Top Ten Tuesday #119

80e8d-toptentuesday

Hi everyone! I hope you all had a good week last week, mine was quiet for the most part, but I did get to spend the weekend in Amsterdam celebrating my sister’s birthday which was nice. I’m also going to see Mamma Mia in London on Saturday as an early 21st birthday celebration (my birthday is in about a month’s time), with one of my best friends, so I’m really excited about that! I’m back with my final makeshift TTT topic before the official Broke and Bookish prompts return next week (is it just me or did that six weeks go really quickly?). Anyway, this week I’ve decided to do Top Ten Older Books I Don’t Want People To Forget About, as I think as bloggers we do have a tendency to focus more on the shiny new pretties and forget about some of the amazing older books there are out there, so I’m going to talk about some of my favourites today! Here we go (these will all be books published more than 5 years ago):

  1. Noughts and Crosses-Malorie Blackman-First published 2001

Malorie Blackman’s dystopia about an alternate society where the dark skinned Crosses are in charge and treat the pale skinned Noughts as second class citizens, is even more important now in the current political climate. It’s such a powerful story about love and race and prejudice and it was one of my favourites when I was an actual YA (I first read it when I was about 13 and have devoured it again several times since).

2. Ballet Shoes-Noel Streatfeild-First published 1936

Yup a really old one! This was one of my favourite books as a child, it’s such a lovely story, not just about dance, but also choosing your own family and discovering who you are. Years later and I still really love the Fossil sisters!

3. Unwind-Neal Shusterman-First published 2007

I feel like a lot of people wouldn’t necessarily know about this one or remember it because it was published before The Hunger Games started the massive craze of YA dystopias. It’s an amazing, thought provoking, kind of creepy book set in a dystopian world the likes of which I’ve never read before, it’s such a unique concept, the whole kids being taken apart whilst alive in order to provide organs thing. Definitely read this one, you won’t regret it!

4. Blind Beauty-KM Peyton-First published 2001

No, it’s not like Black Beauty. It’s the story of Tessa, a troubled young girl and her horse Buffoon and the love they have for each other and the obstacles they overcome together. It’s such a beautiful story and again was one of my favourite books when I was an actual YA.

5. Pure-Julianna Baggott-First published 2012

This is a book that I feel may have been lost in the haze of YA dystopias, but it’s a very dark and gritty dystopian, set in this post-apocalyptic world after a nuclear apocalypse that has left most people with strange fusings and only the lucky few who were taken into “The Dome” are Pure, ie have no fusings. It’s a really cool world and a great concept and I feel like it’s often overlooked or not really heard about.

6. Sisterhood of The Traveling Pants-Ann Brashares-First published 2001

This was another of my favourite YAs when I was a teen, and if teens today aren’t reading this beautiful story of female friendship then they are definitely missing out on something.

7. The Heartland Series-Lauren Brooke-First Published from 2000-2003

These books were among my favourites when I was a pre-teen/in my early teens, I completely devoured any and all stories about horses and these books about Amy and her family and how she healed troubled horses were definitely ones I loved to read. I now love the TV series even more than I loved the books.

8. Artemis Fowl Series-Eoin Colfer-First Published from 2003-2012

I never hear anyone talking about these awesome middle grade fantasies which is such a shame! They’re so much fun and have one of the best anti-heroes I’ve ever read. It’s all fairies and pixies and centaurs and elves, it’s a classic type of fantasy story, which I just love and don’t think there’s enough of nowadays!

9. Between Shades of Grey-Ruta Sepetys-First Published 2011

I know Salt To The Sea was a big hit last year but I don’t want people to forget about her first book, Between Shades of Grey, it’s a beautiful, harrowing story about a family under Stalin’s deportations, and the sorrow but also the amazing strength and hope of people in that time.

10. The Roman Mysteries Series-Caroline Lawrence-First published 2001-2009

I never actually read the entirety of this series, I think I got to about 10 of 17, it just got impossible to find them after about the 10th book. I used to love them though, I would get them from the library every week when I went there and own a couple of my favourites from the series. I’m probably a little old to finish the series now, but I did love these when I was younger and would encourage any young reader interested in History to give them a try.

That’s all I have for this week, I’m going to be good and just stick to ten! Have you read any of these books? What are your favourite older books? Let me know in the comments!

I will have a new TTT for you guys next week, when the Broke and the Bookish girls return officially with new topics! The first topic back is Ten Recommendations for……..X, I’m not entirely sure what I’m going to use in place of the X, so you’ll just have to wait until next week to see. In the meantime, I have lots more planned for this week, so stay tuned!

 

 

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #119

  1. Mikky V August 8, 2017 / 4:25 pm

    I never read the Sisterhood Of The Traveling Pants By Ann Brashares, but I watched the movie. Does that count? I remember it being a very good story, but it never occurred to me to read the book :/

    • iloveheartlandx August 8, 2017 / 5:21 pm

      Sort of! You should definitely try the book though 🙂

  2. bookmuffin August 8, 2017 / 5:24 pm

    Hooray for Ballet Shoes! Definitely does not get enough recognition!

