Top Ten Tuesday #109

image14

Hi all! I hope you’ve had a great week, mine has been kind of stressful as I’ve been packing all of my stuff up in order to move home from Uni for the summer, but as of yesterday it’s finally done! I still have another few days here in Scotland, but it will be nice to be able to relax and enjoy them without having to worry about packing! Anyway, I’m back this week with another Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s topic is about my Top Ten Anticipated Reads of The Rest of 2017, there are so many amazing books out this year that I can’t wait for, but these are the ones that I’m most excited for (I’m putting them in release order, not necessarily excitement order):

  1. Resurrection-Derek Landy-1st June

TWO MORE DAYS! TWO MORE DAYS TILL NEW SKULDUGGERY. It’s been three years since the last Skulduggery adventure, and I’m so excited that we’re getting more. Most of my teen years were spent with Skulduggery and I cannot wait to see what he and Val get up to in this new book!

2. Our Dark Duet-Victoria Schwab-13th June

I wasn’t the biggest fan of This Savage Song, the first book in Victoria Schwab’s Verity duology, but I think this second book definitely has potential to be better considering how the first book ended.

3. Ash and Quill-Rachel Caine-11th July

I love the unique world that Caine has created in the Great Library series, it’s such a brilliant concept and despite some of my problems with her writing style and pacing, I love the world and characters enough to still be excited about this one. The last book ended on a huge cliffhanger, so I can’t wait to see what Jess and the gang get up to in this one!

4. The Last Magician-Lisa Maxwell-18th July

This one sounds so good! I like the idea of two alternate Manhattans, one with magic and one without and the 1900’s setting for the old New York sounds amazing, I love books that have period drama in them and period drama + magic pretty much equals a winner for me.

5. Daughter of The Burning City-Amanda Foody-25th July

I am so excited for this one! A travelling circus? A girl who creates illusions that have distinct personalities? Murder? It all screams “this book should be read by Jo” and I cannot wait!

6. Mask of Shadows-Linsey Miller-5th September

I’ve seen mixed early reviews of this one, but I’m still excited for it. I haven’t read many books with gender fluid main characters and basically any blurb that says “assassin” gets me very excited, so I think this one has the potential to be very good.

7. Tower of Dawn-Sarah J Maas-5th September

I mean do I wish we were getting the last Throne of Glass book this year instead of this? Yup. However I’m so excited to get to see the Southern Continent, having heard so much about it over the course of the books. I’m not a huge fan of Chaol, but I love Sarah J Maas’ books and will read anything that she puts out there!

8. The Ship of The Dead (Magnus Chase #3)-Rick Riordan-3rd October

PERCY’S GONNA BE BACK! AND ANNABETH! We get Percabeth! Okay in all seriousness, they aren’t the only reasons why I’m incredibly excited about this book. I can’t wait to see Magnus and Percy meet, I’m so excited to see more of Alex Fierro and I’m just really excited to see how this series ends.

9. All The Crooked Saints-Maggie Stiefvater-10th October

I loved The Raven Cycle and I can’t wait to see what Maggie Stiefvater’s newest book is like. It sounds magical and weird and wonderful, and I’m hoping that I will love it just as much as I loved The Raven Cycle.

10. Chainbreaker (Timekeeper #2)-Tara Sim-7th November

I absolutely loved Timekeeper when I read it last year and I’m so excited to see more of Danny and Colton. It sounds like this book is going to take place in India as well, which I’m super excited about because a) it’s a setting I haven’t really read much about and b) the author is half Indian herself so I’m sure she’s going to do it very well.

I’m going to stick to just ten this week as these are the ones that I’m most excited about. What new releases are you looking forward to over the next six months? Do we share any? Let me know in the comments!

Next week’s list is 10 Books From X Genre That I’ve recently added to my TBR List, so I’ll be sharing the 10 Fantasy Books that I’ve added to my TBR recently. I actually haven’t been adding as many books recently (I know, shocker!) so this might be a little difficult but I’ll try! In the meantime, I have a few posts planned for the next few days, so stay tuned!

75 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #109

  1. Kelly | Kelly's Rambles May 30, 2017 / 2:41 pm

    Our Dark Duet is on my list too. I love Schwab’s writing and I adored This Savage Song so I can’t wait to see what is going to happen next. Great list!

    Here’s my TTT.

