everyone! I’m back with another Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s topic is either Top Ten Characters Everyone Else Seems To Love But I Just Don’t Get or Top Ten Characters Everyone Else Dislikes but I Love. I decided to go with the negative spin on this week’s topic, because a) it’s always fun to do a negative list every once in a while and b) because I could think of more characters that fitted the topic! So this is my Top Ten Characters Everyone Else Seems To Love But I Just Don’t Get:

  1. Severus Snape-Harry Potter Series-JK Rowling

I know that everyone else seems to give Snape a free pass because of his unrequited love for Lily supposedly explaining all his actions, but I’m sorry, nothing excuses being a bully, bad things happen to plenty of people and they don’t act the way Snape did. Plus he did genuinely work for Voldemort at one point and that is also inexcusable. I’ll admit, I felt bad for him at the end of Deathly Hallows but not bad enough to forget what a bully he had been.

2. Feyre-A Court of Thorns and Roses-Sarah J Maas

I can’t exactly explain why I wasn’t a big fan of Feyre, I just didn’t click with her at all and although my feelings towards her were improving towards the end of the book, I definitely wouldn’t call her a favourite character.

3. Tamlin-A Court of Thorns and Roses-Sarah J Maas

Tamlin just seemed kind of bland and boring to me, plus there were parts when he showed a very abusive side and I just can’t get on board with that. I want to like Tamlin, I do, but he’s kind of overshadowed by Lucien and Rhysand, Lucien because he’s just so funny and sarcastic and so darn adorable and Rhysand because he’s intriguing. Tamlin is neither and that’s made it hard for me to click with him.

4. Gale Hawthorne-The Hunger Games Trilogy-Suzanne Collins

I initially liked Gale, I really did, it’s kind of ironic really that the qualities I loved in him in the first book, his fiery, passionate nature and his determination for a better world turned out to be the qualities that lead to me not liking him in Mockingjay. He had the best of intentions but he went about things the wrong way and I could just never see him in the same way after what he did in Mockingjay.

5. Beatrice “Tris” Prior-Divergent Trilogy-Veronica Roth

I could never quite make up my mind where I stood with Tris, one minute I liked her, then she’d do something that infuriated me and then she’d do something that would make me like her again. Ultimately, I feel kind of indifferent towards her and never really clicked with her the way that I have with other YA heroines.

6. Augustus “Gus” Waters-The Fault In Our Stars-John Green

Please don’t hate me for this one! I know nearly everyone out there loves TFIOS and especially Gus but I’m sorry, I thought he was a pretentious douchebag who speaks like someone twice his age (although I swear even adults don’t talk like that) & I couldn’t see what was so damn appealing about him.

7. Hazel Grace Lancaster-The Fault In Our Stars-John Green

I dislike her for much the same reasons that I dislike Gus, she’s pretentious and irritating and just didn’t seem like a teenager to me so I could never really click with her and also I couldn’t really tell what she saw in Gus.

8. Chaol Westfall-Throne of Glass series-Sarah J Maas

I’ve kind of been swinging back and forth on whether or not I like Chaol, I liked him at first, then I hated that he could make up his own mind, then he did and he made the right choice and I was pleased about that and in Queen of Shadows I wasn’t keen on him being overly nasty to Aelin (though she did the same thing) but then he redeemed himself towards the end, so I think it’s safe to say that I still don’t know where I stand with him. It’s safe to say, I totally love Dorian more!

9. Mia Thermopolis-The Princess Diaries Series-Meg Cabot

It’s been a while since I read these books, I was a young teenager when I read them and now I’m almost 20, so I’m not entirely sure if I’m remembering it right, but I remember that Mia in the books was rather irritating. I much preferred the movie version of Mia!

10. Valkyrie Cain-Skulduggery Pleasant Series-Derek Landy

I liked her to begin with, when she was Stephanie, she was sassy and brave and strong and okay a little arrogant and I liked her in the first couple of books but eventually I felt like she got too bigheaded and arrogant for her own good and thought she was the be all and end all which I didn’t like.

I could probably have thought of more characters for my list this week, but I figured I would stick with just the requisite ten! Are my unpopular opinions about these characters shared by anyone? Please say they are, so I don’t feel like a weirdo! What characters where on your list this week? Did you choose to go the positive way or the negative way with your topic? Let me know! I will be back next week with another Top Ten Tuesday, the topic is ten books on my Spring TBR. I probably won’t read most of the books on my Spring TBR, but hey, it’s fun to make these lists and then look back later and laugh at how miserably I failed. In the meantime, I should hopefully have my first March discussion post up very soon!

