#RockMyTBR August Update

It’s SEPTEMBER! Sorry, I got weirdly excited about that there, but the start of September means that it is 11 days till my birthday! I mean don’t get me wrong, I can’t believe that it’s almost my birthday already, January feels like yesterday, but I’m really excited for my birthday! (Also kind of scared though, I will no longer be a teenager, that’s so weird!). I had a really great month this month, reading wise (and it will probably be my last really great month of reading since I go back to Uni on Monday, so I’ll be back to two books a month most likely). This reading year is going so well, I’m so happy! Here is what I’ve read this month:

magnus chaseThis was my #RockMyTBR read for August (though I accidentally read most of it in July, I have no idea how that happened) and I really loved it! I read this one from 26th July to 3rd August. It was so good to get back into Riordan’s work after a year away (I didn’t read any Riordan in 2015) and it was like saying hi to an old friend who you haven’t seen in a while but still get on with really well. I had a blast reading this book, it’s probably my favourite #RockMyTBR read so far. Here is my review of it:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/08/04/the-sword-of-summer-magnus-chase-and-the-gods-of-asgard-1/

13 MinutesThis was one of my Netgalley reads of this month and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed it. I read it from 23rd July-4th August. I had never read anything by this author before but I definitely want to read more because despite this mystery-thriller getting off to a slow start, it ended up being a really gripping, intriguing look into modern teenagers and particularly toxic teenage friendships. Here is my review:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/08/11/13-minutes-review-e-arc/

the hidden oracleMy second Rick Riordan read of the month. I read this from 4th to the 11th August (yup one week, that’s how much I enjoyed it). I really loved diving back into the Camp Half-Blood world and it was so cool to finally get a book set entirely at Camp Half-Blood and really get to explore the Camp. I also loved Apollo and getting to see some old favourite characters return as well as enjoying some new faces. I cannot wait for the next instalment in this series!

Here is my review:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/08/12/the-hidden-oracle-the-trials-of-apollo-1/

stealing snowMy second Netgalley read of the month. I read this from 11th to the 18th August. I was really excited about this one but it wasn’t as great as I’d originally thought it was going to be. There were huge pacing issues and the characters and world all fell a bit flat really. I can’t link my review up yet as it’s not going live until 1st October (since the UK release date is the 6th), but I hope you will all check my review out when it does go live!

a gathering of shadowsMy third physical book of the month and my second Schwab book of the summer. I read this from 13th to the 28th August. I couldn’t wait to read this after reading the first book of the series last month and whilst I liked the first one just a little bit more, I thoroughly enjoyed my return to this world and these characters and after that evil ending I am so excited for the third book’s release next year. February cannot come soon enough! Here is my review:

https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/08/28/a-gathering-of-shadows-shades-of-magic-2/

So that’s what I read in August, here’s what I have coming up in September:

For The Love of Grace-Andy Blackman-I was sent a copy of this for review by the publisher, and I just started to read it. I have to admit, I’m struggling with it at the moment. I might take a break and come back to it later.

Small Great Things-Jodi Picoult-My latest Netgalley e-ARC. I was so happy when I got approved to read Jodi Picoult’s latest book on Netgalley! I’m about a quarter of the way through so far and I’m enjoying it (definitely more than the other ARC I’m currently reading). It’s definitely different from anything she’s ever written before. I’m not sure if I’ll finish this in September, but since it’s not released until November, I’m not too worried.

Challenger Deep-Neal Shusterman-My #RockMyTBR book for September. This will be my first Shusterman book outside of the Unwind Dystology and I’m really excited because I’ve heard such good things!

The Cursed Child-JK Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne-Yes I am finally getting around to this! But if you have read my latest discussion post, you will know that I am not going to be reviewing it for the blog. Why you ask? Well go read my post and you’ll find out!

I have one other Netgalley ARC on my shelf so if I finish all of this (unlikely since I am going back to Uni and will be busy with work) then I will work on that too. I was ahead of my Goodreads Challenge goal again so I have updated it to 28 books. I may reduce this or up it again depending on how my reading goes when I get back to Uni! I am definitely planning to keep up my two books a month trend from this year so far though, which I managed when I was at Uni, so I’m hoping to continue it. I think the 5 books I’ve read this month is definitely not going to happen again though!

How did everyone else’s August reading go? Let me know!

 

 

6 thoughts on “#RockMyTBR August Update

  1. Puput @ Sparkling Letters September 2, 2016 / 5:18 am

    I love The Trials of Apollo! SO FUNNY πŸ˜› I haven’t read Magnus Chase though, I’ve heard some mixed reviews but since I’m a die hard fan of Rick Riordan, I’ll read it eventually :’) A Gathering of Shadows must be great!? I’m planning to read it probably s bit closer to the release date of book 3. Overall, you had a pretty great reading month! ❀

    • iloveheartlandx September 2, 2016 / 11:41 am

      Yes it was hilarious! Oh you definitely should, Magnus Chase was a lot of fun. It really was! Yeah I was going to do that but I was so excited after ADSOM that I couldn’t wait any longer! Yes I did πŸ™‚

  2. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews September 2, 2016 / 9:46 am

    The Hidden Oracle is one of my favourites! I didn’t enjoy Stealing Snow either, unfortunately. I was not a fan of the whole love square situation that was happening.

    • iloveheartlandx September 2, 2016 / 11:21 am

      Yes I loved it too! No the love square was definitely not cool. I wasn’t even sure what shape it was most of the time.

  3. AngelErin September 4, 2016 / 7:32 pm

    I love that Magnus Chase book! I can’t wait for the next book. πŸ˜€

    • iloveheartlandx September 5, 2016 / 12:36 am

      Me too! Oh me either, at least October is only a month away now!

Leave a Reply

