Top Ten Tuesday #123

1fe45-toptentuesday

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a good week since I last did one of these, I got back from Scotland on Friday, but it’s not exactly a very long trip away as I’ll be back up there this Friday, before moving into my new Uni accomodation on Sunday. My 21st birthday is also exactly one week from today, so I’m pretty excited about that! Anyway, another Tuesday means another Top Ten Tuesday from the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish, and this week we’re talking about books we struggled with, whether we struggled to get into them and ended up loving them, thought we would love them but struggled with them or just flat out didn’t finish them. So I’m going to talk about Books I Thought I Would Love But Really Struggled With, as that seems to happen to me a lot! So here we go, books I thought I’d love but struggled with:

  1. A Court of Thorns and Roses-Sarah J Maas

As I’m sure you all know by now, I’m a massive fan of the Throne of Glass series, so when I found out Sarah J Maas was doing another series and it was a Beauty and the Beast retelling, I was really excited. Sadly it took me forever to get into ACOTAR, I was close to putting it down so many times. It does usually take me a while to get into Sarah J Maas’ books, but nothing like it did with this one. Fortunately I really loved the second book, so all hope is not lost for this series!

2. The Bone Season-Samantha Shannon

I thought I would really, really love this one because it sounded like the sort of book that was right up my alley, but it was really confusing to start off with, the chapters were lengthy and the writing was overcomplicated, it took me a long time to really get into it and even by the end, I wouldn’t say I loved it. Luckily the second and third books are so much better and I’m now addicted to this series!

3. A Study In Charlotte-Brittany Cavallaro

I love Sherlock Holmes, so I was really excited for this book as I knew it was a genderbent retelling, but the characters felt flat, the chapters were overlong and whilst the mystery was fine, it was nothing mind blowing.

4. Dangerous Boys-Abigail Haas

I was obsessed with Abigail Haas’ first book Dangerous Girls (which isn’t actually in anyway related to this one), so I was all prepared for my mind to be blown once again with this one. I mean it’s probably safe to say my expectations were a little too high, but this book was just a lot more predictable than Dangerous Girls and not quite as exciting, which was a shame because I really loved that book.

5. Trust In Me-Sophie McKenzie

I love Sophie McKenzie’s teen books, and I had read one of her adult thrillers that I had found reasonably enjoyable, although not as much as her teen books, but this adult thriller was unevenly paced and I didn’t love the characters and it felt overly similar to her other adult thriller. It’s a shame because Sophie McKenzie is one of my favourite authors, I just didn’t love this book.

6. Queen of Shadows-Sarah J Maas

Of the Throne of Glass series, this is definitely my least favourite. I think perhaps because it was the first book where Celaena has embraced her identity as Aelin and SJM made that transition rather clumsily, as it seems like a total 180 rather than a natural progression. It was also very much a set up book, there were two things that needed to happen and the entire book is basically devoted to the planning and executing of those two things. It was a shame because I loved Heir of Fire (the previous book) and was really hoping I’d love this one just as much. Luckily Empire of Storms brought it back up!

7. Graceling-Kristin Cashore

I was really hoping to love this one, as the concept sounded like something I would love, but it was just so slow! It was basically just one big extended journey book without many of the exciting fights that those books usually have. Katsa also rubbed me the wrong way, I know the author was trying to be feminist but it was the kind of feminism where it seems like in order to be feminist, a girl has to totally despise feminine things, be incredibly physically strong and total emotionally dense and I took issue with that.

8. Resurrection-Derek Landy

I absolutely loved the original Skulduggery Pleasant and don’t get me wrong, this book was still good, but I was disappointed that I didn’t love it as much as the original series and I did struggle to get through it in some places.

9. The Invisible Library-Genevieve Cogman

I loved the idea of this book, a world where there is a Library that harvests fiction from different realities. I love books about books but this one was super confusing, the world building was weird, there were way too many elements, the characters were bland and I found it really difficult to read. I put this book down for weeks because I was so confused!

 

10. Stealing Snow-Danielle Paige

I was really excited about this book, as I thought the whole idea of a Snow Queen retelling was pretty cool (pun not intended, just fortunate) but it was slow paced, the romance was awful and the characters and world building were pretty flat.

11. One of Us Is Lying-Karen M McManus

I really wanted to enjoy this one, I love YA mysteries and the premise of The Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars sounded so intriguing, but in the end I found it a bit lacklustre.

