Top Ten Tuesday #83

Hey everyone! I’m nearing the halfway stage of NaNoWriMo and loving it! It’s amazing to see this story that started as a little idea based on a prompt we were given in the Creative Writing society that I’m in at Uni, come to life. It’s hard to believe that two weeks ago my story was nothing and has now grown to what it is. Anyway, that’s my little update for you on my writing exploits, but back to the topic at hand, I’m back with a new Top Ten Tuesday post for you guys this week, thanks to the lovely ladies over at the Broke and The Bookish. We’re taking a break from books this week and talking about one of my other favourite topics: Movies! We were given free choice of what movie related topic we’d like to do, so I’m going to share some of my favourite movies with you guys (do not be surprised if I go over ten for this!). Here are my favourite movies:

  1. Moulin Rouge!-Yes, this is my absolute favourite movie of all time ever. It has Ewan McGregor, incredible music, beautiful costumes, Ewan McGregor, a beautiful story, oh and did I mention Ewan McGregor? (I may have a small crush. Okay not entirely small, we have a cardboard cutout of him in our University flat). I’ve actually lost count of how many times I’ve watched this movie, it’s that many. And I’ve forced all of my friends to watch it, because I’m just a lovely friend that way (luckily my two Uni friends love it almost as much as I do).
  2. 10 Things I Hate About You-A quintessential 90’s rom-com, this film is hilarious and Heath Ledger is beautiful and the scene where he sings Can’t Take My Eyes Off You is right up there with Ewan McGregor singing Your Song in my list of romantic fantasies. Warning though, you will be singing Can’t Take My Eyes Off You randomly in public the entire week after you watch it.
  3. The Lion King-My favourite Disney movie. Refer to Jack Whitehall’s joke about it if you want to know why it’s the best. It’s Shakespeare with fur. And Elton John music. Do I need to say more?
  4. Beauty and The Beast-This film! I am basically Belle, so obviously I relate to it very strongly (THAT LIBRARY IS GOALS!). It’s such a beautiful film and I’m so excited for the live action remake next year.
  5. Hairspray-The songs are so catchy and it’s cheesy and glorious and it just cheers me up every time I watch it.
  6. Definitely, Maybe-This is a lovely romantic comedy and whilst part of my love for it may be due to my crush on Ryan Reynolds (can you blame me?), it’s also a lovely story & a really enjoyable watch.
  7. The Proposal-Yes, another Ryan Reynolds movie, but it’s hilarious and always cheers me up when I am in a bad mood.
  8. Spirit: Stallion of The Cimarron-One of the ultimate horse lover movies, it’s sad at times, but ultimately beautiful and the music is just incredible. I think this might be on Netflix? If it is and you have it then you should check it out.
  9. The Holiday-This is my favourite movie to watch around Christmas, it’s just lovely and great for getting you into the festive spirit.
  10. The Parent Trap-Remember when Lindsay Lohan was actually good? I think this is definitely her best work, it’s just such a great film and I really love it. It’s amazing how they managed to do the whole twin thing considering special effects weren’t that great when this came out (though the first one was in 1961, so I’m sure if I’d seen that, I’d be even more impressed).
  11. Mean Girls-A teen classic. This is one of my favourite films to watch with my two best friends.
  12. Harry Potter & The Goblet of Fire-I could have put the whole series on here, but this was my favourite movie (and book) of the series, so I thought I’d choose this one. I couldn’t do a list of my favourite movies without including at least one Harry Potter!
  13. Black Beauty-It’s such a sad story but also a beautiful one and as a horse lover, it’s one of my favourite horsey films.
  14. 102 Dalmatians-The film that started my love affair with Dalmatians, it’s hilarious and every time I watch it, I’m reminded of how badly I want a Dalmatian!
  15. 13 Going On 30-It’s cheesy and cute and basically just an hour and a half of pure fun.
  16. She’s The Man-I love modernised Shakespeare retellings and this one is one of my favourites.
  17. The Devil Wears Prada-It’s hilarious, Meryl Streep is just awesome and this is the film where I discovered how funny Emily Blunt is.
  18. Legally Blonde-It’s funny and sweet and completely feminist so naturally this makes my list of favourite movies.
  19. Matilda-This was one of my favourite childhood books and also one of my favourite childhood movies.
  20. Ella Enchanted-It’s cheesy and glorious and yes, I know completely different from the book, but I think having not read the book, I appreciated it for just how enjoyable it is.
  21. The Lion King 2: Simba’s Pride-I love the original, but I actually grew up with the sequel, the songs are amazing, and it’s one of the few sequels that actually holds up to the first movie.
  22. War Horse-This movie is sad, yes, but so beautiful. The stage show is even better.
  23. Wallace and Gromit: The Wrong Trousers-One of my favourite childhood films, it’s a short movie, only half an hour long, but it’s complete genius and so funny!
  24. Enchanted-It’s a celebration of all things Disney so naturally it’s one of my favourites!

