Top Ten Tuesday #100

1fe45-toptentuesday

Hey everyone! I hope you’ve all had a good week since I last did one of these, I had my mum up to stay this weekend, which was lovely as it’s been a while since I’ve seen her and since it was Mother’s Day here in the UK on Sunday, it was great to actually be able to spend the day with her as last year I couldn’t. Anyway, I’m back, and courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish, doing another Top Ten Tuesday for you all. This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is a rather special one for me, as you can see by the number at the top, as it’s my 100th one! I can’t believe I’m into triple digits already, it feels like I only just did the first one of these yesterday. I’m so glad I started doing this, I’ve met so many wonderful bloggers through doing this meme alone and I’m so grateful for all your positive comments on these posts. Basically thanks guys, you’re awesome, here’s to the next 100 of these! This week’s topic is supposed to be a meeting authors freebie, but quite honestly, my author wishlist really has changed much since the first time I did an author post all the way back when I started doing these, and whilst I have met some great authors, I’m not sure if I could compile a list of ten, I literally only started going to author events and stuff in the last couple of years. So instead, I’m going to just be a complete rebel this week, and do a post about my Top Ten Fictional Mothers, in celebration of last Sunday’s Mother’s Day.

  1. Molly Weasley-Harry Potter-JK Rowling

Well you all knew this one was coming. Mrs Weasley is probably the one fictional mother that we all come up with when we think of great fictional mothers. Not only is she an incredible mother to her own children, she takes Harry under her wing as well and becomes a kind of surrogate mother to him. I love that she’s such a sweet woman and yet so fierce as well (we all remember her fight with Bellatrix) and just loves her family so much. Basically all the YA mother points go to Molly Weasley.

2. Sally Jackson-Percy Jackson-Rick Riordan

I love Percy’s mum! For one thing, she’s actually present in her son’s life, no mean feat in a YA book. She married a total jerk just to keep her son safe, she and Percy have the best in jokes with their blue food obsession, she’s willing to step up and help her son when he needs her but also to step back and allow him to do what he needs to to save the world. Basically Sally Jackson is one awesome lady.

3. Meggie McGregor-Noughts and Crosses-Malorie Blackman

Meggie may not be the perfect mother, she is flawed, but that’s one of the things I love about her. She loves her family so much and is willing to do anything to protect them and it’s so heartbreaking when she can’t. She also cares for Sephy like she’s her own daughter and looks after her when her own family doesn’t. She is selfish sometimes and makes stupid decisions but they are always out of love for her family and no one can deny her devotion to her children.

4. Maura Sargent-The Raven Cycle-Maggie Stiefvater

Blue’s mum is so weird and wonderful! She’s always there for her daughter to offer advice, and she and Blue have a great relationship. It’s nice to see a YA mother playing an active role in their child’s life, she even helps the Gangsey a little on their quest to find Glendower.

5. Rosa Hubermann-The Book Thief-Markus Zusak

Rosa may be strict and come off kind of cold, but you can tell that she really, really loves Liesel, that she has a huge heart underneath it all and that she would do anything to protect her foster daughter.

6. Natalie Prior-Divergent-Veronica Roth

Okay, so you don’t get to see all that much of Mrs Prior, but she literally sacrifices herself to save her daughter? I mean that’s a pretty great mum!

7. Elena Vilkas-Between Shades of Grey-Ruta Sepetys

Mrs Vilkas is unfailingly kind, generous, even to those who don’t deserve it, she never gives up hope and she protects her children fiercely, even giving up her own food in order to make sure that her children get fed. It’s amazing that she can be so kind and sacrifice so much after everything she goes through.

8. Helen Thermopolis-The Princess Diaries-Meg Cabot

Okay, so I’ll admit, I am probably basing this slightly on the movies, since it’s been a while since I read the books, but from what I can remember of the books, Mia’s mum is pretty awesome, she has such a close relationship with her daughter and is always there to offer advice when Mia needs it.

9. Miss Honey-Matilda-Roald Dahl

Miss Honey is far more of a parent to Matilda than Mrs Wormwood ever was, taking her under her wing and encouraging her love of books and learning & it’s so sweet to see the two of them find what they need in each other.

10. Melissa Edgley-Skulduggery Pleasant-Derek Landy

Melissa doesn’t have a huge role in the series, but she clearly cares a lot about her daughter, is interested and engaged with her life (granted it’s Valkyrie’s reflection she spends the most time with, not her daughter herself but she doesn’t know this) and they have some sweet moments together throughout the books.

That’s all I have for this week! Who are your favourite fictional mothers? Do we share any? Who do you think are the worst mothers in fiction? Let me know in the comments!

I will be back with a new Top Ten Tuesday next week, it’s a fandom freebie, so you’ll have to wait and see exactly what spin I decide to go with for that one, but I’m really excited about it. I have lots of stuff planned for this week, I just finished This Savage Song, I want to do a Thursday Quotables post this week (I know right wonders never cease), I’ve almost finished another book, this week will be a busy one, so stay tuned!