12. The Archived-Victoria Schwab

Victoria Schwab is one of my favourite authors, and I still loved the concept, I thought it was great, but the characters and world building weren’t as engaging as I have come to expect. I read it in 10 days which isn’t bad for me but I did feel like I struggled with it more than her other books that have taken me longer to read.

13. The Night Circus-Erin Morgenstern

I really wanted to love this book, I’d heard so many people rave about how amazing it was, but I struggled with it a lot, it was confusing and disorienting for the most part and although I loved the circus, I didn’t love the plot or characters.

14. Look Who’s Back-Timur Vermes

For a political satire, this just wasn’t particularly funny. I thought it was such a cool concept, Hitler being alive in the 21st Century and becoming a YouTube star because no one believes he’s really Hitler. I was hoping this would be hilarious, but it was very info dumpy and I felt like some of the German references got lost in translation and it was kind of dull to read.

15. Cinder-Marissa Meyer

I had heard from everyone about how amazing The Lunar Chronicles were, so I was fully expecting to love Cinder, but I found myself kind of underwhelmed? It was just incredibly slow and I found that the primary characters were very archetypal and didn’t really stray beyond their archetypes. I’m hoping that I enjoy the second one more.

16. Slated-Teri Terry

The concept for this one sounded so cool, but I struggled so much with it! The author’s writing style meant that I just couldn’t get into it at all, as well as the main character being kind of bland. It had potential, it just took forever to get to fulfilling it!

17. Panic-Lauren Oliver

I thought this was going to be a dystopian Hunger Games type book because that’s what it sounded like from the blurb, but the blurb was incredibly misleading, it was a contemporary and aside from the brief bits where they were actually playing Panic, it was more just about the mundane details of Heather’s everyday life.

I’m going to stop before I go too overboard! Have you read any of these books? Did you enjoy them more than I did? Let me know in the comments!

Next week’s TTT topic is actually perfect timing, as it’s a Throwback freebie which coincides with my 21st birthday, so I’m going to be cheating a little and doing a Top 21 next week (as it is my 21st), and talking about 21 books that have shaped my life so far, which should be a really fun one to do. In the meantime, I’m going to hopefully have a discussion post up in the next week (basically before my birthday), inspired by one of the panels at YALC, I’m going to be talking about the Books That Made Me as it was such a fun panel to listen to and I thought it would be a cool topic to coincide with my birthday. I’m also hoping to finish my current read Glass Sword this week so will hopefully have a review of that up very soon.

78 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #123

  1. The Wanderlust Reader September 5, 2017 / 8:39 pm

    I completely agree with The Archived. I read it years ago and while it was good, it wasn’t anything special for me and it almost put me off of her other books. Thankfully that didn’t happen.

    • iloveheartlandx September 6, 2017 / 4:56 pm

      Yes, it’s decent but it’s nowhere near the heights of the Shades of Magic books. I’m very glad I started with those and not The Archived!

  2. Bean September 5, 2017 / 8:50 pm

    I’m sad to say I have only read two books on this list, but Iv’e heard that The Night Circus is confusing and I’m nervous to give it a shot.

    • iloveheartlandx September 6, 2017 / 4:47 pm

      A lot of people like it, it just wasn’t for me.

  3. bookmuffin September 5, 2017 / 8:56 pm

    There are few here on my TBR (such as The Night Circus and ACOTAR) which I have heard great things about, but we can’t all love every single book! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the Throne of Glass series, that’s a highly anticipated one on my TBR πŸ™‚ My TTT: https://bookmuffin.wordpress.com/2017/09/05/struggling-through-books/
    PS Happy Birthday for next week! Whoo, I’ve just turned 21 too, no escaping adulthood now!

    • iloveheartlandx September 6, 2017 / 4:46 pm

      Yes, it would be weird if we did! I hope you enjoy them more than I did. I hope you enjoy that one too. Thank you!

  4. Lynn VA September 5, 2017 / 9:25 pm

    I actually thought ACOTAR was so so ACOMAF was great but I struggled the most with the third book in the series. I think I had just too many expectations. I hope you’ll enjoy it though! Have a great week and I wish you a happy birthday in advance!

    • iloveheartlandx September 6, 2017 / 4:44 pm

      Yes I wasn’t keen ACOTAR either. ACOMAF was awesome. Oh really? That’s I shame, I hope I enjoy the third book more! Thank you πŸ™‚

  5. kozbisa September 5, 2017 / 10:52 pm

    I couldn’t even come up with 10 for this list, so I am very impressed with your TTT of 17. You have a bunch of books I really liked on your list, but you know, different readers, different books. It’s all good. I kind of gave up on Page all together. I thought Dorothy Must Die was good, but it was just too angsty for me, and I never went back for more. I hope you have an amazing birthday!

