Top Ten Tuesday #92

1fe45-toptentuesday

Hi everyone! I hope you’ve all had a good week since I last posted, I’ve started back at Uni for my spring semester, just got my grades back for last semester and they were good so I’m very happy about that and hoping this semester will be just as good. Though obviously being back at Uni means I won’t be able to post as much as I’d like. Anyway, I’m back with a new Top Ten Tuesday, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish, and this week’s topic is Top Ten Underrated Books/Hidden Gems. I have to admit, I wasn’t entirely sure how to approach this topic, since “underrated” is very subjective, and I’ve already done books under a certain number of Goodreads ratings in a previous TTT post. So after having a look to see how other people have approached the topic, I’ve decided to base it on number of reviews, so in the case of my post, underrated is going to mean less than 2000 reviews on Goodreads. So here we go, my Top Ten Underrated Books, in no particular order and although the topic was originally Underrated Books released in 2016, I mostly read popular new releases in 2016, so this list will probably mostly be older books! As always this is in no particular order:

  1. The Glory-Lauren St John-27 reviews

So okay, this book was only published last year, but still I can’t believe it isn’t more popular! If you love horses, then this story of two teenagers on a long distance endurance race across America will definitely appeal to you. It had everything, great characters, horses and a believable, slow burn romance.

2. Cross My Heart-Carmen Reid-47 reviews

This is such a woefully underappreciated book! It’s all about the Belgian Resistance and the teenagers who were a part of it. For one thing, it’s such an unexplored part of WWII so it’s very interesting to learn about that, but also it’s such a well plotted, exciting book with very interesting characters and is definitely worth a read if you’re interested in YA historical fiction.

3. Β Blind Beauty-KM Peyton-67 reviews

This is one of my favourite books from my teenage years and whilst it’s kind of old, so I get why it may not have as many reviews as some more recent books, it’s such a gorgeous story of a girl and horse overcoming all the odds against them and I absolutely loved it. I definitely need to reread this one sometime soon.

4. Flambards-KM Peyton-70 reviews

It’s Downton Abbey era with horses! I love horses, I love period dramas, so this book was definitely one of my favourites when I was a kid. Basically KM Peyton is a must for any kid (or adult) whose into horses!

.5. The Truth About Celia Frost-Paula Rawsthorne-76 Reviews

This is a well plotted, engaging mystery-thriller and I’m honestly quite surprised that it isn’t more popular!

6. Split Second-Sophie McKenzie-107 reviews

No one does a teen thriller better than Sophie McKenzie! As all her teen thrillers are, this was fast paced, well plotted and had very interesting characters, I was hooked from start to finish with this one.

7. 13 Minutes-Sarah Pinborough-221 reviews

Okay, so this one only came out this year, but I’m still surprised by how few reviews it has. It’s kind of like Mean Girls, if Mean Girls was a mystery story and the Queen Bee drowned and died for thirteen minutes. It’s a very well plotted engaging mystery with complex characters and will definitely please any YA mystery-thriller fan.

8. Checkmate-Malorie Blackman-245 reviews

This is the third book in Malorie Blackman’s Noughts and Crosses series, and I absolutely loved it when I read it (I think I was about 13), and considering how popular that series is, I was surprised by how few reviews this one had, especially since the characters and story are so engaging.

9. Resist-Sarah Crossan-456 reviews

This is the second book in Sarah Crossan’s duology about a world where trees have all been cut down and oxygen is scarce. I thought it was a really interesting and different take on a dystopian future and I really enjoyed her take on what would happen in a world where oxygen is scarce. I personally preferred this one to the first one, but they’re both very good.

10. Pegasus and The Flame-Kate O’Hearn-516 reviews

If you like Percy Jackson, then this will definitely appeal to you, also set in modern day New York, this story is based of Roman mythology and is the story of teenager Emily and her relationship with Pegasus, yes, the real Pegasus from the myths. It’s more MG than YA, but it’s a very engaging story!

11. Fuse-Julianna Baggott-808 reviews

This is the second book in Julianna Baggott’s Pure trilogy, which I personally preferred to the first as I understood more about the world (essentially it’s a post-apocalyptic world after a nuclear apocalypse, where some people were saved and placed inside a safe environment called The Dome and some were left outside and left with horrible scars and fused to objects they were holding when the apocalypse came) and the characters and appreciated their adventures more. The whole trilogy is woefully underrated though!

12. Ballet Shoes-Noel Streatfield-977 reviews

This is one of the few classics I actually like, even if you don’t like ballet, I think you can still appreciate this story as it’s really about finding your passion and your place in the world and creating your own family, which I think are themes you can relate to at any age.

I’m going to stop there this week, before I go even more crazily over ten! What can I say? I love sharing the love for lesser known books. Has anyone else read any of these? Would you like to? What books were on your lists this week? Let me know in the comments!

I will be back next week, with another Top Ten Tuesday, which is going to be a freebie, so you’ll have to wait until next week to see what I pick for my topic! In the meantime, I will definitely have my new discussion post up for you guys soon (I know I promised last week, but I actually have written quite a bit of it now, so it should be soon), as well as a review of my first read of 2017, so stay tuned for that!