 

74 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #47

  1. Reviews In A Pinch March 8, 2016 / 8:10 pm

    I have the same opinion about Snape. I picked characters from some of the same books this week, but we went different ways on the actual characters. I really like your reasoning behind your picks.

    • iloveheartlandx March 8, 2016 / 8:16 pm

      Glad to hear I’m not alone! Thanks! I’ll make sure to check out your list.

  2. lindseyhabets March 8, 2016 / 8:30 pm

    Nice list! I understand your reasoning about most of these characters, even when I don’t really dislike them myself 🙂 I’m neutral about Tamlin and Chaol, but I do like other characters in the books more (Rhys and Dorian!)

    • iloveheartlandx March 8, 2016 / 8:36 pm

      Thanks! I appreciate that. Yeah, I don’t really hate either of them either, I’m just neutral about both of them and like you prefer other characters in the books more.

  3. anovelglimpse March 8, 2016 / 8:51 pm

    I’m not a fan of Gale either. Or Peeta for that matter. The love triangle just mucked up the story.

    • iloveheartlandx March 8, 2016 / 9:03 pm

      I don’t like Gale but I liked Peeta. I agree though, I would have preferred the story not to have the love triangle.

  4. jen7waters March 8, 2016 / 9:09 pm

    Also agree with Snape, he didn’t make it to my top but yeah, nothing that happened to him when he was younger excuses the way he treated Harry. Of course I also bawled when he died.

    What annoys me the most about Hazel is that actually liked her before Gus showed up, but then they become and thing and the whole book is like a competition to see who wins the prize for the most irritating, pretentious, seriously fake sounding character. Ugh.

    • iloveheartlandx March 8, 2016 / 9:12 pm

      I agree totally! I wasn’t that keen on her before Gus turned up but once they were in a relationship, they both became intolerable to me!

  5. Selah at A Bibliophile's Style March 8, 2016 / 9:30 pm

    Snape is a really complicated character that I have conflicting feelings over. I adore everything about Alan Rickman’s portrayal though. He was the perfect choice.
    I completely agree about Gale and Mia.

    • iloveheartlandx March 8, 2016 / 9:31 pm

      Yeah, Alan Rickman was definitely the perfect choice! Good to hear.

  6. Greg Hill March 8, 2016 / 9:31 pm

    I don’t know most of these but I agree about Tris- I was conflicted about her at times. Same thing- sometimes I liked her, sometimes I didn’t. 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx March 8, 2016 / 9:32 pm

      Yeah, she’s a tough one to make a firm opinion on either way!

  7. Weezled March 8, 2016 / 9:51 pm

    People like Gale? I didn’t know he had a fan club… :/

    • iloveheartlandx March 9, 2016 / 7:33 am

      I did, my best friend likes him 🙂 We have arguments over that all the time!

  8. @lynnsbooks March 8, 2016 / 10:08 pm

    Yep, I had Feyre too and I could also have had Tamlin – both a bit bland and not my favourite characters of the book.
    Lynn 😀

    • iloveheartlandx March 9, 2016 / 8:55 am

      Felt the exact same way! I’m hoping their personalities are a little more developed in the sequel!

  9. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense March 8, 2016 / 10:13 pm

    I am in the same boat with you when it comes to Snape. Yes, he was in love with Lily and he made huge sacrifices, but he wasn’t all good and could be really nasty to Harry which is a hard thing to swallow.

    • iloveheartlandx March 9, 2016 / 8:54 am

      Exactly! I just can’t get past everything he did, I mean sure he was a hero in the end and all, but does being a hero right at the end of your life justify being a huge ass all the way through it? I don’t think so!

  10. Lois March 8, 2016 / 11:39 pm

    I 100% agree with Gale. I was tolerant of him in the first two book but I never cared for him and I didn’t appreciate the way he kind of made Katniss feel obliged to explore these “feelings” for him. I also didn’t like the way he made it sound like Katniss was a possession to be won. Plus his need for revenge was really off putting in its barbarity. I have no love for him haha,

    I also agree with your thoughts on Snape. I’ve not read the books but I know what happens. It doesn’t matter how deed your love runs for someone it does not justify his behavior at all.

