Top Ten Tuesday #112

1fe45-toptentuesday

Hi everyone! The wanderer has returned! I just arrived back from Greece today and had an amazing time on holiday. Greece is such a beautiful country, if any of you ever get a chance to go, you definitely should! Anyway, I’m back, and just in time for a new Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week we’re talking about Top Ten Series We’ve Been Meaning To Start But Haven’t, otherwise known as The List of Shame (though to be fair, the list of series I still need to finish is probably more shameful!). I read so many series, it’s far too easy for several of them to fall through the cracks! These are the ones I feel most ashamed for not having started yet:

  1. Scarlet Trilogy-AC Gaughen

I love Robin Hood. I love retellings. You would think that would mean that I would have read this series already right? But no. I got the book from my secret sister in the last round and I keep meaning to read it, but story of my life, I get distracted by all the other pretties! Soon, I will definitely get to this soon.

2. Embassy Row Series-Ally Carter

I loved Ally Carter’s Heist Society books, so when I saw she had a new series I was really excited! This of course meant that I didn’t acquire the first book for years (thanks Secret Sis) and then left it sitting on my shelf because you know…..bookworm.

3. The Darkest Minds Trilogy-Alexandra Bracken

I added this to my TBR when I was going through my big dystopia phase and then that kind of fizzled out and I just never got around to starting it. I’ve heard good things about it from my friend though and our tastes in books are really similar, so I would like to try and get around to this series one day!

4. Shatter Me Series-Tahereh Mafi

Another tragedy of my dystopia phase! I have seen lots of love for this series online though and apparently there have been more books added to the series? This might be the perfect time to catch up.

5. The Network Series-Katie Cross

This series sounds so cool, like a cross between Harry Potter and The Worst Witch. I mean witches? Magical education? Why haven’t I started this yet? #SerialProcrastinator.

6. Matthew Shardlake Series-CJ Sansom

This series has detectives and Tudors, two things I love the most, I really need to stop procrastinating reading it! Sure, I read lots of young adult pretties, but I shouldn’t forget about the great adult stuff that is out there, just because YA is my main source of books.

7. Inkworld Trilogy-Cornelia Funke

This is a series about books that has fictional characters coming to life as well as real people being able to disappear into stories. Nothing about this series sounds like I wouldn’t LOVE it, so why do I keep putting it off? I have no idea!

8. The Star Touched Queen Duology-Roshani Choski

This duology sounds amazing, Indian mythology? Royalty? Death and destruction? All of these things sound like things I would love. I have heard such brilliant things about this duology, I really need to get on it!

9. Splintered Series-AG Howard

This sounds like such a fun, wacky, whimsical story, so perfect for an Alice In Wonderland story. I’ve heard some really good things about this one and I’m definitely hoping to get around to it soon.

10. Β The Grisha Trilogy-Leigh Bardugo

My friend loves these books and is always saying how amazing Leigh Bardugo’s writing is, so I definitely need to try and start this series soon!

I’m going to stick to just ten this week, because I have so many series that I’ve been meaning to start that if I kept going, I’d probably be here until next Tuesday! What series have you been meaning to start but haven’t? Have you read any of these? Let me know in the comments!

Next week’s list is Best Books You’ve Read In 2017 so far, I’ve only read 18 so far this year, so it might be hard to pick a ten out of that, but I’ll give it a go! I’ll hopefully be able to do regular posting this week, starting with a new Quarterly Rewind tomorrow, so stay tuned for that!

148 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #112

  1. Lynn VA June 23, 2017 / 10:40 am

    Nice choices! I’ve read the Grisha trilogy and the first book of the Darkest Minds and really enjoyed them all! I do need to continue The Darkest Minds soon, since I own the entire trilogy. The Scarlet trilogy sounds great as well! I hope you’ll enjoy all the books on your list! Happy reading!

    • iloveheartlandx June 23, 2017 / 6:05 pm

      Thanks! Glad to hear that you’ve enjoyed them. I hope so too! Happy reading to you as well πŸ™‚

  2. Ashley June 23, 2017 / 2:18 pm

    I read the first book in the Darkest Minds series and it was so freaking good! I really need to continue with the series. The Grisha Trilogy is so good! Definitely check that one out. πŸ˜€

  3. lyndleloo June 23, 2017 / 5:44 pm

    I also need to read Shatter Me and The Darkest Mnds trilogy! You definitely should read The Grisha Trilogy, have you read Six of Crows? It’s even better, but I think having read the Grisha Trilogy first makes it even more enjoyable πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx June 23, 2017 / 5:56 pm

      Glad to hear that I’m not alone! I haven’t yet no, I think I’ll be reading it before Six of Crows as I have that one and I don’t have the Grisha books yet. Hopefully that won’t ruin all the enjoyment!

  4. Beth (Reading Every Night) June 23, 2017 / 8:22 pm

    Great picks for this week, and you have some of my favourite series featured as well; The Darkest Minds, Shatter Me, The Sta-Touched Queen and the Grisha trilogy are all amazing so I really hope you love them. πŸ™‚

  5. thebookishlibra June 23, 2017 / 10:08 pm

    I forgot to include it on my list but the Shatter Me series is another one that I’ve been meaning to read. Glad to hear you had a wonderful time in Greece!

