Top Ten Tuesday #131

1fe45-toptentuesday

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a good week, I got back to Uni after reading week on Sunday and it’s back to work, I have a presentation in History this Friday that I’m so not looking forward to and then I have essays to start on. No rest for the wicked! Anyway, as it’s Tuesday, I’m back with another Top Ten Tuesday courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s topic is a Halloween themed freebie, but I’m kind of interpreting it in the loosest sense of the word and talking about October New Releases That You Could Read This Halloween, not all of which will be scary. So here we go, books you could curl up with this Halloween (for ease, as I’m a UK blogger, I’m only including books that are available right now, through Waterstones/via UK Amazon as some books with a October release date in the US, aren’t released here yet):

  1. A Darker Shade of Magic (Collector’s Edition)-Releases TODAY!-VE Schwab

If, like me, you love VE Schwab and everything she writes, then you could pick up the new Collector’s Edition of A Darker Shade of Magic today. It’s a truly beautiful edition with lots of lovely additional content. I’m slightly annoyed because Royal Mail decided to deliver my copy when I was in class yesterday, so I’m having to wait until tomorrow to get it, but I’m sure it will be worth the wait.

2. Forest of A Thousand Lanterns-Released 10th October-Julie C. Dao

This East Asian Evil Queen retelling, sounds like a perfect Halloween read. The cover is gorgeous, and it’s a diverse fantasy, so don’t sleep on this one guys!

3. Wild Beauty-Released 3rd October-Anna-Marie McLemore

As Dia De Los Muertos is coming up, it seems like the perfect time to read this Latinx ownvoices fantasy. I’ve yet to read it, but I’ve heard amazing things about both the writing and the representation in this book, so if you love magical realism, this would be a great book to curl up with this Halloween.

4. The Last Namsara-Released 12th October-Kristen Ciccarelli

DRAGONS PEOPLE. DRAGONS. I honestly don’t know what else to say as a reason to read this book because dragons are totally enough for me. I cannot wait to read this one (I’m hoping that my suspicions about the contents of the November FairyLoot box are right) because more YA fantasy should have dragons.

5. Beasts Made of Night-Released 25th October-Tochi Onyebuchi

I am so bad because I have an e-ARC of this from Netgalley which I have yet to read (my essays really put me back on my Netgalley reading). I’m really excited for it though, as it sounds amazing, a Nigerian influenced fantasy where sins are conjured in the form of sin beasts and the main character is a sin eater, someone whose job it is to slay the sin beasts. I’m so excited to get cracking on this one!

6. The Ship of The Dead (Magnus Chase #3)-Released 3rd October-Rick Riordan

If like me, you haven’t managed to get around to the third and final installment of the Magnus Chase trilogy and you’re looking for something more fun to read this Halloween, then I would definitely recommend going on a quest with Magnus and his friends to prevent Ragnarok.

7. The Hanging Girl-Released 19th October-Eileen Cook

This is another of my Netgalley e-ARCs that I’ve been sleeping on due to essay hell in the last two weeks before mid semester break, I will definitely be getting to it in the next two weeks though, before it expires! It’s a murder mystery, so that’s pretty much perfect for Halloween.

8. All The Crooked Saints-Released 10th October-Maggie Stiefvater

Maggie Stiefvater’s writing always has a very spooky feel, so if you are a Stiefvater fan then this could be the perfect book to curl up with tonight, although be warned that Latinx reviewers have said that the rep is not very good, so that’s always something to take into consideration before reading.

9. A Shiver of Snow and Sky-Released 5th October-Lisa Lueddecke

If you’re done with the spooky season and want to move onto something with a more wintery feel, then this one would be perfect for you. I’m really excited to read this one as I’ve been following Lisa on Twitter for ages and it will be so great to finally read her debut!

10. The Book of Dust-Released 19th October-Phillip Pullman

If you’re a Phillip Pullman fan, this Halloween might be the best time to catch up on his latest release!

So that’s it, my choices for the October releases that you could read this Halloween. I actually haven’t read any of these except for A Darker Shade of Magic (I usually try to go with all books I’ve read, but that wasn’t going to work this week), so those of you who have read them, what should I read first? Have you read any of these? Did you enjoy them? Has anyone got any fun plans for Halloween? Let me know in the comments!

Next week’s topic is Ten Characters Who Would Make Great Leaders, of what we can choose, so you’ll have to wait until next week to see what I choose! I’ve just finished Neal Shusterman’s Scythe so I should have a review of that up this week, plus my latest #RockMyTBR update so stay tuned for those!

