Victoria Aveyard Event Recap

Hi everyone! So this week Victoria Aveyard has been on her first UK tour, and I was lucky enough to be in Scotland at a time that coincided with her Scottish events, so I went to her event in Glasgow on Monday. I’ve only actually read the first of Victoria Aveyard’s books (Red Queen), though I am currently reading the sequel, but the event was free and I love meeting authors (and I did like Red Queen), so I figured I’d go along and I’m glad I did as I had a great time.

I got the train to Glasgow in the afternoon, as I wanted to do a bit of shopping before the event, and Glasgow has a really big Waterstones that you can basically spend hours in (unfortunately not the same Waterstones that the event was in!), so I went there and then did some other shopping before the event in the evening.

It took me a while to actually find the shop, I had never been to Argyle Street before and I ended up walking in the complete opposite direction to the Waterstones! I realized my mistake and was luckily only five minutes late by the time I arrived at the shop. I didn’t know where the event was, but luckily I heard Victoria speaking, so I went upstairs and slipped in the back (thank goodness there was a chair left).

The event was a Q&A with another author Elizabeth May, who basically asked Victoria questions about the Red Queen series, her writing inspirations, the usual sorts of things really. It was a talk about the latest book King’s Cage, but luckily there were no real spoilers in the questions that Elizabeth asked Victoria, it was more general questions about the series, which was good as I have only read the first book! It was very interesting to hear about her inspirations for the series, especially when she mentioned The Hunger Games as I’ve always felt Red Queen has a Hunger Games-esque vibe. Also as I started watching Game of Thrones this year, I definitely appreciated how much love she had for that show.

Once the talk was over, the floor was opened to questions from the audience. There was a variety of questions from writing related ones, to totally unrelated questions about Game of Thrones, to questions that she couldn’t answer because they were spoilers for the fourth book! I didn’t ask a question because I was right at the back and I’m not really sure they could see me, but it was interesting to hear Victoria’s answers to the questions. I particularly loved that she said she made Mare’s parents decent because her parents asked her to, I thought that was pretty cool.

After the questions, it was time for the signing. The queue was pretty long, but I had a relatively decent place in it and chatted to the girls behind me (they probably thought I was super weird but they seemed nice enough). A man came by with post it notes, so he could take our names for Victoria to sign in the books.

It didn’t take too long for me to get to the front of the queue. They were moving us along pretty fast, so I simply gave Victoria my books to sign, thanked her for not talking about any spoilers for the most recent book in her talk (and she thanked me for reminding her so that she knew not to do it for the rest of the tour!) and then took my books. It was all over rather quickly really, but I’ve been to enough author signings that I know you don’t get all that much time to talk to the authors.

The shop was open late because of the signing, so I took advantage of that and had a little wander around after I’d had my books signed. I didn’t find anything that I wanted to buy but it was nice to be able to just have a look once the event was over.

And that was it! A short but sweet event and one that I’m very happy I went to (I’m really hoping I enjoy Glass Sword now, because it’s signed and personalised!) as it was a lot of fun. I would definitely go to another Victoria Aveyard event if she was to come back to the UK.

I unfortunately didn’t get any pictures, I wanted to, but no one else seemed to be getting pictures with Victoria, so I felt kind of awkward asking! Sorry guys!

Has anyone else been to any of Victoria Aveyard’s events (in the UK or otherwise)? Did you have a good time? Let me know in the comments!

I will have my August #RockMyTBR update for you guys up tomorrow, so stay tuned for that!

13 thoughts on “Victoria Aveyard Event Recap

  1. The Wanderlust Reader August 31, 2017 / 9:57 pm

    I’ve never been to one of her events but I’ve been dying to go because I love her series and she seems so nice! I’m so happy you had a good time!

    • iloveheartlandx August 31, 2017 / 10:02 pm

      Thanks! I would definitely recommend it if you ever get the chance, she was lovely and the event was so much fun!

  2. journeyintobooks August 31, 2017 / 10:02 pm

    Glad you had a great time i own the first two books in her Red Queen series but have yet to read them.

  3. Daan @ A Library Monster September 3, 2017 / 10:56 am

    Oh, I’m totally jealous 😂 I hope you enjoy Glass Sword, I loved it so much ! I’d recommend getting King’s Cage because you’re in for a cliffhanger 😂

    • iloveheartlandx September 3, 2017 / 8:51 pm

      I’m struggling a bit with Glass Sword actually, unfortunately. I have heard that it ends on a cliffhanger, I’m hoping I will enjoy King’s Cage more, if I decide to read it.

Leave a Reply

