Jo Talks Books: 2017 Bookish Resolutions

Happy 2017 everyone! I hope you all had a great New Year’s Eve, mine was pretty standard really, dinner with my parents and their friends and then watching the fireworks over Stirling castle at midnight. Before I go into today’s post, I would like to thank all of my followers, and everyone who supported my blog in 2016, it was the best year for my blog since I started it in 2014, and I’m hoping that this, my third year of blogging will be even bigger and better than the previous two years!

Anyway, onto today’s post. I thought for my first discussion post of 2017, that I’d draw up a list of bookish/blogging/writing related New Year’s resolutions for myself, as there isn’t going to be a Top Ten Tuesday post involving resolutions this year. I’m not usually big on making resolutions, but I made a list of them at the beginning of 2016 as part of Top Ten Tuesday and I actually did surprisingly well, better than I had expected to, so I thought it might be nice to start 2017 in the same way. I prefer to think of these as goals rather than resolutions really, resolutions for me have lots of connotations of giving up, whereas goals seem more like things to strive for. I’m going to try and have a mix of blogging, reading and writing goals on this list, which should keep me busy throughout 2017. So here we go, my bookish resolutions for 2017:

  1. Complete first draft of my novel and start edits

As you guys will know, I’ve been writing my first novel this year, This Is Not A Love Story. I completed the 50,000 words I needed to complete NaNoWriMo in November, but I still have a bit more to write before I have a complete first draft. I’d also like to try and get some edits on the story done through the year, though obviously, it would be too ambitious to have completely edited and finished the thing by the end of the year, it’s going to take me a lot longer than a year to do that but I’d like to at least start the editing process in 2017.

2. Complete my Goodreads 2017 challenge

I’ve set my challenge this year at 24 books, aiming for 2 per month. Obviously I’d love it if I could do more than that but I wanted to set my challenge at something easily achievable so that I can put it up if needs be. If I could read more than 24, I’d love that, but I don’t want to put too much pressure on myself. I want to enjoy reading, like I did in 2016, not put pressure on myself and feel guilty about not reading enough like in 2015.

3. Complete my #RockMyTBR 2017 Challenge

I managed to read everything on my list for my 2016 #RockMyTBR challenge, so I’m hoping that I’ll do the same this year. Twitter put together a great list for me, so I’m really excited to get started on it!

4. Read more diversely

I don’t just mean in the sense of reading books with more diverse characters, although obviously that is part of this, I want to read books from more diverse authors, with more diverse settings (not just set in the US or UK or Western cultures in general), read more equally between male and female authors if I can, read widely across age groups, MG, YA & Adult etc. Basically this is a very open goal and there are numerous different ways I could achieve it.

5. Read some 2016 releases that I missed out on

This is the same as one that I had last year, but there were quite a lot of 2016 releases that I was excited for that I didn’t get to, so I want to try and catch up on these this year. I feel like this is a constant bookworm resolution, we want to try and read the stuff on our shelves, so we miss new releases and have to catch them the next year, or we read all new releases but miss the stuff on our shelves! It’s a never ending cycle!

6. Discover more new to me authors

I love my favourites, and I will always want to read whatever they put out, but I discovered some fabulous new authors for the first time in 2016 and I want to keep up this trend in 2017, I don’t just want to stick to the same favourites and never try anything new, so in 2017, I would love to have some new to me authors to add to my favourites.

7. Read more of my YALC books

Okay so confession time. I’ve been to YALC two years in a row now and the number of books I’ve read that I got from there? 3. And one was a reread. It’s ever so slightly pathetic. So this year, I want to try and get through more of the books that I acquired at YALC. I was even thinking of running a YALC Reading Challenge, perhaps through June or July, for people with books to read from YALC, or books by YALC authors who will be at the next event, so if anyone would be interested in doing this, then let me know!

8. Keep growing the blog

I want to keep things new and interesting, I don’t want to fall into a blogging rut, so I’d definitely like to see if I can introduce some new features this year (not sure what yet, I haven’t thought of anything!) and hopefully gain more followers, more views etc. I could actually use your help on this one, what would you like to see on this blog in 2017? After all, I write for the enjoyment of my readers, so if there’s anything you would like to see more of, then please let me know.

