#RockMyTBR August Update (2017)

Hi all! It’s the beginning of September, what? I have just over a week before I return to Uni, the last time I did one of these I had 5 1/2, how did this happen?! I’m actually looking forward to returning to Uni though, I haven’t seen one of my Uni friends since before we returned home for the summer, so it will be nice to see her again. Plus, it’s my 21st birthday in 11 days, so that’s pretty exciting! Anyway, that’s totally off topic, the point is, it’s September, I’m here with another #RockMyTBR update for you all, my monthly updates of how tackling my TBR has been going over the last month (not that it helps any, the darn thing is growing of it’s own accord by this point). August was pretty successful in terms of reading, I read 3 books and am 4 books ahead of my reading challenge, which I put up to 34 books (one more than last year), so I’m pretty happy with that. Here’s what I read this month:

23006119Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo:

This was my #RockMyTBR read for the month. I read this from 1st-8th August, which I was pretty pleased with as it’s quite a hefty book and I don’t usually read books like that in a week, but that just goes to show how addictive this book is! I’m really glad I loved this one as it was so hyped and if I hadn’t liked it I would have felt really bad as it sounded like it was something that was right up my alley. I recently bought Crooked Kingdom and am really excited to read it. Here is my review of it:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/08/10/six-of-crows-six-of-crows-1-review/

35299976Resurrection by Derek Landy:

This was my second read of the month, which I read from 8th-20th August. I love Skulduggery Pleasant so obviously I was really excited for this new one after a three year break from the series. I did love some things about it, but it wasn’t my favourite book in the series and definitely felt more of a reintroduction book than anything else, I think better is still to come from this new, revamped Skulduggery. Here is my review of it:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/08/20/resurrection-skulduggery-pleasant-10-review/

28260402The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon:

THIS BOOK GUYS! I read this one from 21st-28th August and loved every single second of it. Finally, the book was more streamlined, the plot was better paced, the character development of Paige was stunning and the scope of the world is starting to be expanded. I cannot wait for the fourth book to release next year and join Paige on the next stage of her journey. Here is my review of it:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/08/30/the-song-rising-the-bone-season-3-review/

That’s what I read in August, here is what I plan to read in September (aka the month where I die under the weight of new books. Birthday + new book releases=Poor but very happy Jo):

Glass Sword-Victoria Aveyard-This is the one I’m reading at the moment, the sequel to Red Queen, I started reading it on Monday before going to her event! It’s still a bit slow at the moment and the chapters are rather long, which is a little off-putting to me. I’m hoping it will pick up soon as I want to finish it before I go back to Uni next week.

And I Darken-Kiersten White-This is my #RockMyTBR read for this month, I’m really excited for it because I’ve heard such good things and historical fiction with a female Vlad The Impaler sounds right up my alley so I’m hoping I enjoy it.

Charlotte Says-Alex Bell-I’ve finally managed to get my Adobe Reader on my laptop working so I downloaded this one as my Netgalley read for the month! I don’t feel like I’m far enough into the book to judge how I feel about it yet, but I’m definitely getting the same creepy vibes as from the first book.

Tower of Dawn-Sarah J Maas-This one is a little ambitious and I probably won’t get it done before the end of September because I’m sure it’s going to be a mammoth like her other books, but I think I’d like to at least start it before the end of September.

I’m 4 books ahead of my Goodreads Challenge at the moment, and that’s after I upped it to 34 books, so I’m quite pleased with that! This month is probably the last month that I’ll really get a lot of reading done as summer is nearly over, I’ll likely be back to two books a month once I get back to Uni, but at least the summer has given me a nice cushion for the rest of the year! How are you guys doing with your reading goals so far this year? What have you been reading lately? Let me know in the comments!

 

8 thoughts on “#RockMyTBR August Update (2017)

  1. Alimo @ A Library Monster September 1, 2017 / 8:39 pm

    This August, I read 13 books, and am now 20 books ahead of schedule (I don’t want to up it because winter is coming and I’ll br super busy, so best see my pace first !). I’m so glad you loved Six of Crows ! Indeed it’s got SO much hype around it, but it lives up to it ❤ The last 3 books I read were Daughter of The Burning City by Amanda Foody, a reread of Divergent by Veronica Roth, and Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi !

    • iloveheartlandx September 1, 2017 / 8:46 pm

      Wow that’s amazing! Yes, that’s probably a smart idea, I may end up putting it down if I’m busy when I get back to Uni. Yes, so am I, I was so worried I wouldn’t and then I’d have to be the black sheep for that series, which is really not a place you want to be in. It definitely does! Ooh sounds good, I’m hoping to read Daughter of The Burning City soon, I think it will be my next Netgalley read (I’m so behind, the UK release date is next week!).

      • Alimo @ A Library Monster September 1, 2017 / 8:54 pm

        Thank you 😊 That black sheep expression is so true 😂 I hope you enjoy it ! It’s not too long of a book, so you can do it, I believe in you 💙 💪

      • iloveheartlandx September 1, 2017 / 9:20 pm

        No problem 🙂 I hope so too, I’m going to read it as soon as I’m done with my current Netgalley book!

  2. Sara (@Forever17Books) September 5, 2017 / 3:07 am

    I still need to read Crooked Kingdom but I loved Six of Crows! My August was awful for book reading and I went from 4 books ahead to 4 behind. 😦 Hopefully September treats me better.

    Happy early birthday!

    • iloveheartlandx September 5, 2017 / 10:17 am

      I still need to red Crooked Kingdom too! Aww that”s a shame, I hope your September reading treats you better too. Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

