#RockMyTBR September Update

It’s October, how did this happen? My birthday seems like it was only yesterday! I’ll admit this now, I did not read anything from my #RockMyTBR list this month, but since I was a book ahead of where I was expecting to be by this point, it was okay for me to take a break this month since I have three books left to read and three months left of the year. It was nice to get to read what I wanted to and not have to read to a schedule, much as I have enjoyed doing this challenge. Still, everything I read was on my TBR, so technically I haven’t gone against the challenge (even if they were all new or soon to be released books!). I managed to read 3 books this month which I think is pretty good considering I just went back to Uni! Here is what I’ve read:

cursed-childI thought it was finally time to read this and since I had a long car journey back up to Uni, I took the opportunity! I read this from 5th-9th September. It wasn’t quite what I was expecting, but I still really enjoyed it! I don’t have a review for it because I decided not to, if you want to know why, then check out my discussion post on the topic:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/08/31/jo-talks-books-on-why-i-wont-be-reviewing-the-cursed-child/

small-great-thingsThis was my Netgalley read for September and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I read it from 26th August to 18th September. It’s definitely one of my favourite Jodi Picoult books that I’ve read and I’m so happy that I got to read it early. It’s such a thought provoking, incredibly written, timely story and I loved it! I’m so excited to hear her talk about it in November. I don’t have a review for it yet as release date for the UK is a while away, but stay tuned for that soon!

american-monstersThis was my final read of the month as I really wanted to finish this trilogy this year, which I literally just published a review for! I read this from 10th-27th September. It was not what I was expecting from the final book of this trilogy, whilst there where things that I liked, for the most part, it was very confused and anti-climactic.

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/10/02/american-monsters-demon-road-trilogy-3/

I tried to read For The Love of Grace (the ARC I was sent) but I wasn’t really feeling it, so I’ve put it down for now in the hopes that I’ll come back to it in a better mood for it.

So that’s what I read in September, this is what I have planned for October:

Empire of Storms-Sarah J Maas-I could not put off reading this, I started it as soon as I got it! I’m about 60% or so through it so I will definitely finish it this month and I’m hoping to have finished it by the time I see her in nine days (yes that’s right, nine days until SJM!).

Challenger Deep-Neal Shusterman-The book I was meant to read last month, I am going to start this after I finish Empire of Storms.

The Accident Season-Moira Fowley-Doyle-I’ve been saving this book for the spooky Halloween season, so I’m excited to finally get into it.

Timekeeper-Tara Sim-This is my Netgalley read for the month, I’ve just started it, but I’m liking it so far.

I have one other Netgalley ARC on my shelf, so if I finish all of this then I will get onto that, but I have quite a lot to be going on with here, especially since I’m back at Uni, so I probably won’t. I was ahead of my Goodreads Challenge again, so I have updated it to 32 books and am on track to finish that much by the end of the year (though I will put it down if I fall behind). I’ve managed to keep up my two books a month trend though so I’m really happy!

How did everyone else’s September reading go? Let me know!

 

Leave a Reply

