Top Ten Tuesday #78

image14

Hey everyone! I’m writing this a day early because I’m going to see Sarah J Maas in Glasgow tomorrow evening (TOMORROW! I’m so excited!!!!!!!) so I won’t have time to write it tomorrow! I had a really great weekend in Amsterdam with my parents and sister and my mum had a lovely birthday. But anyway, back to the topic at hand, I’m back with another Top Ten Tuesday for you all this week, which is a freebie based on book recommendations, so I’ve chosen Top Ten Books on My TBR That I Added Because Of Blogger Recommendation. It might be kind of hard for me to remember everything I’ve added to my TBR because of blogger recommendation as I add a lot of stuff after each TTT, but I will try! Here are some books that are on my TBR that I added because of blogger recommendation:

  1. Six of Crows-Leigh Bardugo

I can’t remember exactly who recommended this to me, I think it was more just bloggers in general, because everyone was talking about how great this book was last year and it sounded like something I’d like so I added it to my TBR. I still haven’t read it yet, but I will

2. Scarlet-AC Gaughen

I added this after the TTT where we did fairytale retellings as I was looking for a Robin Hood retelling and this one with a female Will Scarlet was recommended to me. It sounds really great, I just haven’t got around to reading it yet.

3. With Malice-Eileen Cook

I added this to my TBR after it was recommended to me by Brittany from Book Addict’s Guide and I won it in a giveaway back in June. I still haven’t read it yet, but I need to because it sounds really good!

4. Caraval-Stephanie Gerber

I added this to my TBR after it seemed like every single book blogger was talking about it on Twitter (and I saw how pretty the proof was) plus it sounded so amazing. I got approved for it on Netgalley and will hopefully start reading it soon!

5. Splintered-AG Howard

I added this one after the retelling week as well because it just sounded so wonderfully weird! I love the idea of an Alice in Wonderland retelling and after I saw a lot of bloggers recommending it, I figured why not add it to my TBR? I’ve actually bought it as well, just haven’t read it yet.

6. Scarlet-Marissa Meyer

I added this after I read Cinder because everyone and I mean everyone has been recommending The Lunar Chronicles to me. I didn’t love Cinder, but a blogger told me that Scarlet was better, so I’ve got it and hopefully when I read it, I’ll enjoy it more.

7. Made You Up-Francesca Zappia

This was all over the blogosphere last year when it was released and it sounded really good so I added it to my TBR to then promptly forget about it! I definitely want to read it at some point soon because a lot of bloggers seemed to think it was good and the cover is so pretty!

8. Every Last Word-Tamara Ireland Stone

This was very talked about when it came out and there were a lot of bloggers recommending it so I added it to my TBR and I do plan to read it even if I haven’t yet!

9. Poison Study-Maria V Snyder

I remember seeing this on a lot of TTT lists, it sounded really awesome, just the kind of fantasy I would enjoy reading! I still haven’t got to it yet but hopefully I will at some point.

10. Grave Mercy-Robin LaFevers

This sounds a lot like Throne of Glass and I saw it on a lot of “Read this if you like Throne of Glass lists” so I immediately added it to my TBR. Of course it’s been months and I still haven’t read it yet but I will!

That’s all for this week! What recommendation based topic did you choose? Have you read any of the books on my list? Did you like them? Let me know in the comments! Next week’s topic is Ten Characters I’d Name A Child/Dog/Cat/Car after but since I did that topic a while ago, I’m going to do Characters I’d Like As Family Members, as it’s kind of along the same lines as the original topic and seems like a lot of fun. That’s next week but in the meantime, I will have my review of Empire of Storms and a recap of tomorrow’s Sarah J Maas event up later this week, so stay tuned for those!

 

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #78

  1. Jacquie (Rattle the Stars) October 11, 2016 / 2:10 am

    Have fun meeting Sarah J Maas!!!! πŸ˜€ I just picked up Poison Study and can’t wait to get to it. I still have a few more review books to read though. And I can’t stop recommending Six of Crows to anyone who will listen. SO GOOD! Great list this week.

