Top Ten Tuesday #122

1fe45-toptentuesday

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve had a great week since I last did one of these, I definitely have, I spent a couple of days with my friend from Uni, Nicola last week, which was fun, I had a bookish shopping filled day in Edinburgh, my parents had friends to stay over the weekend and I went to Victoria Aveyard’s Glasgow signing yesterday, so it’s been a pretty packed week! Another Tuesday means another Top Ten Tuesday from the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish, and this week is Top Ten Hidden Gems in X Genre. I was going to do Top Ten Hidden Fantasy Gems, but I haven’t actually read too many Fantasy books that I would consider to be Hidden Gems, so I’m just going to do Top Ten YA Hidden Gems, I know YA is a demographic rather than a genre, but what can I say? I’m a rebel! So here we go, my YA Hidden Gems:

  1. Cross My Heart-Carmen Reid

I literally know of no one else who has read this book, it has under 300 ratings on Goodreads and yet, it’s stunning! It has a great main character, a fast paced plot and talks about a lesser known aspect of WWII. If you love historical YA, I would definitely recommend this one!

2. Pure Trilogy-Julianna Baggott

This one was kind of lost in the sea of dystopian books in the late 00’s-early 10’s I think, as I never hear anyone else talk about it! It’s a strange post apocalyptic world, where the world was decimated by a nuclear apocalypse, and those on the outside suffered strange fusings, while the chosen few who got into the Dome are totally Pure. I liked this series, it was very different to a lot of books I was reading at the time and I thought the world the author created was very cool.

3. Hate List-Jennifer Brown

It’s got relatively good ratings on Goodreads, but it’s not one that I hear people talk about a lot, so I think that means I can count it as a hidden gem. It’s a school shooting story, but in the end, the shooting is actually the least important part, it’s all about Val, who was the girlfriend of the shooter and how the shooting impacted her and people’s opinion of her. It’s a very emotional read, but something I would definitely recommend.

4. Breathe-Sarah Crossan

This one is on the list for much the same reason as Pure, it’s a dystopia that I really don’t hear a lot of people talk about. It’s set in a world that is without trees and therefore oxygen has been depleted, which I thought was a really cool concept and was quite surprised that I hadn’t read anything else like it before.

5. The Glory-Lauren St John

Okay, so I suppose equestrian stories are quite niche, but even with that, this a great story with fantastic character development, a fast plot and an excellent slow burn romance, so if you like horse books, this is definitely a good one to try.

6. Young Sherlock Holmes Series-Andrew Lane

This series of Sherlock as a teenager is such a riot, it’s so much fun watching young Sherlock develop into the recognisable and loved character that we know as an adult and Lane has Sherlock go to so many cool places from London to France to Russia to Edinburgh to China to Ireland to Oxford to India, every book is a new adventure and a new crime for Sherlock to solve!

7. Every Breath-Ellie Marney

I had barely heard of this book before I read it and I have no idea why, because it was a great Sherlock retelling! It’s a bit of a slow starter but once it gets going, it’s really good. The Watson/Sherlock equivalent team are great, there is a great slow burn romance and an interesting mystery running through the book. Definitely a good one for Sherlock fans.

8. 13 Minutes-Sarah Pinborough

This was one of my favourite books I read last summer, it was a really twisty mystery thriller that was a lot of fun to read, it’s kind of like Mean Girls, if Mean Girls also included a girl being dead for 13 minutes!

9. The Truth About Celia Frost-Paula Rawsthorne

I really enjoyed this mystery story, it was engaging, twisty and I was just as invested in finding out what was up with the main character as she was, which I think is the mark of a good mystery!

10. HIVE Series-Mark Walden

It’s a school for future criminals set inside a volcano, you have thieves, hackers, general criminal masterminds and the teachers are all successful criminals, one of them is even a cat! Need I say more?

That’s all I have for this week! Have you read any of these books? What are your hidden YA gems? Let me know in the comments!

I will have a new TTT for you next week, the topic is Top Ten Books You Struggled To Get Into But Ended Up Loving, so that should be a fun one to do. In the meantime, I will have a review of my latest read and a recap of the Victoria Aveyard event that I went to up very soon.

53 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #122

  1. alilovesbooks August 29, 2017 / 9:54 pm

    Great list. I have 13 minutes but haven’t gotten around to reading yet so I’m happy to hear it’s good. I also keep eyeing Hate List but wasn’t sure about a school shooting book.

    • iloveheartlandx August 30, 2017 / 1:47 pm

      Thanks! I hope you enjoy it. Hate List is really good, and honestly it’s more about the consequences of the shooting than the shooting itself.

    • iloveheartlandx August 30, 2017 / 1:41 pm

      There’s so many out there, it’s impossible to read everything! I know, that’s basically my life mantra. Thank you πŸ™‚

  2. Birdie August 29, 2017 / 11:11 pm

    The Hate List was good! I almost included it on my list too. πŸ™‚

  3. readingwithjessica August 29, 2017 / 11:43 pm

    I haven’t read any of these but can’t wait to check them out. Great list!

  4. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense August 30, 2017 / 1:31 am

    I haven’t thought about the Pure trilogy for years, but I loved that one so much. I’m trying to think if I ever finished the series. Must hunt it down on Goodreads. Thanks for the reminder!

    • iloveheartlandx August 30, 2017 / 1:32 pm

      No problem! It was a great series, I hope you enjoy the rest of it, if you didn’t finish.

  5. LHauser27 August 30, 2017 / 1:58 am

    Hi! I haven’t read The Hate List yet but at one point it was on my TBR. πŸ™‚
    My TTT
    Leslie

  6. Greg Hill August 30, 2017 / 2:04 am

    The Pure trilogy sounds good, nice that it’s a little different. I imagine a lot of books got lost in the dystopia rush a few years back!

