Top Ten Tuesday #17

image

So the topic for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday is pretty simple, it’s the top ten authors that I have read the most books from. I obviously wouldn’t be able to remember of the top off my head, but Goodreads has this handy little thing where you can see the authors that you’ve read the most books from, so all I had to do was look on there and bingo, I have my Top Ten Tuesday list for this week. So the authors I have read the most books from are:

  1. Lauren Brooke-35 Books-It was a little weird for me to find out that Lauren Brooke was the author I’d read the most books from, considering that she’s not amongst those who I’d consider my favourite authors, but it makes sense since I read the entire Heartland series (of 20 books), plus special editions and quite a number of the Chestnut Hill books as well. What can I say? I was really into horses when I was a kid and Heartland was one of my favourite book series. Now I just enjoy the TV series!
  2. Jodi Picoult-15 Books-I’m sure everyone was expecting to see Jodi Picoult on my list this week, seeing as she’s one of my favourite authors, I haven’t read everything that she’s ever written, I only read the ones that interest me, but I’ve loved almost everything of hers that I’ve read and she’s become one of my Auto-Buy authors. I was so excited when I met her last year that I can’t even explain! I cannot wait to read her new book!
  3. Sophie McKenzie-14 Books-Also one of my favourite authors, I’ve read almost all of her teen fiction and I have to confess that I’m an absolute addict! Her stories are so exciting and intense, I just love them. I like her adult fiction too, she seems to be transferring more into that now, but I much prefer her teen writing, those books were what got me hooked on her writing, I doubt I would have become as addicted to her books as I have done, if I hadn’t started with those books.
  4. Lemony Snicket-13 Books-Also known as Daniel Handler, Lemony Snicket is his pen name. These books are actually all in the same series, A Series of Unfortunate Events, I loved these books when I was younger, the stories were all really fun and creepy and pretty easy to get through, I remember speeding through most of the series.

=5. Rick Riordan, Meg Cabot & Caroline Lawrence-10 Books-I think this may be cheating, but all of these authors were tied on ten books each, so I figured I’d just do a joint fifth place for all of them. I obviously love Rick Riordan’s books, Percy Jackson is one of the best fictional characters created (in my opinion) and the adventures of him and his friends are so much fun to read about, I’m sure these books will be favourites for years to come. I haven’t read any of his other books, I’m not sure if I will or not, nothing can live up to Percy for me.

I’ve only read the one series of Meg Cabot’s, all the books in the Princess Diaries series (okay, I haven’t read the newest one, but I read all ten books of the original series) & I enjoyed them, but I wouldn’t go as far as saying they’re favourites.

I read the first ten books of Caroline Lawrence’s Roman Mysteries series and I really enjoyed that series when I was a kid, since I’m kind of  a history geek, but I never got around to the last seven, I’m not entirely sure why, I think I just couldn’t find them all at the library & by the time I did find them all, I was too old to enjoy them.

6.  Derek Landy-9 Books-These are obviously all the Skulduggery Pleasant books, as he only has the one series. I love these books so much, I started reading them when I was about 12/13 and finished them last year, so these books will always be special to me, given how many years of my life I spent reading them. It’s such a unique, witty, awesome series and if you have not read it yet, then you definitely should.

=7. Eoin Colfer & Mark Walden-8 Books-It’s kind of ironic that these two should end up tied for seventh place this week, considering that the main characters of both of their series are teenage criminal masterminds and share some marked similarities. There are 8 books in the Artemis Fowl series, I loved the first four, but felt the series kind of went downhill afterward. HIVE is a new find of mine, I blazed through the first six books, they were brilliant and I’ve really enjoyed the seventh and eighth books too, the school is basically like Hogwarts for teenage criminals. I definitely want to read the ninth book, but it doesn’t come out until next year and it’s been a while since I read the eighth book, so I’ll probably have to reread so I can remember the story before the next book comes out.

=8. JK Rowling & Andrew Lane-7 Books-Obviously the JK Rowling books that I’ve read are the Harry Potter series, also known as one of my favourite series ever, I can’t go on enough about how much I love these books and how much they mean to me, but I’ll stop now before this post becomes a rave about how much I love JK Rowling. Andrew Lane writes the Young Sherlock books and I’ve read all the books in the series so far. I read the first four pretty quickly but since then have read one a year as they have been released and I’ve really enjoyed all of them.

9. Roald Dahl & Malorie Blackman-6 Books-I read a few of Roald Dahl’s books when I was a kid, my favourite was definitely Matilda, which is probably no surprise to most of you, of course the bookworm likes the book about a bookworm, Matilda is one of those classic stories from when I was a kid that I absolutely love.

10. KM Peyton-5 Books-I love horses so naturally I love KM Peyton’s books, I’m not sure if I’ve read all of them, but out of the ones I’ve read, Blind Beauty is definitely my favourite.

That’s all for this week, I know I kind of cheated, with several tied places, but that’s what my most read authors list on Goodreads looks like so there you go. I’ll be back with another Top Ten List next week, my Top Ten Auto-Buy Authors (I feel as if this may be tricky as I’m not sure I have all that many Auto-Buy authors, but I will give it my best shot) but in the meantime, I’ll have another Wishlist Wednesday for you tomorrow, so make sure to check that out.

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #17

  1. Zezee 11/08/2015 / 7:42 pm

    I’m curious about Eoin Colfer’s and Jodi Picoult’s books. I’ve heard great things about both.

    • iloveheartlandx 11/08/2015 / 7:55 pm

      Both great authors, highly recommend their books! Like I said, I found Artemis Fowl went downhill a little after the fourth book, but the series was still enjoyable. As for Jodi Picoult, of the books of hers I’ve read, I think there were only two that I wasn’t keen on, the rest were great.

    • iloveheartlandx 12/08/2015 / 7:59 am

      You definitely should! If you’re looking for some recommendations, I did a post with some earlier in the year.

  2. Sam Whitehouse 12/08/2015 / 4:27 am

    Cool list.

  3. Anjie @ Love thy Shelf 12/08/2015 / 4:45 am

    Great list! That’s a lot of Jodi Picoult books! She didn’t make my list because I think I’ve only read 4 of her books? I really liked them though

    • iloveheartlandx 12/08/2015 / 7:56 am

      Thanks! What I can say, I’m an addict! Once I started with My Sister’s Keeper, I didn’t want to stop! Yeah her books are really good.

  4. SERIESous Book Reviews 12/08/2015 / 11:53 pm

    I LOVED the first Series of Unfortunate Events novel but couldn’t get into the second 😦 I was so excited for that one but never got around to it. Maybe I’ll try it again…or watch the TV series 😉

    • iloveheartlandx 13/08/2015 / 10:15 am

      I don’t think the second one was my favourite either, there are some great ones in that series, but a few duffs as well. I wish I could see the TV series, I don’t have Netflix though.

  5. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense 13/08/2015 / 1:39 am

    I need to read more Lemony Snicket. I never finished The Series of Unfortunate Events which is in fact an unfortunate event.

    • iloveheartlandx 13/08/2015 / 10:17 am

      Yes it is, it’s a great series, you should definitely finish it if you ever get the chance.

  6. signourney 13/08/2015 / 4:30 pm

    There is no such thing as cheating on these lists 😉

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.