    • iloveheartlandx August 8, 2017 / 7:48 pm

      It really doesn’t! I don’t think many people know about it, it’s such an old book. I would never have come across her books at all were it not for a second hand book store.

  3. glaslynnie1 August 8, 2017 / 7:23 pm

    I’d forgotten about Roman Mysteries! Used to love them, I think the last one I read they were in Africa? Lost the plot a bit towards the end but definitely a great series 🙂 The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants books I loved too, although I wish I’d never read the fifth one…

    • iloveheartlandx August 8, 2017 / 7:49 pm

      Yes, I think most people have! The last one I read they were in Corinth. Yes I think it was kind of losing the plot when I stopped reading, but I did enjoy the first part of the series. I’ve never read the fifth one but I’m guessing from your reaction, I shouldn’t?

  4. The Wanderlust Reader August 8, 2017 / 8:06 pm

    Ahhh I loved the Heartland series when I was younger! The TV show is also amazing but I haven’t seen it from start to finish. Luckily it’s on Netflix so I can binge watch it! Love your TTT!

    • iloveheartlandx August 9, 2017 / 12:20 am

      Me too! Nice to meet someone else who did. Oh you definitely should, it’s all so good and Netflix is nearly caught up with it now I think! Thanks 🙂

  5. Cait @ Paper Fury August 9, 2017 / 11:35 am

    I will be SO relieved with the TTT prompts come back.😂 I NEED DIRECTION, GAHHHH. And I loved Unwind!! I need to finish the whole series but I thoroughly adored it. And by “adored” I mean I’m still so freaking traumatised I haven’t finished the rest.😂 Also I read the Roman Mystery books waaaay back and they’re so much fun!!

    • iloveheartlandx August 9, 2017 / 12:26 pm

      Ha ha me too! It has been a challenge having to choose my own topics the last month! It’s one of my absolute favourite series, but yes it is rather traumatizing. I’d say it gets better but I would be a liar. Yes they were a lot of fun, I read them when I was still a small child too!

  6. Elise @ Roaming Reader August 9, 2017 / 3:24 pm

    MORE PEOPLE SHOULD KNOW ABOUT UNWIND IT’S ONE OF MY FAVORITES!
    Also Between Shades of Gray is great! I didn’t like it as much as Salt to the Sea but it’s still really good and more people should read it

    • iloveheartlandx August 9, 2017 / 4:14 pm

      Mine too! Everyone seems to have forgotten about it, it makes me sad! Yes it is. Oh really, that’s interesting, for me it was the other way round!

      • Elise @ Roaming Reader August 9, 2017 / 4:41 pm

        Maybe it has something to do with me reading Between Shades of Gray after Salt to the Sea? Idk I really liked Between Shades of Gray but I think I expected more. I really loved the multiPOV in Salt to the Sea and I think it made me cry more. But I really appreciate the different POV it gave. You don’t see many novels told from inside Germany and there really aren’t a lot about Soviet Russia so that’s interesting.

      • iloveheartlandx August 9, 2017 / 4:55 pm

        To be fair, I did read Between Shades of Grey first so you might be right! I preferred the single POV in Between Shades of Grey because it meant I connected to Lina more than the characters in Salt To The Sea. Yes, I love how Ruta Sepetys takes lesser known historical events for her fiction.

      • Elise @ Roaming Reader August 10, 2017 / 2:06 am

        It seems like we liked each book better for opposite reasons XD (I liked the multiPOV and you liked the single POV) but that’s cool! Everyone has their own preference.
        It’s amazing how she highlights events I really wouldn’t have known much about had it not been for the books. I feel that we often forget the harm that came to so many people under the Soviet Union and I hadn’t even heard of the Wilhelm Gustloff before Salt to the Sea and so many people and families were hurt by that sinking. I guess my ramblings is just about how these events need to be told more 🙂

      • iloveheartlandx August 10, 2017 / 11:27 am

        Yes it does! I think it’s because I prefer first person POV and multi POV books don’t tend to do that as much? I do quite like multi POVs too though. I know, that’s one of the reasons I love her books so much. I’m a history geek (well history is part of my degree so it’s kind of a given!), so I love finding out about stuff I didn’t know about before. They definitely do!

  7. Faith Young August 9, 2017 / 10:21 pm

    It’s so true that we have a tendency to focus on new books! I really want to eventually read Between Shades of Grey and Unwind because I’ve heard good things about them for many years now!
    I love this topic & fabulous picks ❤

    • iloveheartlandx August 10, 2017 / 11:32 am

      We definitely do! I try to get a decent mix of older and newer releases on the blog but I think it does often tend more towards the newer ones. You definitely should, they are awesome! Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

