Top Ten Tuesday #111

1fe45-toptentuesday

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a great week. When you’re reading this (because yes, I wrote this post in advance, I know, shocker!), I will be in Athens, soaking up the sun and the sights with my friends, so excited! Anyway, I’ve got a new Top Ten Tuesday for you, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at the Broke and The Bookish, and in honour of Father’s Day on Sunday, they’ve given us a Father’s Day related freebie. Since I’m not particularly inventive with these kinds of things, I’m just going to do Top Ten Best/Worst Dads, five of the best and five of the worst. So here goes:

Best Dads

  1. Arthur Weasley-Harry Potter-JK Rowling

I love Mr Weasley, he gets so excited about mundane muggle stuff and he clearly loves his kids and enjoys their hijinks. Plus he’s so great to Harry and is just as willing as his wife to adopt him into the family.

2. Hans Hubermann-The Book Thief-Markus Zusak

Hans might not be Liesel’s biological father, but he certainly treats her like she is his daughter. He teaches her to read, he protects her from the Nazis, he’s loving and caring and just the sweetest man!

3. Atticus Finch-To Kill A Mockingbird-Harper Lee

I didn’t feel like I could do this list without including Atticus, he sets such a good example for his kids and is generally just a wonderful and loving father.

4. Desmond Edgely-Skulduggery Pleasant-Derek Landy

I just love Desmond, he’s so weird and funny and he clearly loves his daughter.

5. Maxim Maresh-Shades of Magic Trilogy-VE Schwab

Maxim doesn’t really have much of a role in books 1 & 2 but it’s clear that he truly loves his son and when we do get to see more of him in the third book, it’s shown that he will do whatever it takes to protect his son, which I think makes a pretty great father!

Worst Dads

6. Mr Wormwood-Matilda-Roald Dahl

I think we can all agree that Mr Wormwood is absolute scum. He ignores his daughter, indulges his son, cheats people out of money and is just a general crook. I seriously cannot think of one redeeming quality this man has!

7. Callum Harker-This Savage Song-Victoria Schwab

Callum Harker is just completely soulless, he doesn’t care about anyone or anything but gaining more power and he just uses his daughter as another tool to do this.

8. Governer Dragna-Caraval-Stephanie Garber

Governer Dragna physically and emotionally abuses his daughters, I think that probably makes him the worst father on this list.

9. Prospero The Enchanter-The Night Circus-Erin Morgenstern

Prospero is just the worst! I mean he trains his daughter from childhood to compete in a contest that he knows could get her killed and for what? For his own ego that’s what. He abuses her in order to teach her magic, and he always seems to be looking out for himself rather than for his daughter.

10. Lucius Malfoy-Harry Potter-JK Rowling

I mean the guy was a Death Eater, so he likely killed a lot of people and was quite willing to make sure that his son followed in his footsteps, passing on his bigoted views to him and offering him up to Lord Voldemort, without caring that it might get him killed. Not exactly going to win a Father of The Year Award anytime soon.

I’m going to just stick to ten this week! Who do you think are the best and worst fictional dads? Do you agree with my list? Who would you add? Let me know in the comments!

Next week’s list is Top Ten Series I’ve Been Meaning To Start But Haven’t, otherwise known as the list of shame, as I’m sure there will be far too many on there! I probably won’t be on here much (if at all) this week, because I’m in Greece, so the next time you hear from me will probably be when I get back.

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #111

  1. Holly June 13, 2017 / 11:19 am

    Ahhh Mr. Wormwood is the WORST! I love that his last name is Wormwood because it just sounds to icky. Great list! 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx June 15, 2017 / 8:12 am

      Yes he is. The name definitely suits him! Thank you 🙂

  2. Arika (onceuponabookishnerd) June 13, 2017 / 12:07 pm

    Definitely had Arthur Weasley and Aticus Finch on my list too!
    I like how you did a list of worst dads too. Great list!

    • Maraia June 13, 2017 / 2:13 pm

      Oops, I messed up my link. 🙈 Let me try again: My TTT

    • iloveheartlandx June 15, 2017 / 8:11 am

      We had a great time in Athens, we’ve moved on to Crete now. Thanks! Yes they are awesome. I know, they’re the worst. I’d like to think so. Ugh I hate it when that happens!

      • Maraia June 19, 2017 / 4:21 pm

        Ooh, that sounds like an amazing vacation!

  3. journeyintobooks June 13, 2017 / 7:03 pm

    I love Arthur Weasley and Hans Hubermann. I hope your having a great time in Greece.

    • iloveheartlandx June 17, 2017 / 8:22 pm

      Thank you! I’m coming home soon, on Tuesday, had a blast so far and looking forward to last few days of vacation. I haven’t read either of those! I really want to read Inkheart though.

Leave a Reply