9. Read more standalones

60% of what I read this year were series books, whether that be start of series, end of series, sequels. Much as I love a series, a good standalone book is just what you need sometimes, so I want to try and read more standalones this year. This will probably be a very hard one for me to keep because I love series books a lot, but I think if I can just get the number of standalones I read this year up a little from last year, I’ll be happy. Even if it’s just one more standalone than I read last year.

10. Write more

Writing the first draft of my novel this November, reminded me of how much I enjoy writing and I want to try and write more this year, whether it be fanfic, or my own original work, I just want to write! This blog is obviously a regular source of writing for me, but I’d like to write more outside of it, as well.

11. Take a break occasionally

Reviewing books, whilst incredibly fun, can also be very tiring. This year, I’d like to thrown in some books that I don’t review, whether it be rereads, or just a book that I don’t feel like reviewing for the blog. I am obviously still going to review the majority of books I read, but it would be nice to take a break from the note-taking every now and again, and just read a book without constantly analysing every little detail! It’s okay to reward myself with an occasional break, I work hard to keep this blog going and I deserve a little time to just relax and read purely for enjoyment rather than enjoyment + reviewing.

12. Keep enjoying reading and blogging!

This one is easy! I just want to continue having fun doing what I’m doing, I don’t want reading or blogging to become a chore, I want it to remain fun and as great as all these goals are, the most important thing to me this year is that I enjoy myself.

I think that’s more than enough goals to be going on with, since I have two more goals for myself than last year! Do you set bookish goals/resolutions for the year? If not, then why not? What are you bookish/blogging/writerly goals for this year? Do we share any? What would you like to see more of on the blog to help me with goal #8? Let me know in the comments!

I have yet to plan out my Jo Talks schedule for 2017, so I’m unsure as to what my next discussion post will be, or when it will be, but the idea is roughly the same as last year, I’m aiming to do two discussion posts a month, most likely one at the start and one at the end, though this could change throughout the year. If there’s anything specific that you would like me to talk about in this feature, then just let me know, I’m always open to ideas! Otherwise, I guess you’ll just have to wait and see what I decide to discuss next. In the meantime, my next post will likely be my Top Ten Tuesday post tomorrow so look out for that.

 

8 thoughts on “Jo Talks Books: 2017 Bookish Resolutions

  1. readswritesblogs January 2, 2017 / 8:57 am

    They are great goals for 2017. Good luck with them all!

  2. justanothercreativewriter January 2, 2017 / 9:21 am

    I’m totally with you on finishing my nanowrimo novel and revising it, now I just have to find actual motivation haha.

  3. Sasha Elle January 22, 2017 / 12:35 pm

    As I said on Twitter, I’m in for the YALC challenge! Had the same idea last year, but never got through the whole list. I did read a lot, so I’m hoping that some of the authors are attending again so the list isn’t as long for me this year. (Is that something horrible to say?)

    • iloveheartlandx January 22, 2017 / 4:35 pm

      Yay, glad to hear it! No not at all, we all have so many books to read and not enough time to read them and are looking for ways to cut down on our lists!

  4. Aldii January 24, 2017 / 6:09 pm

    You have some great goals here and I hope you accomplish them all!
    My Goodreads challenge is t read 50 books, I wanted no pressure and I thought that was a number I could manage.
    Taking a break is such a good goal. There was some months I couldn’t read something I wanted because I had to read review books. And that is exhausting. So I started taking control (of books I requests) and learning to say no (to review requests). And this is so important to me. I hate saying no but truth is that I want to read whatever I want whenever I want, to read what I feel like and enjoy reading in general. f course I enjoy reviewing books but sometimes it can be just to much.
    Good luck!

    • iloveheartlandx January 24, 2017 / 11:47 pm

      Thank you! I think that’s the most important thing with the GR Challenge, picking a number you can manage, at least then you can increase if you find yourself doing better than expected. Yes, it’s something I figured out last year, when I decided to not review a book and it was a really nice break, so I think I’m going to try that again this year. Yes, I’ve also been trying to curb my Netgalley requests to books I’m really excited for.

Leave a Reply