    • iloveheartlandx May 30, 2017 / 5:43 pm

      Thanks! Yes, Schwab is such a brilliant writer, I can’t wait to read it either 🙂

  2. Maraia May 30, 2017 / 2:43 pm

    I didn’t know you went to school in Scotland. I really want to go there! ODD is on my list, of course. I hope you like it more than the first.
    I’m so nervous for All the Crooked Saints after loving The Raven Cycle so much. Hopefully it can live up to expectations!
    My TTT

    • iloveheartlandx May 30, 2017 / 5:43 pm

      Yeah, I go to Uni in Stirling, it’s a small city between Glasgow and Edinburgh. Would definitely recommend, Scotland is beautiful. Visit in the summer though, weather tends to be a bit rubbish the rest of the year! Of course, anything Victoria Schwab is a must. I hope so too 🙂 Me too, it’s going to be a hard act to follow!

      • Maraia May 31, 2017 / 7:45 am

        Haha, so I’ve heard! But even with crappy weather, it does look beautiful.

  3. journeyintobooks May 30, 2017 / 3:40 pm

    Great list. I also can’t wait for Tower of Dawn and see how the world expands in this book.

    • iloveheartlandx May 30, 2017 / 5:13 pm

      Thanks! Yes, it should definitely be interesting to see more of the TOG world.

  4. Destiny May 30, 2017 / 6:16 pm

    Oooh, great list! I almost put All the Crooked Saints on my list, too. I haven’t started the TOG series yet, but I loved ACOTAR so I’ve already bought all of the TOG books that are out so far, lol.

    • iloveheartlandx May 30, 2017 / 6:24 pm

      Thanks! I hope you enjoy the Throne of Glass books when you get around to them 🙂

      • Destiny May 30, 2017 / 10:18 pm

        Thanks! I loved the ACOTAR books so much that I have very high hopes.

      • iloveheartlandx May 31, 2017 / 10:41 am

        Well I hope they don’t disappoint 🙂

  5. Angela Lawrence May 30, 2017 / 7:10 pm

    I still need to read This Savage Song – it’s on my TBR, it’s just a matter of getting to it!

    • iloveheartlandx May 30, 2017 / 9:44 pm

      Totally understand that feeling! Hope you enjoy it 🙂

  6. Louise May 30, 2017 / 9:08 pm

    I’m sooooo excited for The Ship of The Dead!

    • iloveheartlandx May 30, 2017 / 9:43 pm

      Ha ha yes, I am a big series reader, so most of my anticipated releases are usually sequels. I know, it sounds so great!

  7. Eve L (Evilous) May 30, 2017 / 9:31 pm

    These are awesome and totally worth waiting on (though always rather have them right away) some are new to me others like Tower of Dawn I’m stoked for!

    • iloveheartlandx May 30, 2017 / 9:43 pm

      Thanks! Yes, of course I’d rather have all these right now 🙂

  8. Melanie Parker May 30, 2017 / 9:57 pm

    Great list. I can’t wait for Our Dark Duet! I also want to read Maggie’s new one!

  9. Jacquie (Rattle the Stars) May 30, 2017 / 10:24 pm

    How did I forget Chainbreaker on my list?!?! The first book was so good. Thanks for reminding me. 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx May 31, 2017 / 10:40 am

      No problem! It’s hard to remember all of the amazing new releases coming out 🙂

  10. Greg Hill May 30, 2017 / 10:31 pm

    Anything called Skulduggery has to be good! 🙂 And Ash and Quill sounds good too. I haven’t tried that series yet.

    Daughter of the Burning City is another one, new to me, that I’m kinda curious about. And that’s an awesome title BTW.

    • iloveheartlandx May 31, 2017 / 10:40 am

      Oh it’s amazing! The Great Library books are also really cool. Yes, Daughter of The Burning City is definitely an amazing title!

  11. Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog May 30, 2017 / 11:33 pm

    Lots of good ones here!! I want to start some of the series you have the sequels listed for. Great review!!!

    • iloveheartlandx May 31, 2017 / 10:38 am

      Me either! I do too, this is the second new book she’s released since I started reading her books and I’m so excited!

  12. Lark @ The Bookwyrm's Hoard May 30, 2017 / 11:48 pm

    Great choices! Like Grace, I need to start the Great Library series. The Last Magician, Daughter of the Burning City, and Mask of Shadows all sound really interesting. And as you know, Ship of the Dead was on my list, too.

    • iloveheartlandx May 31, 2017 / 10:37 am

      Thanks! The Great Library series is great, I hope you enjoy it. Yes they do sound awesome right? Yes, I know, you have good taste!

