Jo Talks Books: On My Dream Reading Space

Hi everyone! I’m so sorry that it’s taken me so long to get around to posting something for this month, it’s not even that I’ve been busy, I was just stuck for ideas! Luckily I was approached by Arhaus to help them out with a project that they’re doing about reading spaces, and I thought it sounded like a fun idea to share what my dream reading space would look like.

Obviously, first off, my dream reading space would actually have enough space for all of my books! I have four bookshelves at home, and it’s still not really enough for my massive collection of books, I’ve had to take to keeping some of my older books in my wardrobe because I really didn’t have enough space for all the books that I own on my bookshelves! I’ve always wanted a room something like the Beast’s Library in Beauty and The Beast, with floor to ceiling bookshelves. Something like this would be perfect for me:

A Home For Book LoversSee how the bookshelves are so tall that you need a ladder to get to the top ones? I want that! I also love the idea of having an entire room devoted simply to reading and writing, it’s basically a dream for me. I love how this room is filled with light as well, I think that’s perfect for a reading space.

I’ve also always wanted a window seat to sit on whilst I read, I remember reading the My Secret Unicorn books when I was a kid, and in them, Lauren had this great window seat that looked out over her back garden and I remember thinking that was so cool. I read in bed most of the time, but it’s really hard to find a comfortable position, so I think it would be perfect if I had a window seat.

Family Home Design Ideas - Home Bunch - An Interior Design & Luxury Homes Blog: I’d love something like this for my window seat, you could really stretch out whilst reading, plus I love the colours of the seat cushion. I might have a few more pillows, given my bad back, but other than that, this is pretty well perfect. I love the under seat storage as I could fit more books under there. I might want a slightly bigger window to let more light in though.

Portier Writing DeskEvery great reading space needs a desk I think, as a lot of us readers are also writers too and it would be great to have somewhere to write in my reading space. I found this desk on the Arhaus website, I love the curved shaped and I think it just looks interesting and a little different.

And with every desk, you of course need a comfortable chair. For me, with my back issues this is even more important, if I’m going to be sitting, reading or writing for hours, then I need somewhere comfy to sit. This beautiful Arhaus chair would be perfect for that:

Addy Upholstered Tufted Desk Chair in Samantha Sand

I also think to make any reading space truly comfy, you need a great fluffy rug (okay this may be my addiction to fluffy stuff speaking, but it’s true!). I would want my reading space to have a wooden floor rather than a carpet I think, but I would definitely want one or more fluffy rugs in my reading room:

Safavieh's Shag collection is inspired by timeless contemporary designs crafted with the softest polyester available.:

Obviously I would need a desk lamp in case I was in my reading space reading late, which of course would happen as I do most of my reading at night, and I think this one is perfect:

Fielding Table Lamp

I’d obviously need a main light for the room as well, and I found this one on Pinterest that I think looks a little different and quirky and I kind of like that:

pinned by barefootstyling.com A Warm Glow Slips Through The Porous Skin Of These Ceramic Lampshades:

Like I said, I would definitely need more pillows for my window set and I found this adorable pillow on Pinterest that I think would look perfect:

Geometric throw pillow cover pastel pink white by VanillaGreyShop                                                                                                                                                                                 More

I’d also love some of these fluffy Arhaus pillows, my sister used to have some fluffy pillows in her room at home and they were so comfy, so they’d definitely be perfect for my reading space:

Tibetan 16" Square Lambswool Pillow in Slate BlueTibetan 16" Square Lambswool Pillow in Plum

Sheepskin 14" Square Pillow in Rose

I would also need a blanket/throw for my window seat, which I could sit on during the day and use to curl up with at night when it got cold. I think this one would be perfect as it looks warm and goes with the colours that I’ve chosen for my reading space:

Rose Pink Waffle Fleece Throw - throws & bedspreads - Home, Lighting & Furniture - BHS:

I think I’d like the room to be painted in a blue, as it will be a contrast against all the pink, plus I really like the colour blue, but it would be a sky blue rather than a dark blue.

Rio 35" Upholstered Chair in Check Please ThunderI love this gorgeous checked chair and think it would go perfectly in my reading space, for when I don’t want to use my window seat, or if I had a guest come to visit. Funnily enough, I actually have a dress in a very similar pattern!

Rio 24" Upholstered Ottoman in Check Please ThunderThis ottoman goes perfectly with the chair and would give me a chance to put my feet up!

Tremont 20" End Table in Midnight JavaThis little end table would be perfect for putting food and drink on if I got hungry or thirsty whilst reading. I could also have another one by the chair for guests.

I’d also like to have bookish prints on the wall above my desk, there are many wonderful stores on Etsy where you can get them from, but this shop is my favourite:

https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/CartabanCards?ref=search_shop_redirect

I also think I’d have some bookish candles around the room, maybe on the bookshelves or on the desk. There are again, lots of great candle shops on Etsy, but this one is my favourite:

https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/Bookwormcandlescraft?ref=pr_faveshops

So what do you think? Would you like a space like mine for reading? What would you have in your dream reading space? Let me know in the comments!

If you like any of the pieces in this post, then check out the Arhaus website where a lot of these pieces came from:

https://www.arhaus.com/

I will have a new Jo Talks post up next week (hopefully anyway!) where I’m going to be talking about the lack of non romance focused New Adult books. In the meantime, I think I’m going to do another Thursday Quotables post tomorrow, I know, wonders never cease!

10 thoughts on “Jo Talks Books: On My Dream Reading Space

  1. Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction May 25, 2017 / 8:24 pm

    I love the Cartaban Etsy shop! I actually went ahead and favorited that one! Oh, and I’m right there with you on fluffy stuff. What’s not to love?!

    • iloveheartlandx May 26, 2017 / 10:56 pm

      Me too! Oh it’s worth it, it has so much good stuff. I have no idea, I don’t understand people who don’t love fluffy stuff.

  2. Inge May 27, 2017 / 12:27 pm

    Can I come live in your reading nook? If I could design my ideal reading space, it would definitely have a window seat and a big fluffy rug as well. It looks so cosy. ♥

    • iloveheartlandx May 28, 2017 / 10:17 am

      Sure, there’s plenty of room! It does doesn’t it? I think that’s the most important thing when reading, you’ll likely be sitting for hours, so you want to be cosy!

  3. Emma June 1, 2017 / 4:20 am

    I love the idea of a window seat, it would make the perfect reading nook. I remember that a house my family rented for holidays when I was a child used to have one and it was so much fun. It makes the whole experience a bit more magical.

  4. Vicky June 2, 2017 / 10:44 am

    Nice 🙂 Now you’ve got me dreaming about creating the perfect reading (and writing) space… now if I could only win the lottery…!

    • iloveheartlandx June 2, 2017 / 11:51 am

      Thanks! Oh I know right, I could never actually afford to do this 🙂

Leave a Reply

