Top Ten Tuesday #115

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a good week since I last posted one of these, mine has once again been pretty quite but I have two pieces of good news, first off, I finally got a job! It’s a zero hour contract job but that kind of works perfectly for me since I’m only around for the summer. Second of all, I’m definitely going to YALC! Booked my ticket for the Saturday and will hopefully also be going on the Friday as well. Anyone else going to YALC? Hit me up in the comments, perhaps we can meet there!

Anyway, back to the topic at hand, the lovely Broke and Bookish ladies are still on hiatus (Good luck to Jamie, whose baby is due today!), but I’ve got another post pulled from the archives for you all to enjoy. This week I’ve chosen Top Ten Books I Wish I Could Read Again For The First Time. I have been a serial rereader through my life, although not so much now as I never have the time, but it’s never quite the same as experiencing a new book for the first time. Here are the ones I most wish I could revisit with fresh eyes:

  1. Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone-JK Rowling

Okay I know this is an obvious one and would probably be on most people’s list for this kind of thing, but I would love to be able to go back and experience the Wizarding World all over again for the first time. It’s wonderful to revisit these books (and I do, often!) but it’s not quite the same magic as reading the first book for the very first time.

2. The Lightning Thief-Rick Riordan

The Percy Jackson series is one of my absolute favourite book series and I would love to be able to experience the start of Percy’s adventures as a demigod over again for the first time!

3. My Sister’s Keeper-Jodi Picoult

This was the first ever book of Jodi Picoult’s that I read, and the one that got me hooked on her writing. I would love to be able to read it over again for the first time (and be totally mindblown by that ending!).

4. Dangerous Girls-Abigail Haas

I would love to be able to read this book again for the first time and experience all the twists and turns, not to mention that mind fuck of an ending!

5. Ballet Shoes-Noel Streatfield

This book was one of my childhood favourites, and whilst I love to return to childhood favourites every now and then, I’d love to be able to read this one again for the first time and experience it the same way I did as a kid.

6. Unwind-Neal Shusterman

This is one of my absolute favourite books, so I would love to be able to read it again for the first time and get to discover this creepy dystopian world all over again.

7. Blind Beauty-KM Peyton

This was another one of my favourite childhood books, I read it so many times when I was younger (I think it was actually my sister’s first!), but nothing will be as good as the first time I ever read it. Definitely one of my favourite horse stories!

8. The Book Thief-Markus Zusak

I LOVE this book so much. I don’t know if I’d ever be able to reread it, knowing what happens to some of the characters, but I would love to be able to experience this for the first time all over again.

9. A Darker Shade of Magic-VE Schwab

I don’t know if this is kind of a cheat, since I only read this book for the first time last year, but I got so swept up in the world and characters, and I’d love to have that feeling for the first time again!

10. Matilda-Roald Dahl

Another one of my childhood favourites, this book is one of those that makes you feel so proud and happy to be a bookworm and I would love to be able to experience that feeling again for the first time.

I think I’m going to stick at ten for this week, else I’ll just be listing all the books I’ve ever loved! Which books do you wish you could read over again for the first time? Anyone else going to YALC? Let me know in the comments!

These improvised TTTs will be continuing for the foreseeable future, as the B&B girls are on hiatus for another month or so, so next week I’ll be talking about Movie Adaptations That I Liked Better Than The Book. In the meantime, I will have a review of my latest read Frozen Charlotte for you guys very soon.

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #115

  1. tumbling into wonderland July 11, 2017 / 5:48 pm

    I almost chose to do this list! You have so many good books on this list. My Sister’s Keeper – that ending!

  2. bookmuffin July 11, 2017 / 5:53 pm

    So many good books on the list! I’ve never found anyone else who enjoyed Ballet Shoes as much as I did, it’s my most loved children’s book, and you can definitely tell from the condition my copy is in! I would love to read Harry Potter again for the first time, as with The Book Thief. Maybe we could get some sort selective amnesia? Is that a thing? Thanks for an enjoyable post 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx July 11, 2017 / 7:18 pm

      Thanks! Oh yes, it was one of my favourite books as a kid! I wish it was, but sadly I don’t think it is 🙂

  3. Cait @ Paper Fury July 11, 2017 / 10:55 pm

    CONGRATS ON THE JOB!! And omg so that’s why TTT is on holidays?!😂 That makes sense!! Eeep, congrats to Jamie!