    • iloveheartlandx October 11, 2016 / 11:27 am

      Thanks, I’m sure I will! I hope you enjoy Poison Study. I keep hearing that, I will have to get to it soon! Thanks πŸ™‚

  2. Greg Hill October 11, 2016 / 1:13 pm

    Grave Mercy- totally agree. That was a recommendation and I loved it! Poison Study sounds great too, as does Scarlet.

    • iloveheartlandx October 12, 2016 / 4:42 pm

      That’s great to hear! Yes, they do sound great right?

  3. Jamie Wu October 11, 2016 / 2:18 pm

    OMG!!! I hope you have a fun time with Sarah J Maas!! You have two books titled Scarlet on your list, haha. Funny that they’re both retellings too! I have the Robin Hood retelling on my TBR too. Hopefully I’ll get to it soon. I definitely feel Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles) is better than Cinder, but in a way that’s more of the same things but better. So definitely give it a shot if you feel Cinder was poor because it didn’t reach its potential.

    • iloveheartlandx October 12, 2016 / 4:41 pm

      I did, it was awesome thanks! Yeah, it just kind of worked out that way πŸ™‚ Hopefully we both like it when we read it. Well that’s good. I did like the idea of Cinder, I just thought it wasn’t as good as it could have been.

  4. Birdie October 11, 2016 / 4:04 pm

    I’ve seen Caraval around the blogosphere too. I hope you like it, since I’m planning to read it soon and I hope I like it too. πŸ™‚

  5. Diana Prince Reviews October 11, 2016 / 5:07 pm

    I’m so jealous you get to meet SJM! I hope you have an awesome time ❀ I've also been seeing a ton of positive reviews for Caraval, and I can't wait to see what you think of it!

    My TTT

    • iloveheartlandx October 12, 2016 / 4:39 pm

      I did, thank you! Yeah me too, so I’m excited to read it. I will hopefully be reading it next month.

  6. anovelglimpse October 11, 2016 / 6:24 pm

    I read Six of Crows because of blogger recs, too! πŸ™‚ Such a great book.
    a href=”http://www.anovelglimpse.com/2016/10/11/top-ten-tuesday-all-about-books-you-read-because-of-recommendation/”>My TTT.

    • iloveheartlandx October 12, 2016 / 4:37 pm

      So I’ve heard! I will have to get around to it soon!

    • iloveheartlandx October 12, 2016 / 4:32 pm

      Everyone seems to love it! I definitely need to try it at some point πŸ™‚ Yes, my friend loves the Grisha trilogy, so I will definitely have to try that too.

  7. Jane the Raincity Librarian October 12, 2016 / 12:30 am

    I decided to write about some of my favourite book blogs – pretty much all of the books I read are inspired by book blogs! πŸ™‚

  8. jessicacrafts October 13, 2016 / 12:04 am

    Another vote for six of crows being awesome from me. I’ve added so many books to my TBR lately from other bloggers it’s getting even more out of hand than it was!

    • iloveheartlandx October 15, 2016 / 5:10 pm

      Seems to be a popular opinion! Oh, I know right, every week I just seem to add more πŸ™‚

  9. adventureswithabooknerd October 13, 2016 / 3:53 am

    I’m so jealous that you get to see Sarah J. Maas! I hope that you have a lot of fun. Great list! πŸ™‚

  10. Zainab Sheikh October 13, 2016 / 11:48 am

    You got some great books there. πŸ™‚

  11. Teresa Mary Rose October 15, 2016 / 3:07 am

    Splintered is amazing and I will add to the book pushing. Grave Mercy is also awesome but I thought the sequel was even better!

    • iloveheartlandx October 15, 2016 / 5:05 pm

      I will definitely try to get to it soon! Oh that’s interesting to hear, I’ll have to remember that.

Leave a Reply

