End of Year Check In

Hi everyone! So in June this year, I did my first Mid Year Check In to see how I was getting on with the bookish resolutions that I made at the start of the year, and since it is now the end of the year and 2017 is fast approaching, I thought I would check back in on my goals and see which ones I managed to complete and which ones I didn’t! So here we go, this is the final roundup of how I’ve done on my bookish goals this year:

  1. Complete My Goodreads Reading Challenge-SUCCESS

My Goodreads challenge for this year was originally 20 books, but when I saw I was easily going to surpass that, I put it up and kept putting it up until I reached my final tally of 33 books on 27th December, so I think I can safely say that my Goodreads Challenge this year was a definite success. Hopefully my 2017 challenge will go just as well!

2. Start Doing Discussion Posts-SUCCESS

I did my first discussion post all the way back in January and they’ve become a new regular feature on my blog, the Jo Talks feature. I’ve managed to do at least two a month, with the exception of this month and last month where I only had time to do one, but I’ve been thrilled with the response to them and hopefully they will go as well next year as they have done this year.

3. Complete the #RockMyTBR Challenge-SUCCESS

I completed this one at the beginning of the month, I read 12 books from my shelves over the course of the year, knocking them off my TBR (of course, 20 more have taken their places, so the list hasn’t actually shrunk at all, but hey, what’re you gonna do?). I’m planning on doing this challenge again next year and hopefully it will go just as well as it has this year.

4. Stop buying so many books when I already have a ton of books on my shelves-FAIL

Yup, I admit it, I failed on this one. It was an optimistic dream. A nice idea, but not at all practical when you’re a bookworm and acquiring books twice as fast as you can read them is part of the job description.

5. Stop feeling bad when other people read more books than I do-SUCCESS

This is a rather arbitrary resolution and not easy to measure, but I have to say, I’m really happy with what I’ve read this year. 33 books might be small for some people but it’s really good for me and that’s what I’ve been focusing on, rather than how much everyone else has read (I’m not going to lie, I still find it amazing how much some people can read but I know I’ve done well for me and that’s a good thing).

6. Don’t feel bad that I can’t post every day-SUCCESS

Again, a rather arbitrary resolution, but I’m pretty happy with how well I’ve done blogging this year and you guys seem to have enjoyed what I’ve posted too, so that’s the most important thing and whilst I think I’ll always want to post more than I’m able to, I don’t feel guilty anymore when I don’t have the time to post so that’s good!

7. Keep up with connecting with other bloggers-SUCCESS

I’ve done Top Ten Tuesday every week of this year, which has kept me connected to bloggers on a regular basis, I’ve taken part in Armchair BEA, I’ve been doing #otspsecretsister which has kept me linked up with lots of other bloggers, I’ve taken part in #ukyachat and got new followers for my blog and on twitter, so I think I can safely call this one a success. Here’s to making more new blogger friends in 2017!

8. Making a note of blog posts that I read and enjoy-SUCCESS

I’ll admit, I lapsed a little on this in November and December but I still have created a dedicated bookmark folder for blog posts I read and enjoy and this has been incredibly helpful in keeping track of these, so I’m happy to call this one a success, even if I have lapsed on it a little the past few months.

9. To try and explore some books outside of the YA fantasy/dystopia genre-FAIL

Of the 33 books I read this year, 6 were not a fantasy or dystopia. I did read some adult fantasy, but that’s not really too much of a stretch! Fantasy is my first love and it’s always going to make up the majority of my reading, and 6 books of different genres isn’t the worst result in the world, so I don’t count this as a complete fail, but it’s not exactly a success either.

10. To catch up on at least some of the 2015 releases that I was really excited for and never got around to-SUCCESS

I had a list of these for a Top Tuesday, all the way back at the beginning of the year and I’m delighted to say that it was a runaway success, of the ten books on my list, I read nine of them this year, so I’m ecstatic about that. Would I have liked to read all ten? Sure. But 9/10 is not bad at all.

So overall, I haven’t done too badly on my goals this year. Sure there were some goals that I didn’t completely manage to achieve, but I’m really happy with everything that I’ve achieved this year, it’s been a great year, both for me and for the blog. Here’s hoping that my 2017 goals will go as well (I will be making up a list of these very soon)! How about you guys? Did you make bookish resolutions at the beginning of the year? How did they go? Do you have any plans for resolutions for next year? Let me know in the comments!

I will have a new discussion post for you guys, my first of 2017, hopefully tomorrow, but if not then the day after, so stay tuned for that!

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “End of Year Check In

  1. SERIESous Book Reviews January 1, 2017 / 12:00 am

    Hehe, I try not to buy as many books every year and I end up failing πŸ˜› There were a lot of good deals this year.

    Glad you had so many successes! I hope 2017 treats you well!

    • iloveheartlandx January 1, 2017 / 3:25 am

      Same here! Having a Waterstones card has both benefits and drawbacks πŸ™‚ Thanks, I am too. I hope 2017 is good for you as well!

  2. Diana Prince Reviews January 1, 2017 / 2:19 am

    Congrats on completing your 2016 reading challenges! I’m really proud of you for all your successes, and I know that failures are just goals for the next year. I believe in you! Great post! πŸ™‚

  3. AngelErin January 3, 2017 / 7:21 pm

    Mostly a success, that’s a win!! And let’s face it, we all keep buying books when we have so many on our shelves hahaha. πŸ˜›

    • iloveheartlandx January 3, 2017 / 8:33 pm

      I think so! Yes, it’s a common bookworm problem πŸ™‚

  4. Megan January 23, 2017 / 9:54 pm

    Congrats on so many successes. I can’t blame you for failing the buying book one. I’m always so tempted when I walk into a book store. I just try to avoid them now to avoid spending money I don’t need/can’t afford. ☺

    • iloveheartlandx January 23, 2017 / 10:34 pm

      Thanks! Yes same here, although I’ll admit, I don’t do much to stop the temptation!

Leave a Reply