38 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #92

  1. rantsandravesofabibliophile January 17, 2017 / 10:02 pm

    Malorie Blackman’s Noughts and Crosses has been on my TBR list for a long time. I hope I get to it soon.

  2. justanothercreativewriter January 17, 2017 / 10:09 pm

    Oh my gosh yes, I’ve read some of these books and they are amazing. Pegasus and the Flame is really good so I don’t understand how it doesn’t get more love. Ballet shoes has such a heart wrenching story that stays with you for years after you read it. And Fuse is such a realistic dystopian story! Great picks.

    • iloveheartlandx January 18, 2017 / 12:28 am

      Glad to hear it! Yes, I don’t either. I guess people tend to go for more high profile myth based stories, which I don’t blame them for as I do it too, but I definitely wanted to shine a light on the Pegasus books! Yes, it really does. I agree, I thought Fuse was great. Thank you πŸ™‚

  3. Greg Hill January 17, 2017 / 11:47 pm

    This was definitely a topic that could go several ways! I think several of these sound great but Pegasus and the Flame has me really curious- I’ve always enjoyed mythological stories. πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx January 18, 2017 / 12:26 am

      It really was! If you like mythological stories, you’ll definitely enjoy it πŸ™‚

  4. SweetMarie83 January 18, 2017 / 12:07 am

    Ooh, I didn’t know Sarah Pinborough had a new book out! I loved her Mayhem and Murder books.

    • iloveheartlandx January 18, 2017 / 12:25 am

      Yeah, it was out in July last year, I got an early copy from Netgalley. It’s really good, you should definitely try it!

  5. Jen January 18, 2017 / 3:06 am

    The Pure Trilogy by Julianna Baggott sounds like a lot of fun, off to Goodreads to add to my lists, thanks! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx January 18, 2017 / 11:42 pm

      It’s great, hope you enjoy! No problem πŸ™‚

  6. anovelglimpse January 18, 2017 / 4:12 am

    I haven’t read any of your gems. I’m going to have to look into them! Nice job!
    My TTT.

    • iloveheartlandx January 18, 2017 / 11:42 pm

      You definitely should, they’re great. Thank you πŸ™‚

  7. Brittany (Story of My Reading Life) January 18, 2017 / 4:14 am

    I have read books by Malorie Blackman Sarah Pinborough and really enjoyed them. Should probably check out the ones you listed too!

    • iloveheartlandx January 18, 2017 / 11:41 pm

      That’s great. Oh you definitely should they’re all great books πŸ™‚

  8. lry93 January 18, 2017 / 6:24 am

    I have Cross my Heart on my TBR πŸ™‚

  9. sprite January 18, 2017 / 9:35 am

    Ballet Shoes is one of my favorite childhood books!

  10. Amy @ Book Babbles and Blues January 18, 2017 / 9:54 am

    I haven’t read any of these but 13 minutes and Pegasus and the Flame sound really interesting! Great list.

  11. Reads and Dreams January 18, 2017 / 10:15 am

    I love ballet shoes! I read it as a child and it made me want to take ballet classes πŸ˜› I’ve read the first in the noughts and crosses series and loved it, that ending tho! Seriously need to finish that!

    • iloveheartlandx January 18, 2017 / 11:40 pm

      Me too! I actually read it after I’d already quit ballet but it made me wish I hadn’t. Oh you definitely do πŸ™‚

  12. Kate @ Midnight Book Girl January 18, 2017 / 1:28 pm

    I read the first book of Noughts and Crosses because I have a lot of British friends and insisted I do, and I liked it, but for some reason I haven’t finished the series- but I’ll work on it!

  13. Lois January 18, 2017 / 7:17 pm

    Noughts and Crosses definitely made a mark on my 13 year old self but I was so moved that I couldn’t find it in me to read the rest of the trilogy.

    • iloveheartlandx January 18, 2017 / 11:36 pm

      Can definitely see that! That first book was a heartbreaker πŸ™‚

  14. Eve L (Evilous) January 20, 2017 / 12:33 am

    All of these titles are new to me but I’m so excited to have learned some new titles to keep in mind and add to lists!

  15. Bookish Realm January 20, 2017 / 3:07 am

    This is a great list! I definitely need to get to the Malorie Blackman series soon!

  16. Annemieke January 21, 2017 / 7:46 pm

    Interesting. I haven’t heard of any of these! Will have to check them out.

  17. Petra January 22, 2017 / 12:11 pm

    I haven’t read any of these, but I will definitely check them out. Thanks for sharing, and for stopping by my TTT earlier. πŸ™‚

  18. Rissi January 24, 2017 / 6:58 am

    I’ve never read “Ballet Shoes” but the BBC film is beautiful so I think it’d be something I’d enjoy reading. Someday. πŸ™‚

    Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland last week.

    • iloveheartlandx January 24, 2017 / 4:28 pm

      Oh you should, it’s a beautiful book! No problem πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