58 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #131

  1. Step Into A Book World October 31, 2017 / 2:53 pm

    Forest of a Thousand Lanterns was amazing! Thank you for the list a couple of these I need to read soon.

  2. bookmuffin October 31, 2017 / 3:34 pm

    Ooh there’s some good sounding books on this list! Definitely have to check some of these out! I’m curling up with (and hoping to finish) Carry On by Rainbow Rowell tonight, not very scary but desperate to finish!

  3. ChrissiReads October 31, 2017 / 6:06 pm

    🙂 I have read some of these books and enjoyed them! A good variety!

  4. Literary Feline October 31, 2017 / 6:17 pm

    Good luck with your history presentation on Thursday, Jo! I hope it goes well. I love your list! A few of those books are on my wish list already, but others are new to me. They all sound good! I have yet to read VE Schwab, but I hope to read her books one of these days. And I’m dying to read Forest of A Thousand Lanterns and The Last Namsara. I hope you have a great Halloween! I’ll be handing out candy and taking my daughter trick-or-treating, depending on when my husband gets home from work. I took the day off from work so I could finish decorating. 🙂 have a great week!

    • iloveheartlandx November 1, 2017 / 12:49 am

      Thank you! VE Schwab is one of my favourite authors, so I hope you read and enjoy her books one day. Me too! It was decent actually, we went on a ghost walk in our Uni town that was more fun than expected. Thank you 🙂

  5. Louise October 31, 2017 / 6:18 pm

    I’m currently reading The Ship of The Dead. It’s really good so far! 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx November 1, 2017 / 12:47 am

      That’s great to hear! I’ve yet to read a Rick Riordan book that I haven’t loved 🙂

  6. Rissi October 31, 2017 / 6:39 pm

    I haven’t read ANY of Maggie’s books, but from what I’ve seen and/or read about them, they all seem like appropriate autumn-esque reads. Her latest (which you feature) in particular sounds like a great one! Have you read any of hers and/or do you have a favorite of hers?

    “Wild Beauty” (judging by its cover) also seems an excellent fit!

    Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland.

    • iloveheartlandx November 1, 2017 / 12:45 am

      They definitely are! I haven’t read the latest (it does sound great) but I’ve read The Raven Cycle and The Scorpio Races. My favourite was the second book in The Raven Cycle, The Dream Thieves. It does right? No problem 🙂

  7. bookishowlette October 31, 2017 / 6:54 pm

    Hey,
    Thnx for stopping by!

    You have a nice list! Number 5 & 6 look really interesting!

    • iloveheartlandx November 1, 2017 / 12:43 am

      No problem! Thank you! Yes, both of those I’m really excited for 🙂

  8. Trish @ Between My Lines October 31, 2017 / 6:55 pm

    The The Hanging Girl-Released by Eileen Cook sounds like it would be right up my street.

    • iloveheartlandx November 1, 2017 / 12:41 am

      Thanks! Well actually neither have I (I know shocker) so I need to try them out too. Oh have fun on your holiday, I will definitely check out your list.

      • Nerd Narration November 1, 2017 / 3:24 pm

        Hah! Well if you decided to jump on the ADSOM one let me know! We could BR!

      • iloveheartlandx November 2, 2017 / 3:55 pm

        I’ve read ADSOM, just not the collector’s edition! Would def be happy to buddy read though….if Royal Mail ever delivers it.

      • Nerd Narration November 3, 2017 / 2:33 pm

        Ha! Well keep me posted! Hopefully it arrives soon!

      • iloveheartlandx November 3, 2017 / 4:04 pm

        I hope so! I called Royal Mail this morning and they said they’re looking into it.

  9. Beth (Reading Every Night) October 31, 2017 / 7:20 pm

    Great picks for this week, and I love your take on the Halloween theme too. My Collectors Edition of A Darker Shade of Magic arrived today and it is so gorgeous, I can’t stop staring at it. Also I’ve read Forest of a Thousand Lanterns and Wild Beauty and they’re both amazing books as well. 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx November 1, 2017 / 12:40 am

      Thank you! Mine should be here tomorrow, as long as I’m not out when they deliver again! That’s great to hear 🙂

  10. Michelle (@PinkPlkaDotBlog) October 31, 2017 / 7:23 pm

    I’m reading THE HANGING GIRL right now!!! I love Eileen Cook & have been waiting for this book all year 🙂

  11. agreatreviewer October 31, 2017 / 8:34 pm

    Ooh nice! I read The Hanging Girl and can say it’s definitely fit for Halloween! Forest of a Thousand Lanterns was also really good! Being a villain origin story you could say it’s “Halloween-y”! Lol! Bought but still need to read The Last Namsara! Dragons are good ANY time of year! So that’s 3 perfectly fit books! LOL!