42 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #100

  1. nevillegirl March 28, 2017 / 2:19 pm

    Yes yes yessss I love your choices! I was especially glad to see Melissa Edgley on here (because not enough people are Skulduggery Pleasant fans lol) as well as Miss Honey because you’re right, she was so much more of a mother to Matilda than her biological mother. Lovely post! 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx March 28, 2017 / 3:44 pm

      Thanks! I know right? There should be more of us out there! Luckily my best friend is a huge Skulduggery Pleasant fan, so I can fangirl with her. Yes she was 🙂

  2. Mariela March 28, 2017 / 2:58 pm

    Ruta Sepetys! YES! That book touched me so deeply, I am starting to cry again.
    My TTT.

    • iloveheartlandx March 28, 2017 / 3:43 pm

      It’s one of the few books that has made me physically cry! It really touched my heart 🙂

  3. Tangled March 28, 2017 / 3:26 pm

    We’ve met Maggie and went to her panel. She’s a sweetheart and so full of brilliant ideas!

  4. Hannah @ The Book Vortex March 28, 2017 / 4:43 pm

    I LOVE Molly Weasley! Agree with everything you said about her. She’s everyone’s mom, but she’s also a fierce woman in her own right and I would want her on my side.
    I am a huge fan of Percy Jackson….but for some reason his mother escapes my memory and now I feel bad like I’ve just glossed over a really cool woman!
    And the inclusion of Elena Vilkas on the list makes me want to cry because she is so selfless and loving and protective and amazing and that book just makes me so sad!

    • iloveheartlandx March 28, 2017 / 8:26 pm

      Me too! Ha ha no worries we read about so many fictional characters, it’s easy to forget about some of them. Oh I know, every time I think about her, it makes me want to cry.

  5. lindseyhabets March 28, 2017 / 5:06 pm

    Congratulations on your 100th TTT! 🙂 And I love your list, so many great moms! Though I think Molly Weasley will always be my favorite fictional mom 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx March 28, 2017 / 8:23 pm

      Thanks! Yes, I think she will always been mine too!

  6. beckmank March 28, 2017 / 7:25 pm

    Yes to Molly Weasley! She is my favorite fictional mother for sure. Great list this week! My TTT.

  7. toomuchofabooknerd March 28, 2017 / 7:45 pm

    Ah yes, Rosa Hubermann :’) just thinking about that book makes me want to cry again! Love your choice of mums!

  8. ChrissiReads March 28, 2017 / 8:18 pm

    I love your spin on the topic this week! 🙂 Awesome!

  9. thebookishlibra March 28, 2017 / 8:39 pm

    Molly Weasley is my favorite fictional mom too 🙂

  10. Cait @ Paper Fury March 28, 2017 / 9:59 pm

    Oh oh yesss I love so many of these!! I got really mad at Maura as the Raven Cycle progressed, but she still was a good mum and tried to be!! And also YES to the Edgely mum!! And Rosa Huberman. ❤ She was so snappy but somehow still absolutely the best.❤️💔 I really love the mum out of Radio Silence and also Rhy's mother in A Darker Shade of Magic!!

    • iloveheartlandx March 29, 2017 / 1:54 am

      Great minds think alike! Yeah she wasn’t the greatest in the last two books, but she was always a good mum to Blue. Yeah I love Mrs Edgely! I know right, Rosa was just awesome. I haven’t read Radio Silence, but OMG I recently read ACOL and EMIRA! Can’t believe I forgot about her.

  11. Greg Hill March 28, 2017 / 10:52 pm

    Happy 100th! And great way to do this topic this week. Natalie Prior is the only one I really know but I did like her character, in both book and movie.

    • iloveheartlandx March 29, 2017 / 1:51 am

      Thanks! Ha ha fair enough, you should check some of the others out 🙂

  12. Lauren @ Always Me March 28, 2017 / 11:24 pm

    Molly, Maura, and Miss Honey would totally make my list of favorite fictional mothers! 🙂

    Great choices!

    • iloveheartlandx March 30, 2017 / 12:17 pm

      Thanks! Oh I changed the topic, it’s about my favourite fictional mothers, not authors I’d like to meet.

  13. Elen @ The Dragon Reader March 29, 2017 / 7:21 am

    I love your topic so,much! And all the women you chose are wonderful. Sally Jackson in particular, because she’s just the best.

  14. Lori March 29, 2017 / 2:24 pm

    I love your fictional mothers topic! Molly is the best! ❤

  15. Annemieke March 29, 2017 / 8:00 pm

    Oh yes I was just thinking this week how amazing Sally is.

  16. Zoe March 30, 2017 / 2:09 am

    YES TO ALL OF THESE. Molly Weasley and Sally Jackson are two of my favorite fictional moms as well. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous choices! ❤

  17. everythingalyce March 30, 2017 / 10:01 am

    I remember doing a list like this a few years ago, and I put Natalie Prior as my highest – nothing is more realistic than a self-sacrificing mother!

    • iloveheartlandx March 30, 2017 / 12:15 pm

      My list is not necessarily in any particular order, I just happened to think of them in this order, it’s not ordered by favourites or who I think is the best mother 🙂

  18. Cheeky Booky April 2, 2017 / 7:38 pm

    Love your list! Molly Weasley deserves on top of the list for so many reasons. I do have a soft spot for Rosa and I am glad you put Natalie Prior on the list as well. Brilliant list!

  19. Aditi April 15, 2017 / 7:20 am

    *RAISES ALL HANDS FOR HELEN THERMOPOLIS AND MOLLY WEASLEY BECAUSE THEY ARE SOME OF THE BEST MOTHERS EVER.*

    I love this post!

Leave a Reply