    I also have books I’d love to revisit for the first time…if only we could.😂 HECK YES TO DANGEROUS GIRLS. That ending just knocked me over so so much. I’ve never read a thriller that got me as much as it did! (It’s totally underrated too, right!?) I’d really love to read The Raven Cycle for the first time again. ❤ And Strange the Dreamer! Which I literally just finished a few months ago but WHATEVER. I LOVED IT.

    • iloveheartlandx July 11, 2017 / 11:35 pm

      Thank you! Yup that’s why! Oh I know it would be so great if we could. Me either, it’s kind of a problem actually because it’s now the bar against which I measure all YA thrillers and nothing has ever lived up! Everything just seems mundane now compared to that ending! Yeah, no one really seems to know about it, at least outside of the community, which is a shame. Ooh I forgot about The Raven Cycle, but I would love to read that for the first time again too. No judgements here, I definitely have books I’ve read that I’ve wanted to read again for the first time soon after finishing them!

  4. Sarah @ Reviews and Readathons July 12, 2017 / 2:31 am

    I totally agree with Harry Potter & A Darker Shade of Magic. I’ve never read Dangerous Girls (which intrigues me from your description, so I added it to my TBR). Unwind is also on my TBR. Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx July 12, 2017 / 9:31 am

      It would definitely be great to read both of those again. Ooh yay, I hope you enjoy both of them. Thank you 🙂

  5. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense July 12, 2017 / 4:41 am

    I’ve only read The Book Thief once as well and am not sure I can go through all that emotion voluntarily. I really do want to reread it, but I know it’s going to hurt so much, so I’ve put it off.

    • iloveheartlandx July 12, 2017 / 9:30 am

      No me either! It’s much harder to go back into a book when you know it’s going to crush your soul!

  6. Kathy @ Books & Munches July 12, 2017 / 5:13 am

    Pretty sure if I’d “reread” Harry Potter now – as in read it at this age for the first time – I’d think the first couple of books were too childishly written, haha.

    Wish I was going to YALC as well.. But I heard about it too late and the boyfriend won’t let me. <.<
    [Which is understandable since it isn't that cheap to go back and forth between Belgium and Londen, haha]

    • iloveheartlandx July 12, 2017 / 9:29 am

      Potentially, although I know lots of people who have read Harry Potter as adults and still loved it 🙂 Oh that’s a shame! Hopefully you can get there next year.

  7. coffeelovingbookoholic July 12, 2017 / 6:20 am

    Congratulations on your job! 🙂
    Great list! I have an advantage though. I still have my first time with Harry Potter in front of me 😀

  8. Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads July 12, 2017 / 8:36 pm

    I totally wish that I could reread Harry Potter for the first time! Great list and congrats on the new job! 🙂

  9. everythingalyce July 12, 2017 / 10:24 pm

    Totally stealing this topic for my own TTT in a fortnight – such a great idea! This is a huge part of the reason I don’t reread many books: you don’t often get the same spark second time around, and I hate it when my favourites get tainted because my reading tastes have changed.

    • iloveheartlandx July 13, 2017 / 8:40 am

      Thanks! That’s true, although I do find that rereading can mean you pick up on details that you missed before.

  10. Rissi July 13, 2017 / 12:06 am

    Congrats on your exciting news – best of luck with the job! 🙂

    I haven’t read “Ballet Shoes,” but I do adore the ITV film adaptation, so someday I should add it to my TBR.

    Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland.

    • iloveheartlandx July 13, 2017 / 8:25 am

      Thank you! Oh the book is so much better than the film adaptation, you should definitely give it a try 🙂 No problem!

  11. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews July 14, 2017 / 5:35 am

    Oooh yes to so many of these!!! I’d love to experience Harry Potter and Percy Jackson for the first time. The Book Thief would be great again too even though I would cry my eyes out. I’ve really gotta read Dangerous Girls!!!

    • iloveheartlandx July 14, 2017 / 12:45 pm

      Yes, both of those would be wonderful to read again for the first time. I know, I don’t think I could read The Book Thief again knowing what’s coming, but if it was the first time, then it wouldn’t matter. Oh you definitely should!

Leave a Reply