    • iloveheartlandx September 6, 2017 / 4:40 pm

      Ah I guess I’ve been burned by books a lot! I didn’t necessarily hate any of these, they just weren’t as good as I was expected. And yes, different readers, different books, it’s one of the wonderful things about reading that there are so many choices out there. Oh that’s a shame. I have Dorothy Must Die but I’m a little nervous after Stealing Snow. Thank you!

  6. LHauser27 September 5, 2017 / 10:54 pm

    Hi! One of Us is Lying sounded interesting to me. I’ve seen it on a couple lists this week. Maybe I will bump it down on my TBR πŸ™‚
    My TTT
    Leslie

    • iloveheartlandx September 6, 2017 / 4:36 pm

      It’s not terrible, I think it was just hyped so much that the reality was more disappointing than my expectations.

  7. Lauren Stoolfire (@SunSoar25) September 6, 2017 / 12:20 am

    I was really looking forward to A Study in Charlotte too – but it just didn’t live up to my hopes either.

  8. KliScruggs September 6, 2017 / 1:53 am

    Oooh, I also DNF’d A Study in Charlotte, I was starting to think I was the only one! I didn’t find the story particularly engaging, so I dropped it :/

    • iloveheartlandx September 6, 2017 / 10:38 am

      I didn’t actually DNF it, I made it to then, but I didn’t particularly enjoy it!

  9. Sophie Alex (@bookslikewolves) September 6, 2017 / 2:12 am

    I’ve been told by many people that The Bone Season is a very hard book to get through. Queen of Shadows is also one of my least favorite books in the series together with Empire of Storms, but I’m hoping maybe a re-read will fix it, I don’t know. I’d like to read them again and see what I think. I also didn’t like One of Us is Lying at all and DNFed it. However, I did enjoy The Night Circus a lot. It felt very magical to me.
    GREAT list!

    • iloveheartlandx September 6, 2017 / 10:38 am

      Yes it’s not the easiest but the second and third books get a lot better, so it’s worth getting through the first one. I liked Empire of Storms, but Queen of Shadows was a chore to get through. I’m glad I’m not the only one who wasn’t keen on One of Us Is Lying. I think The Night Circus was just one of those that wasn’t for me. Thanks πŸ™‚

  10. Greg Hill September 6, 2017 / 2:36 am

    I liked Dangerous Girls a lot, so I was going to try Dangerous Boys too but a few people now have said that it’s not as good. Maybe I’ll skip. I did read The Invisible Library but haven’t been super motivated to read the next one. Oh and I liked the Slated series but it was kind of slow- moving and did take forever to get anywhere, I have to agree.

    • iloveheartlandx September 6, 2017 / 10:33 am

      Yeah I wouldn’t recommend it, it’s not a direct sequel, more of a companion, so there’s no real need to read it. Oh really? Glad to hear I’m not missing out on anything then. Yes, it took me so long to get through the first one so I don’t think I’ll ever try the rest.

  11. Louise βœ¨πŸ¦‡ September 6, 2017 / 3:05 am

    I’m currently reading Dangerous Girls and I’m not feeling it so far, but I’m barely at 100 pages so I’ll keep going and hopefully I’ll get into it more. It’s been a long time since I read Slated and I did like it but I never got around to reading the end of the series for some reason.

    • iloveheartlandx September 6, 2017 / 10:30 am

      Oh that’s a shame! It does get a lot better at the end. I hope you get around to reading the rest of the series at some point.

  12. hannawsreads September 6, 2017 / 4:17 am

    During this week I’ve seen so many telling that they had hard time with A Court of Thorns and Roses and didn’t like it as much as they thought. I’m surprised ’cause I thought it’s gotten only hype around it. I can’t obviously say anything since I haven’t read it yet and don’t know if or when I’m even getting to that.

    • iloveheartlandx September 6, 2017 / 10:17 am

      I think it’s just more common to see the hype that it is the criticism but those of us who had trouble with it are out there!

  13. ChrissiReads September 6, 2017 / 5:04 am

    I felt the same about Dangerous Boys. I think my expectations were too high.