  13. Analee @ Book Snacks May 30, 2017 / 11:53 pm

    Ahhh can’t wait for Our Dark Duet!! And All the Crooked Saints sounds amazing as well. ❤ ❤

  14. thebookishlibra May 31, 2017 / 1:15 am

    Great list! Daughter of The Burning City is one I meant to put on my list because I”m definitely looking forward to reading it.

  15. Sara @ Forever 17 Books May 31, 2017 / 2:16 am

    I’ve actually already read The Last Magician and really loved it. I hope you will as well! Daughter of the Burning City is a read I’m super excited for too!

  16. Adri May 31, 2017 / 2:48 am

    OMG Chainbreaker! I totally forgot about it’s release this year. I adored Timekeeper, can’t wait for it’s sequel ❤

    • iloveheartlandx May 31, 2017 / 10:34 am

      Yes it’s hard to keep track of all the new releases! Me either 🙂

  17. anovelglimpse May 31, 2017 / 3:29 am

    I can’t believe I left Stiefvater’s book of my list! I love her stuff.
    My TTT.

  18. Sea Reads May 31, 2017 / 3:32 am

    Great list! I had seen Timekeeper and Daughter of the Burning City on Goodreads, but to be honest forgot Timekeeper existed and forgot what Daughter of the Burning City was about. Thanks for reminding me that I need to put both of them on my TBR before I forget again haha!

    • iloveheartlandx May 31, 2017 / 10:32 am

      Thanks! Ha ha no problem, it’s hard to keep track of all the amazing books 🙂

  19. Anastasia May 31, 2017 / 7:51 am

    Great list!! I can’t believe that I have totally missed that there will be a new book by Derek Landy!! Can’t wait to read it! 🙂

  20. Lynn VA May 31, 2017 / 11:32 am

    Great choices! I’m intrigued by The Last Magician, I’ll have to check it out! Have a great week!

  21. lindseyhabets May 31, 2017 / 12:35 pm

    I really need to read Timekeeper, Our Savage Song and the Magnus Chase series so I can continue all of them with their sequels 🙂 And All The Crooked Saint, ah I can’t believe I forgot to add this to my list 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx May 31, 2017 / 1:37 pm

      I hope you enjoy all of them! There’s so many great new releases coming out, it’s hard to keep track of all of them.

  22. Jackie @ toomuchofabooknerd May 31, 2017 / 3:05 pm

    I see Our Dark Duet everywhere so I should probably pick up This Savage Song soon! The Last Magician looks amazing, I can’t wait for that one! Lovely list 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx May 31, 2017 / 4:20 pm

      Ha ha yeah probably! It does look so good. Thank you 🙂

  23. yasminereads May 31, 2017 / 3:10 pm

    I completely forgot about Magnus Chase and Our Dark Duet! I’m not caught up on either series but I’m still excited for both of those! 😀

    • iloveheartlandx May 31, 2017 / 4:20 pm

      There’s so many new releases, it’s hard to keep track! They should both be great 🙂

  24. Jessica @ Strung out on Books May 31, 2017 / 4:51 pm

    I’ve been meaning to read one of Maggie Stiefvater’s books! It sounds good! I’ll have to check out the Raven Cycle, too!

  25. kozbisa May 31, 2017 / 10:30 pm

    SJM is always a need. I have Ash and Quill ready to read too.
    Sam @ WLABB

  26. Lori June 1, 2017 / 12:06 pm

    I really need to read This Savage Song and Ink and Bone since they have new releases coming out. Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx June 1, 2017 / 12:58 pm

      Thanks! It’s so hard to keep up with all the new series releases 🙂

  27. exploringallgenres June 1, 2017 / 2:06 pm

    Great list, hope you enjoy them all. I still need to read This Savage Song, which I will hopefully get to later this year.

    • iloveheartlandx June 1, 2017 / 2:09 pm

      Thanks! I hope you enjoy This Savage Song when you get to it 🙂

  28. Annemieke June 4, 2017 / 1:56 pm

    The cover of Mask of Shadows just keeps winking at me. It is annoying haha.

  29. Kourtni @ Kourtni Reads June 4, 2017 / 8:20 pm

    I really need to start reading the Great Library series! I bought the first book last year because I wanted to read it before the second book released, but I never got around to it. Great picks!

  30. Lois June 4, 2017 / 10:11 pm

    I completely forgot about Maggie Stiefvater’s new book!!! I’ll have to add that to my must read pile.

    • iloveheartlandx June 4, 2017 / 10:22 pm

      So many new releases to keep track of, we’re bound to forget some!

Leave a Reply