    • iloveheartlandx June 24, 2017 / 9:48 am

      Ah there’s so many series out there, there’s always one you’ll forget! Thanks πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx June 24, 2017 / 2:41 pm

      Yes I was! I went to Athens, Crete and Santorini πŸ™‚

  6. ravishingtales June 24, 2017 / 6:15 pm

    I once wanted to read the Inkworld trilogy too but it’s been too long and I have already removed it from my TBR. You gotta start the Grisha trilogy!! You won’t regret it!

    • iloveheartlandx June 25, 2017 / 12:10 pm

      Fair enough, there are probably some books on my TBR that I should remove because it’s been so long since I added them and I’m not really interested anymore. I definitely will at some point!

  7. Olivia June 26, 2017 / 8:08 am

    Greece is such a lovely place. I’ve only been to Lesbos and Crete so far but I want to see the mainland!

    • iloveheartlandx June 27, 2017 / 12:37 pm

      Yes it was beautiful, I can’t wait to go back one day!

  8. meneniareads (@meneniareads) June 26, 2017 / 12:01 pm

    I’m reading The Grisha trilogy, and it is good. I thought the first book was kinda just like every other YA fantasy, but book 2 is a lot better!

    • iloveheartlandx June 27, 2017 / 12:36 pm

      That’s good to hear, I’ll keep that in mind about the second book being better than the first!

    • iloveheartlandx June 27, 2017 / 12:28 pm

      Ha ha glad to have helped you find something new to read! Glad to hear I’m not the only one who hasn’t read the Grisha books.

  9. lindseyhabets June 26, 2017 / 6:17 pm

    The Grisha trilogy is one of my all-time faves so I hope you’ll enjoy πŸ™‚ The Star-Touched Queen duology is on my TBR as well!

    • iloveheartlandx June 27, 2017 / 12:26 pm

      Oh that’s great to hear, I hope so too! Glad to hear I’m not the only one who hasn’t read it yet!

  10. Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek June 26, 2017 / 9:29 pm

    Great picks I’ve got the Scarlet, The Darkest Minds, Shatter Me, and The Star-Touched Queen all on my TBR as well! I have read the entire Inkworld trilogy and absolutely adored it, I highly recommend it! I wasn’t the biggest fan of the first book, Inkheart, but the last two books were even better! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx June 27, 2017 / 12:24 pm

      Thanks! Glad to know I’m not the only one who hasn’t read those books! That’s great to hear, I hope I enjoy them too πŸ™‚

  11. Jen June 28, 2017 / 10:54 pm

    Oh, I’m so jealous you were just in Greece! I have SO many family members that still live over there, my Aunts have all gone over and visited many times. It’s on my I have to do someday list! πŸ™‚
    YES to Scarlet Trilogy-AC Gaughen! Just know that it ends with a HFN not a HEA, that’s the only thing I struggled with. And another YES to The Darkest Minds Trilogy-Alexandra Bracken! I’m not sure if you follow her, but the movie is or will be wrapped up soon and I believe it releases next year in the theaters. I can’t wait to watch it!

    • iloveheartlandx June 29, 2017 / 10:33 am

      It was wonderful! I hope you do get there someday πŸ™‚ Glad to hear you liked it. It’s okay, I don’t mind HFN endings, in fact, I like them better than HEA, they’re more believable! Yes, I have heard about the movie news for The Darkest Minds, clearly I need to get to it soon!

  12. rudejasper June 29, 2017 / 1:37 pm

    I’ve not heard of Ally Carter but “Heist Society Series” immediately piques my interest! Catnip words! I would also like to start the Matthew Shardlake series! I love Historical mysteries and Tudor England is a favorite time period.

    • iloveheartlandx June 29, 2017 / 6:57 pm

      Oh it’s so much fun! You should definitely give it a try. Yes same here, I love mysteries and I’m a total Tudor History addict!

  13. Summer @ Xingsings July 6, 2017 / 4:56 pm

    Awesome list!

    I haven’t read The Star-Touched Queen duology either but I am so pumped to give it a try. Have you read The Wrath and the Dawn? Or heard of Library of Fates? Both are similar to the former.

    And oh gosh, you MUST give the books from the Grishaverse a chance. Honestly, the Six of Crows duology is way better than the original Grisha trilogy, but there are spoilers in Crooked Kingdom for the predecessor series so it’s probably best that you start with Shadow and Bone anyway.

    Anyway, good luck with your TBR list. Happy reading!

    • iloveheartlandx July 8, 2017 / 5:00 pm

      Thanks! Me too. No I haven’t read either but I have heard of both. I have heard amazing things about it so I definitely will be giving it a try, but I already have Six of Crows, so I’ll probably be reading that first and just deal with the spoilers! Thank you!

      • Summer @ Xingsings July 28, 2017 / 11:15 pm

        That works, too! Besides the spoilers are pretty minor. ☺️

  14. ~ Angie Elle ~ July 12, 2017 / 2:14 am

    I definitely need to read the Shatter Me series, and The Grisha Trilogy is on my list, too! I’m on the fence about The Star Touched Queen, so I’ll wait for your review!

    • iloveheartlandx July 12, 2017 / 9:34 am

      Well I hope you enjoy them! Ha, I haven’t even got the book yet, so it might be better to check out some Goodreads reviews as it’s gonna be a while before I get to it!

Leave a Reply