That’s all for this week, otherwise I’ll be writing this all night (I have far too many favourite movies!). Have you seen any of these? Did you like them? Would you like to see any of these? Let me know in the comments! Next week’s topic is a Thanksgiving freebie, so although I won’t be celebrating Thanksgiving (since I’m English and live in the UK!), Β I’m going to be doing Authors That I am Thankful For to spread a little love for my favourite authors. That’s next week, but in the meantime, I’m hoping to get a new discussion post up for you guys very, very soon, so stay tuned for that.

61 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #83

  1. anovelglimpse November 15, 2016 / 8:42 pm

    So many great ones on here! I especially love seeing Legally Blonde.

  2. Helia @ Rose Quartz Reads November 15, 2016 / 9:32 pm

    Moulin Rouge is also one of my all time favourite movies! It’s possibly also my most watched movie (I think I’ve seen it 4 times now?) which says a lot because I can almost never sit through a whole movie without getting bored. I love the lights and the colours and the music and the weird medley of french and indian and english aesthetics and basically I love that movie!

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2016 / 1:40 am

      You have good taste! I think I’ve watched it four times (possibly more), this year alone, overall I couldn’t even count! It is just beautiful, isn’t it?

  3. Diana Prince Reviews November 15, 2016 / 9:37 pm

    Ella Enchanted is on my list, too! I can’t believe I forgot about The Devil Wears Prada, Anne Hathaway and Meryl Streep together was a dream come true. Beauty and the Beast is a fantastic film – have you seen the 25th anniversary edition? It’s absolutely breathtaking. Great list this week!

    My TTT

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2016 / 1:39 am

      It’s great right? Yes, it’s such a great movie. No I haven’t, the version I have at home is VHS, so it’s a lot older! I’m hoping to get my hands on a DVD copy, so maybe I’ll see if I can find the 25th anniversary one. Thank you πŸ™‚

  4. Felicia November 15, 2016 / 10:05 pm

    A lot of great movies on this list! I especially love 10 things I hate about you, definitely one of my favorites movies.

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2016 / 1:38 am

      Thanks! Yes, 10 Things I Hate About You is awesome.

  5. thebookishlibra November 15, 2016 / 11:04 pm

    Great list! I love The Devil Wears Prada, Matilda, and the Lion King too πŸ™‚

  6. Greg Hill November 15, 2016 / 11:58 pm

    Definitely, Maybe is awesome, I love that movie. I was hoping he would end up with the April character, so when that happened I was pleased. πŸ™‚ I never saw Black Beauty but The Black Stallion was an amazing movie. Enchanted is great, and I never did see War Horse.

    Legally Blond is funny too, and I also liked Sweet Home Alabama with Reese.

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2016 / 1:37 am

      Yes, it’s so good! Oh I haven’t seen The Black Stallion, have always meant to, it looks really good. Yes, Enchanted is awesome. Oh War Horse is great. Yes, I liked Sweet Home Alabama too.

