Top Ten Tuesday #94

1fe45-toptentuesday

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all been having a good week so far, mine has started off very stressfully for personal reasons that I’m not going to go into, but it’s hopefully all sorted now. I’m going to see Jack Whitehall in Glasgow tomorrow, so that’s really exciting! Anyway, I’m back with another Top Ten Tuesday post, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s topic was all about visuals, comic books, graphic books etc, but since I haven’t really read many comics, I decided to do my own twist on the topic, and do Top Ten Book To Movie/TV Adaptations I’m Looking Forward To Seeing In 2017. After a bit of internet research, to find out what books were actually being made into movies this year, these are the ones I’m most looking forward to (the release dates will be UK):

  1. Thirteen Reasons Why-31st March

This is one of my absolute favourite books, I’ve never read anything else like it. I was so excited when I found out this would have an adaptation years ago, but then nothing happened so I didn’t think anything of it. But finally, this year, Netflix is producing the long awaited adaptation and I can’t wait to see it. I’ve loved all the Netflix original stuff I’ve seen so far, so I’m hoping this will be no different.

2.Before I Fall-7th April

I will admit here, I never finished Before I Fall. I actually only made it to the second chapter. But I’ve seen the trailer for the movie and it actually looks pretty good, so I’m looking forward to seeing it. Sometimes things work better for me on the screen than they do as a book, so I’m hoping this will be one of those times.

3. The Zookeeper’s Wife-5th May

I had no idea this was a thing until today! I read this book a few years ago, it’s based on a true story about how the Warsaw Zoo saved hundreds of Jews by the Nazis by hiding them in animal cages. It’s an amazing story and it will be so cool to see it on the big screen.

4. Ashes In The Snow-Exact date unconfirmed but some time in 2017

This is the screen adaptation of Between Shades of Grey and whilst I don’t understand why they changed the title (maybe to avoid confusion with Fifty Shades), I’m so excited to see this story and these characters come to life as it’s such a beautiful story.

5. Beauty and The Beast-17th March

The original Disney movie was based on a French fairytale and this is a live action remake of the original Disney movie, so I’m counting it! Plus any excuse to talk about it because I’m just so excited!

6. Pitch Perfect 3-22nd December

Okay so not entirely a direct book to movie adaptation, but the entire film series is loosely based on a non-fiction book called Pitch Perfect: The Quest For Collegiate Acapella Glory, so I think it counts (sort of ). I can’t wait to see what Becca and the gang are up to post graduation.

7. Hidden Figures-February 2017

I know this has already been released in America, but it hasn’t been over here yet. I hadn’t heard of this movie until all the buzz about it at the Golden Globes, but it sounds pretty awesome, a bunch of African-American female scientists working for NASA? Count me in! Plus it’s based off a non-fiction book, so works for this topic!

I couldn’t find 10 2017 ones I wanted to see, so I’ve done five 2017 ones and some 2016 ones that I missed and would like to see this year!:

8. The Girl On The Train

I have yet to read the book, but everyone seems to love it and it sounds pretty good, so I’m looking forward to finally being able to watch the movie!

9. Through The Looking Glass

I loved the first Tim Burton Alice in Wonderland adaptation, it felt very true to the feel of Carroll’s Wonderland if with his own Burton-esque twist, so I’m excited to see what he did with the sequel.

10. The Jungle Book

I never got around to seeing the live action adaptation of Rudyard Kipling’s tale in 2016, so I would definitely like to try and see it this year, since I loved The Jungle Book when I was a kid!

I’m going to stop there this week because I’m not entirely sure I can think of any more! Are you looking forward to/have seen any of these movies? Or read the books that they are based on? Did you like them? Let me know in the comments!

I will be back next week with another Top Ten Tuesday, the topic is Top Ten Books I Wish Had More/Less X In Them. X is to do with what we wish, but I haven’t decided what I want to fill the blank with, so I guess you guys will have to wait till next week to see. In the meantime, I have a few posts I have planned for this week, so stay tuned!

