#RockMyTBR February Update (2017)

Hi everyone! I couldn’t let you guys go without a post on World Book Day, what kind of book blogger would I be if I didn’t? I’m hoping to do a World Book Day discussion post very soon, although sadly, I won’t be able to get one up tonight. However, I am giving you an update on my #RockMyTBR challenge. As you will all hopefully know by now, #RockMyTBR is a challenge run by Sarah K over at The Book Traveller, where she challenges you to cut down your TBR over the course of the year. I kept up my usual pace of two books in February, I would have liked to have read more, but it’s been a busy month! Anyway, this is what I read this month:

the-crowns-gameThe Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye:

This was my #RockMyTBR book for February. I started this on the 2nd February and finished it on the 12th. I really enjoyed this book, the magic, the setting, the writing and the characters were all wonderful, the only thing I could have done without was the love triangle (and it was a tad slow to start). Here is my review of it:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/02/17/the-crowns-game-the-crowns-game-1/

traitor-to-the-throneTraitor To The Throne by Alwyn Hamilton:

This was my Netgalley read for the month, I started it on 19th January and finished on 17th February (though I wasn’t consistently reading over that time period!). Sadly I did not enjoy this one as much as the first, the middle section was rather plodding and it was very heavy on plotting and political intrigue which whilst interesting was incredibly slow. However the character development and world building were on point and it was still a solid addition to the series, if not quite as good as the first book. Here is my review of it:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/02/18/traitor-to-the-throne-rebels-of-the-sands-2-review-e-arc/

That’s what I read in February, here’s what I’ve got coming up in March:

A Conjuring of Light-VE Schwab-I’m already halfway through this book and completely loving it, though I’m in that weird stage of wanting see what happens in the end and not wanting it to be over. I will definitely be finishing it this month!

The Invisible Library-Genevieve Cogman-Confession time. This was meant to be my February read and I have got most of the way through it, but honestly, I haven’t enjoyed it as much as I thought I would and I’ve kind of put it aside for A Conjuring of Light for the moment. I will try to finish the rest of it this month.

The Pearl Thief-Elizabeth Wein-This is my Netgalley read for the month. It’s been kind of on the back burner because of work, but as soon as I get my essays in, I will be getting back to it!

This Savage Song-VE Schwab-I’m feeling in a very Victoria Schwab mood at the moment with A Conjuring of Light, so I’ve chosen this as my March #RockMyTBR read. I hope I love it as much as everyone else seems to!

I’m still pretty pleased with how my reading this year is going, despite not getting as much as I would have liked read this month. I’m hoping the rest of my 2017 reading goes well! How are you guys doing with your 2017 reading goals so far? Let me know in the comments!

 

4 thoughts on “#RockMyTBR February Update (2017)

  1. onceuponabookishnerd March 2, 2017 / 11:41 pm

    I have heard many say that they didn’t enjoy Traitor to the Throne as much as Rebel of the Sand. I am still gonna read it by hopes aren’t set high right now.
    I have been hearing tons of good things about that Shades of Magic series by V.E. Schwab! I totally want to get the first book in the series to read!

    • iloveheartlandx March 3, 2017 / 12:43 am

      Yes, it’s a shame really. Probably for the best, you never know you might enjoy it more than I did. Oh it’s so good! I hope you enjoy it 🙂

  2. robbiesinspiration March 3, 2017 / 4:23 am

    Thank you for the two short reviews. I like people to get to the point and let you know what they thought.

Leave a Reply