  7. Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog November 16, 2016 / 12:04 am

    Oh so many great ones here. I am so with you on Definitely, Maybe – love Isla Fisher and Ryan Reynolds. Love The Proposal too. The Devil Wears Prada is one of those movies I have to watch any time it is on!! Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2016 / 1:36 am

      Thanks! Yes, they make such a great couple in the film. The Proposal is awesome and I have the DVD of The Devil Wears Prada, so I watch it far too often! Thanks πŸ™‚

  8. meganm922 November 16, 2016 / 12:44 am

    Great picks. I could watch 10 Things I Hate About You and Mean Girls over and over. They are two of my favorites. Your list is great! I enjoy a lot of those.

  9. Louise November 16, 2016 / 1:05 am

    So many great movies on this list! I agree with all of the Disney picks as well as Moulin Rouge, 10 Things I Hate about You and Harry Potter. Good luck with the next two weeks of NaNoWriMo!!

  10. Uma @ Books.Bags.Burgers. November 16, 2016 / 3:01 am

    So many great movies on this list! The Lion King is a childhood favourite and makes me nostalgic! Harry Potter is life! Devil wears Prada is an amazing movie where i loved the awesome actresses πŸ™‚ great list! Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2016 / 8:23 pm

      Thanks! Same here. Yes it is. No problem πŸ™‚

  11. Shoto November 16, 2016 / 3:50 am

    So many great picks! Ella Enchanted, 10 Things I Hate About You, Hairspray πŸ˜€
    I really want to watch Definitely, Maybe someday πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2016 / 8:22 pm

      Thanks! Oh you should, it’s such a great film.

  12. Nicole @ booksinked November 16, 2016 / 4:07 am

    a good list of movies! I see some of my favorites in here that I didn’t add to my own list! πŸ™‚

  13. Lisa November 16, 2016 / 4:18 am

    Yes to all the Disney! I love 10 Things I Hate About You too. πŸ™‚ Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2016 / 8:21 pm

      Disney is awesome. It’s just so good, isn’t it? Thanks πŸ™‚

  14. LHauser27 November 16, 2016 / 5:14 am

    Hi! Ahhh…so many of these should’ve been on my list. War Horse is so sad and it’s the BEST! haha. I can’t believe I forgot about 13 Going on 30 . I could watch that move a million times. Same with Legally Blonde. The bend and snap πŸ™‚ Great list. Thanks for stopping by!
    Leslie

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2016 / 8:20 pm

      I’ve been thinking that looking at other people’s lists! Yes, it is awesome. I have watched that movie a million times! Yes the bend and snap is iconic. Thanks. No problem πŸ™‚

  15. Gabrielle November 16, 2016 / 6:15 am

    I love literally every single movie on this list! So many good movies.
    thanks for stopping by So, We Read This Book πŸ™‚

  16. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense November 16, 2016 / 6:48 am

    Beauty and the Beast and The Lion King are my favorite Disney movies. I love both of them so much and am so excited about the upcoming Emma Watson film. Great list!

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2016 / 8:18 pm

      Same! Oh me too, the trailers look so good. Thanks πŸ™‚

  17. lry93 November 16, 2016 / 7:20 am

    There are only two of these that I haven’t seen, but I have seen the others and I absolutely loved them!!

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2016 / 8:18 pm

      Great minds think alike! Yes, they are awesome movies πŸ™‚

  18. Christy @ TheReaderBee November 16, 2016 / 1:11 pm

    I love 10 Things I Hate About You! And I almost put The Proposal on my list as well. πŸ™‚ So many great picks!

  19. paperjasmine November 16, 2016 / 2:59 pm

    What a list of films! Great picks! Of course we already know both of us love HP. I have to say The Lion King, The Beauty and the Beast, Matilda and She’s The Man are definitely favourites of mine! They bring on so much childhood/teen nostaliga πŸ˜› The best kind.

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2016 / 8:16 pm

      Thanks! Yeah, I think that’s one of the main reasons I love them so much. The nostalgia is strong.

