Top Ten Tuesday #84

Hi everyone! NaNoWriMo is winding down now, with only about a week to go and I’m pleased to say that I’m on track to finish, with only 15k more to write, so I’m very happy about that. The next week or so is full of deadlines though, so whether I’ll be able to finish on time or not is another story, but I am going to do my best! I also finally managed to get a dragon into my story, which made me very happy! Anyway, enough about my writing, back to today’s blog post, I have a new Top Ten Tuesday for you guys, as always courtesy of the lovely ladies over at the Broke and the Bookish, and this week, we’re talking Thanksgiving. Now, obviously I’m British so I don’t celebrate Thanksgiving but I do like the idea of sharing things that I’m thankful for and it was such a nice topic to do last year. Anyway, for this week’s Thanksgiving themed freebie, I’ve decided to share my Top Ten Authors That I’m Thankful For This Year:

  1. Maggie Stiefvater-Because whilst I may have had to wait far too long for The Raven King, when it finally arrived it was pure genius and everything I had wanted it to be. Plus she’s writing a Ronan-centric trilogy that I didn’t even know I wanted and now cannot wait to read and also because I finally got to meet her at YALC this year and she was lovely and gave the most hilarious author talk that I’ve heard in a long time. And her Twitter just gives me life. Basically, Maggie Stiefvater is amazing and you should all go read her books!
  2. Sarah J Maas-Despite the pain that I endured with Empire of Storms, it’s still one of the best books that I’ve read all year and completely made up for the disappointment that was Queen of Shadows. I also got to meet her for the first time on her UK Tour in October and it was such a wonderful event and she was so lovely, so I’m very grateful that she came here this year, as well as for her wonderful writing!
  3. Alwyn Hamilton-Because Rebel of The Sands was my first five star read of the year and it was so incredible, and she was just so lovely when I met her at YALC (and remembered me and my friend from the previous year which we really appreciated) and I’m so happy that she’s done so well.
  4. VE Schwab-The Shades of Magic books have been among the best books that I have read this year and I am so thankful for her for this wonderful series with one of best fantasy worlds and magic systems that I have ever read. I am also thankful because she was so lovely at YALC and even signed a book for me to give to my best friend for her birthday which I really appreciated.
  5. Derek Landy-Because his books never fail to make me laugh and he’s giving us a new Skulduggery Pleasant which makes me far too happy.
  6. Rick Riordan-For much the same reasons as Derek Landy, his books provide a bright spot for me when everything in the world is going to hell (so his books were much needed this year) and never fail to make me laugh. I’ve read three of his books this year and they’ve all come just when I needed something happy, either because of reading lots of deep books or because of bad things happening in the world.
  7. Tara Sim-Because Victorian settings and clocks and adorable clock spirits and gay guys, Timekeeper was a wonderful surprise and one of the best books I’ve read this year, so I’m very thankful to Tara Sim for it and cannot wait to see what she has in store for the next instalment.
  8. Jodi Picoult-She’s one of my favourite authors anyway, but I’m especially grateful to Jodi Picoult this year for Small Great Things, not only because considering everything that’s happened in the last few months, it’s a very timely book, but also because it’s incredibly powerful, extremely well written and just an all around thought provoking book which I’m incredibly grateful that I had a chance to read.
  9. Elizabeth Wein-I’m grateful to her for Code Name Verity because it’s one of the best historical fiction books that I’ve ever read. Heartbreaking sure, but incredibly beautiful and powerful.
  10. JK Rowling-Because whilst there has been mixed reactions to Cursed Child and Fantastic Beasts, I am so grateful that JK Rowling has allowed us back into the Wizarding World this year (and that she created this amazing world for us in the first place). Plus I will be eternally grateful to her for Newt Scamander, aka the cutest character to exist ever. And Nifflers! I love Nifflers.

That’s all for this week, thought I would restrain myself and keep to ten after last week’s movie extravaganza! Do you like any of these authors? What authors are you thankful for this year? Let me know in the comments! Next week’s topic is a Holiday Gift Guide freebie, so I think I’m going to do 10 Best Etsy Gifts For The Book Lover In Your Life, since I’ve been doing a lot of Etsy scouring of my own for Christmas presents this year. That’s next week, I may be MIA this week as I have a lot of work to do, but if I get any free time, then I will try and get something up for you guys, if not, next week’s Top Ten Tuesday will be the next time you hear from me. Stay tuned!

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #84

  1. littlebookynook November 23, 2016 / 1:06 am

    There are some amazing authors on this list!!! I really need to read some VE Schwab, I have heard so many good things! I am sooooo grateful for SJ Maas and JK Rowling…both of these series changed my life!!

    • iloveheartlandx November 23, 2016 / 2:14 am

      Thanks! You definitely should 🙂 Same here, both are amazing authors and I’m so grateful for what their books have brought into my life.

  2. lry93 November 23, 2016 / 8:51 am

    Yes to Sarah J. Maas!! I love her so much!!

    • iloveheartlandx November 24, 2016 / 12:54 am

      Me too! She was so lovely on her UK tour, I hope she comes back here so I can see her again 🙂

      • lry93 November 24, 2016 / 7:53 am

        She should come to Germany too! 😊😊

      • iloveheartlandx November 29, 2016 / 2:44 pm

        Hopefully one day she does 🙂

  3. Amy November 23, 2016 / 10:29 am

    Great list! I’m thankful for Maggie Stiefvater too. She’s an amazing author and I’m very grateful for her books 🙂

    Thanks for visiting my post earlier 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx November 24, 2016 / 12:53 am

      Thanks! Yes, she is wonderful isn’t she? I can’t wait to see what she does next now that The Raven Cycle is done. No problem 🙂

  4. Jessica November 23, 2016 / 4:36 pm

    All of these! What a great list! JK Rowling and Maggie are my top two! 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx November 24, 2016 / 12:51 am

      Thanks! It would be hard for me to pick a top two out of these, I think JK is my number one, but aside from that, I love all of them too much to choose! Maggie is awesome 🙂

  5. Beth (Reading Every Night) November 23, 2016 / 11:35 pm

    This is a great list for this week, and I agree with pretty much all your picks but especially J.K. Rowling and V.E. Schwab. Both are definitely ultimate favourites of mine! 😀

  6. Annemieke November 26, 2016 / 4:48 pm

    Timekeeper was wonderful!

  7. Incessant Bookworm November 27, 2016 / 9:06 pm

    Can’t wait to see your Etsy list 🙂 Definitely a great place for gifts for the bookworms we know and love! 🙂

    • iloveheartlandx November 29, 2016 / 2:42 pm

      Thanks! I love Etsy, have ended up getting a lot of Christmas gifts from there this year 🙂

Leave a Reply