    Thanks for visiting my blog post!

    • iloveheartlandx November 1, 2017 / 12:37 am

      Thanks! Well that’s good to hear, on both counts. Yeah I thought I could get away with it on that count. I hope you enjoy The Last Namsara, you’re right, dragons are good for any time of year. No problem 🙂

  12. Katherine P October 31, 2017 / 8:42 pm

    I’ve had the VA Schwab books on my TBR for ages and Wild Beauty recently made the list but now I think I have to add Forest of A Thousand Lanterns! That sounds amazing! Good luck on your history presentation!

    • iloveheartlandx November 1, 2017 / 12:35 am

      VE Schwab’s books are amazing, I hope you enjoy when you read them! Oh I’m glad, I’ve heard really good things about it, so hopefully it’s as good as advertised. Thank you!

  13. kozbisa October 31, 2017 / 11:52 pm

    I really enjoyed A Darker Shade of Magic. Schwab is an amazing writer. I read Wild Beauty back in June, and it was so lush and beautiful. Loved it! The Hanging Girl was pretty good. I was a little disappointed in the ending, but I thought there were some great twists and turns in the story.

    • iloveheartlandx November 1, 2017 / 12:31 am

      Me too! She is amazing, one of my favourites. That’s great to hear! Ah it’s always a shame when that happens.

  14. exploringallgenres November 1, 2017 / 12:42 am

    Great list. I definitely need to check some of these out because they sound so darn good.

    • iloveheartlandx November 1, 2017 / 12:55 am

      Thank you! I hope you enjoy them if you do read them 🙂

  15. Elena K November 1, 2017 / 5:54 am

    Great list. Some of these books sound really interesting. I’m especially excited to get my hands on a copy of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns.
    Elena@ TheNovelistics

    • iloveheartlandx November 1, 2017 / 1:12 pm

      Thank you! Ah yes, Forest of a Thousand Lanterns looks and sounds gorgeous!

  16. Holly November 1, 2017 / 8:10 am

    There has been SO MUCH buzz and hype about the Book of Dust recently! I really want to read it, but I’m not sure if I should refresh myself on the rest of the series first… anyways, great list! 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx November 1, 2017 / 1:12 pm

      I know! I haven’t actually read any of Phillip Pullman’s books, but with all the hype around Book of Dust, I’m wandering if I should. Thank you 🙂

  17. Alexandra P. November 1, 2017 / 8:42 am

    Amazing list! Thank you for the recommendations!

  18. Amanda Holmes November 1, 2017 / 1:25 pm

    Great list! I will have to check in to some of these books.

    • iloveheartlandx November 2, 2017 / 3:56 pm

      Thank you! I hope you enjoy them, if you decide to read them 🙂

  19. chasingdreamspublishing November 1, 2017 / 1:49 pm

    *sighs*
    *Adds more books to the ever-increasing TBR list*

    Thanks for dropping by my blog, Jo. You’ve got quite the list here! Nicely done. I’m not sure how I feel about the new Pullman novel… His Dark Materials was great, so I’d love to get my hands on the prequel, even though I’m normally a bit obstinate about revisiting series that are properly closed.

    • iloveheartlandx November 2, 2017 / 3:56 pm

      Ah isn’t that always the way! No problem 🙂 Aww thank you. I haven’t read either His Dark Materials or the new book, but I do get what you mean, when a series is wrapped up well, I don’t usually feel the need to have more from it.

  20. Annemieke November 3, 2017 / 6:43 pm

    I just read The Ship of the Dead and so totally worth it. ❤

  21. lindseyhabets November 4, 2017 / 1:26 pm

    Great list! I’m so looking forward to The Last Namsara too and hope your Fairyloot November box suspicions are correct 😉

  22. Destiny @ Howling Libraries November 5, 2017 / 4:54 am

    Great list! I’ll be picking up The Last Namsara soon, as it actually won December BOTM for my reading group!

Leave a Reply