  20. Anne-Marie @ Ree's Book Nook November 16, 2016 / 3:26 pm

    Holy huge list! Haha, but man, some great choices there! Seeing The Proposal and Definitely Maybe (two more faves! how could I have forgotten them?!) I should have done a Top Ten Ryan Reynolds Movies…

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2016 / 8:15 pm

      Yeah, I have too many favourite movies to narrow down too much! Yes they are awesome. Ooh good idea for next time we have a movie topic πŸ™‚

  21. Whitney November 16, 2016 / 5:03 pm

    I loved 10 Things I Hate About You in high school. It was my go to movie for several years.

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2016 / 8:15 pm

      I only discovered it a few years ago, I was too young to watch it when it came out, but it’s become one of my go to movies!

  22. Jamie Wu November 16, 2016 / 5:11 pm

    So many films! So many great films! The Lion King, 10 Things, Definitely, Maybe, the Parent Trap and of course Goblet of Fire! I feel like I’m taking a trip down memory lane πŸ™‚

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2016 / 8:14 pm

      Yeah I have too many favourite films it’s difficult to narrow down (and believe it or not, this is narrowed down!). I may have slight nostalgia for 90’s & 00’s films!

  23. Jacque November 16, 2016 / 5:39 pm

    Great list! I basically love anything with Reese Witherspoon, so Legally Bonde is a great choice. Moulin Rouge was very good as well and you can’t go wrong with Disney.

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2016 / 8:12 pm

      Thanks! Yes, Reese Witherspoon is great. Both very true things. No problem πŸ™‚

  24. Anastasia November 16, 2016 / 7:03 pm

    You have a wonderfully long list of good movies! Spirit Stallion of the Cimarron & Bryan Adams songs ❀

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2016 / 8:11 pm

      Thanks! Yes, I know, they’re the best πŸ™‚

  25. Tanya Atkinson November 16, 2016 / 7:46 pm

    Oh how I love Moulin Rouge! Satine and Christian… Come What May… *sigh* 10 Things I hate About You was Heath Ledger at his finest. Beauty and the Beast is my favorite Disney film, too. I am beyond excited for the live action version. The Parent Trap… the LiLo version is cute but I have to admit I prefer the original with Hayley Mills. Love that one! 13 Going On 30 is so cute and fun!

    • iloveheartlandx November 16, 2016 / 8:10 pm

      Yes, it is the best! Come What May is my favourite song of all time. I actually haven’t seen Heath Ledger in anything else, but yes, he is fantastic in that movie. Me too, I can’t wait. I’ve never seen the Hayley Mills one, maybe I will one day. Yes it is! Perfect for a girls night in πŸ™‚

  26. majoringinliterature November 16, 2016 / 10:36 pm

    Great list! So many great movies on here, but 10 Things I Hate About You and Mean Girls are definitely among my all-time favourites too! πŸ™‚

  27. Girl About Library November 19, 2016 / 2:22 pm

    I love Definitely, Maybe too. Such a cute story, such a cute lead πŸ˜‰ it’s a great mood lifter movie.

    • iloveheartlandx November 24, 2016 / 12:56 am

      Yes it’s wonderful! (and you can never get enough Ryan Reynolds :))

  28. Cait @ Paper Fury November 21, 2016 / 11:35 am

    OMG YES MATILDA!! I love that one. One of the few book-to-movie adaptions that was pure brilliance, right?! :’) And I love Lion King, Spirit, and War Horse too. Basically animal movies…what can go wrong?! THEY ARE GREAT. (Okay, way, belay that. Animals always die in animal-centric movies. And break my poor delicate heart.πŸ’”)

    • iloveheartlandx November 21, 2016 / 8:31 pm

      Right! Yes animal movies are the best (even if they do always break your heart)

  29. Nicole @ Nicole's Novel Reads December 9, 2016 / 5:52 pm

    Woohoo for Beauty and the Beast, The Lion King and Harry Potter!!! I am super excited to see the live action version of Beauty and the Beast in March 2017! It looks fantastic!

    • iloveheartlandx December 9, 2016 / 7:13 pm

      Me too! I’ve watched the trailer for it way too many times πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

