#RockMyTBR March Update (2017)

Hey everyone! So it’s now the beginning of April (how crazy is that?) which means it’s time for me to update you guys with what I read in March and how my #RockMyTBR challenge is going. As I’m sure you all know by now, #RockMyTBR is a challenge run by Sarah K over at The Book Traveller, where she challenges you to cut down your TBR over the course of the year (though let’s face it, the damn thing never gets any smaller because we keep adding books to it!). I actually managed 3 books this month, but it’s more like 2 1/2 because I started the last one back in February, it just took me a long time to finish it! Here’s what I read this month:

ACOLA Conjuring of Light by VE Schwab:

This was my most anticipated read of the year and I’m glad to say that it lived up to my expectations and then some. I read this from 22nd February-14th March. This was just the perfect series conclusion, the characters and world were incredible, the plot was engrossing and it came to a bittersweet, yet satisfying conclusion. My first five star read of the year. Here is my review of it:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/03/19/a-conjuring-of-light-shades-of-magic-3-review/

this savage songThis Savage Song by VE Schwab:

My #RockMyTBR read for March. I enjoyed this one, but it was kind of a let down after Conjuring. The world was interesting, but not as developed as I would have expected from Schwab and the characters fell kind of flat, plus the plot only really got interesting in the last half. I will still be reading the second book, but I hope it will be a lot better than this one. Here is my review of it:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/04/02/this-savage-song-monsters-of-verity-1-review/

the invisible libraryThe Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman:

This one was such a slog! I actually started it back in February but I abandoned it for A Conjuring of Light and honestly completely forgot about it. It was a good concept but very poorly executed, the world, characters and writing were all just very confusing. I will definitely not be reading the sequel! Here is my review of it:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/04/02/the-invisible-library-the-invisible-library-1/

That’s what I read in March, here’s what I have coming up in April:

Salt To The Sea-Ruta Sepetys-My #RockMyTBR book for this month. I’m not very far through it yet, but it seems good so far.

The Pearl Thief-Elizabeth Wein-I started this as my Netgalley read last month, haven’t finished it yet, but I’m confident I will this month. I don’t love it as much as Code Name Verity, but it’s still been pretty good.

Unknown third book-I’m honestly not sure what I’m going to feel like reading after I finish Salt To The Sea, so I’m going to leave this blank for now and you’ll have to wait until next month to see what I decided to read.

Countless-Karen Gregory-If I finish The Pearl Thief, then this will be my next Netgalley read. It sounds interesting, if different to what I usually read, so we’ll see if I enjoy it.

I’m two books ahead of my Goodreads Challenge at the moment, so overall, pretty pleased with how my reading this month is going. How are you guys doing with your reading goals so far this year? Let me know in the comments!

6 thoughts on “#RockMyTBR March Update (2017)

  1. notimefortinybookshelves April 3, 2017 / 2:40 pm

    I’m trying to tackle my TBR as well, nice job on getting three books done in March! I just checked out This Savage Song and bought the whole Shades of Magic series to start soon! I hope that you like Salt to the Sea, it’s one of my favorites. Have you read Ruta Sepetys’ other books? She is definitely one of my favorite authors!

    • iloveheartlandx April 4, 2017 / 10:38 am

      Thanks! Well I hope you enjoy those. It’s been pretty good so far, but I’m not that far through it yet. I’ve read Between Shades of Grey, which I loved, but not her other book yet.

  2. Rain @ Ivyclad Ideas April 3, 2017 / 6:17 pm

    I still need to read A Gathering of Shadows, and A Conjuring of Light is out?! I am slipping. 😦

    • iloveheartlandx April 4, 2017 / 10:36 am

      Ha ha yes! Don’t worry, I’m sure you’ll catch up!

  3. adventurekettle April 4, 2017 / 2:38 pm

    Glad to read you enjoyed A Conjuring of Light by VE Schwab 🙂 I’m only a few chapters into the audiobook, so my hubby can listen to it, too. We both love the world Schwab created!

    • iloveheartlandx April 4, 2017 / 8:30 pm

      Thanks! Aww that’s so cute, you and your husband listening to books together 🙂 It is an awesome world!

Leave a Reply