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #94

  1. beckmank January 31, 2017 / 10:35 pm

    Fun take on the topic! I’m not sure if I’m going to watch Girl on the Train or not. I did read the book. I’ve seen the previews and it looks intense! I want to go and see Hidden Figures, I’ve heard great things about it. And the new trailer for Beauty and the Beast looks amazing! I went with favorite picture books this week. πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx January 31, 2017 / 10:50 pm

      Thanks! I think it looks pretty good, if I can rent it/buy it cheaply, I’ll watch it. Yes, I’ve heard so much great stuff about Hidden Figures. It really does, I can’t wait to see it!

  2. Blaire February 1, 2017 / 12:23 am

    Amazing list! I’m definitely looking forward to Beauty and The Beast, and Pitch Perfect 3! πŸ™‚

  3. LHauser27 February 1, 2017 / 3:26 am

    Hi! I’m looking forward to Before I Fall. I really liked the book!
    My TTT
    Leslie

    • iloveheartlandx February 5, 2017 / 2:33 pm

      I actually couldn’t get into the book, but the movie looks good!

  4. anovelglimpse February 1, 2017 / 4:57 am

    I better hurry up and read my copy of Thirteen Reasons Why!

    • iloveheartlandx February 5, 2017 / 2:34 pm

      Oh you definitely should! Such a good book πŸ™‚

  5. Jane @ Greenish Bookshelf February 3, 2017 / 3:43 am

    I am dying for the new Beauty and the Beast movie! Can’t wait! Thanks for stopping by my TTT earlier πŸ™‚

  6. thebookishlibra February 3, 2017 / 3:43 am

    OMG, I truly can’t wait to see the live action Beauty and the Beast. I get all choked up every time I watch the trailers for it. I just saw Hidden Figures this past weekend and it really blew me away. Incredible story, incredible women, and the performances are brilliant!

    • iloveheartlandx February 3, 2017 / 3:51 pm

      Me either! I know, it looks so beautiful! I’m glad to hear that. I have heard good things, so I definitely want to see it at some point. I love movies about lesser known true stories, reminds me why I do History, learning about ordinary people who do extraordinary things!

  7. chucklesthescot February 3, 2017 / 3:12 pm

    I’ll probably take a look at the Jungle Book at some point when time allows as I loved the cartoon! I’ll be avoiding The Girl on the Train as I found the book really dreadful! Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

    • iloveheartlandx February 3, 2017 / 3:30 pm

      I loved the cartoon too! Oh really? That’s a shame. I haven’t read the book so I wouldn’t know! No problem πŸ™‚

  8. Beth (Reading Every Night) February 3, 2017 / 11:05 pm

    Great picks for this week. I’ve seen the trailer for Before I Fall and it looks really good. I haven’t read the book yet but I may have to because I kind of want to see the film now. Also I am so so excited for Beauty and the Beast, it looks beyond amazing! πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx February 4, 2017 / 12:57 pm

      Thanks! Yes it does look good doesn’t it? I probably won’t read the book as I didn’t have much luck last time, but I would like to see the film! Me too πŸ™‚

  9. Lois February 4, 2017 / 7:19 pm

    Beauty and the Beast is undoubtedly my most anticipated adaptation for the year. It looks amazing so I am praying it delivers on all fronts. I loved the Jungle Book live action film. It was darker than I expected it to be but very effective and didn’t deviate from the story.

    • iloveheartlandx February 5, 2017 / 2:10 pm

      Same! It does, so fingers crossed it’s as good as it looks! That’s great to hear, I hope I enjoy it as much as you did πŸ™‚

  10. Jamie @ Book Pandamonium February 4, 2017 / 8:36 pm

    Great list! I’m actually rereading Before I Fall before the movie comes out, I love that book so much lol. I’m excited for Thirteen Reasons Why too! I think it’d be really interesting to see it play out in TV show format.

    • iloveheartlandx February 5, 2017 / 2:12 pm

      Thanks! I would, but I didn’t manage to get through it the first time, so I’m not sure another read would help. Me too! Yes, it will be cool to see how they deal with the unusual format.

  11. Helia @ Rose Quartz Reads February 8, 2017 / 5:35 pm

    I can’t wait to see Hidden Figures. It sounds so excellent and has a great cast. I hope it lives up to the hype (but Taraji P. Henson is a gift so I expect it will)

Leave a Reply