    • iloveheartlandx August 30, 2017 / 1:29 pm

      It was very good! Yes, I am realising now we’re out of the dystopia craze, how much I actually missed.

  7. hannawsreads August 30, 2017 / 4:57 am

    Haven’t heard about any of these but there’s some that’ll make my TBR!

  8. Katie N August 30, 2017 / 5:12 am

    I haven’t heard about quite a few books on your list, which is why I’m loving this TTT topic, I love seeing lists about hidden gems! I’m going to have to look into some of these titles!

    Thank you for stopping by our TTT at Owl Always be Reading!

    • iloveheartlandx August 30, 2017 / 1:26 pm

      Yes, it is a great one for finding new books! I hope you enjoy some of these. No problem πŸ™‚

  9. Alexandra P. August 30, 2017 / 6:12 am

    I’ve heard great things about all these books! Thank you for the reccomendations!

  10. thebookishlibra August 30, 2017 / 1:00 pm

    All of these are new to me. I’ll have to check them out so thanks for the recs πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx August 30, 2017 / 1:18 pm

      No problem! I hope you enjoy any that you decide to read πŸ™‚

  11. Anastasia August 30, 2017 / 2:55 pm

    Victoria Aveyard signing!! Cool! And also I’m so jealous! No good authors ever come to Finland o.O
    Hive series sounds like something I would like! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx August 30, 2017 / 4:05 pm

      It was a lot of fun! That’s a real shame, I think authors would love to go to more places, it’s just dependant on their publishers. It’s a lot of fun!

  12. Annemieke August 30, 2017 / 6:07 pm

    I haven’t heard of most of these but I’ll have to check them out.

  13. Sarah August 30, 2017 / 6:28 pm

    I’ve managed to miss all of these! But I do love Sherlock Holmes, so the Young Sherlock Holmes series might be something I have to look into!

    • iloveheartlandx August 30, 2017 / 7:29 pm

      They’re all at least a few years old, so understandable! You definitely should πŸ™‚

  14. Beth (Reading Every Night) August 30, 2017 / 7:34 pm

    The only one of these I’ve actually read is 13 Minutes. I thought it was an incredible book, and I definitely agree with your description of it as Mean Girls if that film had included a girl dead for 13 minutes. πŸ™‚
    Great list. πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx August 30, 2017 / 7:36 pm

      Thanks! I’m glad to hear you liked 13 Minutes and would definitely recommend trying the other books on this list πŸ™‚

  15. Ashley DeWitt August 30, 2017 / 9:04 pm

    I did the same thing, and recommended YA.
    There are just so many hidden gems in YA to share I couldn’t help it.
    This makes me so excited, because I haven’t read any of these.
    I will be adding most of them to my TBR for sure.
    Thanks for sharing =)
    Ashley @ Books To The Tea

    • iloveheartlandx August 31, 2017 / 10:14 am

      Yes, it was a lot easier to find lots of hidden gems from different genres in YA than just pick one! Oh yay, I’m glad! No problem πŸ™‚

  16. Christine August 31, 2017 / 4:30 pm

    I couldn’t think of enough books of a particular genre either haha. So I looked up Cross My Heart and all the reviews are so promising. I like learning about WWII and the fact that Nicola is a spy intrigues me even more. I’ll have to read this one for sure so thanks for the recommendation! 13 Minutes sounds pretty interesting too! I love a good mystery/thriller book!

    • iloveheartlandx August 31, 2017 / 8:37 pm

      I’m glad I wasn’t the only one! Yes, Cross My Heart is so good, it’s a shame so few people seem to have heard of it. No problem. Yes, it is very good, would definitely recommend.

  17. Daan August 31, 2017 / 7:51 pm

    These sound really good ! I’m super intrigued about Breathe, and the Young Sherlock series ! This past tuesday I found out about so many books I didn’t even hear about, but that sounded SO good 😭 My TBR will soon grow limbs and strangle me in my sleep πŸ˜‚

    • iloveheartlandx August 31, 2017 / 8:33 pm

      They are! Ooh both very good, hope you enjoy if you read them. Yes, I loved this topic for that, it was great fun to find out about lesser known books. I know, but think of all the books……they’ll make you so happy!

      • Daan August 31, 2017 / 8:50 pm

        Thank you ! I do love my TBR so much ❀ So many books I know will give me a blast !

      • iloveheartlandx August 31, 2017 / 9:59 pm

        No problem! Ha ha yeah, I know we complain about the sizes of our TBRs a lot, but we wouldn’t have it any other way.

      • Daan August 31, 2017 / 10:07 pm

        Exactly πŸ˜‚

  18. Chachic September 1, 2017 / 5:44 pm

    I haven’t read any of these but I have Ellie Marney’s Sherlock books on my TBR pile. I have so many Aussie YA titles that I want to read, just need to find the time to do so.

    • iloveheartlandx September 1, 2017 / 8:42 pm

      I would recommend all of them. I can’t say anything for the rest of Ellie Marney’s trilogy, but the first book was great! I hope you enjoy it when you get around to it.

  19. KliScruggs September 1, 2017 / 10:10 pm

    Man, I haven’t heard of ANY of your recommendations. Time to start reading more fantasy!!

    • iloveheartlandx September 3, 2017 / 8:54 pm

      Actually ironically for me, none of these are fantasy! All YA though πŸ™‚

  20. Lois September 3, 2017 / 6:28 pm

    I’ve never heard of any of these books but I’ll definitely be adding them to my tbr pile. πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx September 3, 2017 / 8:49 pm

      Great, glad to have helped you find some new books to read!

Leave a Reply