  14. jessticulates September 6, 2017 / 8:16 am

    Great list! The Night Circus made my list this week, too, and I’ve never been able to get into Sarah J. Maas’s work. I’m sorry to see The Invisible Library on your list – I’m just about to start reading it, so hopefully I’ll enjoy it more. =)

    • iloveheartlandx September 6, 2017 / 10:10 am

      Thanks! I’m glad I’m not the only one, everyone else seems to have loved it! I do like SJM’s books but some of them have been more of a struggle than others. Aww that’s a shame, I hope you enjoy it more than I did too!

  15. everythingalyce September 6, 2017 / 9:15 am

    I disagree with you on a couple of these! The Archived is still the only V.E. Schwab book I’ve read, but I absolutely loved it, and I really enjoyed Panic by Lauren Oliver, too.
    That being said, I also struggled with Slated (I couldn’t finish the last book in the series), and I haven’t been able to motivate myself to read any more Sarah J. Maas books after A Court of Thorns and Roses took me nearly a month to finish. I also totally agree with your opinion of Stealing Snow: I think it was the worst book I read last year!

    • iloveheartlandx September 6, 2017 / 10:06 am

      Fair enough! I did like The Archived just not as much as other Schwab books I’ve read. I think with Panic, I just thought it was something different to what it was, and had I known what it really was, I never would have picked it up. I’m glad I’m not the only one who struggled with Slated. I liked ACOMAF a lot better than ACOTAR, but all SJM books are quite slow going to begin with. Ugh me too!

  16. Victoria September 6, 2017 / 9:18 am

    I completely agree with Slated, I didn’t enjoy that book at all! Cinder, though, I loved pretty fast. And I enjoyed ACOTAR, but not nearly as much as the second one.
    Thanks for visiting my blog! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx September 6, 2017 / 10:03 am

      Glad it’s not just me! Most people seemed too, I guess I’m just the black sheep for that one. Yes, the second one is so much better. No problem πŸ™‚

  17. Cait @ Paper Fury September 6, 2017 / 10:38 am

    I relate to SO MANY of these omg. I really couldn’t handle Panic (it seemed so silly though?!) and I struggled so bad with A Study In Charlotte (totally with you on the characters being super flat) and The Bone Season was such a ME book but I was so confused. So definite cross over that one.πŸ˜‚ I totally got turned off SJM’s books with her characters doing those 180 personality flips. And Celaena became so cruel and rude and dismissive of her friends that I was like NOPE OUT. 😭😭 And Stealing Snow was just a hot mess haha. Okay a cold mess? πŸ˜‚

    • iloveheartlandx September 6, 2017 / 4:28 pm

      I’m glad! Oh I know, me too, like all these kids are doing these crazy things and getting away with it and no one stopped them? Their parents, the police no one? I just couldn’t get that. Plus I was expecting it to be totally different, and it’s like rude, you weren’t at all what I thought you were going to be! The Bone Season was definitely quite confusing, but I enjoyed the sequels a lot more than the first one, so I didn’t mind so much that I wasn’t keen on the first. Yes QOS was particularly bad for that, but by that point, you’re kind of invested in the story, so I didn’t really want to drop it! Haha yes, Stealing Snow was definitely a cold mess!

  18. Louise September 6, 2017 / 1:11 pm

    I was a little underwhelmed by A Court of Thorns and Roses too. I think it was just overhyped to me.

  19. Jenn I September 6, 2017 / 1:20 pm

    I loved The Night Circus but I can see how it could be confusing and frustrating at times. And your next week topic sounds great! Can’t wait to read it. πŸ™‚ And happy early birthday!!

    • iloveheartlandx September 6, 2017 / 4:16 pm

      I think it was just a case of the book wasn’t for me! Thank you πŸ™‚

  20. rantsandravesofabibliophile September 6, 2017 / 1:24 pm

    Oh, no, The Night Circus is one of my favorite books. I always try to reread it during the fall. I am also not a fan of Cinder; it fell flat for me.

    • iloveheartlandx September 6, 2017 / 4:10 pm

      I know lots of people love it, it just wasn’t for me! Yes, Cinder felt flat to me too.

  21. Alison Doherty September 6, 2017 / 1:48 pm

    I love The Night Circus. But I had the same reaction to A Court of Thorns and Roses & A Court of Mist and Fury. The second one just felt so much more alive to me!

    • iloveheartlandx September 6, 2017 / 4:01 pm

      Most people seem to, I think I’m just the black sheep on that one! Yes, the second one definitely felt more alive to me too πŸ™‚

  22. ericarobyn September 6, 2017 / 1:49 pm

    I also gave up on The Invisible Library-Genevieve Cogman. I was just SO bored with it. And oh my gosh, I pushed through Stealing Snow-Danielle Paige…and ended up being so angry at myself for pushing through! That certainly wasn’t a book for me.

