Sarah J Maas Event Recap!

Hi everyone! I’m back home for my Uni mid semester break which means I finally get to catch up on all the posts I meant to write up last week but didn’t get the chance to because I was so busy with essays. For those of you who don’t know (ie haven’t been stalking my twitter for the past few weeks or are new to this blog), I did something incredibly cool last Tuesday, I met one of my favourite authors, Sarah J Maas, the author of the Throne of Glass and ACOTAR series. This was incredibly exciting for me because this is the first time that Sarah J Maas has done a UK tour that I’ve been able to go to and also because I got to go to it with my friend and flatmate Nicola who is just as big of a SJM fangirl as I am!

The event we went to was in Glasgow, so once we were done with our classes, we got the bus to the train station in Stirling and then got the train into Glasgow. We arrived at the event about 45 minutes or so early (we were really excited and didn’t want to be late!) so once we arrived, we  waited with all of the other people coming to the event, and Nicola picked up her copy of Empire of Storms that she had got included in her ticket for the event.

We were then called into the theatre (the event was in the Mitchell Library in Glasgow and it has a room that’s basically like a lecture theatre where the event took place) and waited for a few minutes before Sarah came out onto the stage.

There was then a discussion with Sarah and a moderator where she talked about the Throne of Glass and ACOTAR series and her writing process and future writing plans. It was so great, SJM is the biggest fangirl ever and it was lovely to see how passionate she is about her characters and her stories and her worlds and whilst you know that authors are obviously passionate about what they write, it’s still great to see it. She told a lot of funny stories about her life as well and it was so interesting to hear about her writing process particularly how big of a role music played in her writing (and I especially liked when she talked about how a piece of music inspired a scene that I really loved in Empire of Storms). It’s incredible to me that she was writing the Throne of Glass series when she was the same age that I am now and now it’s a bestselling series, as an aspiring author, I love hearing stories like hers because it makes you feel like, “yeah if I work hard, I can actually do this!”. I also loved hearing her talk about Manon because she’s one of my favourite characters and it was great hearing Sarah fangirl about her too! She was just so much fun and so hilarious to listen to, I found the talk really, really enjoyable (and I’m really excited/scared for TOG 6 now as she talked about how she knows the last line and what inspired it. I have a feeling I am going to cry).

After the talk, we went out of the theatre and lined up to wait for Sarah to sign our books. The one disadvantage of our great seats for the talk (we sat near the front of the theatre) was that we ended up near the back of the signing line, but the likelihood that we were going to end up near the front was slim anyway. The signing line was probably the biggest one I’ve ever seen, even bigger than the number of people queuing for Maggie Stiefvater at YALC and that’s saying something! We were queuing for about an hour but it was okay because Nicola and I just spent the entire time fangirling and talking about Sarah J Maas books, so overall not a bad way to spend an hour. We finally got to the front of the line and although we didn’t get a lot of time with Sarah, she was so lovely, we got one book signed each and one book stamped because of her hand injury. Nicola talked to her about how much she loves Rhys and I talked about how much I love Dorian and how Heir of Fire broke me. It was quite funny because I said this just before we left and she actually gave a little air fist pump which me and Nicola both found hilarious!

So that was it, my wonderful first experience meeting Sarah J Maas! It was such a fun event and even though we only got a few minutes with Sarah, she was so lovely and it was really great to meet her. Hopefully she will come back to the UK either for ACOTAR 3 or TOG 6 so that we can meet her again!

Here are a few pictures from the event:

sarah-j-maas-event-2

 

sarah j maas event 4.jpg

sarah-j-maas-event

Has anyone else ever been to a Sarah J Maas event? Did you have a good time? Let me know in the comments!

I will have my reviews of my most recent reads Empire of Storms and Challenger Deep up for you guys very soon, so stay tuned for those!

 

Leave a Reply

