#RockMyTBR October Update

It’s November which can mean only one thing, it is now socially acceptable to start the countdown to Christmas! 53 days and counting guys! I actually did really well on my #RockMyTBR list this month, I read 2 books from the list, which means I only have one book left and two months left of the year, so yay for that. I’ve been back at Uni for a month now so I wasn’t expecting to read all that much this month, but I’ve read four books which I’m really proud of considering everything I’ve had going on. Here is what I’ve read:

Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

I had to read this as soon as I got my hands on it as I figured I was not going to avoid the spoiler train for long and I wanted to finish it before the Sarah J Maas event that I went to at the beginning of October. I read it from 13th September-8th Ocotber (I actually finished it whilst I was in Amsterdam visiting my sister!). I loved this, but it also broke me. I am now both excited and terrified for book six. I need it now!

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/10/22/empire-of-storms-throne-of-glass-5/

Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman

This was my first #RockMyTBR read of the month, which I read from 9th-19th October. It was a really difficult book to read and even more difficult to review, but it’s definitely a book that I found eye opening and am very glad that I read.

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/10/23/challenger-deep-review/

Timekeeper by Tara Sim

This was my only Netgalley read of the month, I actually started it way back on 25th September but I got so drowned with deadlines that I didn’t finish it until 25th October! It was really good though, I would have read it much faster if I hadn’t had so many deadlines in October! I definitely recommend all fantasy fans to get their hands on it when it comes out next week, especially if you love Victorian society, cute gay romances, adorable clock spirits and kick ass women.

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/11/01/timekeper-review-e-arc/

The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

This was my other #RockMyTBR read for the month, I thought it would be good to read around Halloween time. I read it from 20th-26th October. I was hoping I’d like this one more than I actually did, the premise was good, but I didn’t love the characters and I just thought the floaty writing style was a little overboard.

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/10/27/the-accident-season-review/

So that’s what I read in October, this is what I have planned for November:

The Hammer of Thor-Rick Riordan-I got sent this in my October #otspsecretsister package and I’ve read about half of it now and am really enjoying it!

No Virgin-Anne Cassidy-One of my Netgalley reads for this month, I started reading this just before I came back to Uni after reading week. I’m not really sure what I think of it yet, it’s okay but it’s not as good as some other books I’ve read this year.

Snow Like Ashes-Sara Raasch-This is my last #RockMyTBR read, so I’m hoping to finish it this month and then have a free month to read whatever I’d like in December. I’ve heard mixed things about this one, but I do love a good fantasy so I’m hoping I will like it.

Heartless-Marissa Meyer-My other Netgalley read, if I manage to finish No Virgin and have time for another Netgalley book what with all the NaNo craziness and assignments due at the end of this month!

I’m actually ahead of my Goodreads Challenge again, so if I’m still ahead by the time I reach 30, I’m going to up it from 32! I’m really happy that my Goodreads Challenge has been going so well this year. I’ve managed to better my two books a month trend once again, so that makes me really happy!

How did everyone else’s October reading go? Let me know in the comments!

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “#RockMyTBR October Update

  1. Zezee November 2, 2016 / 1:31 am

    I started books rather than complete them in October.
    Snow Like Ashes was a good one. Hope u like it.

    • iloveheartlandx November 2, 2016 / 12:54 pm

      Glad to hear you liked Snow Like Ashes! Thanks, I hope so too 🙂

  2. AngelErin November 2, 2016 / 2:06 am

    Great job and good luck on your November reads! My October reads went better than expected, but I’m behind on my genre challenge. :/

    • iloveheartlandx November 2, 2016 / 12:55 pm

      Thanks! I hope you manage to catch up on your genre challenge next month.

  3. Diana November 2, 2016 / 10:54 am

    I like the cover for Accident Season. Sorry to hear that the book wasn’t all that though. Enjoy your November reads and have a wonderful month.

    • iloveheartlandx November 2, 2016 / 12:56 pm

      Yeah it is a good cover. It was a shame, it had so much potential. Thanks, you too 🙂

  4. Cait @ Paper Fury November 5, 2016 / 12:23 pm

    I’m reading Timekeeper right now! THE CHARACTERS ARE SO PRECIOUS. ❤ I'm a little confused about the world and the Greek gods things going on though.😂 But hopefully my brain catches up soon. AFdjsakld I loved Challenger Deep but agreed: it’s actually really hard to read?! And I loooved The Accident Season. THE AESTHETICS THOUGH. AND SAM. PRECIOUS THING.

    and yay for Heartless!! I’ve heard mixed things about it, but I hope you enjoy it!

    • iloveheartlandx November 6, 2016 / 1:09 pm

      Yes they are! I was a little confused about that too, but it makes more sense towards then end. I’m glad someone else feels the same way about Challenger Deep. I did like some things about the Accident Season, but I was expecting to love it more than I did. Thanks, I hope so too!

  5. Anastasia November 16, 2016 / 7:23 pm

    October was a goo reading month for me 🙂 as is November. I’m kind of happy about it because I haven’t had the time to read in years!
    Oh I love Sarah J Maas ❤ I'm now reading Queen of Shadows so won't check your post yet…it's just so good. I want to read it real slow but then it's so good I can't haha

Leave a Reply