    • iloveheartlandx September 6, 2017 / 3:59 pm

      I didn’t give up on it, I should have done though, I was so bored and confused throughout! Yes, Stealing Snow definitely wasn’t for me either.

  23. alicerosesimmons September 6, 2017 / 2:53 pm

    Great list! I still have yet to read ACOTAR, but did struggle to really get into Throne of Glass at first. I also actually loved Cinder, and found it was one that I just flew straight through!

    • iloveheartlandx September 6, 2017 / 3:33 pm

      Thanks! Yes, I did too, but I love the series now. Fair enough, most people seem to feel that way, I think I’m just the black sheep on that one πŸ™‚

  24. Sara Walker September 6, 2017 / 4:12 pm

    Oh, I resonated with so much of your list. I always tend to have to slog though The Throne of Glass series (with the exception of Heir of Fire- which was also my favourite). I have tried multiple times to read The Archived with no success- I just couldn’t get into it. With that being said, I have A Study in Charlotte slated for this month- I am worried it’ll put me in a slump, I also have been curious about Graceling.

    Great list.

    • iloveheartlandx September 6, 2017 / 5:08 pm

      Thanks! I’ve only really found it since reading Heir of Fire, since the books have got bigger, I’ve found them harder to get through (with the exception of Heir of Fire which I loved). Yes, I did find it difficult to get into The Archived, I think Victoria Schwab has much better books. I mean you might like it better than I did, I don’t know! I personally wouldn’t recommend Graceling, I think there are much more enjoyable fantasy books out there, but you may like it more than I did. Thank you πŸ™‚

  25. Kayla Wagner September 6, 2017 / 4:14 pm

    I’ve heard similar things about the Night Circus from a couple of my friends who have read it. Which is one of the reasons I haven’t picked it up. The Invisible Library is also on my TBR because it sounds so good, hopefully I don’t have the same issues 😦

    • iloveheartlandx September 6, 2017 / 5:04 pm

      I think it’s a very marmite book, you either really love it or you don’t. I mean just because I didn’t like it, doesn’t mean you won’t.

  26. lindseyhabets September 6, 2017 / 5:10 pm

    I totally relate to you about CInder, but I hope you’ll still enjoy the rest of the series! I thought they got better and better after Cinder, so maybe you’ll feel the same πŸ™‚

  27. Hope (@HopeSLavender) September 6, 2017 / 5:44 pm

    I’ve read a few blogs say Caraval was a better version of the Night Circus. To which I totally disagree, I loved the Night Circus. But Have you read Caraval? Hahaha, the blurb of Panic was misleading. And it was slow. I guess I like slow building books. I ended up really enjoying it, thought I wouldn’t say I’d read it again.

    • iloveheartlandx September 6, 2017 / 5:53 pm

      I have read Caraval and I preferred it to the The Night Circus. Yes it was very misleading. I don’t mind slow building books but I do have limits.

  28. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense September 6, 2017 / 7:15 pm

    One of Us Is Lying is on my long list for October reads. I’m so sad that you it didn’t work for you.

    • iloveheartlandx September 7, 2017 / 11:42 am

      I hope it works out better for you though! I have seen lots of people enjoy it, so you might be one of those and not a black sheep like me.

  29. Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads September 7, 2017 / 1:31 am

    I’m not surprised at all to see Stealing Snow on this list, haha. I remember I was really excited to read it until I started seeing tons of negative reviews from bloggers. I still don’t think I’ve seen a single person who enjoyed it.

  30. Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight September 7, 2017 / 2:03 am

    I feel you with Queen of Shadows. I had basically given up on even bothering with EoS but since you said it was better, maybe I’ll try. I also agree so much with Cinder! I liked it but I was definitely underwhelmed. And I agree about Panic being misleading, though I didn’t dislike it, I was hoping for something darker. Sad about Dangerous Boys too, I liked Dangerous Girls so much, so I’m disappointed to hear that it didn’t live up. Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx September 7, 2017 / 11:37 am

      Yup it was a tough slog! EoS was definitely better. Yes, Cinder was perfectly fine but I’d heard so much about TLC that I thought it would be incredible and I was a little disappointed. As was I, the blurb made it sound so good and it just wasn’t at all what I expected. Dangerous Boys wasn’t bad, I think my expectations were just too high after Dangerous Girls. Thanks πŸ™‚

  31. Agnes September 7, 2017 / 3:50 am

    I thought I’d enjoyed Graceling, but after you pointed out how she was portrayed as a “strong female character” where strength is taken literally and takes away from the “female” aspect… yeah, that was odd.