    • iloveheartlandx March 9, 2016 / 8:53 am

      Yeah I didn’t mind him in the first two books, though it did kind of seem like he was pressuring Katniss a lot. No me either, I never really got that he cared about her all that much at all. Yeah, I hated what he did in the third book, it was like he turned into a totally different person. Yeah, I totally agree, nothing can justify the way he behaved, not just towards Harry, but towards all the other students as well.

  11. Tracy @ Cornerfolds March 9, 2016 / 12:04 am

    I didn’t love Feyre either, but I still adored the book overall! I also really loved Tamlin, so I’ll have to disagree with you there. 😉 I also really couldn’t stand Gayle (or Peeta, actually)! Great list!

    Here are my Top Ten!

    • iloveheartlandx March 9, 2016 / 8:46 am

      I think the fact that I wasn’t keen on Feyre (or Tamlin for that matter) made me less keen on the book than I otherwise might have been. It would be boring if we all had the same view on characters all of the time! I didn’t like Gale, but I did like Peeta. Thanks!

  12. Michelle @ Pink Polka Dot Books March 9, 2016 / 1:10 am

    I preferred movie Mia to book Mia too!!! But I liked Michael better in the book. I can totally see what you mean about Gus and Hazel. They were definitely taking a page out of a Dawson’s Creek script with their dialogue. I loved that book, but I didn’t like either one of them at first. And I’m with you on Gale. Movie Gale was HOT… but not enough for me to like him over Peeta.

    • iloveheartlandx March 9, 2016 / 8:45 am

      Yeah, she’s just much more palatable I feel! I guess I did too….I’m not really sure, it’s been a long time since I read them! Ugh, I know, it irritated me so much! Like, absolutely no one I know talks like that. I hated the book and I think the fact that they both irritated me so much played a large factor on that. I know, movie Gale was hot! I didn’t make me prefer him to Peeta, it was more that whenever Gale was on screen I was thinking “Liam Hemsworth is frickin’ hot” than I want to see Gale with Katniss.

  13. jessicabookworm March 9, 2016 / 2:55 pm

    I actually split my list between the positive and the negative! I totally agree with you about Gale however Snape was on my list as a ‘love character’…although not because I think he is a good person but because I rather love to hate him 😀

    • iloveheartlandx March 9, 2016 / 4:19 pm

      I would have, but I couldn’t really think of any characters that I love that everyone else hate. Yeah I kind of love to hate Snape too, it’s hard to completely hate him when Alan Rickman was so amazing playing him in the movies!

  14. sherlockianbooklover March 9, 2016 / 6:26 pm

    Urgh yes Augustus is do pretentious. I wanted to put Hazel too but….Yeah.
    Probably why I’ve only read the book once and haven’t seen the film!

  15. Stephanie A. Allen March 9, 2016 / 7:49 pm

    Ugh, I agree with you about Gale. He was also a huge brat about Katniss having things besides boys to worry about, which was actually the most irritating thing for me. (I didn’t mind his passion so much. That was one of his stronger qualities, for me.)

    • iloveheartlandx March 9, 2016 / 7:50 pm

      Yeah, he definitely was! It’s not that I minded that he was passionate, I just didn’t like what he did with it.

  16. Camryn March 9, 2016 / 8:03 pm

    Movie Mia is great! Book Mia…. not so much. I haven’t read any John Green mainly for the reason you mentioned, a lot of people say his teenagers talk like adults.

    • iloveheartlandx March 9, 2016 / 8:43 pm

      Yeah I agree. I only read one of his, The Fault In Our Stars, but I’ve been put off reading any of his others because I really hated that one.

      • Camryn March 10, 2016 / 12:17 am

        He does make great youtube videos though.

  17. therebelliousreader March 9, 2016 / 8:16 pm

    Tris and Gale! Excellent choices. LOL. I think Gale was just more forgettable to me than anything else. I always seemed to forget about him when I was reading that series.

    • iloveheartlandx March 9, 2016 / 8:30 pm

      Thanks! Yeah I guess he is kind of third wheel in terms of the story.

  18. _giovannard March 9, 2016 / 9:33 pm

    Great List!
    To be honest, the only reason why I give Snape a free pass, is because I have the hots for Alan Rickman! 😉

  19. Gabby March 9, 2016 / 10:52 pm

    I wasn’t big into Gale either. He seemed like more of a plot necessity (someone that Katniss had feelings for before the Games) than an actual character to me…although that might have been the way Hemsworth played him more than the writing in the books that I’m remembering, it’s been a while since I did a re-read

    • iloveheartlandx March 10, 2016 / 10:12 am

      Yeah I totally agree. Maybe it was the way he was played in the movies…..I don’t think I’ve ever actually done a reread. I would if I had the time, but so many new books to read!

