Top Ten Tuesday #88

1fe45-toptentuesday

Hi everyone! Lucky you guys, you get a scheduled post this week as by the time this post goes live, my friends will have arrived in Scotland and I will be too busy entertaining them to write! Anyway, as usual, I’m back with another Top Ten Tuesday post, courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish and this week’s topic, being that it’s only 5 days until Christmas (5 DAYS! SO EXCITED!), is Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree. Now I don’t usually get books for Christmas and when I made this list last year, I didn’t get any of the books for Christmas (which shows you guys how little my family reads my blog!), but one way or another, either by buying them myself, or book swaps or my glorious Secret Sister, I actually do now own 8 of the 11 books on the list, so I guess it was sort of a successful list? I’ll stop rambling now and tell you the books I’d like Santa (otherwise known as my debit card!) to get me this year:

  1. A Shadow Bright and Burning-Jessica Cluess-I’ve heard a lot of good things about this book, plus, it’s fantasy in Victorian London with a protagonist who has fire powers, this book is 100% me.
  2. Blackhearts-Nicole Castroman-PIRATES! PIRATES! PIRATES! Pretty please Santa?
  3. Of Fire and Stars-Audrey Coulthurst-Horses? And princesses? And fire? And an f/f relationship? YES PLEASE!
  4. How To Hang A Witch-Adrianna Mather-I’ve never studied the Salem Witch Trials, but they sound really interesting, and this book is written by a descendant of Cotton Mather so I think it could be really cool. I would not object if I found this under the tree this year.
  5. Prisoner of Night and Fog-Anne Blankman-I love a good WWII novel and this one sounds interesting, plus I love it when WWII novels focus on other aspects of WWII aside from the Holocaust.
  6. The Wrath and The Dawn-Renee Ahdieh-I’ll admit, this is mostly cover based, that cover is gorgeous, but I also love the middle eastern setting and I’ve heard so much great stuff about this book that if Santa brought it this Christmas I would not complain. (Equally I wouldn’t complain if he didn’t as I have a friend I could borrow it from!).
  7. An Ember In The Ashes-Sabaa Tahir-My friend loves this one and from what I’ve heard, it sounds kind of Roman-Empire-esque, which I like, plus the cover is gorgeous!
  8. Shadow and Bone-Leigh Bardugo-Another book that my friend loves (she’s clearly rubbing off on me), that sounds really interesting, Russian-inspired fantasy. I don’t actually know much of what it’s about, but it must have something for my friend to like it so much!
  9. The Archived-Victoria Schwab-Because I need more Victoria Schwab in my life. Plus LIBRARIES! If Santa happened to drop this under my Christmas tree, I would definitely not complain!
  10. It’s Kind of A Funny Story-Ned Vizzini-Because after I watched the movie, I kept saying I was going to read the book and never did. If I got it from Santa, I might actually read it!

There are loads of other books I could have added to this list, but the books I’m most excited for release in 2017 and magic though Santa may be, I’m not sure he can make A Conjuring of Light get to me any quicker (but could you though? Possibly?). What books would you like Santa to leave under your tree? Any of the same ones as me? Let me know in the comments!

I will be back next week with the last Top Ten Tuesday topic of 2016, Top Ten Best Books of 2016, it’s going to be hard one! In the meantime, you probably won’t see much of me this week because I’ll be busy with my friends, but I will definitely be back next week, so stay tuned!

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #88

  1. Louise December 20, 2016 / 10:50 am

    I love this list, there’s so many here that I really want to buy. I’m super excited to read Blackhearts and Of Fire and Stars though.

    My TTT this week.

  2. Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight December 27, 2016 / 6:46 am

    This is a great list! And it is SO true, aren’t we all wishing Santa could have grabbed us a few 2017 releases? πŸ˜‰ So I have read quite a few of these, and I must say, GREAT choices! Wrath is awesome, like one of my all-time faves! An Ember in the Ashes is good too, I need to read the sequel ASAP! Shadow and Bone and Blackhearts are also fabulous! I need to read A Shadow Bright and Burning, The Archived, and Prisoner of Night and Fog so badly. And I always thought about read It’s Kind of a Funny Story, but I am so afraid it will break my heart! I hope that you, Santa, and your debit card managed to get some of these πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx December 27, 2016 / 1:28 pm

      Thanks! Yeah I think we are πŸ™‚ Glad to hear you liked some of the books on my list. Yes, I need to read the three of those two, they’ve been on my TBR for a while now! I’ve only seen the film, which was sad in places but kind of uplifting at the end? I’m hoping the book will be more like that and less heartbreaking! Sadly Santa did not bring me any of these, but I did get a Waterstones gift card for Christmas so book shopping will commence soon!

  3. HerBookishDesires December 31, 2016 / 12:49 am

    An Ember in the Ashes is ahhhhhhmazing! I really, really enjoyed it. The characters are well-developed and the protagonist’s character/personality evolves nicely throughout the book. The Commandant is SCARY! If you’ve read A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas, then to get an idea of the Commandant, think of Amarantha! Not sure who is worse, to be honest. Anyway, I hope you get the chance to read it soon! πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx December 31, 2016 / 1:45 am

      Well I’m glad to hear that! Thanks, I hope so too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