    Also, I’ve learned to lower my expectations for retellings. It’s hard to get the sweet spot between straying enough from the source material to be original and refreshing, staying true to the essence of the original tale, and not going down the predictable “dark and twisted” route. :))

    • iloveheartlandx September 7, 2017 / 11:31 am

      Yeah it’s a real problem with the strong female character trope in general, their strength often seems to overshadow any feminine attributes, when really they should complement each other.
      Yes, I have noticed that, it’s a very fine line to walk and it does seem to be tricky to get right. I have yet to read a retelling that’s really wowed me, but I’m still holding out hope!

  32. Rachel @ Chocolate and Chapters September 7, 2017 / 6:35 pm

    I’ve actually seen “A Court of Thorns and Roses” on quite a few of these TTT lists! I’ve never read it myself, but I wonder what I’ll think of it when I do get around to it… And yes about everything you said about “Cinder.” Totally agree.

    And that’s interesting about “Dangerous Boys”! I read “Dangerous Girls” recently and loved it. I haven’t gotten around to “Dangerous Boys” yet so I’ll see what I think of it.

    • iloveheartlandx September 7, 2017 / 8:28 pm

      It’s quite a slow starter, so it is a bit of a struggle to get through. I hope you enjoy it! Oh good, I’m glad I’m not alone on that one. I think I might have enjoyed Dangerous Boys had I read it first (as both were published at the time), but my expectations were just too high post Dangerous Girls.

  33. elfduchess September 8, 2017 / 3:17 pm

    I totally agree with you on Graceling. Endless journey stories never work for me and, though I did enjoy it somewhat at the time, I can totally see how problematic Katsa’s ‘feminism’ is, now. (Feminism is NOT hating a woman because she wants to be a mother and likes ‘girly’ things.) Cinder…oh, Cinder was a book that had my attention from the first moment I saw that amazing cover. Unfortunately, I didn’t really care for it. I do hope you like the sequel more, because I totally did. In fact, Scarlet is my favorite book of the series.

    • iloveheartlandx September 9, 2017 / 1:01 pm

      Thanks! Yes me either, I enjoy quests and journeys, but there has to be some action along the way otherwise it gets dull fast. Yes exactly. It really rubs me the wrong way when a character like that is shown to be feminist, because that’s not what feminism is. I had heard so much about The Lunar Chronicles before I read it, so I was a little disappointed that I didn’t like it as much as everyone else. Oh really? Well that’s great to hear!

  34. littlefoxandreads September 8, 2017 / 10:22 pm

    I totally agree with you on Cinder. I’ve tried to pick it up so many times and I end up loving the first few chapters but I just find myself so bored. I want to love it because of the cool premise but it’s a bit underwhelming, like you said!

  35. The Girl in Boots September 9, 2017 / 2:53 pm

    Yeah, Cinder is a slow start, but the series is so amazing! I hope you like Scarlett! πŸ™‚

  36. Annemieke September 9, 2017 / 6:15 pm

    The Archived is the first book by Schwab I read and personally I really liked it. For me her This Savage Song was quite a bit underwhelming.

    • iloveheartlandx September 10, 2017 / 9:55 am

      This Savage Song was a little underwhelming for me too, I think the Shades of Magic books are her best, personally.

  37. Lois September 10, 2017 / 8:07 pm

    I think Sarah J Maas’ books are not for me. The concept of her books sound intriguing but the execution of the plot and the characterisations throw me off. I can’t see myself reading her books any time soon unfortunately. I do think that the Lunar Chronicles gets better with each book. The first book was a little bit underwhelming but the second book builds up on it and in the end you have an epic series.

    • iloveheartlandx September 11, 2017 / 2:27 pm

      Fair enough, she’s not for everyone! The great thing about reading is that we have so many options! Well that’s good to hear πŸ™‚

  38. Olivia September 11, 2017 / 8:53 am

    Cinder is the worst of the series. I liked it a lot because I found the concept interesting but compared to the later novels it’s a bit lacking. I’m not sure Sarah J. Maas is for me. I like some of her stuff but I’m not in love with it. Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx September 11, 2017 / 2:26 pm

      I’m glad it’s not just me! Fair enough, her books aren’t for everyone. Thanks πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