  20. Gennifer Eccles March 9, 2016 / 11:06 pm

    You got some on here that I didn’t think about but completely agree with! I didn’t like Augustus when I read the book for the third time. He seemed unreal. i disliked Gale for the same reasons. His passion was great in the first novel, but by the third it made him ignorant. I also have Tamlin on my TTT!

    • iloveheartlandx March 10, 2016 / 10:15 am

      I’ve been thinking that with other people’s lists to be honest! I didn’t like Gus when I read the book for the first time, I never got to a third time, the characters irritated me so much the first time around! Yeah I totally agree. Tamlin seems to have actually been a quite popular choice today, I thought more people liked him!

  21. Ash March 9, 2016 / 11:11 pm

    Ugh, Tris! Great list!

  22. Samantha @ Book Minx March 10, 2016 / 2:23 am

    Feyre kind of annoyed me as well. I think it was her stubborness, especially in the very beginning of the book

  23. aubreysbooknook March 10, 2016 / 2:27 am

    Gale, Tris, Augustus, and Hazel. Wow. I didn’t expect that. I understand why you say them, but at the same time I am shocked. Hahah

  24. beccaeatsbooks March 10, 2016 / 9:29 am

    I totally agree with you about Gus and Tris. I never really warmed to Gus, especially with the whole cigarette thing? It just felt like John’s attempt to make him a bit quirky but it just felt unbelievable.

    • iloveheartlandx March 10, 2016 / 10:20 am

      Thanks! Ugh yeah, the cigarette thing bothered me so much, like who does that? I totally agree.

  25. Windie @ Geek Apprentice March 10, 2016 / 1:31 pm

    I didn’t get Snape either. I LOVE Alan Rickman, but Snape was a bully. To be quite honest, I didn’t love Sirius either for the same reason. He was cruel to Severus no matter how kind he was to Harry.

    • iloveheartlandx March 10, 2016 / 5:24 pm

      Yeah I agree. I find it easier to forgive Sirius I think, probably because he was a teenager and Snape was an adult.

  26. Amanda March 10, 2016 / 9:45 pm

    Good point with Snape.
    I didn’t really care for Gale either, since I thought his affection for Katniss was a bit selfish based (on what she could do for the rebellion) whereas Peeta was more selfless. That’s just how I viewed it.;)

  27. Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know March 11, 2016 / 12:16 am

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT earlier this week! I hate to see that you had issues with Snape. He was one of my favorite characters of the whole series. And while I struggled with Hazel initially, I ended up liking her and LOVED Gus. But I respect your reasoning on these two. Have a great week!

    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

    • iloveheartlandx March 11, 2016 / 1:22 pm

      I’m not saying I don’t think he’s a great character, he’s a great character, really complex, I just can’t forgive him for the way he treated his students. Thanks, I’m glad for that, I thought people would be really mad at me when I put Hazel and Gus on my list! Have a great weekend!

  28. alicerosesimmons March 11, 2016 / 7:56 pm

    Great list! I definitely have to agree with Gale and Tris – both irritated me to no end, particularly by the last book.

    • iloveheartlandx March 12, 2016 / 1:11 pm

      Thanks! Yeah, I liked Tris in the first book, but by the last…..not a big fan.

  29. Anjie @ Love thy Shelf March 12, 2016 / 4:53 am

    Super late in the game with commenting but oh my! I loved your list, especially with Gus and Hazel! I did not like that book. While the plot was good in my opinion, the characters felt so fake and unrealistic. And yay! Dorian!!

    • iloveheartlandx March 12, 2016 / 1:13 pm

      Thanks! Yeah me either, I’m so glad to find someone else who doesn’t! I always feel like such a black sheep when I say I don’t like it. I know! I love Dorian. SJM better not do anything else to hurt him in the next two books. He’s been through enough already!

  30. ChrissiReads March 12, 2016 / 3:11 pm

    Fabulous list, as always. I’m not a fan of The Fault In Our Stars. I mean it was ok, but I think so overhyped…

  31. girlinbookland March 15, 2016 / 1:25 am

    I can agree with several here. Especially Feyre. Great list!

Leave a Reply

